Customer Reviews


8 Reviews
5 star:
 (4)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest player the world ever saw.
This DVD chronicles the career of Duncan Edwards.I have seen Di Stefano,Puskas,Eusebio,Maradona,Pele and Best but this player outshone them all for alround ability.
I bought the DVD to replace my video recording,having had it for a few years.
To hear players from the past eulogise so elequently about the lads talents tells you all you need to know.
HE WAS...
Published on 22 Mar 2009 by Mr. John E. Halford

versus
6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A moving tribute but not enough footage
As someone too young (born over 3 years after "Big Dunc"'s death) to have had the privilege of watching Duncan Edwards play, I was excited to find this dvd, hoping for more footage of the man in action than I had seen previously; in this respect, I was disappointed as all the film footage and photographs of Duncan Edwards included herein can be found on Manchester United...
Published on 17 Jun 2009 by I. M. Rees


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The greatest player the world ever saw., 22 Mar 2009
By 
This review is from: Duncan Edwards - England's Greatest Player - And Then Came Munich [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD chronicles the career of Duncan Edwards.I have seen Di Stefano,Puskas,Eusebio,Maradona,Pele and Best but this player outshone them all for alround ability.
I bought the DVD to replace my video recording,having had it for a few years.
To hear players from the past eulogise so elequently about the lads talents tells you all you need to know.
HE WAS THE BEST EVER.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A moving tribute but not enough footage, 17 Jun 2009
By 
I. M. Rees (Grantham, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duncan Edwards - England's Greatest Player - And Then Came Munich [DVD] (DVD)
As someone too young (born over 3 years after "Big Dunc"'s death) to have had the privilege of watching Duncan Edwards play, I was excited to find this dvd, hoping for more footage of the man in action than I had seen previously; in this respect, I was disappointed as all the film footage and photographs of Duncan Edwards included herein can be found on Manchester United - The Official History 1878 - 2008: 2 DVD Set. Of course, it has to be remembered that back in the 1950s, footaball television coverage was nowhere near as extensive, or as sophisticated, as it is today but the lack of footage does let this product down somewhat.

In place of the footage of this exceptional player in action, there are moving tributes from Manchester United colleagues Bill Foulkes and Wilf McGuiness, England colleagues Sir Tom Finney and Derek Kevan, former England manager Sir Walter Winterbottom and Tommy Docherty, who played against Duncan at both club (for Preston North End) and international (for Scotland) level, as well as Edwards' mother, remembering her son with demonstrable pride and sadness. Whilst all contributors are united in praising the man many regard as potentially the greatest footballer of all time, I would have preferred more opportunity to form an opinion myself by seeing more of the player in action.

This relatively short (51 minutes) dvd will please all fans of Duncan Edwards, especially those fortunate enough to have seen him play, but for younger viewers, whilst the opinions of the contributors convey the reverence and awe in which his contemporaries regarded him (Sir Bobby Charlton, sadly not a contributor to this dvd, said that Duncan Edwards was the only player who ever made him feel inferior), there is insufficient opportunity to witness the skill and power of a footballer, who despite dying at the tender age of 21, lives on in the memory of everyone who did see him play. There is more footage of Duncan Edwards on The Busby Era [DVD] than can be found here.

Duncan Edwards (1st October 1936-15th February 1958) was a player who inspired others and whom fate denied the opportunity to reach his peak; he held the records of being the youngest footballer ever to play in the English first division and for England. Had fate been kinder and Duncan had avoided injury, he would surely have been a World Cup and European Cup winner and probably one of, if not the, greatest of all time. This dvd is worth buying despite its shortcomings.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars A touching tribute, 4 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duncan Edwards - England's Greatest Player - And Then Came Munich [DVD] (DVD)
The sense of loss for Duncan is palpable in the interviews. I would have liked to see more action but given the era I suppose it just isn't there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars duncan my number 1, 22 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duncan Edwards - England's Greatest Player - And Then Came Munich [DVD] (DVD)
i am a united fan and a great admirer of duncan edwards and what a fantastic and great player he was,i always saw united play from when i was a kid and he was and still is the greatest player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Duncan Edwards The Greatest, 15 Sep 2013
This review is from: Duncan Edwards - England's Greatest Player - And Then Came Munich [DVD] (DVD)
Excellent read !!! Embarrasses todays footballers by showing how Greats can still be very modest and loyal and keep their feet firmly on the ground ! Im not a united or football fan but thoroughly enjoyed this book about a totally geniune person with a great talent ! Well written and obviously very moving story about a player who had everything, talent wise, and lost it all way too early ! A must for any real united fan or sports fan !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars memories, 9 Jun 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duncan Edwards - England's Greatest Player - And Then Came Munich [DVD] (DVD)
this was bought as a present for a friend it came on time and my friend was over the moon with it thankyou.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Duncan Edwards - Englands Greatest Player, 25 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duncan Edwards - England's Greatest Player - And Then Came Munich [DVD] (DVD)
An excellent profile of the greatest player that England has ever produced. The Munich Air Disaster robbed England of someone who woud have played for many years in their team and also for Manchester United
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Very emotional, 26 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Duncan Edwards - England's Greatest Player - And Then Came Munich [DVD] (DVD)
If you're at all interested in not only Manchester United and/or the effects of the Munich Air Disaster on the team, but in a great footballer, this is the DVD for you. Featuring archive film and interviews with colleagues and family it's a great, informative watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xa6a5fee8)

This product

Only search this product's reviews