Customer Reviews


697 Reviews
5 star:
 (489)
4 star:
 (107)
3 star:
 (48)
2 star:
 (28)
1 star:
 (25)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


843 of 850 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, but the instructions need to be better.
I bought this about 6 months ago and have found it to be quite good, until a few days ago, when I discovered that it could make the PERFECT froth. A lot of people recommend that you warm the milk for a while in the microwave and then froth. But to make this work so as to form milk that is as thick as beaten egg whites, do the following:

1: Use semi-skimmed milk...
Published on 13 Sept. 2008 by jacobjacobi

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!! Frothiest milk ever!!! So why only 1 star?
Makes the fluffiest, frothy milk ever, so why only one star? As others have said the glass is so thin its hardly fit for purpose - lasted less than a fortnight. Glass cracked from simply stirring milk - whats that all about. I was treating this thing with kid gloves anyway after reading other reviews and still it breaks. DO NOT BUY THIS!!!

Look, save...
Published 12 months ago by Ms. Kerry Wickow


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

843 of 850 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Amazing, but the instructions need to be better., 13 Sept. 2008
By 
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
I bought this about 6 months ago and have found it to be quite good, until a few days ago, when I discovered that it could make the PERFECT froth. A lot of people recommend that you warm the milk for a while in the microwave and then froth. But to make this work so as to form milk that is as thick as beaten egg whites, do the following:

1: Use semi-skimmed milk straight from the fridge.
2: Beat the milk vigorously, making sure that you pump only in the bottom 2 inches of the milk (if you come out of the milk with each stroke, it doesn't work).
3: Keep pumping until it starts to get thick (if you are vigorous, this will take about 30 seconds).
4: Pop it into the microwave at full power (800 watts in my case) for 50 seconds. This seems to almost set the milk and it is even thicker when it comes out.
5: You now have egg white milk. Awesome.

PS: I have a good quality milkshake mix for the kids that we give them on occasion and this thing makes brilliantly thick milkshakes without the addition of ice cream.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


314 of 323 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Real Frothy Milk !, 4 May 2006
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
I received a "Tassimo" for my birthday recently but was disappointed with the quality of the cappuccino "froth" so decided to purchase this Bodum milk frother. It really is easy to use - simply fill with milk to the black line on the jug, microwave for one and a half minutes, then put the lid on and pump up and down for a few seconds. Pour the resulting frothy milk into your coffee. I am very impressed by the quality of this gadget and the froth lasts all the way down to the last sip of coffee not disappearing after a couple of minutes like with the Tassimo milk pod!A great buy! P.S. Have had it 18 months now, used most days, still going strong!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!! Frothiest milk ever!!! So why only 1 star?, 23 April 2014
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
Makes the fluffiest, frothy milk ever, so why only one star? As others have said the glass is so thin its hardly fit for purpose - lasted less than a fortnight. Glass cracked from simply stirring milk - whats that all about. I was treating this thing with kid gloves anyway after reading other reviews and still it breaks. DO NOT BUY THIS!!!

Look, save yourself some money, grab that cafetiere thats sat on the shelf, stick some milk in it and move the plunger up and down - thats all there is to it. For a starter the glass will be stronger than what Bodum have made here.

I'll never buy Bodum again after this performance and certainly wont buy a replacement until they do something about the strength of the glass!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


153 of 164 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic, 22 May 2006
By 
D. A. R. Randall (Cambridge UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
Bought this about a year ago. It is the most hassle free,efficient, hygenic product for frothing milk and I have bought machines costing £250

At this price it is a bargain, BUY ONE AND SEE you won't regret it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super frothy milk!, 20 Nov. 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
I have used a few milk frothers and my last one was part of my Gaggia coffee machine, which i sold due to all the fuss and cleaning required.
I have now gone to a Mocca pot and bought the Bodum 1446 milk frother to compliment this and what i can say is, it is superb and the milk froth it produces is thick and creamy and lasts nearly to the bottom of the cup.
Make sure you use skimmed or semi-skimmed milk fill to the line and then microwave until warm/hot (do not let it boil) then place the plunger and lid onto the pot and pump up and down vigorously (blokes should be good at this) try to keep the plunger disc within 2 inches of the bottom of the pot, the milk will double in size (30-50 seconds max) remove the plunger and lid from the frothed milk and let the milk/froth sit for 1 minute.
You can then pour the remaining milk in the bottom of the pot into your coffee and then spoon on the thick throth which resembles beaten egg white consistency, LOVELY JUBLY.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 50 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Good product, 16 Dec. 2006
By 
F. M. Douglas (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
Yes, this is a simple product which really works. Only problem is that the glass doesn't last forever, I'm on my third one already.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


22 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Cafe quality froth!!, 25 Oct. 2009
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
This Bodum milk frother really is as good as the reviews suggest!

I use it in 2 ways.

If you want egg-white thick froth that sits on top of the coffee with just a little milk in the coffee itself, fill to the maximum line with cold semi-skimmed milk. Plunge vigorously for 30 secs - 1 minute, not letting the plunger come out of the milk, then microwave for 1 minute.

If you want more milk in the coffee, with more liquid froth, heat the milk first then plunge as above. Be careful with the hot milk, be sure to rotate the lid to cover the spout with the designed cap.

The frothed milk also keeps your coffee hotter for longer.

Cafe quality froth. Excellent!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Manual = adjustable, 23 Jun. 2012
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
We have just bought one of these to replace our much loved, but rather fragile, Aeroccino. On first use, I've found this Bodum frother to have four main advantages. First of all, you can froth the milk as much or as little as you like, simply by pumping it for more or less time. We prefer flat white/latte grade frothy rather than the full cappuccino 'Mr Whippy', and about 10 seconds hand action is enough to get it just the way we like it. This is impossible with steaming or electrical frothers like the Aeroccino, because they have to heat the milk as they froth it; so reducing frothing time would mean colder milk. For the Bodum, you have to heat the milk first in a microwave, but this only takes about a minute and a half in ours (if you're really into coffee I recommend getting a barrista-style milk thermometer so you can work out exactly how long your microwave takes to get the milk to the right temperature - you'll find several on Amazon and they're all cheap).

The second advantage of the Bodum is that it is easy to clean. Just rinse it out or bung it in the dishwasher.

The third is that you can re-use it straight away. The Aeroccino seemed to need to cool down before it did another (tiny) jug of milk. Fill it up and run it again straight away and it would just flash at you and do nothing.

Finally, cost. This one is much cheaper than an Aeroccino and I suspect it will last longer because there's nothing to go wrong and no non-stick to get messed up.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


46 of 52 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just one more five star review, 13 April 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
There aren't many reviews on Amazon reported as favourably as this but I have to add my praise and a couple of tips I've picked up.
Firstly, if there's any point in repeating the same thing as just about everyone else, this thing works incredibly well, creating huge amounts of foamy milk. It's amazing to pour just an inch of milk and then after maybe 10-15 easy pumps end up with a jug full of foam.
So, onto those tips based on my use and experience:
1) Use skimmed milk. You'll be using more milk than with standard coffees so it's a good idea to watch the calories! I've also found that skimmed milk creates the most foam which, even from 0.1% fat milk, tastes sweet and surprisingly creamy.
2) Foam the milk FIRST and then microwave the foam. For some reason, cold milk froths dramatically more than warm or hot milk and, once foamed, the bubbled milk heats up very quickly in the microwave and doesn't lose any volume (again, this surprised me, but it's a fact).
A great little device!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic frothyness!, 11 April 2011
This review is from: Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother (Kitchen & Home)
I received this as a gift and let me tell you, it one of the best gifts I've had in ages! Having read some of the reviews that say it doesn't work and so on, it certainly does for me. I use low fat milk, fill to the line, then nuke it in the glass part (uncovered) for about 2 minutes total on 100% in my 800w microwave, then I froth it until I'm happy with the frothyness (less than 20 seconds). Then let it stand for a minute (important!) Now, mine came with a cork placemat type thing and I reckon you should do your pumping/frothing with it sitting on it because if you do it quite hard and hit the bottom of the glass too hard, of course it's going to break and I reckon the cork thing is there to help absorb the shock. So, pump with the thing sitting on the cork base and ideally when pumping don't let it touch the bottom, pump around the line. The result, hot milk and mountains of froth to accompany your favourite coffee, chai latte, etc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 270 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Bodum 1446 Latteo Milk Frother
£13.20
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews