Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (3)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Set!
This wood carving tool set came earlier than was stated, great! and as other people have said, the box is beautiful but had a couple of small scratches but I'm not botherd about that at all because your don't wood carve with the box! The tools are very well made and have a good weight to them, all the tools need a little sharpening before use and an instructional sheet...
Published on 5 Feb. 2013 by Amazon Customer

versus
10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not fit for purpose
Appauling tools in no way are these anywhere near moderate quality woodcarving tools.

Having attended a course I thought this set would start me off, however they are already blunt and chipped on the blades and the angle is totally wrong for woodcarving. Far too deep as if they were intended for chopping than skilled removal of wood.

The only thing I...
Published on 3 Mar. 2012 by Billy


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Set!, 5 Feb. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
This wood carving tool set came earlier than was stated, great! and as other people have said, the box is beautiful but had a couple of small scratches but I'm not botherd about that at all because your don't wood carve with the box! The tools are very well made and have a good weight to them, all the tools need a little sharpening before use and an instructional sheet comes with the tools to tell you how to sharpen them. This is my first wood carving tool set and I am very pleased with it, I'm sure it will bring me many happy hours of carving pleasure. I would say definatley buy it, you wount be sorry!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


59 of 62 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Reasonable starter set, 19 July 2011
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
The set arrived in good time. The chisels are of reasonable quality for the price and were in good condition. There is a good range of shapes/sizes for general carving, although a set of smaller chisels would be needed as well for detailed/fine finishing. The case is attractive although it had been dropped and one corner was damaged.
As stated in a previous review, the chisels are only ground - not honed to a working edge. This is stated on the sleeve around the box; but should also be made clear in the description on Amazon. However, an hour's work with an oilstone got me a reasonable edge on the full set.
Suggestion to Amazon - why not offer a sharpening set comprising: double-sided oilstone (medium & fine grit), diamond whetstone (multi-shape to allow dressing of a range of chisels types), leather strop and ferrous oxide (crocus powder). This is the recommended sharpening set in the instructions that come with the chisels!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good entry level kit, 15 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
Good entry level kit for someone just getting into carving. Good quality and nicely presented so great for a gift.

As is the case for all wood carving chisels, you do need to have the tools/ability to sharpen these before use. No big chore but worth knowing that you cant use these straight out of the box
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not the sharpest tool in the box, 8 Mar. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
I've just got them, read the reviews and like someone else said and in nice big letters on the box it says "Tools need sharpening" this could of been stated by themselves but, the box is very poor for a tool case so it'll be converted into games case with a strap no biggie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better quality must be available, 2 Jun. 2012
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
On receipt a very steep grinding angle on a few chisels made use on a delicate sculture a much too brutal action, so was forced to grind a shallower angle to the rounded and 'V' cut chisels. The metal quality of the flat chisels don't seem to be as good as an identical Marples equivelant which stays sharper for longer. Never the less for the price they are good, supplied in a respectable box, and they do do what you want them to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal for woodcarving after a good sharpening, 28 Nov. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
Set of woodcarving chisels

Number of tools: 12 woodcarving chisels

Storage case: Yes, wooden.

Contents:
1 Straight Gouge 6.3mm
1 Straight Gouge 9.5mm
1 Straight Gouge 15.9mm
1 Straight Gouge 25.4mm
1 Straight Chisel 6.3mm
1 Straight Chisel 12.7mm
1 V-Straight Parting 12.7mm
1 V-Straight Parting 9.5mm
1 Spoon Gouge 19.0mm
1 Spoon Chisel 19.0mm
1 Curved Gouge 12.7mm
1 Skew Chisel 12.7mm

Overall: The woodcarving chisels come with real wood storage case and walnut polished handles. Inside the case you'll find basic sharpening instructions for: Gouges-Chisels- Parting Tools with black and white drawings. All the chisels have brass ferrules and beautiful walnut handles. IMPORTANT: Tools require sharpening prior use.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wood caring, 17 Jun. 2011
By 
Mrs. K. E. Potter (France) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
Super set and I am delighted though they all needed sharpening and as I was all keen to use them that was a bit grrrr but excellent, strong easy to handle tools
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wife is delighted, 7 Jan. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
Took a while to come but once arrived we were really pleased with the quality and completeness of the set. My wife can't wait to whittle!

Thank you
Richard Putt
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not fit for purpose, 3 Mar. 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
Appauling tools in no way are these anywhere near moderate quality woodcarving tools.

Having attended a course I thought this set would start me off, however they are already blunt and chipped on the blades and the angle is totally wrong for woodcarving. Far too deep as if they were intended for chopping than skilled removal of wood.

The only thing I could think with these tools is that someone has described what they should be like on the phone and someone has produced this set based on that description.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars brilliant starter set, 15 Aug. 2014
This review is from: Faithfull WCSET12 12-Piece Woodcarving Set in Case (DIY & Tools)
My Husband is already really good at wood carving and he has managed with his ordinary chisels. I really fancied a go so we decided to order this set based on the good reviews so we could both use them. I have to say that Im not disappointed. The blades on the tools are good quality and have sharpened easily. I like the handles and they feel comfortable in my hands - I know that some reviews have said they are poor but I havent encountered any problems at all. My husband has also found them comfortable to use so I guess its down to personal preference. The box - well I dont care if its not the flashiest or finest quality. Id rather have good chisels and a basic box than the other way round. If you were buying them as a gift the box is adequate. I think this is a great starter kit and good value for money. If you want to become a professional carver then I guess you would want to buy a set nearer the £200 mark but for a hobbiest like me these are brilliant.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews