Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Christmas drama.
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
On a chill Christmas Eve, a young woman rides into the English village of Mellstock. Miss Fancy Day (Keeley Hawes), who has been educated away, has returned to the village to help take care of her ailing father.

As the beautiful new...
Published 7 months ago by IP

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardy tries romance
I have always considered Thomas Hardy one of the most depressing authors of the English language so when I read that under the greenwood tree was actually cheerful and had a happy ending I just had to see it. However... be aware, under the smiles and so on this is about as cheerful as an erupting volcanoe. The girl has three beaux. Personally, I would have run a mile...
Published 15 months ago by Helle Rink


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Wonderful Christmas drama., 28 Nov. 2014
By 
IP - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] (DVD)
The perfect gift for all movie enthusiasts is THE ROMA VICTRIX WINE BEAKERCalix Imperium, Roma Victrix Pewter wine beaker
On a chill Christmas Eve, a young woman rides into the English village of Mellstock. Miss Fancy Day (Keeley Hawes), who has been educated away, has returned to the village to help take care of her ailing father.

As the beautiful new schoolmistress, she becomes a focus of fascination in Mellstock. Not only is she the new teacher, but her presence threatens to shake the old order in Mellstock. The parson plans to replace the old men's choir, by Fancy's playing the modern new Harmonium in church, much to the villagers' surprise and consternation.

So, excitement over Miss Fancy Day begins! Not only does she disturb the choir, but she becomes the focus of the attentions of three men. Her father has groomed her to marry well. His eyes are upon sturdy, wealthy Farmer Shinar (Steve Pemberton) as her suitor. Fancy knows of her father's enthusiasm for Mr. Shinar; still his gruff, business-like proposal comes as a shock to her, but she promises to consider it.

Parson Maybold (Ben Miles) is another suitor. He is handsome, well-bred, and educated; but his lofty, intellectual airiness is so indirect, that Fancy doesn't realize his feelings for her.

It is with the young Dick Dewy (James Murray) that Fancy becomes friends. He comes from the lively home of the humble carrier, bustling with kids, and dogs, and friends who encompass the choir. His heart is taken by Fancy that first Christmas Eve, and he endeavors to win her by bettering himself. He also puts his best foot forward, by boldly venturing a kiss (not a bad move, considering he is devilishly handsome!). But Fancy's father vigorously objects to him.

Fancy is put into a predicament, trying to decide which path to take. The charms of the English country village are the background for this tale. The film moves through each season's music, work, and festive rites, as the story of Mellstock, and how Fancy becomes a part of it.

This film comes from Thomas Hardy's lovely homage to the English countryside. Under the Greenwood Tree is a wondrous work of humor, beauty, and heady romance.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


27 of 29 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really Enjoyable, 13 Jan. 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] (DVD)
This really tasteful adptation was full of all thats good about Period Drama, or any entertainment come to that. A good and amusing storyline. A cast of well selected actors and actresses. A well presented setting. A well rounded family entertainment.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


117 of 129 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Pleasant film with feelgood factor., 16 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] (DVD)
Based loosely on the Thomas Hardy novel of the same name, those who liked the book may not appreciate this version as it bears little resemblance to the original. However ladies of a certain age and over will love the atmospheric scenes and gentle humour.
The plot follows a year in the life of Fancy Day, the beautiful new schoolteacher who arrives in the village amidst much speculation. Which of her 3 suitors will she eventually marry, the rich self-made man, the educated parson or the poor but drop dead gorgeous local lad?
Set just before the industrial revolution, against the background of the changing seasons, just right for a rainy Sunday afternoon.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Surprisingly good, 18 Nov. 2011
By 
Aussie Fella (Brisbane, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] (DVD)
I must admit that I've not read the book, so the crew of authenticates out there will likely think my opinion invalid. Separate to Hardy, it was well acted, had a great cast, carried depth and had a passionate romance to boot. Really enjoyed it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


53 of 61 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ITV Production / Versus Book, 22 Jan. 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] (DVD)
Having thoroughly enjoyed the ITV production, I was inspired again to read Hardy's book.What struck me in the book, was Hardy's light humour and optimism notwithstanding the impending major changes about to hit rural England with the onset of the industrial revolution.
Comparing the TV production/ book one is struck in the book by Fancy's greater vulnerability. Indeed, she is much younger and more coquettish than her TV counterpart with a keener interest in her appearance to the opposite sex, even after her engagement to Dick. In addition, her dilemma in marrying below her intellectual status caused her far greater consternation, evidenced by her immediate and rash acceptance of Maybold's hand in marriage notwithstanding her hard fought and love based engagement to Dick.
Hardy also infuses a greater optimism for Dick's future. Not only had his parents saved to provide him with a better education than his siblings, but by the end of the book he had already set up and commenced managing a branch of the family business elsewhere. With help from Fancy's father (much better off than his counterpart in the TV production) Fancy and Dick were not destined to share their first marital home with Dick's family, but immediately after the wedding moved into their own home outside the village.The future looked much more assured.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


50 of 59 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great, warm and gentle entertainment, 12 May 2007
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] (DVD)
I love adaptations of period dramas, especially those produced this side of the Atlantic. This one was 90odd minutes of enjoyment. Good casting, good acting and great location: not to mention the superb cinematography.
I am just an ordinary person who wishes to be entertained. I am not a scholarly egghead who always seem to insist on the filmed adaptation sticking strictly to the book from whence it was born. I have no idea whether or not this film was accurately portrayed or not...does it matter? I get a little tired of reading, usually, screenfulls of critique from clearly well educated, well read individuals and good luck to them. But they are missing the point. These visual productions, mostly intended for social viewing are intended to be entertainment. If one wishes to study literature in depth go to the library! It beggars belief that there often exists a general opinion that a book, sometime hundreds of pages in length can be brought to the screen for a two hour or so depiction with all the associated production difficulties and costs that necessarily go with it. Let us all just be thankful that that book usually provides a skeleton to work on and the rest is left to talented people, in front of and behind the cameras who bring us such pleasure.
This story is one of Thomas Hardy's ,shall we say, 'quieter' novels, but none the worse for that. There is no complex theme to follow, it is just a simple, straightforward love story. And one that we just know is going to turn out fine! It is all very enjoyable.
The only thing that surprised me about this film is how little I know about Jersey C.I. where the filming took place. I had no idea the countryside was so idylic in such a small island. The film 'snow' was a little bit dodgy but who cares.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Under Greenwood, 18 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] (DVD)
This is a lovely story as always never fails to disappoint. Hardy knew about prople he lived amongst and always captures every detail about their character and behaviour down to a fine art. He had the ability to see beyond the surface - a lovely gentle story.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming, light-weight adaptation of Hardy's novel, 1 May 2007
By 
Schneehase (Norfolk, UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] (DVD)
I can understand the other reviewer's frustration and usually I am a terrible purist about adaptations of novels; but in this case, I'm afraid, it was necessary. I had not read the novel before seeing this adaptation and I must say that the writers extracted a charming love story from what is actually a very boring novel. Hardy clearly found the love story getting in the way of the point he wanted to make, which was his mourning for the loss of the rural and simple in the name of progress. The quire is doomed to fall before the harmonium, the reaper will fall before the threshing machine. But actually the love story is more interesting to a modern reader.
[...]
[...]
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Nor money, nor learnin', nor opinion of others would force me from loving her, 11 Jan. 2015
By 
EA Solinas "ea_solinas" (MD USA) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] (DVD)
Thomas Hardy tended to write rather bleak novels even if they ended happily (which they usually didn't). But the one exception is "Under the Greenwood Tree," a little rural romance about going with your heart.

And the BBC kept that frothy lightness alive in their 2005 adaptation, which makes the wildly underrated Keeley Hawes the center of rural romance in a small village. There's not much plot here except every single man being obsessed with the beautiful new schoolteacher, but the misunderstandings and fiery sexual tension -- as well as a subplot about a harmonium -- keep it moving quickly.

Beautiful and educated Fancy Day (Hawes) arrives in the little village of Mellstock to teach at school and care for her aging father Geoffrey (Tom Georgeson). Geoffrey dreams of Fancy marrying into what he sees is her rightful place, and she quickly has three devoted swains in Mellstock -- the cultured and ambitious Parson Maybold (Ben Miles), kind and wealthy Mr. Shiner (Steve Pemberton), and humble but handsome Dick Dewy (James Murray).

Also, there's this subplot about Maybold buying a harmonium, which infuriates the locals who have always made music in church with fiddles and choir voices. Maybold is kind of snobby and inflexible, so eventually they take matters into their own hands.

Meanwhile, Fancy begins to fall in love with Dick, but believes that they can't be together because he comes from a lower social class. But she can't bring herself to consider marrying Mr. Shiner or Parson Maybold, even though each would be an excellent match. Misunderstandings, rumors and stolen kisses complicate matters further, and Fancy must decide whether her heart or her head will determine who she marries.

There isn't a lot of plot in "Under The Greenwood Tree" -- it's pretty much about three men pursuing Fancy romantically, and her waffling about what to do. There are some subplots floating around, such as Dick wanting to expand his family's business so that he will be a better-qualified suitor for Fancy.... but for the most part, it's just the web of romantic issues.

So the TV movie is best appreciated as a pleasant little fluff piece, with lots of beautiful pastoral scenery and some picturesque village cottages, and plenty of scenes of dancing, fiddling and people drinking homemade cider. The comic relief is a bit tasteless (did we need farts and Mr. Shiner stepping on poop?), but director Nicholas Laughland knows how to provide a lot of sexual tension, including an oddly erotic scene of two people washing their hands in the same bowl.

It's also pleasant that there are no "bad" people in this story. Some of the locals do something wrong involving booze, but they're not bad at heart. The same goes for Fancy's suitors -- Mr. Shiner is a genuinely good, kind, sweet man, just not one Fancy is in love with; and despite the pastor being kind of snobby, he's genuinely in love with Fancy and wants her to be happy.

Hawes gives a magnificent performance here, and she instantly becomes the center of every scene she's in. Fancy is not a perfect person -- she can be a bit snobby at times -- but she's an endearing person who genuinely doesn't want to hurt any of her suitors. And she has brilliant chemistry with Murray, especially when Fancy flirtatiously hides his shirt and subsequently gets pushed over in the river.

Compared to most adaptations of classic novels, "Under the Greenwood Tree" is a fluff piece -- but it's such a pretty, endearing, with likable characters, pretty scenery, and Keeley Hawes. Who could want more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hardy tries romance, 22 Mar. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have always considered Thomas Hardy one of the most depressing authors of the English language so when I read that under the greenwood tree was actually cheerful and had a happy ending I just had to see it. However... be aware, under the smiles and so on this is about as cheerful as an erupting volcanoe. The girl has three beaux. Personally, I would have run a mile from each of them. However, she chooses the handsomest and the least suitable. On the other hand, why complain? Happens in real life all the time.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD]
Under the Greenwood Tree [DVD] by Nick Laughland (DVD - 2006)
£5.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews