Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

28 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best police series I have seen, 6 Mar 2006
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
I came across these by accident, and find the whole series excellent. It is far removed from from the early days of the friendly 'cop' around the corner. Although it has its fair share of murders, the main plot is the amount of distrust that is present in the differing ranks and, in particular, the various 'parts' of the service. At no time did I find it boring or unbelievable - the characters remained true to their roles throughout. I really feel that the series [both parts] was worth every penny!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Still good, 11 Sep 2007
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
I liked this second series because of the storylines involving the security services. Have you noticed how many cop shows like to slip in at least one MI5 story, even good old fashioned 'Heartbeat'. Personally I don't mind. The lovely Francesca Annis is introduced in this series to be become 'involved' with Tony Clark. This still seemed fresh and original. I love the last line from Clark : 'Prove it'.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


37 of 41 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars When the BBC were good value..., 27 Jan 2006
By 
Sam (Canterbury) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
World Productions have seen sense and released series 2 of Between the Lines just 5 months after the first. This show is the finest piece of drama the BBC has ever produced and it's 35 episodes are still as engaging to watch some 12-14 years later.
Nothing in my eyes has ever really come close - there could be an argument for 'Spooks' and 'The Cops' but you could soon pick holes in it. The writing/storylines, the characters, the acting, and the the direction are all top notch and Series 2 is as equally good as the first. I'm sure if Pearson, Georgeson and Redmond were questioned on their acting career highlights 'Between the Lines' would spring to the forefront. I cant imagine 'Trevor's world of Sport' being quite as exciting to make for Pearson as playing the complex but endearing Tony Clark and I'm certain Georgeson would rather be portraying streetwise Harry Naylor than appearing as himself on 'Call my Bluff'.
This show had everything you could want - there will probably never be another quite like it as we are now in 2006 and TV drama is generally sh*te. In the 90's you had 'BTL', 'Civvies', 'Cracker' even 'Casualty' was better, unfortunately these days we have become saturated with mind numbing Celebrity and Reality TV, and big budget/poor quality drama such as 'Rome' interspersed with monotonous rolling news programmes. The TV license has never been such a financial burden.
So thank the DVD for being invented, grab yourself a copy of 'BTL 2', turn off that foul 'different shades of red' BBC wallpaper, and the stupid idiots performing martial arts on a roof somewhere while some pretentious fool tells you what 'the ONE to watch' is and go back to the good old 90's when the Beep were good value, 'BTL' was the ONE to watch, and TV programmes were introduced with the good old revolving globe which had a big fat '1' stamped on the front of it....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


30 of 34 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great programme, very poor attention to DVD production, 21 Mar 2006
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Between the Lines was a superlative series- fantastically written, well acted, and making lots of points in an intelligent manner.
The second series is even grimmer than the first, perhaps to a fault. Long-suffering Superintendant Tony Clark (part of the CIB, the police for the police, an organisation replaced a few years ago in real life) has just shopped his own boss (played by the ever brilliant Tony Doyle, and happily not the last we see of him) up for serious malpractice. However, the opening buzz he has gotten for this coup is soon sunk, and his new boos is the person at CIB he hates the most. From there, Clark starts to self-destruct. He can sort out neither his personal nor professional life, and it's a very rare episode that does not end with something having gone wrong with either someone's life or with the case being a total bust.
Between the Lines was a series with a shelf life; there are only so many 'bent cop' stories to do, and this series extends the 'Between the Lines' theme to the security services also. This makes for interesting episodes but you soon get the feeling the writers were shutting down the main concept, as indeed they do by the end of the series. Meanwhile, the episode 'Manslaughter', which having no problems in terms of quality, wasn't really a BTL episode at all. It was something that could have occurred in any police show, like Law and Order. It just so happens the perpetrator was a policeman (they even have to make a plot exiuse in episode as to why CIB is investigating at all, as no police malpratice was involved).
But even as the concept changes, the series remains superb. What is stopping me giving this a fifth star is the appalling attention to detail the makers of the DVD have put in. Not content with accidentally using the second series background with the first series DVD menu and vice-versa, the second series DVD insides have several descriptions of episodes that bear absolutely no resemblance to the episodes themselves at all. It's very odd, because some of the descriptions looked like they may have made interesting BTL plots... they just never happened. I've never actually seen anything like that happen before, and it is a shame that no-one noticed, but obviously it has no bearing on the quality of the programme at all, which is very high.
Highly recommended to all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Gripping drama, 13 May 2009
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Between the Lines is gripping police drama about the CBI investigating abuse of police powers and corruption within the force. The first remarkable thing is that BTL has a fairly unlikeable protagonist: womanizing career police man Tony Clarke who is really blackmailed into joining the CBI. He acts so irresponsibly in his personal life throughout the series that it is really difficult to sympathize with him (and he wears the worst fitting suits I have ever seen). On the other hand he is very emotional about his job and also really professional about it (unless his private life or hormones get in the way) in spite of the fact that he really hates his job. His team consists of bisexual Maureen Connell and veteran copper Harry Naylor whose wife develops a terminal illness in the second series. These three really complex characters really carry the show. The standard of writing is also fairly high. The stories are complex and satisfying which is not easy to achieve in a 45 minutes format. However, in the second season they become formulaic in terms of the CBI's impotence to deal with corruption in the force. You can't help wondering why they bother at all. Apart from the strong performances of the cast (with the possible exception of the rather one dimensional DCS Graves) the series also has some episodes that are visually very well made particularly the inteview situation. For 1992 the first season is also groundbreakling in its depiction of nudity as you see some full frontal shots of Clark's beautiful girlfriend and you see Jaye Griffith's bottom.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Between The Lines Series 2, 18 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
This was, without doubt, one of my favourite ever TV series when first aired. Flicking between channels I was lucky enough to find Episode 1 series 1 on UK TV Drama, and watched the entire series.

With them not airing Series 2 I bought the series off Amazon and, although having only watched first few episodes, this is just as good and as fresh as it was (gulp) 15 years ago. Episode 1 features a very young looking Daniel Craig, wonder whatever became of him? Thoroughly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 2 Jun 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
I watched this series when it came on television and it was totally gripping. Seeing it on Amazon, made me was to revisit it again. Just as good as the first time I watched it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must if you saw the first series, 22 May 2013
By 
Claire (Halifax, UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Loved it when it was originally shown in the early '90s. Bought the first series, so the 2nd was a must.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent Product, 14 May 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Would recommend this product to anyone who ever watched the series originally.Attractively packaged and looks good on the shelf as part of a set.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Robson Green, 17 Jun 2011
By 
J. Hussey - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD] (DVD)
Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 1 [1992] [DVD]Thank god Hollywood never was on your radar! Mr Green.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Between The Lines : Complete BBC Series 2 [1992] [DVD]
Used & New from: £16.74
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews