Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Currently the best version of Worms available
For those unfamiliar with the concept, Worms World Party features teams of between 2 and 6 worms, fighting against each other with various weapons such as shotguns, bazookas, dynamites and cluster bombs. In this incarnation there are also some outlandish weapons, such as Armageddons (introduced in WWP's predecessor, Worms Armageddon) and the Concrete Donkey. Worms can...
Published on 11 Oct 2006 by tws45

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning - won't work on many laptop PCs
I'd like to be able to give a proper review of this game but we haven't got it to work yet. According to the support on the manufacturer's web site this game will not work with "some" integrated Intel graphics. For this read almost every modern laptop, including both of ours. It installs ok but when you try to run it you get a warning message "The program has stopped...
Published on 25 April 2010 by Comical Engineer


Most Helpful First | Newest First

12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Currently the best version of Worms available, 11 Oct 2006
By 
tws45 (W Yorks, UK) - See all my reviews
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
For those unfamiliar with the concept, Worms World Party features teams of between 2 and 6 worms, fighting against each other with various weapons such as shotguns, bazookas, dynamites and cluster bombs. In this incarnation there are also some outlandish weapons, such as Armageddons (introduced in WWP's predecessor, Worms Armageddon) and the Concrete Donkey. Worms can also be blown off objects such as mines and oil drums. Graphics are cartoony and while they aren't full of high-resolution fancy visuals, they suit the game very well.

The gameplay has the old-fashioned addictiveness that was common in older games and is rare in modern games- the gameplay is simple but very fun.

As of 2006, the 3D incarnations have failed to capture the simplicity and fun of the 2D incarnations and feature a more limited range of weapons. Although Worms World Party received relatively average reviews due to it not being much of an advance over Worms Armageddon, nowadays it's available for much the same (very low) price, and so in my opinion it is the best version of the game to get. Most games decline in appeal as they become old, but with its emphasis on gameplay over looks, WWP remains a timeless classic.

EDIT as of 2012: The third comment to my review makes a good point- Worms World Party isn't supported or patched anywhere near as much as Worms Armageddon and is fiendishly hard to get working on any version of Windows from Vista onwards. Armageddon is basically World Party minus a few minor tweaks, so as of 2012 you may well be better off getting that instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Last of the great worms games, 4 May 2006
By 
Iain Ashby "gigahoe" (London, uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:4.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
I loved the original game and used to play it all the time. When the new generation of 3D versions of worms came out I was dissappointed as it lost the whole dynamic of the game. This is the most up to date 2D version of Worms avaliable on the PC and is worth the tiny price for the hours of addictive gameplay either on your own or with a bunch of mates.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Aug 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
Having owned one of the prequels to this game, Worms 2, I had a reasonable idea of what to expect. Whilst it was still in my mind on whether to buy it or not though, I decided to search the Team17 website for maybe a demo to try out the game, which I found. This demo really encouraged me to go out and but the full version of the game. The graphics (for a 2D game) are the best you are going to get. There is also a much more extensive range of weaponry, game modes, and an extra utility boxes including jetpacks. My favourite weapon on the whole game, although it is very rare, is the Concrete Donkey.
Team17 have done themselves proud with this game. Pity they had to spoil it by releasing some 3D games
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Warning - won't work on many laptop PCs, 25 April 2010
By 
Comical Engineer "comicaleng" (UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
I'd like to be able to give a proper review of this game but we haven't got it to work yet. According to the support on the manufacturer's web site this game will not work with "some" integrated Intel graphics. For this read almost every modern laptop, including both of ours. It installs ok but when you try to run it you get a warning message "The program has stopped working - Windows [Vista] is looking for a solution".

This warning could have been publicised better as I had to spend 1/2 hour trawling the website before I worked out what the problem was. Disappointed as this was bought by my son with his pocket money. It will be returned forthwith.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great game at a great price., 28 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
Had lost my own copy of this game years ago and decided to order a new one since I love the game. Nothing to complain about!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars best worms!, 17 July 2011
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
Best iteration of worms I've played by a long shot! A ton of modes, loads of team customisation and worm voices, the best and most weapons (Concrete Donkey's first appearence, I believe) and hours of laffs. I was looking through the disc and found a mission builder too, which surprisingly isn't too difficult to use. It's hard to write a beautifully flowing review about the understated beauty of this game (because there is none) but if you want to blow up things whilst speaking like James Brown this is the place to be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars It's fun, it's cheap, it's Worms, 13 Jun 2009
By 
Mr. Ross Maynard (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
= Fun:3.0 out of 5 stars 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
I still have the PS1 version of Worms - nearly 15 years old. Worms World Party for PC is basically the same idea. It has better graphics and sound and much more variety in terms of weapons and scenarios, but it is basically the same game.

The good thing about Worms is that it is very easy to play and you don't have to spend hours on gameplay. You can play for 10 or 20 minutes anytime you have a bit of free time. I suppose that means its downside is that it has no depth. Well, on this PC version you can play missions and play across the internet. I've not tried this - I just want a quick few minutes of play here and there when I need a break. Nothing fancy, just easy and fun.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Classic!, 24 Feb 2009
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
Updated version of a classic. All gamers should own at least one version of this game.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PERFECT :D, 1 Aug 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
VERY VERY GOOD GAME i bought the special offers the two discs

it is really good i played it online WOW perfect :D

i admit it & advice you really to buy it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars why buy here?, 31 July 2007
By 
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Worms World Party (PC) (CD-ROM)
lol you can download this of the internet free on a certain website , just search google... its a great game and i reccommend all worms games except the 3D ones...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Worms World Party (PC)
Worms World Party (PC) by Mastertronic Ltd (Windows XP)
2.07
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews