Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Outstanding Debut Album from Mr Nwaar, 24 Feb 2006
By 
This review is from: Tower Of Love (Audio CD)
This album is an absoloute joy! I heard a track played on late night Radio 2 and thought 'WOW' - what IS this!? I bought the album on the strength of that single track and was not disappointed with any of the remaining tracks. Yes, it's slightly quirky, but the tunes are so infectiously catchy that I can't stop playing it! Jim's style? Difficult to pinpoint but a definite retro feel with nods to the Mamas and the Papas and an obvious comparison to Brian Wilson and the Beach Boys - the latter on account of Jim's glorious harmonies. There's even an instrumental track that could have been lifted from 'Pet Sounds'. The most amazing thing is that Jim has recorded this material as a one man band (although he's touring with some friends to help out with the harmonies and other instruments!). I urge you to give it a listen as I don't know anyone who hasn't heard it and said 'Wow, who is this guy?' and 'can I have a copy?'. Buy your own!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jim Noir - superstar!, 15 Feb 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Tower Of Love (Audio CD)
This is amazing! I bought it last week and haven't stopped listening to it since; every track is a gem. What does it sound like? Try to imagine the Beach Boys of the Pet Sounds era being covered by the French duo Air playing in their front room and you might begin to get close. The lyrics are very British though, with playful lines like "If you don't give my football back I'm gonna get my dad on you." You'll be hard pushed to find a better record to soundtrack the summer this year - charming from beginning to end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Psychedelic Surf Boards, 9 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Tower of Love [Digipak] (Audio CD)
“This debut album comes like a literal breath of fresh air across the sometimes predictable British music scene. It features a number of instantly memorable tunes and melodies, which I'm sure we will be hearing on TV adverts over the next 18 months. 'My Patch', 'Tower of Love' and 'Eanie Meanie' are all catchy happy tunes which stay in the memory long after the album has finished. Clearly influenced by Beach Boys harmonies this guy clearly loves his music from all types of eras and genres and he's sure to be around for some time to come. If you fancy an uplifting, cheerful and unusual 40 minutes then buy this album!”
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Delicious Kitsch, 15 Mar 2006
By 
L. Hulme (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tower Of Love (Audio CD)
This Jim Noir offering certainly didn't disappoint me - i was hooked after the 'Computer Song' EP.
However it is all very much in the same style - harking back to 60's flowery kitsch pop, mixed in with electronica to give it a modern edge. The genius part are the lyrics which are witty, funny and perceptive. I don't always listen to lyrics properly, but for this, i think it adds to your enjoyment.
Tower of Love is a great album - i defy you to not start grinning ear to ear after you have listened to it. Pure sunshine, with a twist of English humour to keep it balanced!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Modern Psychedelic Pop Masterpiece, 21 Nov 2005
This review is from: Tower of Love [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Psychedelic troubadour Jim Noir has been enchanting listeners with his beguiling West-Coast nursery rhymes for some time now, having released a number of strictly limited-edition 7" EPs over the past couple of years.
His debut album of schizophrenic psyche-folk doesn't disappoint, somehow conjuring images of endless Californinan summers while remaining as quintessentially English as tea and cakes at 11. Opener "My Patch" is a breezy chamber-pop masterpiece with sun-kissed Beach Boys harmonies, while title track "Tower Of Love" sounds like a long-lost Pet Sounds instrumental beamed in from space.
The lo-fi aesthetic of "A Quiet Man" invites favourable comparisons with early Super Furry Animals, and "Turbulent Weather" is laced with Brian Wilson-esque melodic invention and sublime one-man harmonies.
The fragile beauty of each perfectly-crafted retro-pop nugget on this album confirms Jim Noir's role as master magician of a psychedelic folk scene of his own making. Expect big things.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Tower of Lovely, 25 Sep 2006
This review is from: Tower Of Love (Audio CD)
The comparisons to Brian Wilson are not at all misplaced, but for a more up to date comparison (not that you can ever write off the God like genius of Brian Wilson) Super Furry Animals are very much in evidence and in influence on this fantastic album. If you like latter day SFA (think Phantom Power)you'll like this. Definitely.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A tower of love in more ways than one, 26 Dec 2005
By 
russell clarke "stipesdoppleganger" (halifax, west yorks) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Tower of Love [Digipak] (Audio CD)
Re-calling such delights as early Laptop, Robyn Hitchcock, XTC off shot The Dukes Of Stratosphear and most commonly signposted, The Beach Boys Jim Noir is quite literally a one man band as he plays every instrument on this, his debut album. A singular vision Tower Of Love is with out doubt the warmest wittiest most consistently enjoyable pop album of 2005.This album would cheer up a lamp post whose bulb had gone out.
In terms of musical influences and the overall ambience of the album you would probably guess that Jim Noir hailed from the leafy suburbs of of some affluent Southern town but his Manc accent and distinctly Northern humour, obsessions and phraseology give away his Manchester roots. Listening to "Eanie Meany" where his protagonist won't "Give his football back" and is threatened with "I'm gonna get my dad on yer" it's the sort of childhood experience I would write about if I had any musical talent, That and dog on the park , playing kiss cuddle or torture and apple nicking. "Eanie Meany 2" sound like Air rather perversely
Playful self decapitating humour is prevalent throughout this album. Set to breezy sunny harmonies, skittering keyboard melodies and plangent plucked acoustic guitar he sings an ode to his computer and the many frustrations it puts him through. "Every time I try to make a silly little song/ My efforts are all wasted because machinery goes wrong." "My Patch", a former single , is the most aggressive song on the album with it's skipping beat but it's threat to "Bring you down" is loaded with about as much menace as "C.I.T.V" at three thirty on a Tuesday. "Key of C" has a brilliant perambulating keyboard written presumably in the key of C "Because it's easier to play it". Last track "The Only Way" is a nutmegging ballad which seems to finish at around three minutes but after sixty seconds of silence instaurate, s itself back again with it, s temporal layers of instrumentation and low key vocal harmony.
This is a very charming record, not something I'd ever thought I'd say about music as a recommendation with it's middle class connotations but it's true and it most definitely is a recommendation as this quietly luscious album is the most understated purely pleasurable musical experience of the year....by light years. It towers above everything else really.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb !, 19 May 2008
By 
RJW (Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Tower Of Love (Audio CD)
I wonder if there is another album on Amazon where every single review is a 5-star review ? That tells you all you need to know about this masterpiece of accoustic, dreamy songs that Wilson or McCartney would be happy to put their name to. Just buy it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Pop Perfect, 16 Mar 2008
By 
Kenneth Mcelroy "KennethMcElroy" (Thurso, Caithness, Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Tower Of Love (Audio CD)
First time I've ever written a review but I felt compelled to impart with my thoughts on this record. This CD is pretty much perfection. The record is sweet and gentle, filled with sweet and gentle flowing songs; delightful harmonies accompanied by the strumming of guitars and cool tambourine beats. The record is also punctuated with several various odd little noises, which can involve natural sounds, like the twitters of birds, or plinky-plonky (best onomatopoeia I could think of! )fairground-style piano's. It as if this record was recorded in the 1960s, in the middle of a beautiful field, where a carnival has been set up for the nicest, most laid-back hipster-beatniks about.

The album itself sways along nicely.It is at times beautiful, at times humuorous ("Computer Song") and even quite haunting in some parts - but throughout it remains an intriguing listen. If you like artists such as The Beach Boys or The Magic Numbers, or any other form of hippyish, acoustic music which is just plain nice - then I highly recommend this album to you. Perfect.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars jim noir, 25 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Tower Of Love (Audio CD)
great cd, arrived well, the case is a bit dodgy but other than that its absoulutly fine, all the tracks play well.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Tower of Love [Digipak]
Tower of Love [Digipak] by Jim Noir (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews