Customer Reviews


17 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous
Love TattooJohnny Got A Boom Boom
Imelda May when she was with Blue Harlem. Fabulous album. Best numbers: Every Time I Hear That Mellow Saxophone and Hallelujah I Just Love Him So...
Published on 9 Jan 2010 by Lindsay Abbott

versus
20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tame
If you are thinking of buying this on the back of owning Imelda May's (nee Clabby)excellent solo material, think again. This is a rather tame collection of 50's style jazz of the sort that The Chevalier Brothers did (and Camille O'Sullivan still does) so much better. Some of the lyrics are very cringe-making (since when did the moon ever shine for 15 hours?!) and often...
Published on 10 Feb 2009 by Barmee


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fabulous, 9 Jan 2010
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
Love TattooJohnny Got A Boom Boom
Imelda May when she was with Blue Harlem. Fabulous album. Best numbers: Every Time I Hear That Mellow Saxophone and Hallelujah I Just Love Him So...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Talk To Me: Blue Harlem - Hallelujah I love this so!, 20 Jun 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
Blue Harlem are mainly noted for being the band Imelda May was with before going solo. It's a classic rockabilly swing combo producing music that just gets you up and dancing, fronted by May's powerful, feel good singing.

And that sums this music up. Feel good. It's music to make you feel happy, infections big band swing that gets down into your soul, travels down your spine and hits the nerves that set your feet tapping. It's tight, upbeat, swinging music that entertains. 5 stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars lady sings the jazz/blues deluxe, 14 Feb 2009
By 
Andrew Weir "lazarus" (s.Yorks, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
first saw imelda may on later with jools last year with her new band.WOW! just loved the voice, the double bass and fantastic guitar. This earlier release has a more american swing/jazz feel with less guitar, but that voice!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Wonderful!, 23 Jan 2009
By 
M. Regan (Cardiff, Wales) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
A brilliant, catchy & classy CD. A must have for lovers of Imelda May, Blue Harlem or just blues & swing!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars imelda may, 16 Nov 2011
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
great album loads of good tracks on here ,was singing along all day to the music ,was looking for more imelda music and found out she was with this band before her solo career took off ,cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Realy need to relax?, 24 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
My husband & I listened to this together excited to hear Imelda May again after we had just been to Viva Las Vega 2014 and her perfomance was amazing!
Only discovered her music within the last 2 years and cannot get enough.
This... however...is a little different than most of what she is doing at the moment. Her rockabilly music is amazing.!.!..!..!..but this is her beautiful soulful voice and talent on a whole different level. This CD is a must have! It is soothing....exciting... and sexy! It will melt away the stress of life and remind you of God's true blessings. Pure, beautiful, heartfelt angelic voice and a talent that should not be missed!
I would recommend this album to anyone!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great music, 20 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
I like this band, a pity Emalda May left it but we all have to move on.
The tracks on this CD are great to listen to.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Tame, 10 Feb 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
If you are thinking of buying this on the back of owning Imelda May's (nee Clabby)excellent solo material, think again. This is a rather tame collection of 50's style jazz of the sort that The Chevalier Brothers did (and Camille O'Sullivan still does) so much better. Some of the lyrics are very cringe-making (since when did the moon ever shine for 15 hours?!) and often about down trodden women (not in an empowering way). I don't know why Imelda left this band but my guess is that she wanted to be a bit more adventurous. This album, while not without some pleasing moments, is really only for Imelda May completists in my view.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A blues twist and a powerful voice, 30 Sep 2011
By 
Mr. A. Healy - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
If you see her in a video, she is minute- where does this beautiful, powerful voice come from ? A definite buy for blues nuts, like me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Talk to me - Blue Harlem and Imelda May, 27 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Talk to Me (Audio CD)
Very enjoyable CD - I don't buy many actual CD's so there has to be something that really appeals to me - Imelda May - what a voice and performer!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Talk to Me
Talk to Me by Blue Harlem (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews