Customer Reviews


295 Reviews
5 star:
 (113)
4 star:
 (56)
3 star:
 (46)
2 star:
 (36)
1 star:
 (44)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Am I the Only One
I never read the book as I've tried reading Dan Brown before and find his writing somewhat laboured.

The film however (when not compared to the book) was simply a good mystery yarn.

The special effects were nicely done and I have to say that I loved the incidental music by Hans Zimmer.

Maybe not for the purist historian but for a couple of...
Published on 10 Jan. 2008 by D. Paterson

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable hokum - as long as you don't take it too seriously
The almost universally derided but hugely successful The DaVinci Code turns out to be surprisingly entertaining hokum. In many ways Ron Howard is the perfect director for it - he still can't create a decent suspense sequence in a thriller but, unashamedly populist and one of the directors least likely to overestimate his audience's intelligence, he keeps things fairly...
Published on 14 Aug. 2011 by Trevor Willsmer


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Am I the Only One, 10 Jan. 2008
By 
D. Paterson "Davyp" (Scotland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
I never read the book as I've tried reading Dan Brown before and find his writing somewhat laboured.

The film however (when not compared to the book) was simply a good mystery yarn.

The special effects were nicely done and I have to say that I loved the incidental music by Hans Zimmer.

Maybe not for the purist historian but for a couple of hours of escapism, I thought it was great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dont Let Others Put You Off - Its Still A Good Movie!, 30 May 2007
By 
This review is from: The Da Vinci Code (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Having never read the book I cannot draw a comparison to it, however I did enjoy this movie. I thought it was visually stunning at times and a solid performance from most if not all actors involved.

The action was fast paced and you tell it was building to something but not quite sure what until all was revealed! Exactly how a movie of this type should be presented!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Enjoyable hokum - as long as you don't take it too seriously, 14 Aug. 2011
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
The almost universally derided but hugely successful The DaVinci Code turns out to be surprisingly entertaining hokum. In many ways Ron Howard is the perfect director for it - he still can't create a decent suspense sequence in a thriller but, unashamedly populist and one of the directors least likely to overestimate his audience's intelligence, he keeps things fairly clear and surprisingly inoffensive: it's more likely to be the atheists looking for a flag to rally around who'll feel betrayed than the religious, with the film going to pains to emphasise that being mortal need not invalidate Jesus' message or the value of faith. Indeed, the villain turns out not to be a church figure but the kind of obsessive conspiracy nut who probably makes up the novel's target audience, albeit one ingeniously using the Church as his own personal hit-man.

The film does a surprisingly imaginative job of illustrating the film's extensive exposition with everything from PowerPoint presentations and computer graphic representations of the thought process to some visually striking flashbacks that are also well invoked to imply memories, phobias, personal backstories and the way the past impacts on the present, while the script has fun setting up various characters as the villain-in-chief only to pull the rug from under you. Even the constant puzzles that drive the story like some sudoko thriller are generally presented in a pleasingly cinematic manner. The film's big conspiracy - hardly a secret people will kill to cover up since it's been the subject of books for decades - doesn't hold water for a second, relying on finding connections and patterns where none exist, altering pictures to change their meaning and quoting apocryphal works and offering speculation as fact in such a way that the same method could probably also be used to prove that the secret child of Top Cat and Judy Jetson is the true heir to the throne of Great Britain, but at least the film's hero is allowed to puncture some of the more absurd elements as pure conjecture or disproven nonsense (provoking the inevitable "That's what they want you to think!" response) before finally seeing the light. There's also something rather naïve in the story's belief that if the big story is finally revealed, all war and sexual oppression will disappear overnight, something only underlined by the killer's over-the-top final moments.

It's generally well cast (even if Tom Hanks pronunciation is a little odd at times while actors like Jean-Pierre Marielle are wasted on nothing parts) and has a surprising amount of momentum and drive before things slow to a crawl for the lengthy epilogue, while Hans Zimmer throws in an effective score, making for a surprisingly entertaining cinematic scavenger hunt. The two-disc Blu-ray offers only the extended 174-minute version of the film (if you want the shorter theatrical version you'll have to stick with the DVD) but does feature a selected scene commentary by Ron Howard, picture-in-picture featurettes and interviews and even more featurettes than the two-disc DVD special edition.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Strong conceptual mystery that leaves you to your own opinion, 16 Jun. 2009
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
After a suspicious murder at the Louvre, Symbologist Robert Langdon (Hanks) and detective Sophie Neveu (Tautou) are on the run whilst they attempt to uncover the mystery of the Holy Grail.

Dan Brown's novel The Da Vinci Code broke barriers with audiences all over the world for its unashamed approach to religion and the concept of what the Holy Grail truly is amongst the ongoing battle between Opus Dei, The Church and the Priory of Sion. Brown certainly has sparked hefty debates but a film adaptation was always inevitable and when released, it caused as much as a storm as when the book was released.

The storm that came with this in 2006 was an ashamed feeling of disapprove for the way director Ron Howard and screenwriter Akiva Goldsman approached this astonishing story. This was banned in numerous countries for its strong opinions and depictions of Jesus Christ and Mary Magdalene but the uproar came for the film itself. Badly made, unfaithful to source material and atrociously acted and directed, Da Vinci fell into the category of the world's worst blockbusters. Personally, amongst all the negativity, I rather enjoyed watching two fine actors looking to solve a delicate mystery.

There is no doubt that whatever your beliefs, the book is well scripted with a sharp and intriguing motive to keep you hooked right till the shocking finale. Even the long winded debates were interesting as we learnt of different groups in Christianity and the film took all the heavy ideologies onboard in an attempt to portray the book as was written.

At two and a half hours, this film somehow leaves out a vast majority of debated conceptual significance but the importance is all relative come the end. For someone who enjoyed the book, I find the simple explanation as to why this movie "failed" is that it leaves out this hefty amount of debate.

Tom Hanks was criticized for his blunt performance and sadly, the hype was right. There was no spring as there was in Big, no drama like in Cast Away. From the book, it seemed Langdon was a more spirited soul that exuded adventure but there is something lacking here. Tautou is buoyant and necessarily silent in all the right places gives a good pairing along the way with Hanks; one of the final scenes exceptionally sentimental.

Ron Howard, who was also slated, delivers an unsurprising style of mystery. His continuous use of close shots for unsurprised expressions do nothing to help the feel of the film, which means the reliance is all on the plot, which is enjoyable and still exciting.

Yes, it isn't the book but as with the Harry Potter series for example, we all came to our own conclusions and drew up our own imagination so it was never going to be perfect. Da Vinci Code is a good film with a strong conceptual plot that generates debate and excitement.

8/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 11235813, 3 Dec. 2006
By 
J. A. Samson (Sussex) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Da Vinci Code (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Having read the other reviews on here I was rather sceptical about watching this. Having read the book and thoroughly enjoying that I was not expecting the film to be up too much. However I was engrossed in the film from start to finish I found the film to be a good account of what I had read and on several occasions it felt like déjà vu as the film re played out what i had imagined from reading the book and that i think makes this a special film. The film left me feeling rather "spooked" which the book did and that is also a good thing as it is a film that encourages the viewer to think unlike a lot of films out there. I enjoyed this and would thoroughly recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Why is everyone so determined to dislike this just to go against the hype?, 26 April 2009
By 
L. Freeman "Binto" (Worcestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
I am writing this having ONLY seen the film- I have not read the book. It was an intruiging and interesting film. I really enjoyed it. It was complicated at times, grasping who everyone was and what their stance was.

I can appreciate that if you have previously read the book there will be alot that had to be skimmed over i guess! But lets not all get up on our cultural high horses, its a really good watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A safety by numbers film, 13 July 2006
This review is from: The Da Vinci Code (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD] (DVD)
Like most of the world, I read the book first, And found it highly enjoyable. It isn't Dan Browns best book, but it was a good read none-the-less. The book doesn't exactly transfer to the big screen like i'd have hoped it would, and found that as the book was quite descriptive, the film, as a result slowed down a bit. The first hour is fairly hard going, but it does pick up a little as Robert and Audrey fly in to the UK.

The casting i feel was a bit iffy. Hanks should never have been cast as Langdon, and i don't think he quite pulled it off. Reno was the only good casting, in that I saw him as the Fache character staight away when i read the book. Ian McKellan was ok as teabing as was bettany as silas. Both, however i felt weren't the ideal people to play the characters..

Overall, the film was ok, but it's certainly no where near as good as the book. I just hope they do a better job of Angels and Demons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars 'MYSTERY AND INTRIGUE', 29 May 2014
By 
rbmusicman (U.K) - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
I liked this film when first released, the extended cut does add a little more drama to the plot, many scenes including an extended insight into the 'scary blonde monk' 'Silas' ( played by 'Paul Bettany) were an addition to the theatrical version.
I think if you don't take the 'code theory' too seriously the unfolding drama does work rather well, the search for the final resting place of 'Mary Magdeline' ( Jesus's wife ? a Da Vinci theory)
'Robert Langdon' ( Tom Hanks ) an expert in the field of ancient symbols becomes embroiled with 'cryptologist' 'Sophie' ( Audrey Taufou) in a murder investigation which put them on the trail to find the truth behind the 'bloodline' theory.
The pair are chased and followed all the way from 'Paris' to 'London' and are helped by one of 'Robert's' old friends played by 'screen legend' 'Ian Mckellan' as 'Sir Leigh Teabing'( but who is he really ?)
If the secret is uncovered it could shake the very foundations of the 'Catholic' Church, in fact given the chance they would destroy evidence ?
So can 'Robert' and 'Sophie' prevent evil intent ?
My thoughts on the subject -
When considered, in my opinion, all the mystery and codes invented from the writings of the uniquily talented 'leonardo Da Vinci' can never be proved or dis-proved, why would he with all due respect between the years 1452-1519 have access to anymore information in relation to the life of 'Jesus' than we have another 500 years down the line...............not a chance..........we will almost certainly never know the truth.....and that is maybe how it should be..........never-the-less the intrige and questions do turn out a very watchable movie..........which this format in both picture and sound quality does, no question enhance..........enjoy
Special Features -
Disc One- Exclusive to Blu-ray -
* First Look at 'Angels and Demons'
* Select Scenes.
* Commentary with Director 'Ron Howard'
* Unlocking the Code 'Picture in Picture' Video.
Disc Two -
* Behind the scenes featurettes.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Each breath you take is a sin. No shadow will be safe again, for you will be hunted by angels., 15 Jan. 2013
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
The Da Vinci Code is directed by Ron Howard and adapted to screenplay by Akiva Goldsman from the novel of the same name written by Dan Brown. It stars Tom Hanks, Audrey Tautou, Ian McKellen, Paul Bettany, Jean Reno, Alfred Molina and Jürgen Prochnow. Music is scored by Hans Zimmer and cinematography by Salvatore Totino.

When a man is murdered inside the Louvre, his body is found to be surrounded by cryptic messages. The police call in American symbology expert Robert Langdon (Hanks) to decode the clues. When he is joined by Parisian cryptologist Sophie Neveu (Tautou), it quickly becomes apparent that nothing is as it first seems and a mystery begins to unravel that could shake Christianity to its very core.

Extended Cut (Blu-ray) Version Viewed.

I haven't read the book! And I love treasure hunt/clue chasing movies! So I came to Ron Howard's hugely successful film (over $600 million in worldwide profit) bereft of literary pressure and with only a modicum of genre expectation. Perhaps this is why I'm apparently only in a small percentage of film lovers who really enjoyed the film? In spite of those gargantuan financial figures.

Ultimately it's very safe film making, with a director and cast guaranteeing professionalism, but it weaves a magical mystery tour full of cryptic clues, secret organisations and cover ups. Yes, there is a good deal of corn thrown in as well, which inevitably stops the adaptation from being hyper intelligent. There's also an understanding on my part as to why many feel it's just too talky, but was the film ever going to be unfurled as an action movie blockbuster for the popcorn munching crowd, like National Treasure et al?

It is a clever conspiracy thriller full of twists and turns with a outlandish revelation at the finale. It's also very appropriately performed by the cast (serio brooding and fret), and when McKellen joins the fray after an hour of film it has a little class as well, while Zimmer's score is a majestic blending of choir, strings and synths. I maintain that the film didn't deserve the critical whacking it got, but again I say I had a blank canvas going in for my first viewing.

I wasn't sold to it because of controversy or had a saliva tinged mouth having worshipped at the altar of Dan Brown, I expected exactly what I got. A flawed but ever so intriguing adult mystery thriller, and not even Hanks' hair stopped me having a great time with the movie. 7/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Remedy for Insomnia, 11 May 2009
By 
O E J - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
I read the book several years ago and found it interesting and thought-provoking rather than entertaining, so it didn't cross my mind at the time that it needed to be made into a film. Now that I have seen the film, I feel they really should not have bothered, and I'm glad I didn't waste money seeing it at the cinema. This is a reasonably faithful interpretation and the overall production style is very good but I believe that films should bring something completely new to the fore that the book failed to do. That isn't the case here. Of course many people will see the film without having read the book, so perhaps for them it might be a better experience, but for the majority who did read the novel, this will probably seem rather pointless and almost certainly not as good.

Needless to say this was a dead-cert banker for Columbia and Imagine Entertainment, being based on the most talked-about novel of the decade. It's already taken $757 million at the box office putting it in 26th place in the all-time financial ranking list. So I'm sure everyone involved in making it has done very nicely thank you, but I do not recommend it for any other reason other than curiosity value. Even then, it feels as if it's going to take as long to watch as the book took to read - it really seems to take up a lot longer than its actual 143 minutes. In the end, all it represents is a film of the book and nothing more, and probably only of benefit to anyone who can't read.

Apparently Tom Hanks doesn't sport such a daft barnet in the sequel, Angels & Demons.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 230 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Da Vinci Code (2 Disc Special Edition) [DVD]
£2.94
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews