Customer Reviews


6 Reviews
5 star:    (0)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware of idiots!
Of the five previous reviews only one (by "at11442") seems to be by someone, who actually read the 'Product Description'.

Nowhere on this page is it claimed, that this DVD contains the complete first season or the second or third season for that matter.

According to the description, this DVD is a separate documentary to help people get started...
Published on 22 Jan 2007 by D. M. Leahy

versus
36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best of maybe ... not enough substance!
There is too little information in this compilation for it to be any more than a teaser for people interested in taking up family tree research. Most people could probably guess that birth, marriage and death records, and census records are an important part of the research process. However, this programme simply states that and does little if anything to give viewers any...
Published on 18 Jan 2006 by Alan Thomas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

36 of 40 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Best of maybe ... not enough substance!, 18 Jan 2006
There is too little information in this compilation for it to be any more than a teaser for people interested in taking up family tree research. Most people could probably guess that birth, marriage and death records, and census records are an important part of the research process. However, this programme simply states that and does little if anything to give viewers any practical guidance on getting started with their use.
For example Jeremy Clarkson, one of the featured researchers, made a couple of quick appearances in the programme and then just turned up with a huge scroll on which is printed a comprehensive family tree. How did he get there? The programme omits to tell. Don't waste your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


32 of 36 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Seriously short on expectations, 17 Jan 2006
By 
ADRIAN BUNDY (READING, BERKS England) - See all my reviews
I saw 3 or 4 of the first series, particularly enjoying the Bill Oddie story, and when I saw the COMPLETE SERIES 1 being released on DVD on Amazon, I thought it ideal to fill in the gaps.Now it has arrived, it is more HOW to research your family history with admittedly interesting extracts from the individual episodes.
If it was described by Amazon as what it actually is, I would not have bought it - poor show Amazon in not getting things right and misleading a long term customer.My delivery note dated 16th January STILL describes the item as COMPLETE BBC TV SERIES 1!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


45 of 51 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Incomplete, truncated, misleading DVD release, 23 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This was an excellent series on the BBC and I eagerly awaited the DVD of the first series. What a huge disappointment. 10 hours of TV reduced to 76 minutes! What is the point of that? The person who put this DVD together clearly had no idea why people were interested in this programme. It was not the superficial and obvious suggestions made on researching family trees that made this programme such gripping viewing but the drama of the pursuit. TV viewers enjoyed the journey they took with the featured celebrites as they discovered more about their family history. Anyone with a bit of commonsense would have realised this. This DVD is therefore a huge blunder on someone's part and a missed opportunity. Don't waste your money on this dreadful DVD release. Instead, write to the BBC and ask them to release the programme itself on DVD. This is what I and the other people who bought this release thought they were getting.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars What are people looking at?, 3 Dec 2009
By 
Mrs. Rosalind A. Brennan "Roz" (Somerset) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Like the previous reviewer , I don't understand why people are reviewing this DVD as the first series? There is nothing describing this as the first series, it clearly states "how to trace your family tree". WAKE UP PEOPLE, this is NOT series one!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Beware of idiots!, 22 Jan 2007
By 
D. M. Leahy (Wellington, New Zealand) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Of the five previous reviews only one (by "at11442") seems to be by someone, who actually read the 'Product Description'.

Nowhere on this page is it claimed, that this DVD contains the complete first season or the second or third season for that matter.

According to the description, this DVD is a separate documentary to help people get started tracing their family tree, including some excerpts from the first season.

If you are looking for the complete seasons, run a search both the first and second are available from Amazon.co.uk.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 28 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Bad Show!, 9 April 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I have loved both series of this show on the tv but I missed a few episodes from series 1 so thought this an excellant chance to catch up. How wrong I was! Only short snippets from the original tv show, not the full programmes themselves - not what I had expected at all. I was reallt dissapointed in this DVD. Good job the series is being re-run on digital tv.
Learn by your mistakes for the next DVD!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Do You Think You Are? [VHS]
Who Do You Think You Are? [VHS] by Who Do You Think You Are? (VHS Tape - 2006)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews