Customer Reviews


37 Reviews
5 star:
 (21)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (7)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last
I'm so chuffed to find this product.
You can get a number of Darts tracks from various online download sites, but I've been looking for one in particular, "Young Blood", for decades.
I bought the first two Darts albums on Vinyl and have been waiting, ever since for them to appear on CD.
This is the next best thing.
I couldn't believe my...
Published on 8 Feb 2006 by Wildheart

versus
10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, But Uninspired Selection
On the face of it a pretty good selection of tracks after alot of pressure on the record company. But looking slightly closer and with the title platinum, why wasn't some of the B sides to the singles included instead of the album tracks. 'Early In The Morning, 'How Many Nights' 'Naff Off'. Where is the single 'White Xmas'...
Published on 3 Dec 2005


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

22 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars At Last, 8 Feb 2006
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I'm so chuffed to find this product.
You can get a number of Darts tracks from various online download sites, but I've been looking for one in particular, "Young Blood", for decades.
I bought the first two Darts albums on Vinyl and have been waiting, ever since for them to appear on CD.
This is the next best thing.
I couldn't believe my luck when this one turned out to have "Young Blood" on it.
The Darts played a significant part in my musical upbringing, appearing as they did, a talented bunch of musicians laying down souped up Rock And Roll and Rhythm And Blues in the middle of the "Punk" era..
For me, "Young Blood", with it's unusual chord turns and tight vocal performance stands out.
But there are some other great tracks on here and "Get It" has really grown on me!
I'd hoped for "Late For Work" to appear, but there you go.
For £3.99 and a real blast from the past, I'm not complaining.
Rich.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars good stuff, 1 Dec 2007
By 
george caldwell "rockincat" (scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Buy this cd.Good stuff from a good band.Don't know where the earlier reviewer is getting his information from,but Matchbox and Shakin Stevens (especially with the sunsets) were not regarded as joke bands.Anything but.Both were in the vanguard of the British rockabilly movement.Graham Fenton,the lead singer with Matchbox has a history way back to playing with Gene Vincent.Real rockin cats.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


19 of 21 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars 70's Treasure, 18 May 2006
By 
Victor Preston "gvb" (birmingham, west mids United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
i have been looking for a darts cd for years.

there have been similar import copies offered on ebay for 60 plus.

this brings back pleasing memories of the late 70's.

i was much happier then and the darts were fantastic.

they have been criminally ignored their songs never appear on the multiple compilation albums from the era.

do yourself a favour and buy this cd!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Welcome back "Darts" !, 25 Jan 2006
By 
mariopops "Andy Rogers" (SOLIHULL, WEST MIDLANDS United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
And about time too... Just when you think that Darts were destined to become a dim memory from the end of the '70s along comes this (almost) best of compilation. Clocking in at 58 minutes you get 19 tracks of fabulous Doowop /rock'n'roll . Daddy Cool, Boy from New York City , It's Raining and all the other hits are here with a few album choice album tracks ( and one or two not so choice selections , but there you go ). At £3.33 Amazon price this must be one of the bargains of the year and hopefully if it sells well enough Warners may even be persuaded to put out a 2nd volume with the missing tracks on!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 11 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great Music, But Uninspired Selection, 3 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
On the face of it a pretty good selection of tracks after alot of pressure on the record company. But looking slightly closer and with the title platinum, why wasn't some of the B sides to the singles included instead of the album tracks. 'Early In The Morning, 'How Many Nights' 'Naff Off'. Where is the single 'White Xmas'??? Especially this time of year. Where is the 'unrealised' Frantics Antics material that was still recorded under the Magnet label that Warners bought up? Yes great music, but not very inspired selection to for the platinum collection. Warners good try, but can do better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Now Everybody Can Play Darts Again......!!!!, 2 Dec 2005
By 
Martin R. Wedge "martley1" (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
After such a long time off the shelves, Warners have released a new 'Best of' by 'Darts'. It's about time too, as this band remain underated and have often been assigned less than even a footnote in pop history. That's unfair as Darts were the most successful UK live act of 1978 and placed some cracking singles into the Top 40. That's not a bad feat when you consider the mighty power of 'Abba' at that time.
Riding on the coat tails of the 50's revival sound, Darts exploded onto Top of the Pops in late '77. Who could forget Dan Heggarty's manic performance during 'Daddy Cool' which surely sent this single into the Top 10. Magnet records were onto a winner from the word go. Bigger hits to follow in '78 with a fabulous version of 'The Boy From New York City',(what a great performance from Rita...certainly the coolest 'Kitty' that Summer), 'Come Back My Love', and 'It's Raining'. All singles placed in the Top 3. In fact the only letdown was what was seemingly the Christmas single of that year' Don't Let It Fade Away', which failed to make the Top 10.
What this compilation does is showcases the versatility of 'Darts' and how enjoyable and fun they were. Of course their lives shows were often even better. But just as they did in the late 70's, 'everybody can play Darts' AGAIN!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Return of the Darts!!, 15 Dec 2005
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I was a boyhood fan of the Darts and it's great to see them finally hit CD in the 21st century!! Superb vocalists and great musicians. For the main part this is a great selection of tracks and I suppose much is down to personal preference. I would have to agree with other reviewers and say that a better track selection would have been to exclude some of the lesser known album tracks i.e.Bones, Runaround, Cool Jerk (why choose those two when by far the best non-single tracks on Dart Attack were Don't Look Back, Goodbye Brenda, Cuckoo?) and instead include White Christmas (a superb Christmas single - I still can't understand why it was never a hit) and some of the previously unreleased tracks from the Frantic Antics sessions. All in all though, a great listen and lets hope there's more to come!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Lets Hope There's More to Come!!!, 13 Jan 2006
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
Even if you've never heard of the Darts or doowop you'll enjoy this CD. The vocal harmonies are fantastic and musicianship is excellent - anyone with an ear for music will enjoy. One or two tracks could have been changed for better alternatives, as has already been mentioned, but that takes very little away from the overall quality of the collection. We all have our favourite tracks and lets hope the CD generates enough sales to encourage Warners to make further releases!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars amzing- not quite......., 8 Dec 2005
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
darts were extra special if not just a lil scary in retro-
however like others there are key missing songs here- and a little more care could have produced the definitive version-
where is sometime lately- which is beautiful, bells in my heart and late last night...
these 3 would have made it a 5star !!- for sure!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Doo-Wop at its best...!, 27 Nov 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Platinum Collection (Audio CD)
I'm really pleased Warner's have decided to issue a new "best of" album of the Darts. The previous one was selling at crazy prices on e-bay and once you will have listened to this one , you will understand why! Perfect vocals and talented musicians provide 19 songs that will enlighten your day! Daddy Cool, Duke of Earl, It's Raining, Come Back My Love....so many classics!I would have liked to see all their albums re-issued but this is a good start. The group re-united this summer and they put on a really great concert. They breathe doo-wop and it shows!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Platinum Collection
The Platinum Collection by Matchbox (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews