Customer Reviews


38 Reviews
5 star:
 (18)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


70 of 74 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The sickest guys in the room
Bethany McLean, who along with Peter Elkind, wrote the book from which this documentary was adapted, is clearly satisfied with herself as she sits on a couch relating what she knows about the fall of Enron. And she should be. She was the one who first really pursued the question, "How does Enron make money?" What she didn't know when she first asked the question is...
Published on 29 April 2007 by Dennis Littrell

versus
17 of 22 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A mess and a wasted opportunity, sometimes interesting despite itself...
I really wanted to like this film. With the current credit crisis, I was looking forward on getting an exposé on one of the biggest US corporate scandals. However, I have to say, it's a wasted opportunity with a subject that could have made a GREAT documentary, which this is NOT.

It suffers from the following:

- Too many narrative voices...
Published on 30 Sep 2008 by Bogus Photographer


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A good dvd - worth watching available in several places cheaper - worth shopping around, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Enjoyed this program a lot and it reinforces my understanding that experts rarely are.
They make it up as they go and let the others carry the can.
The DVD was done well - but before the court cases came to fruition.
Makes you want to look more deeply at the mechanisms the fraudsters used - no doubt in the book.
Big = Safe - blown apart here
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Frozen, 23 July 2013
By 
Miss L. Thompson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
It was just getting to an on the edge of your seat review of Andrew Fastow when... The disk froze. Tried it on two different devices, stops in the same place. Very disappointed - I guess I will never know the crimes if the former CFO :-(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must Screening for MBA Finance & Accounting Seminars, 14 Nov 2009
By 
HistoryTechDoc "HTD" (Transatlantic Citizen) - See all my reviews
Long and detailed account of the key players and fraudulent practices that brought down Enron Corporation and Arthur Andersen, the iconic and oldest CPA firm in the US. Perfect film to use along side an Enron case study for an MBA seminar. Opens up wide ranging discussions related to both fraudulent financial schemes and corporate America's morale social responsibility.
Requires advanced financial and accounting knowledge to better understand the complex financial structures implemented by this firm. However, it could nonetheless be useful for social-psych graduate students as far as the long term social consequences set in motion by the failure of firms "too large to fail".
Questions to ask: What financial precedents were there to the Enron case?
What or which U.S. Government Agency(-ies)could have prevented this disaster from occurring? Why did they fail to function? Are there any parallels in so-called "mafia" cases that may have preceded Enron?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Shocker, 15 Feb 2008
By 
Donald McPhee "donniemcphee" (Glasgow U.K) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought this DVD to better understand the complex situation surrounding the collapse of Enron. Having no understanding of finance the myriad of books and news articles shed little light on the contoversy for me.
So I watched this and it suddenly became clear what all the fuss as about.
Peter Coyote does a great job of narrating this sorry tale and good direction keeps us wrapt up the story.
Easily accesible to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SMART BUT EVENTUALLY DUMB>, 28 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Hilarious from start to finish. One of the great things about American satire is that it actually does allow for slapstick and sexual politics. Sigourney Weaver's portrayal of Stalin is an absolute tour de force, while the return of Jerry Lewis to our screens.is an absolute treat for those of us old enough to remember his partnership with Jimmy Durante.

The seance scene may prove quite disturbing for younger viewers. But Chuck Norris's appearance as an accident prone French waiter will have your children in stitches.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A documentary, 19 Sep 2007
By 
Rob S "Rob S" (Conwy, North Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Didn't know what this was going to be like when I rented it from Amazon. I was surprised and disappointed to find it was a documentary and not a film.

I had to force myself to stay with it as I was in no mood for a documentary, but you find yourself being drawn in to the DVD wanting a bit more info, then I found myself yawning only to be drawn back in again.

It was a very interesting DVD, It is watchable, but don`t expect bubble gum TV from it, and your be amazed what the so called smartest people in the room got away with.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Very documentary, 27 May 2009
By 
Hasse Wallin "Hasse" (Stockholm, Sweden) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Interesting to watch, but it tends to be very documentary --- which makes it a bit boring at times...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 11 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Neither entertainment nor documentary, 12 Nov 2006
By 
P. Welton - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I bought this at a time when I was very interested in finance. I wanted to know how the normal mechanisms of accountancy and audit had broken down in this case, so that I might see the tell-tale signs in any companies that I might invest in. This film contained very few facts and very little insight into what happened.

Of course, the film could have succeeded in other ways; but i didn't see any in-depth portrayal of the human dramas it caused to the public or dramatizations of the events within the company. It was only a compendium of the news items from the media, with little added value. For a better treatment of when things go wrong in high finance, try Rogue Trader [1999] where you will get characterization, human drama, comedy and some understanding of investment banking.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews