Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (9)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!! Worth every penny
Superb construction kit! I built the Airfix 1:144 scale Shuttle many years ago but this is a far more satisfactory model! Using the model "crawler" as a display stand gives the finished model a much more reallistic look!
Couple of minor faults: some of the parts have excess flash that needs removing and the main fuel tank parts didn't mate unaided.
Some filling...
Published on 2 Nov. 2011 by J. G. Futers

versus
5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, poorly done.
I have bourght a lot of model kits and this one is one of the worst. The quality of the plastic is cheap so gives a lot of poorly moulded parts. The kit does not join together properly as the moulding is very poor. the instructions are rubbish and may as well be done by a child with crayon. If you want a high quality kit of the space shuttle buy the airfix kit its a lot...
Published on 3 May 2011 by dave210


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!! Worth every penny, 2 Nov. 2011
By 
J. G. Futers "Wee Geordie" (Peeblesshire, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
Superb construction kit! I built the Airfix 1:144 scale Shuttle many years ago but this is a far more satisfactory model! Using the model "crawler" as a display stand gives the finished model a much more reallistic look!
Couple of minor faults: some of the parts have excess flash that needs removing and the main fuel tank parts didn't mate unaided.
Some filling may be required where the shuttle body halves meet and also the wing mountings
The cargo hold detailing is great with payload and manipulating arm.
Definitely not one for the kids, despite being described as 10+, it would make a good father-son project you could knock it together in a single sitting; but be prepared to spend a good 7 to 10 days to do this model justice!
If you're prepared to spend the time and effort to complete it fully painted (paints not included) the effort is well worth it!
The instructions are in multi-lingual format and require constant reference to an icon chart and paint numbers, for Revell paints (colour conversion charts are available on-line. The Decal sheet has masses of transfers which complete the look when applied; though for the colour bands on the boosters it might be better to paint them before final assembly rather than use the decals supplied (steady hand required for both)
For the enthusiast it may be worth buying a second kit; build the shuttle in "flight" mode (cargo bay doors open) and rework the "crawler" to take a Saturn V model Airfix 1:144 Scale A11170 Nasa Apollo Saturn V Rocket Model Kit. This leaves the fuel tank and boosters to stretch the imagination!!!
Enjoy hours of "fun" and contemplation away from the mind-numbing-box. You will get back what you put in!
If you want a simpler space model try Airfix A11150 Saturn V Skylab 1:144 Scale Space Exploration Model Kit, Airfix A06172 Saturn 1B 1:144 Scale Space Exploration Model Kit, Airfix A50106 1:72 Scale NASA Space Exploration One Small Step for Man 40th Anniversary of the Moon Landing Gift Set with Paints, Glue and Brushes: enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 July 2009
By 
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
Fabulous Toy was given as a gift to a 32 year old and he was really pleased with his birthday present. I would highly recommend this product. The only thing that you have to be aware of is that you have to buy the paints separate. Something that I wasn't aware of as I am not a model enthusias.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars out of this world, 3 Sept. 2011
By 
C. Whitlock "Av Geek" (Birmingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:4.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:3.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
brilliant. The detail in the transfers are great. everything about it is brill. really fun to build and goes great when attached to the revells ISS 1:144 scale. I'v bought 3 and each one gets better, Be carefull with the SRB's when attaching it to the main fuel tank
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love it, 14 Aug. 2010
By 
J. Davies - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
This is a brilliant model kit if you love the shuttle like me, a bargain price compared to hobby shops and the mouldings are really great, very accurate and not much sanding etc needed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Arrrghhh i forgotten how difficult this sort of thing is....., 7 April 2008
By 
Ed.F "edz314" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
I bought this as an passing amusement for my 4 yr old, you know, assemble the toy rocket, let them play with it until they tire of it etc. Well the combined efforts of 1 father and 2 grandfathers over a weekend were required to assemble it to a satisfactory standard and my 4 yr old didn't get a look in.

On reflection not really a toy at all, more of a serious endeavour for mature minds, and if, like us, you can't find any of those you might remember how much fun model kits are. Top stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Buy, 28 May 2011
= Durability:3.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:5.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
this is a very detailed model that is very well designed and alot of fun to put togeather and with the price its being sold at u cant go wrong
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars nice kit, but as with all models, 2 Dec. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
nice kit, but as with all models, takes time and patience. i certainly didn't do mine in a day, that's for sure (but's that's the joy of model making). The decals are crisp, but need a steady hand with some of them, especially the ones on the boosters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Space shuttle., 14 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
I assume this model is accurate, but I found it difficult to interpret the drawings (I was draughtsman) And I found the painting and tranfers fiddly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Great Model, 9 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
Great Model, not to difficult to do, enjoyed every minute building it. Need to buy glue and paint to finish it,
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars rubbish, poorly done., 3 May 2011
= Durability:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Fun:2.0 out of 5 stars  = Educational:4.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Space Shuttle Discovery & Booster Rocket 1:144 scale model (Toy)
I have bourght a lot of model kits and this one is one of the worst. The quality of the plastic is cheap so gives a lot of poorly moulded parts. The kit does not join together properly as the moulding is very poor. the instructions are rubbish and may as well be done by a child with crayon. If you want a high quality kit of the space shuttle buy the airfix kit its a lot better in every way.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews