Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully acid
If you enjoy films with jet black humour, then you'll love this film. Notable for the unapologetically acid narration by the excellent Christina Ricci, it also boasts a scene-stealing turn by Lisa Kudrow as Martin Donovan's dowdy best friend Lucia. The dialogue absolutely crackles with bitchy one-liners that are instantly quotable. Superb.
Published on 20 Feb 2004 by faithtastic

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars but it really gave it a good go. It was funny in moments but I ...
I wouldn't call this a dark comedy per se, but it really gave it a good go. It was funny in moments but I really had to force myself to laugh. I think what ruined this film for me was that too much happens in too little time.

All the characters had their place in the film, except one - the cop (can't even remember his name) - and the film does leave you with...
Published 2 months ago by wetnwild


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderfully acid, 20 Feb 2004
By 
faithtastic (Glasgow, Scotland) - See all my reviews
If you enjoy films with jet black humour, then you'll love this film. Notable for the unapologetically acid narration by the excellent Christina Ricci, it also boasts a scene-stealing turn by Lisa Kudrow as Martin Donovan's dowdy best friend Lucia. The dialogue absolutely crackles with bitchy one-liners that are instantly quotable. Superb.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Overlooked Black Comedy Great, 23 Nov 2011
By 
Keith M - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Opposite Of Sex [DVD] (DVD)
I was slightly surprised to see that Don Roos' excellent black comedy debut had received only a handful of reviews, albeit all of them very positive. I remember seeing this film at the cinema on its original release and being extremely impressed.

The film showcases a tour-de-force performance from Christina Ricci as the precocious and bad-mouthing 16-year-old Dede who returns to visit her gay half brother Bill, and ends up seducing his boyfriend. Ricci belies her lack of true adult roles in films to this point, and delivers a totally convincing (and hilariously funny) performance, which along with her performances in The Ice Storm and Buffalo 66, qualified her as one of the most promising American actresses at the time (of which promise she appears to have fallen rather short in recent years). In support, Lisa Kudrow gives a revelatory (for me, at least) performance as Bill's best friend Lucia who tries to combat Dede's disrupting influence, and indeed Martin Donovan as Bill is also excellent in his role.

Although I have not seen any of director Don Roos' later films, he appears to have followed this gem with more standard Hollywood fare (Ben Affleck, Gwyneth Paltrow, Steve Coogan?, etc).

This film, though, is essential viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars black comedy at it's best, 14 May 2005
I know there are other 5 star reviews on this item, and this is going to be just another. I'm not going to repeat what the others have said (or at least I'm going to try) because all I can say is watch this. Full of diaphragm shaking one liners and bittersweet black-to-the-soul comedy this film is a must. And also, if you thought Lisa Kudrow reached her peak in "friends", think again :D
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best dark comedies..., 7 Jan 2010
This review is from: The Opposite Of Sex [DVD] (DVD)
Lisa Kudrow! Ah she is so good as Lucia, I've always admired Lisa ever since her early Friends days. The characters are really well developed and the plot is crazy - but it is a great narrative. Christi Ricci's wry/sarcastic humor throughout kept me laughing, a Southern state bred, youngster on the run. . .

A great rare gem.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark comedy, 24 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Opposite Of Sex [DVD] (DVD)
This is a comedy for people who like their humour dark and snappy. Cristina Ricci is hilarious as the amoral heroine(?) with a sharp and jaundiced view of the world and her narration is a bitter masterclass. Enjoy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars but it really gave it a good go. It was funny in moments but I ..., 17 Oct 2014
I wouldn't call this a dark comedy per se, but it really gave it a good go. It was funny in moments but I really had to force myself to laugh. I think what ruined this film for me was that too much happens in too little time.

All the characters had their place in the film, except one - the cop (can't even remember his name) - and the film does leave you with some thought-provoking moments, mine personally being whether DeeDee is really the 'bad' person, or its everyone else trying to keep up with her.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Interesting film!, 27 Jan 2003
This is a brilliant film! It stars Christina Ricci (from Addam's Family!) in her first proper role, playing an adult (sort-of!)
Christina plays Dedee, a buxom, sexually precocious teenager who's pregnant, cynical, and looking for a volunteer father for her unborn child. She claims that her stepfather abused her, but her self-obsessed personality makes it difficult to know if she is telling the truth!
Her search for this volunteer father for her child takes her to the home of her gay half-brother (Martin Donovan) whose current lover (Ivan Sergei) becomes Dedee's latest target for seduction.

That's just the start of the mischief that Dedee so masterfully orchestrates, and Lisa Kudrow (from TV's Friends) is also on hand to deliver some of the movie's most quotable dialogue while fending off the affection of a local policeman played by Lyle Lovett.
If all this sounds rather sordid, rest assured that the movie's got a warm heart. Most of the movie's appeal and humour comes through Dedee's voice-over narration, which constantly reminds us that even the most familiar movie clichés can be cleverly overturned.
This is an interesting film that was brilliantly acted and directed. The only downside is that I just felt that I didn't know enough about any of the characters to make me care about what happened to them!
Overall this is a great film that should be owned by all!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Boring snooooozefest, not funny, a waste of time and the one euro I spent on it, 22 May 2014
This review is from: The Opposite Of Sex [DVD] (DVD)
This boring film never gets going. I blame the director, he must be pretty rubbish at his job - he should become an accountant. The main actor Bill sleepwalks throughout the film, you expect him to nod off at any minute. Lyle Lovett looks like some shapeshifting alien clone with lizard eyes, you could not imagine any woman on the planet wanting to sleep with him. Ricci drones on and on and on and on with this boring voiceover and she is a pale skinned overweight Barney with terrible dyed blonde hair. Kudrow tries to act but whines on and on and on and on... They guy who plays Matt looks like some dumb male model. Also, the guy Leonard from big bang theory is in it as a gay loverman. Overall the film is boring and you don't care about any of them or the stupid ending which is typical clichéd Hollywood. I would recommend that you buy instead Ninja Terminator which is a much better film and much funnier and only costs one penny. The Opposite of Sex is The Opposite of a Good Film. Be'lie that. You'll regret buying it. The other seven reviewers are all 15 year olds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1.0 out of 5 stars Dreadful, 21 Sep 2014
dull ... slow ... forced humour does not equal 'dark.' The acting is credible (mostly) and the story line weaves in several (stereotypical) characters quite cleverly but this just makes the whole train wreck of a film even more tragic. Amusingly bad.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Ricci at her best in an ultra dark comedy, 11 April 2000
By A Customer
Christina Ricca is at her most wicked as the somewhat sad charactor of Dedee, a girl who plays hell with peoples lives but couldn't care less. All of the actors are on fine form, especially from Lisa Kudrow who proves that there is more to her then being a blonde bimbo. If you like your comedies to be sharply scripted with very dark humour then you'll love this. If you don't then avoid like the plague.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Opposite Of Sex [DVD]
The Opposite Of Sex [DVD] by Don Roos (DVD - 2005)
Used & New from: £0.34
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews