Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

32 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buy it - its comedy (and drama) gold!, 21 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
You Rang M'Lord? seems to have gained quite a negative reputation - the critics are all WRONG. This is the best Perry & Croft sitcom, and ran from 1988 to 1993.
The shows are full of wit, drama, and character. The characters are ALL finely drawn and played to perfection. Paul Shane is superb as Alf Stokes - a magnificent performance, and he really makes the episodes sparkle. All the actors are brilliant and the scripts are mostly excellent. Not only do they contain the usual Perry/Croft comedy, but in it is gritty drama and character development.
Its also a treat to see all of David Croft's rep company involved in one show. (Paul Shane, Jeffrey Holland, Su Pollard from Hi-De-Hi!, Donald Hewlett, Michael Knowles from It Ain't Half Hot Mum, Bill Pertwee and Frank Williams from Dad's Army, as well as Mavis Pugh, Brenda Cowling, Angela Scoular, John Horsley and guest starring Barbara Windsor in two episodes).
Each show is 50 minutes long, and the sets, costumes and locations look superb. The title music, sung by Bob Monkhouse is a joy - i just cannot praise this show enough. It is truly an excellent comedy drama, and well worth buying.
By the way, i see on the DVD it credits Jeremy Lloyd & David Croft as the writers - this is WRONG. Jimmy Perry & David Croft wrote the scripts. Lloyd and Croft originally were going to write a sitcom spoofing Upstairs, Downstairs in the early '80s, but wrote 'Allo 'Allo! instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT!!!, 11 Feb. 2006
By 
Iceni Peasant (Norfolk, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
Of all the series this cast team have been in together, this series was always my favourite, and I was amazed why it was never repeated fully on TV. Finally the DVDs are being released and it was WELL worth the wait!
The cast have such a brilliant chemistry and comic timing on-screen. The butler Alf Stokes was just MEANT for Paul Shane. With Bill Pertwee as the policeman, always popping in for a free feed. The wonderful Jeffrey Holland as the pompous Mr Twelvetrees. I think the part of Ivy showed Su pollard at her very best...just excellent and very funny. Of the servants I have to say Mabel steals the show, with her "can't remember the last time I had....." catchphrase.
For a sitcom it's remarkable how accurate the period settings and actions of the characters are to the 1920s. Above all, the writing is just superb and will have you laughing at the episodes no matter how many times you watch them. From the goings on of the upperclass to the views and schemes of the servants "downstairs".
This was BBC comedy at its best!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I love this series!, 19 Feb. 2006
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
I have always loved this programme despite being very young when it was shown on tv (I'm 21, this shows the wide appeal the series has. I had the dvd for my birthday and love it. It is well worth the money and I have pre-ordered series 2 off amazon. The storylines are hilarious and as has been said on a previous review, you can watch them over and over again and not get bored. My favourite character is Ivy the maid - Su Pollard plays her wonderfully, and I think it's her best performance in a Perry and Croft series, even better than Hi Di Hi.
I think this dvd can appeal to everyone, and the BBC should welcome such a series back onto television, as well written light-hearted comedy dramas such as this are not seen very often anymore.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Perry and Croft at their best!, 19 Feb. 2006
By 
Y. Jones "devonshire lass" (Barnstaple, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
I used to watch this show when I was about 10 and loved it, and I can't believe it was never released on video or DVD up until now, it was never even repeated on TV which was such a shame because You Rang M'Lord was brilliantly written as you would expect from Perry and Croft, and deserved so much more praise than it got.
Each character has been carefully crafted, my favourite has to be Henry and his brilliantly dry one - liners, and the rest of the cast were just superb - the team worked so well together - it's easy to see why they were in so many of the Perry and Croft sitcoms.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars at last!, 23 Aug. 2006
By 
Amazon Customer (Catalonia (Europe)) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
i used to watched it on my local tv and i've waiting years for they to rerun it but it seems than the dvd have came first.

as i missed the first episodes now i can enjoy the complete story -why ivy was such a bad maid, for example :)

i love the stories, the setting and all the characters but my favourite one is james.

by the way, regarding to another comment, this dvd DO have subtitles! (thanks god, my english is not good enough to follow all the jokes and understand the chatting from the 20's)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars From Mayfair to Park Lane...., 12 Jan. 2007
By 
O. C. Bryant - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
What a harmonious pleasure, to sit and watch at leisure the entire series' of You Rang M'Lord.

From the superb theme tune (performed by the sublime Bob Monkhouse) to the myriad mix of characters, this sitcom/drama is an under-rated little beauty. Using the cast of Hi-Di-Hi was a masterstroke and works perfectly here, lending a much-loved familiarity of a former classic to new effect.

With great performances, wonderfully crafted characters, a progressive storyline and plush BBC sets; this show stands the test of time that so many others fail. Sue Pollard, Paul Shane and Jeffrey Holland are the undoubted lead characters and do not let the side down with some fine character acting. However, my favourite is clearly the Hon. Teddy, played with real panache by Michael Knowles who terrorises the local servant girls with his love of carbolic soap!

Hopefully with the release of the show onto DVD format it will get the recognition it deserves.

Jolly good show chaps.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delightful comedy, 5 Feb. 2007
By 
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
As a fan of good English humour and period theatre I thoroughly enjoyed every episode of Series 1. Apart from being a wonderful insight into domestic service of the era the casting was excellent and the dialogue hilarious. A delightfully written comedy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A comic gem, 20 July 2007
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
This is wonderful comedy, beautifully written, directed and acted. It seems to be overlooked, but If anything I feel it is better than anything the writers have produced, including Dads army. A joy to watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars PLEASE RELEASE THIS IN THE US!!!!!, 31 Oct. 2007
By 
Bharat (San Antonio, TX) - See all my reviews
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
This is by far the best British TV (actually any TV worldwide) has produced in par with BlackAdder! Why is this not available in US format??? If anyone knows when this will come out in US format, please please respond. We are gagging out here with local sitcoms and I am sad to say that Brit TV is copying this of late.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars I 've been waiting for this for a long time, 6 Feb. 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD] (DVD)
I 've been waiting for this release for a long time.
I discovered that series when I was a student in Wales. I enjoyed it a lot specially Su Pollard.
After so many years it will be great to see it again !
It is a pity BBC videos never include subtitles (even english..)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You Rang, M'Lord? - The Complete First Series [1988] [DVD]
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews