Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Let The Heartaches Begin, The Pye Anthology, Long John Baldry - A great blues artist's diversion into the world of pop, 28 Sep 2009
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let The Heartaches Begin (Audio CD)
After recording two excellent blues albums with disappointing sales figures, Long John Baldry was desperate for a hit. He changed labels and started to record a `poppier' repertoire. This had the desired effect, with the smash hit `let the heartaches begin'. He stayed with the label for three years, before returning to his first love the blues, with 1970's critically acclaimed `It Ain't Easy'.

Baldry's voice was a magnificent instrument. Suited for blues, soul, gospel and crooning, he could turn it to almost anything, and does so to magnificent effect here. As well as the marvellous `Heartaches', he works his way through a set of hits of the day, such as Cream's `Sunshine Of our Love', Ike and Tina Turner's `River Deep' and Richard Harris' `McArthur Park'. Each is given his distinctive treatment. There is also a series of originals, and a few offbeat fun tracks (such as `Henry Hannah's 42nd street parking lot'). This is an excellent collection of great pop tunes from the late sixties, and a great addition to any music lover's collection.

The sound quality here is pretty decent, with a nice clear sound. The collection collects all the trackes recorded for Pye between '67 and '70, including a few interesting unreleased odds and ends. Liner notes are extensive and interesting.

If you like this then check out `Looking At Long John Baldry, The UA Years', which collects together his earlier blues recordings, and `It Ain't Easy', his 1970 amazing return to the blues.

An excellent collection of some excellent music, 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars long john baldry, 7 April 2009
By 
Mr. Nd Jenkins "Nick Jenkins" (Oldham, Lancs) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let The Heartaches Begin (Audio CD)
Definately the greatest of the 60's balladiers.Better and cooler than Scott Walker. This album is Baldry at his mod best. Loads of fantastically orchistrated uplifting tunes delivered with LJB's unmistakable tones. Buy it and enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars long john baldry, 18 Sep 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let The Heartaches Begin (Audio CD)
i was a great fan of long john baldry in the sixties and the music i had of his over the years i have lost so to find this cd was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant in a word, 26 July 2010
By 
Tin Tactoo "Tin Tactoo" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Let The Heartaches Begin (Audio CD)
Amazing is all I can say really - the sheer number of tracks on two discs is real value here - but above all else, a REAL singer and sadly no longer with us but this album at least gives an insight into a real talent..

If you want to sit down, be entertained, then look no further - just sit back and ENJOY, realise what singing is all about from a real artist
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Another side to Long John Baldry, 6 Nov 2009
By 
D. Cross (West Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let The Heartaches Begin (Audio CD)
This album is not what I was expecting, I was brought up on Baldry's blues recordings and the tracks here were a total relevation to me. Some really good versions of great songs, delivered with that very distinctive voice. Altogether a well worthwhile album and superb value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Let The Heartaches Begin., 4 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let The Heartaches Begin (Audio CD)
Great selection of his hits and more from this tall man of the sixties especially on two CD's, great buy for the price.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An oldie but a goodie, 4 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Let The Heartaches Begin (Audio CD)
I think this is one of the better albums I have purchased recently. I have been a Baldry fan for years but only lately found this album thanks to Amazon. I find it easy to listen to and a blast from the past.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Long John Baldry, 17 Oct 2011
This review is from: Let The Heartaches Begin (Audio CD)
This CD arrived in good time and in good condition. This CD takes me back to some rare 1960s tracks.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars LET THE HEARTACHES BEGIN, 17 Oct 2009
By 
Maria J. Moreno Espinosa (MADRID - SPAIN) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Let The Heartaches Begin (Audio CD)
WHEN I FIRST HEARD THE SONG WHEN THE SUN COMES SHINING THROUGH.... I LOVED IT. BUT I NEVER FOUND RECORDS OF LONG JOHN BALDRY IN SPAIN. NOW I HAVE IT AND I THINK THAT IT'S BORING LISTENING IT. I GO ON LOVING THAT SONG, AND MEXICO AND SOME OTHER ELSE. BUT I DON'T REALLY ENJOY LISTENING A COMPLETE ALBUM. SORRY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Let The Heartaches Begin
Let The Heartaches Begin by Long John Baldry (Audio CD - 2014)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews