Customer Reviews


7 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (4)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clever, defintely for russophiles
This is a very unusual bit of cinema to emerge from Russia. I hope for more. It is cleverly filmed, very funny (especially if you understand Russian - the subtitles can't capture some of the subtleties) and very modern in its illustration of the discovery of bisexual love. It has a sort of David Lynch cross French intellectual feel - slightly surreal, but with a clear...
Published on 1 Mar 2008 by A. Mavrellis

versus
3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis misleading
From the synposis, this would be an interesting and thought-provoking film. However in reality, it is a confusing menagerie of random scenes which didn't really seem to have any central plot. If aimless direction and weird things happening for no real reason then this is the film for you!
Published on 13 Aug 2006 by veganlinguist


Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very clever, defintely for russophiles, 1 Mar 2008
By 
A. Mavrellis "melchior" (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: You I Love [DVD] (DVD)
This is a very unusual bit of cinema to emerge from Russia. I hope for more. It is cleverly filmed, very funny (especially if you understand Russian - the subtitles can't capture some of the subtleties) and very modern in its illustration of the discovery of bisexual love. It has a sort of David Lynch cross French intellectual feel - slightly surreal, but with a clear story of the pain of love.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Russian Ménage a Trois, Comdey Romp with Nose licking, Tea Ceremonies and Animal Suits!, 27 Aug 2012
By 
Tommy Dooley (London, England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: You I Love [DVD] (DVD)
I was not expecting too much from this Russian gay comedy, and so was blown away (not in a rude sense mind) by how great it actually is. It is a love story but one that involves three people. We meet Tomofei (Evgeniy Korayakoviskiy) he is an advertising executive who does strange adds for `Cola'. He meets anchor woman Vera Krillova and they sort of fall for each other right away. She has a penchant for food as an aphrodisiac, which gives a whole new meaning to the Cockney phrase of `up the apples and pears' - if you get my drift.

Anyway he accidentally runs into country bumpkin Uloomji, who is living in the Zoo having failed to get into college and is too ashamed to go home. After the hospital does not want to know about his injuries, Timofei takes the young lad home. Despite having no social graces, he has the energy of a puppy and a charm that soon has Tomofei fixated on him. Vera on the other hand is not best pleased and what happens next is a riot of hormones, emotions, water fights, more food than you can shake a stick at and some very bruised hearts.

This is filmed inventively making the most of how we see what we see in different ways, which is actually unnecessary as there is so much on screen action to hold your attention. Uloomji is so likeable that you can't help but fall for him too, it is how he inspires everyone around him - except his family that holds the whole thing together, That said there is not one single below average performance, all the extras are great and the jokes work even if you do not speak much Russian.

This film is so good that I am going to buy a copy as I had rented this and if I could give more than five stars I would. It is 83 minutes long which is my only complaint I could have watched this stuff all day long, but it does not waste any screen time so that has to be applauded, one of the best films I have seen in ages and I can only recommend.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Unusual, but interesting film, 10 May 2014
By 
J. Mcshane "Joe McShane" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You I Love [DVD] (DVD)
This film is an unusual comedy about a love triangle between 3 people. There are many different aspects that make this film interesting. Vera is a tv broadcaster who has an obsession with food. Timoti is a media professional. They meet and fall in love. Timoti runs over Uloomji in his car whilst talking to Vera on his mobile phone and needs to assist him. Uloomji is a new visitor to Moscow - he is Kalmyk, one of the semi-nomadic groups of Mongolian descent that live in Russian territory. He is a buddhist and has quite an unusual culture by western standards. Opposites attract and Timoti, who is capitalistic and refined, and Uloomji who is impulsive and lacks inhibition are attracted to each other. Vera feels left out because she loves Timoti, but in the end, it kind of works out for her. The film contrasts different lifestyles and relationships. There are parts of the film that seem poorly co-ordinated and lacking in direction and other parts where you can really connect with the characters. If you are the kind of person who likes unusual films instead of the usual fake Hollywood dross, you will probably find something in this film. It is certainly the kind of film you would use for escapism.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars замечательный (remarkable), 3 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You I Love [DVD] (DVD)
What did I just see? Is that ... Russia?
Advertising. Media. Politics. Fast transforming Russia.
Exhibitionism, overindulgence, questionable behaviour.

...and that boy, falling from another world, unaffected, truthful.

Cranky, kinky, lovely movie.

на здоровье (Cheers)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Charming, 30 Aug 2009
This review is from: You I Love [DVD] (DVD)
An utterly charming film. The film was daring and pushed the boundries as far as they could be pushed in a country not ready to see homosexuals in love. The story is tender and sweet.

Unlike some of the junk we get spoon fed in Hollywood, it's not predictable and goes in some very nice directions. Tough decisions with no easy answers.

Overall, romantic and very enjoyable. Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars enjoyed it a lot, 12 Jan 2012
By 
HoneyB (EAst Sussex UK) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: You I Love [DVD] (DVD)
Good fun, twists and turns in both plot and attitudes, a lot of humour, an interesting recent take on gays in Moscow.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 15 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Synopsis misleading, 13 Aug 2006
This review is from: You I Love [DVD] (DVD)
From the synposis, this would be an interesting and thought-provoking film. However in reality, it is a confusing menagerie of random scenes which didn't really seem to have any central plot. If aimless direction and weird things happening for no real reason then this is the film for you!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

You I Love [DVD]
You I Love [DVD] by Olga Stolpovskaja (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £2.12
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews