Customer Reviews


137 Reviews
5 star:
 (100)
4 star:
 (25)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


24 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars TRUE family entertainment
Family entertainment usually sends shivers down my spine. It means movies my kids will enjoy and I'll sit with a horrific grin waiting for it all to be over. Kiki is different, it's warm, beautifully animated and has a heart of gold. There are enough jokes to keep my young son laughing and a few moments of genuine depth that will moisten the eyes of even the most cynical...
Published on 11 Feb. 2004 by Leafhelix

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Kiki's Delivery Service is a wonderful animation about a young witch who leaves home to ...
Kiki's Delivery Service is a wonderful animation about a young witch who leaves home to find independence but this is a review, not for the actual film, but the product itself (region 2 DVD). Due to it being part of the Studio Ghibli Collection line of DVDs I did not expect to find any issues as I have purchased others in this line before, all in excellent quality. With...
Published 7 months ago by FireArrow91


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An excellent Studio Ghibli film, 16 July 2010
By 
A. J. HAWKEN "Tony Hawken" (London - UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This is an excellent film, but my purpose is to point out that this film, like many others directed by Hayou Miyazaki was produced by the Studio Ghibli, not Walt Disney as suggested by Amazon. I believe Walt Disney is the DVD distributor - they had nothing to do with creating the film. I have tried to update the Amazon info but it was not accepted by Amazon. If they could be bothered to read the top of the image supplied they would see that the film is created by the studio Ghibli.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A broom, a blimp, and a cute sarcastic cat!, 31 Dec. 2007
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD] (DVD)
This isn't the strongest of Ghibli fare, but maybe that's because studio Ghibli have produced some absolutely corking films. The cat Jiji, and Kiki herself are great characters, but I didn't warm as much to the others.

The story tells of how the 13 year old witch Kiki comes of age and leaves her home to spend a year away. I don't think "the city" is ever given a name, but it certainly looks like a European city. Here she finds a place to stay and gets herself an admirer.

The film is as stunning as you'd expect from a Ghibli film, in fact, this is the most impressive Ghibli film I've seen - visually speaking. I felt that the film set up characters but never utilised them as well as it could have done (the spoilt child being the most obvious). But I still very much enjoyed the film. It has an innocent charm which warms the hackles and a pleasant soundtrack.

The film deals with the isolation and the feeling of being an outsider. Kiki is a strong young woman, but essentially still a vulnerable child. The final dramatic scenes in the film test Kiki's self confidence and cement her relationship with a local boy. I think children of around Kiki's age will get a lot from this film as they may be able to identify with her feeling of never quite fitting in, the way she sees herself as ugly compared to how she views others. As an audience we see that wearing fancy frocks does not make the person a good one, it's an old cliché but the "real beauty is on the inside" ethos is presented in this film without being too obvious or preachy about it.

In a nutshell: I'd give this film 3.5 stars if I could, but on balance I'll give it 4 as the aesthetics are far superior to those of many other animated films, and although I didn't enjoy it as much as other Ghibli films I can see that others could get a lot from it. This initially appeared as only `average', but on reflection, maybe it is something that bit special.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Studio Ghibli Animation - What more do you need to know?, 1 July 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD] (DVD)
Kiki's Delivery Service is a fun-packed animation from the Studio Ghibli team (Spirited Away, My Neighbour Totoro, Howles Moving Castle) and directed by the master himself, Hayao Miyazaki.

It tells the story of Kiki, a young witch who moves away from her family home to live in a major city to find her own niche in life. Setting up a parcel delivery service with her trusted broomstick and talking black cat (Jiji), Kiki discovers that it is not all that easy to live on ones own - especially when she loses her witch powers! Throw in a boy that's after her affections, and we have a story that is a delight for viewers both young and... not so young.

Available in both original Japanese and dubbed English language versions, the latter of which features the vocal talents of Kirsten Dunst & Debbie Reynolds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Uplifiting, Warm and Fuzzy - Great Entertainment for All, 25 Feb. 2006
By 
kupocake (Brighton) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD] (DVD)
Everyone has a soft-spot, and I figure mine is in my DVD collection. Films are supposed to cater for our needs, and when I need to curl up in front of something uplifting, I need to have a copy Kiki's Delivery Service to hand. The first time I watched it, I had to have cosmetic surgery to remove the huge grin the film had forced my mouth to adopt. Despite doctor's warnings I popped the DVD into a player this afternoon and spent my time grinning, gasping, cheering and everything else all-over again. Few movies really illicit an emotional response from me, but I would be even harder pressed to name movies that make me emotional out of sheer happiness.
Kiki's Delivery Service in a nutshell: a 13 year old witch leaves home and sets up a delivery service in a seaside town, and umm... delivers stuff. It's not an action-packed, high octane thriller, but it IS well paced and the delivery challenges Kiki faces - which were I to name them, may seem rather dull - are exciting. The whole "coming of age" scenario is easy to relate to (even retrospectively), and the whole wonder of discovery and independence that this film oozes is helped by the beautiful artwork of the film.
Negatives? Well it's a single DVD release with special features that only just trump the older, poorer Buena Vista-version - the full-length storyboards which are of debateable appeal, a featurette on the story behind Ursula's Kiki-inspired painting that appears in the movie and the original Japanese promotional trailers. Nice to see Optimum at least getting some more content for the movie I suppose.
I couldn't possibly give this film less than the full 5 stars. KDS is a film for just about everyone. The relative lack of action will inevitably put some off, but it is still well paced and I defy anyone to claim that they didn't still enjoy it after watching it. Most importantly (even speaking as an Anime fan) I can guarantee that the fact that this is anime will not get in the way of your enjoyment of the film. Regardless of the fact that anime is needlessly shunned by the UK mainstream, KDS isn't overtly Japanese in its style or presentation. I don't doubt that only a Japanese studio could come up with something as sublime as this film, but the setting, characters, artwork and messages are far more appealing to a Western audience than the vast majority of anime.
If you're looking at this film off the back of another Ghibli production - Spirited Away, Princess Mononoke or any of the already released Optimum-Ghibli collection, you'll find more of the magic and artistic integrity that you found in those films. If you're young, old, male or female, you will inevitably enjoy this film, though an audience of serial killers or male teenagers would probably not be so interested... But then, I personally like to imagine that every stereotypical monosyllabic pubescent guy has U-Rated and sugary sweet Kiki DVD stashed away where their peer-group can't see. Its more likely with this updated un-pink DVD-case as well. I love the artwork Optimum have for this and other releases!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Magical Delivery Service, 3 Dec. 2009
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD] (DVD)
This was a wonderful and uplifting anime about a young and powerful 13 year old witch who moves in a new town with her magical cat to embark on a new life. At first she recieves a frosty reception when she tries to befriend the locals. Over time, she is taken in by a caring woman who is about to become a mother and owns a bakery with her husband. Kiki starts her own delivery service and eventually makes friends and connects with some of the people in the story on a deep spiritual level. Along the way, through her challenge of temporarily losing her power to fly she discovers that the key to her power lies in trusting her spirit and believing in herself. This is also a very happy and uplifting movie. I am very happy to have found out about this movie through amazon and I would highly recommend this magical gem of a movie if you love to watch anime that will help give you an emotional boost and feelings of joy and upliftment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful animated feature by Miyazaki, 19 Aug. 2008
By 
Andres C. Salama (Buenos Aires, Argentina) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD] (DVD)
Hayao Miyazaki animated feature of a 13-old year witch leaving his parents and settling in a new town to form a (broom-based) delivery service is irresistible. As in many of his movies, the protagonist here is a plucky heroine defying all odds. What I found most enjoyable about the movie - though - is its background details. Miyazaki loves European culture - and the movie is set in never land Europe - a fantasy Europe that never existed. A lot of the clothes and the technology suggests the 1950s and the 1960s - but filtered through Miyazaki's sensibility (there are a number of anachronistic details that suggest perhaps a mid-20th century Europe if World War II had never happened). Miyazaki uses a lot of different sources in his movies - and they not always coalesce. In Porco Rosso, they didn't (Fascist Italy + Aviation Aces + Flying Pig?). But here they do.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Flying High onto Blu-Ray, 27 Jun. 2014
By 
P. Kennard (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
Kiki’s story is one that Studio Ghibli do well: warm and funny, with a lightness not evident in their more ‘worthy’ films like Spirited Away and Princess Mononoke. But that’s not to say Kiki’s Delivery Service is without merit or heart, quite the opposite: but the serious coming of age message and the expressed need for an individual to find themselves are woven so gently into the story, that like a tapestry, you don’t notice the pattern until you step back and see the film as a whole.
The story is wonderfully simple: it is the tradition that when a witch turns thirteen, she must spend a year away from home fending for herself and honing her craft. Finding herself in a city by the ocean, Kiki must learn the hard way that not everyone is as nice and warm as those she grew up with. However, with a good heart and determination, she manages to find friends and fulfilment, bringing out the best in others as much as herself.
The characters are all richly drawn, with even the man in the clock tower feeling like a fully-formed and real person. Her cat, who spends have the film talking to her, is by turns hilarious and sweet, while her landlady is as warm as her bakery. The location is equally arresting: a faux European City that manages to feel vaguely Germanic without actually placing it anywhere specific. The dating is also deliberately vague, being somewhere between the early fifties to early eighties. Both these elements are designed to help provide a solid and rich background that doesn’t get in the way.

This is a film that the whole family can enjoy, the children will love the cat and Kiki’s erratic adventures, while adults will enjoy the subtleties of the characters and plot and the sheer magic of the film.

About the Disc
The Blu-Ray looks absolutely stunning. The film is beautifully drawn and every frame simply leaps of the screen in crystal clear definition, with good colours and contrast. A great deal of work has clearly gone into restoring this 25 year old film and it looks like it was made yesterday. Everything is there, from the scuffed leaves as a character runs down the road to the lush landscapes. There is no trace of compression or digital artefacts.
The sound is again nice and rich, with both Japanese original and American dub tracks included. As is common with Ghibli titles these days, some big names have leant themselves to the American track, but they have been cast appropriately and fit the characters well.

A recommended film for just about everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A delightful family film, 27 Jun. 2013
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD] (DVD)
Kiki's Delivery Service is another of my favourite Studio Ghibli films, it was written and directed by Hayao Miyazaki and based on a Japanese children's novel with the same name, it's best described as a coming of age story.
One of Studio Ghibli's earlier productions, Miyazaki wasn't originally to be involved in either writing or directing this film but circumstances made it so.

Kiki is a 13 year-old witch living in a small village with her parents, an old witch tradition says that once a witch girl turns 13, she must leave home and train in a specific magic skill, establishing herself as a full witch.
Kiki leaves home and travels to the big city with her black cat, Jiji.
At first, Kiki finds it difficult but soon befriends a good-natured baker and her husband, finding a place to stay.
Discovering that her only real talent is flying, Kiki starts a delivery service.

When I try to think why Kiki's Delivery Service means so much to me, I believe it's because I'm in love with Koriko, the fictional European city by the sea which Kiki settles in, it's really beautiful and full of nice architecture and I just want to live there myself.
Hayao Miyazaki has said it's based on Visby in Sweden, also influenced by Stockholm, Munich, Rome and even San Francisco.
Joe Hisiashi said in an interview that he thought of the city as Prague, a city which looks both modern and traditional, the European inspiration definitely comes through the soundtrack.

Kiki is sincere character, a very sweet young girl who is kind-hearted, polite to her elders and possesses both childlike and adult qualities which make her a great role model for younger viewers, celebrating such virtues as courtesy, hard-work and responsibility.
The black cat Jiji acts as comic relief and there's some lovely supporting characters and the main theme of the film is about believing in yourself.
A delightful family film that's charming and very relaxing to watch, moving at a slow pace with very little going on in terms of plot, Kiki's Delivery Service feels like a breathe of fresh air, a light-hearted film which is makes you feel warm and fuzzy inside.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful, 5 Sept. 2012
By 
B. J. Davies "EntilZha" (The Rhondda, South Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD] (DVD)
There is no real point in my leaving a review of this film as there are many excellent ones already posted. This information I'd like to supply is to do with the audio/subtitle selections.

My personal taste, which I also believe to be the best option, is to listen to it in the original Japanese language while activating the second set of subtitles which are at least more accurate with regards to the dialogue than the other set which has bees somewhat Disneyfied.

I suggest not using the Dubbed (English) audio language as it has also been Disneyfied and it as it is also for the hearing impaired so has the sort of subtitles that says "leaves rustle" or "static on radio".

When I say it has been Disneyfieed I mean that it changes the words to those that Disney would use. A prime example is in the scene inside Kiki's bedroom when her father says: "Now let me look at my little witch". This line in the second set of subtitles obviously matches what is being said on the Japanese soundtrack, after all, as we all know, Kiki is in fact a witch. Switch to the first set of subtitles however, (and it is the same with the English audio), and you will hear and read: "now let me look at my princess".....there's no need for this messing about is there?

I realise it is a choice but at least the Japanese audio/Subtitle set 2 provide more accurate text for those of us who are not fluent in japanese. I consider the other audio option and set of subs superfluous and honestly wish they were not there at all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Better Than Disney, 8 Sept. 2003
As usual Studio Ghibli have created a masterpiece, along with the help of Myazaki, which has managed to go unoticed by the public under the shadow of Disney.
The animation and backdrops are stunning and the flight scenes will blow you away. The story is great too as its about a young whitch who must leave home and inhabit a town to start her 2 year long training.
Great for the kids and a break from the unambitious recent attempts from Walt Disney.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 314 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD]
Kiki's Delivery Service [DVD] by Hayao Miyazaki (DVD - 2006)
£10.60
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews