Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (20)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His lucky third album
Richard Ashcroft is not the first frontman to become a victim of his own success. And he probably won't be the last. His debut album ‘Alone With Everybody’ shot straight to number one, sold over a million copies & produced a top 5 single. While most would consider this a success, it met a lukewarm response from well-respected journalists the world...
Published on 4 Jan 2006 by nickmccabe

versus
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawnarama
Break The Night With Colour is a fantastic piece of work which leaves everything else on this CD trailing in its wake. Ashcroft's affected vocal style is a further nuisance. Can just about face listening to Cry Til The Morning and World Keeps Turning again, but the rest would be better moulded into an ashtray. Recommendation: buy the single.
Published on 26 Jun 2006 by A. Smith


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

55 of 56 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars His lucky third album, 4 Jan 2006
This review is from: Keys To The World (Audio CD)
Richard Ashcroft is not the first frontman to become a victim of his own success. And he probably won't be the last. His debut album ‘Alone With Everybody’ shot straight to number one, sold over a million copies & produced a top 5 single. While most would consider this a success, it met a lukewarm response from well-respected journalists the world over & was dubbed an underachievement.
It also seemed to cement what direction he was going with both his songs & sound. His follow-up ‘Human Conditions’ gained a more hostile response, with some denouncing it as a man so embroiled in his ego that he had completely lost whatever magic spark he had left. (for anyone who doesn’t know, Ashcroft was chief songwriter on the 7 million selling Urban Hymns LP that produced hits ‘Bitter Sweet Symphony’ & ‘The Drugs Don’t Work’).
Loyal fans will say his talent of writing a good tune never deserted him on both previous LPs, but the good news is on ‘Keys to the World’ the rest will take notice once again.
Simply put, it’s his finest set of songs since Urban Hymns. At 44 minutes long and containing 10 tracks, it’s back to basics for Britain’s finest troubadour.
The opening tracks ‘Why Not Nothing’& ‘Music is Power’ suggest a rejuvenation not seen before on his previous efforts, with the former foot-stomper easily his finest rock n roll moment post Verve. ‘Music is Power’ samples a track produced by Curtis Mayfield with Richard asking you to ‘Submit to the sound.’ Trust me, you will. White-boy soul has never sounded this good.
Lyrically the bar has been raised across most of the tunes too; his voice has matured into a rasp infused combination of Gallagher/Presley & there can be no doubt now he holds the finest voice of the long string of charismatic frontmen the UK has produced. Fine examples of this are on ‘Cry ‘til the Morning’ & the timeless beauty ‘Sweet Brother Malcolm.’
A true master of the ballad, Ashcroft exceeds even his own standards with ‘Words Just Get In The Way’ & the beautiful but sad lament ‘Why Do Lovers’. The usual philosophical meanderings are apparent throughout, but never have the songs been so punchy as title track ‘Keys to the World’ & focused as first single ‘Break the Night With Colour’. An instant classic, it exhumes Richard’s persona of man that no matter what he has on his plate, he’s discontented, insecure & suffering a state of ennui that if it helps produce music like this, we should all be thankful for it.
Finally, the man from ‘that’ video has a set of songs that can match anything from ‘that’ band. And the music world is a better place because of it. Welcome back Captain.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars This is the return to form you've been hearing about, 6 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Keys To The World (Audio CD)
I am one of these Ashcroft fans that takes issue with those who say his post Verve material is not very good. I agree that Alone With Everybody was a little polished and probably suffered for the fact that Ashcroft seemed a bit too happy when he wrote it, but I thought that Human Conditions was a fantastic example of great songwriting.
What "Keys to the World" has over the first two, however, is a bit of what was missing. On "Urban Hymns" the ballads were interspersed with rousing numbers "Rolling People" and "Come On". Well those kind of tracks make their return here, with opener "Why not Nothing" as rock n roll as Ashcroft has ever sounded, and the superb title track Keys to The World, which samples a soul singer strangely enough!?! But these songs make all the difference, put in amongst more fine ballads, especially "Sweet Brother Malcolm", that make this Ashcrofts strongest effort since the Verve, and should be the Album we've all hoped he would make to put him back on top of the tree
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Yawnarama, 26 Jun 2006
By 
A. Smith "Adamsez" (London, England United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keys To The World (Audio CD)
Break The Night With Colour is a fantastic piece of work which leaves everything else on this CD trailing in its wake. Ashcroft's affected vocal style is a further nuisance. Can just about face listening to Cry Til The Morning and World Keeps Turning again, but the rest would be better moulded into an ashtray. Recommendation: buy the single.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great 3rd album from a hugely under-rated solo artist, 30 Mar 2006
By 
Mr T R Ransley (Southampton, hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Keys To The World (Audio CD)
I'm shocked by the bad reviews i've read on this album. I can only assume that the reviewers are blind SClub fans that have bought the wrong album.
THIS ALBUM IS GREAT! It has all the quality of Richard's previous work and i really cant recommend it enough.
If you liked Alone With Everybody &/or Human Conditions you simply have to buy this album. This really is Ashcroft at his very best. *****
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars excellent, worth the wait, 19 Feb 2006
By 
C. Cole (beverley, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keys To The World (Audio CD)
listened to this album throughout the weekend, and just think its fantastic. Excellent lyrics, I just love his lyrics. Been a long time fan, and was slightly concerned following the Coldplay link and some reviews. But I am more than impressed with this, and like all his past music. The more I play them, the more I like and fell the tunes (hope that makes sensem well does to me).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Dig beneath the surface and join the journey, 27 Jan 2006
This review is from: Keys To The World (Audio CD)
On the surface, 'Keys to the World' is not a groundbreaking or original album. As many critics have pointed out, his lyrics are cliched and some of his songs come across as simple and shallow.
However, repeated listenings reveal a true masterpiece... the cliches become profound and the simple songs reveal themselves to be quite complex and meaningful (even 'Simple Song' itself!) It's difficult for me to rate 'Keys to the World' because it feels almost as if it can't be rated.
Richard says (in the accompanying DVD) that the album is just another part of a journey that he wants people to take with him... and once you're on that journey, the music takes on a whole new meaning. As Richard himself puts it: "Music is power/Let it flow through your mind".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally the solo album that shows how great he really is., 24 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. J. Mason "sports gamer" (Hull, East Yorkshire) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Keys To The World (Audio CD)
I've been a huge Richard Ashcroft fan from his early Verve days. I think he really cemented his status as one the best singer/songwriters this country's ever produced with the Urban Hymns album and I've been waiting for his solo work to match that standard. So far they haven't, but at last this new album really is up there with Urban Hymns and is fantastic, it will really stick in your mind for a long time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars REFRESHING INDEED!, 26 Jan 2006
By 
S. W. Yendell - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having followed Richard Ashcroft since the beginning of his solo career, which now spans 3 albums, i was always expecting something alittle different from what else is on offer in todays music industry.
refreshing is a good superlative for this album. a good old typical singer/song writer record that doesnt feel quite as heavy as his other two offerings. a good mix of energetic, soulful, contemplating tunes.
overall its an album of progression, you get the feeling there is alot more to be offered from this rare breed of artist. as for this version with bonus DVD, that in itself is maybe for the 'fan' mostly. the gem being an interview with richard where he discusses the topics of each song, its always interesting hearing the artists take on songs to discover their true meanings. the live performances are top notch and the first single's video is just a nice addition.
Stand out tracks would be 'Music is Power', 'Break the Night with Colour', 'Keys to the World' and maybe my favourite... 'Why Do Lovers?' as richard says in his interview its a great song to stick on at 2am in the morning!
9/10, go on treat yourself!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best yet!, 23 Jan 2006
This review is from: Keys To The World (Audio CD)
I'm a lucky man - i've spoken to Mr Ashcroft on a number of occassions over the last 3 years of his hiatus and on each occassion he proclaimed he was working hard to get the very best album he could get out. As time went on I started to wonder whether it was possible to get something that's taken 3 years to perfect to sound as mindblowing as he was proclaiming...
Keys To The World answers all my questions and doubts with a big ear-drum-smashing belt of positivity. There's a bit of everything here for the hardcore Verve fan to the Ashcroft lovers. The whole album wreaks of songwriting genius and reaffirms Richard Ashcroft as a rock legend.
Highlists of the album are definately summed up in the title track, Keys To The World, Sweet Brother Malcolm and Why Do Lovers - however take nothing away from any of the other songs - they are all par excellance!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 July 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Keys To The World (Audio CD)
Superb
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Keys To The World
Keys To The World by Richard Ashcroft (Audio CD - 2006)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews