Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seriously good...
i was on the fence for a while when it came to buying this game, i was not sure whether i would like it or not considering my main addiction is RTS and management type games and i dont really get much else.

i was never a fan of arcade fighting games, they always seemed to rely on speed and hitting the buttons faster than the other game and was wholey expecting...
Published on 22 May 2006 by Shing Wei Ma

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The KO Punch we were hoping for!!!!
This is the third installment in the Fight Night Series which took over from the KO Kings Series (which originally started on PSone). Unfortunately after the excellent FN Rd 2 this is a quite a step back. While Rd 3 on the Xbox 360 boasts fantastic graphics (due to being a much more powerful machine) and a great boxing experience overall, this version is obviously...
Published on 12 Mar 2006 by L. E. Stacey


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars seriously good..., 22 May 2006
By 
Shing Wei Ma "swmlon" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
i was on the fence for a while when it came to buying this game, i was not sure whether i would like it or not considering my main addiction is RTS and management type games and i dont really get much else.

i was never a fan of arcade fighting games, they always seemed to rely on speed and hitting the buttons faster than the other game and was wholey expecting this to be the same.

but when i plugged it in and went about my business of throwing more punches than the other guy i duly got knocked out. so i hit the buttons faster and still got beat down. after playing more and more and learnt i had to slow it down, time my punches, make them count. i had come to realise that this game plays more like a sim than arcade, and i got hooked. trying to bob and weave, counter punches, timing haymakers so i get the maximum effect. the career mode is so addictive and i find myself always going for one more fight.

buy this game, it is fun to play one player and even more so against friends.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The only boxing game to own, 17 Mar 2006
By 
C. O'Connor "chrisuk5" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Now, maybe I'm biased as I've always been a fan of boxing, but I will evaluate this as impartially as possible.
Now graphically this game is superb. The boxers look like their real life counterparts in an almost awe inspiring way. The damage you can do is acurately reflected on your opponents face, and realistic beads of sweat issue from your boxer. Downside-well apart from the ring and boxers, everything else graphically is not so good. The crowd look like cardboard and static, but who plays a boxing game for the crowd?
Gameplay is excellent, you use a combination of the left analogue (to dodge and move) and the right analogue (to punch) in a way that gives you total control. This sounds difficult, but in reality is very quick to pick up (although you are guaranteed to fail the first few times.) There are a huge range of boxers to choose from, such as Muhammed Ali and Roy Jones Junior, from all weight groups, featherweight, heavyweight, etc.
There are a number of options to choose from, such as career where you create your own boxer, and fight your way to the top, making money, and by completing training, increasing your stats, from strenght, speed, to body and chin. There is the option to recreate famous bouts, and there is a two player mode. The sound and commentary for the game could be better, but then most sports games have this problem.
New additions, there are a few, haymakers and stun moves can instantly knock your opponent out, this is only easy on EASY mode, stick it on hard and you've got no chance. There are rival matches and occasional punch ups prior to the match, and there is the option to heal your player after each bout. Nice quirks to an old franchise. Whats wrong with it? Well, it is easy, on easy, and very hard on normal-a better gradient was needed. Other than that, this is the best boxing sim on PS2 and well worth owning.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 16 April 2006
By 
M. Wickenden (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
I never thought there would be a game that would keep me away from playing Counter-strike on the PC, this does!

Unlike previous reviewers, i have never played the previous version of this. With the additional two KO punches it really is possible to completely turn the fight around in a flash. This is not an arcade style boxing game and you really do need to pick your punches carefully. I disagree that the "normal" setting is too hard, as it took me 40 fights before i lost one at my second attempt at career mode.This is only possible if you manually train and you achieve near the maximum percentage increase each time. If you auto-train, then yes, this game is very hard. Initially it does appear a little slow, but, get you attributes near the 80% mark and you'll soon see things speed up dramatically. If your looking for a button bashing fighting game, this isn't for you. If your looking for a boxing game where you have to concentrate and be on your toes for the entire time and want to feel the satisfaction of a hard fought KO, then i can't recommend this game enough!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars classic!, 21 July 2006
By 
ricki (nottingham) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
i picked this game up virtually unknown about the fight night franchise,but i wanted a game i could let out some pent up energy to,and this has not let me down.

i thought at first it would be a button bashing experience,with the fastest person winning but to my surprise it was much more technical,but no harder which just furthened my enjoyment of this game and i actually felt proud when i won a title on medium!

The analog sticks are utilized to perfection,along with r1 and l1 which depressed, allow you to either weave or dodge with the anolog sticks.The punching is outstanding,i have never felt so good landing a nice hook or even a haymaker.

the graphics are decent on the fighters with plenty of swelling and the cuts are pretty realistic as they open up the more you land shots on them.The crowd is pretty naff,but who watches the crowd when fighting? :s

overall this is a quality game,and true gamers who like a test would love hard mode,and even easy is still a test if you go into the fight with the wrong style.i love this game and still play on it 4-5 months into owning it,and that says something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is a good game!, 16 Mar 2006
By 
D. Mitchell (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Ok, so i very rarely write reviews for anything i buy off amazon, but after seeing the abuse this game has been getting i felt i had to put my opinion in.
Dont get me wrong, this game has its faults but i still find it thoroughly enjoyable and challenging.
To get the faults out of the way:
. yes the career mode isnt set out as well, the old ranking system was better, but i have found it more of a challenge as i walked through round 2s on the hardest setting.
. the cutman mini game has also been unnecessarily tampered with
. finally i was hoping for some training improvement from round 2 but its basically the same (EA lazyness)
. Surprisingly small roster, shocking for a company with the spending power of EA
However the pros far outway these cons, i felt the boxers looked much better and the knockout effects are an improvement, with cuts and swelling also looking better.
Sound is much the same but unforunately no referee voice to be heard for warnings and i personally dont like the soundtrack, but then i didnt like round 2s either.
The gameplay is also improved, iv always been a big fan of the analog system and iv never had any problems with it, and i like that it gets rid of button mashing. You have to really think about the punches you throw and watch the other guy to see punches coming. This game is not impossible as other people stated, it just takes some thinking about, its not lke your traditional beat'em'up. You will need different strategies to beat different boxers as you would in real life.
Career mode is far more challenging than it used to be, on medium difficulty i am unbeaten after 25 fights, but i have been taken right to the wire on many occasions and really had to work to win. Hard setting should be interesting.
Like i said, this game has flaws, the roster and training being most irritating, but the actual gameplay is superb, a huge improvement on the already brilliant round 2, and the game looks very good considering its on an aging platform like the PS2 (look at the 360 screenshots to see how truly amazing it can look), a challenging game that will keep me entertained until Round 4 on the PS3 is released.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not The KO Punch we were hoping for!!!!, 12 Mar 2006
By 
L. E. Stacey "lukestacey12" (Portsmouth, Hampshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
This is the third installment in the Fight Night Series which took over from the KO Kings Series (which originally started on PSone). Unfortunately after the excellent FN Rd 2 this is a quite a step back. While Rd 3 on the Xbox 360 boasts fantastic graphics (due to being a much more powerful machine) and a great boxing experience overall, this version is obviously inferior and not as rewarding as the previous version. This is obviously due to the XBox 360's superior power, however at least in my mind this version doesn't maximise the pS2 (at elast in the right areas)
I have listed the pro's and con's below:
Pro's:
Slightly improved Graphics (about as far as the PS2 can go)
Good array of fighting options
More Venues
Ricky Hatton
Cons:
Rivalries quickly become tiresome (after the upteenth rematch!!!)
Laughable Weigh ins
Un Skippable amateur Mode
Reduced Roster (yet again, do we really want Calvin Brock instead of Larry Holmes or Rocky Marciano)
Inferior 'Cut man' Mini games
Inferior training system
Commentary identical to Rd 2
Inferior 'Career' mode (did Tyson ever care how popular he was??)
Slowed down gameplay
No Marciano
Unfortunately with each passing year the roster reduces further and further (this year theres no Rocky Marciano), and as mentioned when i reviewed Rounds 1 & 2 its incredible to think that KO Kings 1999 (on PS1) had a far bigger and superior roster than this, despite it being some 7 years later and a more powerful machine. Missing fighers include: George Foreman, Rocky Marciano, Mike Tyson, Larry Holmes of yesteryear and Klitchko (Wlad and Vitali), Rahman and Bowe etc of modern day (and thats just the heavies)
Apart from the glaring problems listed about my biggest gripe is with the 'career' mode. EA have abandoned the 'ranking' system in favour of a 'popularity' system which goes against the whole idea of working towards the 'title' and they've included a 'rivalry' mode which quickly becomes tedious and unrealistic (how many tomes do fighters face each other 6 times, especially after you've brutally stopped the guy 5 times perviously).
All in all this isn't a bad game, however from a graphical standpoint the series on this format has come as far as it can, and its a mystery why EA had to tamper with the winning formula from Rd 2 infavour of an inferior one. Its also a mystery as to why a WWE wrestling game can feature about 60 wrestlers (all with unique looks,identities, voice overs etc ), yet this series with EA can only feature 32 boxers (but thats another story).
If you haven't already got it i'd buy Round 2 instead as it is a superior game and an overall better gaming experience. If you already have, i'd give this a miss or save up for an Xbox 360 and that version.
All in all if they'd kept the 'career' mode of Rd 2 (and tweaked it to add more flexibility) , and just improved the graphics and increased the roster this would be a 5/5 Star game. As it stands Rd 2 was the best round of the series so far
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A sideways step, 21 Mar 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
Well, I don;t want this title to seem too damming, and to be honest, I was such a massive fan of Round 2, I guess too much was probably expected of this.
Saying that, the game play is slower, with the emphasis seemingly shifting from arcade action to a more realistic fighting experience. This is created by the boxers tiring quicker, with no more 'machine-gun haymakers', with haymakers in general, more difficult to use, as the are considerably slower than in R2.
These are however, pretty much the only negatives, other than EA ommitting boxers such a Marciano, Tyson, etc etc, and while some may argue Tyson is not one of the greatest ever, well, is Lacy???
The graphics are straining every last effort out of the PS2's capabilities, and you can't help but feel that this could be another reason for the slower pace. but again, the graphics are remarkable, right down to the audience, who no longer seem one-dimensional. I haven't seen this on the Xbox 360 yet, but it is a possibility that the game was produced more for that console.
the sound quality is amazing, especially if you have surround sound, hearing the fatigued breathing, the superb soundtrack, and even the stepping and jumping around in the ring, the K.O. impact sound however, si frankly rubbish.
Buy it, it might take time, but you will be gripped, and as with R2, R3 is a life-stealing multi-player game, mark my words..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Thanks EA., 5 April 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
EA SPORTS has done it again. This game Fight night round 3 is top. i aint gonna repeat what other reviewers has said. The Left and Right analog stick to control your punches is just perfect. Very quick and easy to learn (the moves, techniques etc.)

Basically you start from the bottom just like most professional boxers. you then make your way to the top (champion) by signing contract, winning fights, earn money. Exactly like a real boxing career. you also get to choose your trainer and your player, you could either create your own or use an already existing boxer.e.g Muhammad Ali (yes i know, the legend) or Hollyfield..

You get to choose what title.. what weight category.. etc.

I aint gonna carry on might bore you but Just get the game. Your not gunna regret it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars GOOD GAME, 25 Jun 2006
By 
M. Mccarthy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
The review below mine is no more than you need to read. Its great for people who really love boxing as oppose to fighting and is really realistic. As a boxer myself I reckon its about as realistic as it gets, although the amount of fighters they have in the EA stable is really poor. Fighters like Tyson, Mayweather and Calzaghe (more enjoyable to use fighters) and even the Klitchkcos should have been included with EA only having a few top class fighters in each weight category. There are plenty of fictional fighters as you progress in your career however and it is a great game to play in multiplayer mode.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Round 3, 11 Mar 2006
This review is from: Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) (Video Game)
They really dropped the ball on this one.
First off, he strange retro look to it, makes it tough to look at. Imagine looking at
a Burger King or Mc Donald's all day. The character creation area, has some
cool new stuff, like new postures for defense and offense, but other then that,
it's weak. The view is much further away then in the Previous versions, and the
choices seems to have been cut down, rather then increased (as you would think
would happen in a follow-up game). Still only have 4 places to put tattoos (Left
arm, right arm, back, and chest. If you want a tat on the forearm, no luck there.
The controls are much more sluggish then the others, and there are lots of POPs
in the actions or transfers between actions.
I used to like to watch the slow-motion hits after the knock down, but not any more.
The Characters have lost something in their detail. They don't look as good. And the
sound is Awful in Slow Mo. It sounds like paper tearing, and drums, and the impact,
doesn't line up with the sound. The announcers also get cut off in mid sentence, when
talking about a hit.
The Training is different. They kept the same things as Round 2, but changed
them enough to make me hate them. In Round 2 you could easily see what you
were supposed to do. The angel in Round 3 sucks. The punch dummy, for instance:
He is turned at such an angel away from you, that you can't tell when they want
you to hit the Left side of the face.
The sparing is much better, in that you can choose what you want to work on,
and it trains you in just that.
Problem with the controls, is that when doing moves like uppercut or Heymaker,
you are faulted by the analog controller now. You go to the right then up, for a hook.
For a Heymaker hook, you go right, then roll down, then Up. Trouble is, that once you
go down, the fighter tries to do an Uppercut, or throw a Left. It's almost impossible
to throw an Uppercut Heymaker. Once you cross the middle point on the controller,
he will switch to the other hand and throw a jab.
You also can not block for ever anymore. With the R1 pressed, you get about 3
seconds of blocking, and then he will throw a random punch.
The ring girls change clothes during an event, but a LOT less time was taken
on making them look good. Their hands don't' even close on the cards, and their
heads pop as they look around. the joggle cam (allah 24, or NYPD Blue) when
you go to your corner, is annoying.
OH! And in the middle of a fight, you will suddenly be thrown into a new Camera View!
You start pounding on a guy, and it will switch to HIS point of View.
Stick with Round 2. It's a MUCH better product.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Fight Night Round 3 (PS2)
Fight Night Round 3 (PS2) by Electronic Arts (PlayStation2)
Used & New from: 0.01
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews