Customer Reviews


13 Reviews
5 star:
 (2)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMovie
The new '08 version of iMovie is ultra simple to use and you can genuinely edit a movie in minutes. And, as a bonus you get to keep iMovie '06 or download for free from Apple so you get the best of both worlds!

The changes to the rest of the iLife apps are worth the cost in themselves. iPhoto and iMovie with skimming and events is just amazing. Mac gallery and...
Published on 12 Oct 2007 by J. M. Sheehan

versus
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick with iLife '06
As you'll notice from the other reviews, imovie '08 has caused a stir in the Apple user community because the new revised version is pretty to look at but completely useless. I used to be a total Apple fan until I had to many bad experiences of their products & customer service team to go on ignoring. Something I now find very amusing is the way Apple fans allow...
Published on 12 Nov 2007 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars IMovie, 12 Oct 2007
By 
J. M. Sheehan "Jazz" (Doncaster, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
The new '08 version of iMovie is ultra simple to use and you can genuinely edit a movie in minutes. And, as a bonus you get to keep iMovie '06 or download for free from Apple so you get the best of both worlds!

The changes to the rest of the iLife apps are worth the cost in themselves. iPhoto and iMovie with skimming and events is just amazing. Mac gallery and YouTube uploading is a dream to use and the new templates and printing options with frames is excellent. In my opinion you won't be disappointed. And no, I don't work for Apple!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars iPhoto '08 Is Excellent, Let Down By iMovie '08, 13 Jan 2008
By 
Alan (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
iLife '08 comprises 5 applications for £55, so £11 per application. For 4 out of 5 of these applications, iLife '08 is an improvement over its predecessor iLife '06 (there is no iLife '07) and a great upgrade. However, iMovie '08 takes 2 steps back from iMovie HD, in an attempt to take 1 step forward. More on that later.

iPhoto '08 is excellent and worth £55 alone. It has some excellent new features such as Events, the .Mac Web Gallery, Unified Search, New Calendar and book styles, Theme-based home printing and new Editing Tools. The editing tools are worth pointing out as iPhoto now does something very clever when you edit a photo. It remembers every single alteration you made to it, in a truly non-destructive way, down to the positions of the adjustment sliders, the exact angle of straightening, the cropping, everything. So, for example, if you increase the contrast of a photo to +10 and then quit iPhoto, when you re-open it iPhoto remembers that the contrast was set to +10 and you can adjust it down to +5. There's no need to save, or remember what adjustments you made; iPhoto takes care of it all. This enables you to go editing crazy, rapidly cropping, straightening and fixing colour casts on all your photos, without worrying about destroying the original or getting the edits perfect the first time. Brilliant.

iMovie '08 has nothing in common with the previous version, iMovie HD. It is a brand new application, starting from scratch. While it introduces some excellent new features, it loses a lot of the control and creative power of iMovie HD. The new video library system is great, automatically capturing and archiving your MiniDV, HDV and AVCHD camcorder footage. It's like iPhoto, but for your home video. The whole of iMovie '08 works in real-time, even with mixed format footage in the same project, processing all of the edits, transitions and titles on the fly. Very impressive. The new tools for skimming and dragging make editing extremely easy, enabling you to chuck a series of clips into whatever order you want in an incredibly short amount of time. Due to the new library system, the video project files are now tiny, since they only contain a list of instructions, not the actual video files. This means you can make 10-20 different projects, but using minimal disk space, since all the projects reference the same collection of video files. Plus, iMovie '08 incorporates an automated YouTube uploader, offering to put your projects directly on YouTube where they can be viewed by millions, literally. The most viewed video on YouTube currently has 71 million views!

Where iMovie '08 goes wrong is in what's missing. Gone is the traditional timeline view, making editing video to music very very difficult. Gone are all of the slick real-time video effects that made iMovie HD so impressive. Gone are most of the transitions. Gone is the ability to record your project back to MiniDV tape. Gone is the ability to maintain interlacing (iMovie '08 automatically de-interlaces everything, reducing the fluidity and clarity of MiniDV video). iMovie '08 is clearly aimed at the YouTube generation, not the DVD generation.

The good news is, iMovie HD is available as a free download to anyone that owns iLife '08. So, nothing is really lost. iMovie '08 clearly has brought down the reputation of the iLife suite, turning a 5 star product into a 4 or 3 star product. If Apple have any sense they will focus all of their iLife '09 efforts into iMovie, adding back the missing features and turning a disappointing application into an excellent application. Apple are extremely fast and focused at pumping out new software, so I wouldn't dismiss iMovie just yet. Watch this space...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Stick with iLife '06, 12 Nov 2007
By 
Amazon Customer "i did" (Bucks) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
As you'll notice from the other reviews, imovie '08 has caused a stir in the Apple user community because the new revised version is pretty to look at but completely useless. I used to be a total Apple fan until I had to many bad experiences of their products & customer service team to go on ignoring. Something I now find very amusing is the way Apple fans allow themselves to become blinkered to the obvious flaws of their favourite brand and imovie '08 is a case in point. The app' is so bad that Apple have had to give away the '06 version free because of the volume of complaints. But read some of these reviews and you'd think they did it out of charity! `2 imovies for the price of 1'. Nah.
Buy this and you're paying full rrp for a bunch of `up to date' applications only to be encouraged to download an `out dated' application you can actually use.
Take my advice and buy iLife '06 at a knock down price instead. The up dates to the other apps aren't anything you'd miss much in practise (I find some of the iphoto `additions' irritating rather then `time saving').
Oh and iweb is a total rip off. Most broadband providers give you more web hosting space included in your service then you'll get from Apple for their annual subscription fee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost wonderful, 9 Dec 2007
By 
Sebastian English (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I love the upgrades made to Garageband and iPhoto but the new iMovie is somewhat lacking.

Some of the things it does are good - it organises your movies very well, and some of the features (like colour grading) are useful. However it lacks some real basics, like a decent titling system, control over audio and support for the old iMovie effects.

It's made for someone playing around with home-movies; not someone starting out in video editing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Mostly great, 15 Aug 2007
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
For me this is worth it just for the iPhoto which is great but iWeb, iDVD and Garageband have all had quite decent upgrades.

Whilst it's true that iMovie has lost some of the old editing functions it's worth noting that installing it does not remove your old version so you can make use of iMovie HD and the new iMovie 08. Apple also provides iMovie HD as a free download to purchasers of iLife 08 if they don't already have it. You should also note that the new iMovie will not run on anything less than a G5 and not even all G5s will run it. The other apps work fine on my G4 mac.

Stephen Lodziak wrote that Apple seem to be suggesting that if we need more editing features than iMovie 08 provides then we should upgrade to Final Cut Studio at £800. Actually the natural upgrade from iMovie would be Final Cut Express HD which is currently at £199. It may well be that it's simply the case that iMovie 08 as a new application is a works in progress and we'll see more editing functions added later but only time will tell.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Great iPhoto upgrade, but iMovie failed, 1 Dec 2007
By 
Bernard Smith (Somewhere, Europe) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
I have a G4 PowerPC running at 1.67 GHz with 1 GB memory and using Leopard. I upgraded to iLife '08 because it appeared to be the sensible thing to do, and the cost was reasonable. The upgrade to iPhoto is certainly very useful, although I have not exploited all the new features yet. I have not really used iDVD and iWeb yet, but I will get round to it in the near future, and I don't use GarageBand. My biggest negative is with iMovie. iLife '08 does not allow the upgrade on my "old" machine. Reading the reviews, this could be a good thing since many of the comments about the latest iMovie are negative. I am still disappointed since it does not say on the box that iMovie won't load for older machines. So, basically 4 stars go for the iPhoto upgrade, minus a star for the failed iMovie upgrade. Equals 3-stars overall. The upgrade may still be worth it just for iPhoto.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Right on, 26 Sep 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
The CD arrived shortly after the order. It was in good shape and worked just fine on my old PowerBook G4. I can now access my pics and iWeb sites again. Thanks to Amazon... again :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars ilife08 on a G4 Mac, 8 Feb 2010
By 
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Product was simple to install and notified me that it would not install the version of iMovie due to the specification of my machine.
Once installed I found everything a breeze to use and the interfaces, functions and features are subtley better in everyway from the older version of iLife I was using.
The only real issues I have found is that upon opening iPhoto for the first time the system tries to force each series of photos into 'events' .. it took a few hours for me to manually go through and correct the 'auto' split feature, after which I turned it off through the preferences.
All in all an excellent piece of software.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Best alternative to Microsoft Office...., 18 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
It is great alternative to Microsoft Office and a whole cheaper too. It will even read and write Microsoft Office files too. You be compete nut to miss out on this software for all you Apple computer users out there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars iLife for me, 8 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Apple iLife '08 (Mac) (DVD-ROM)
Good buy.
Used upgrade to use on my G5.
I would recommend this as a good buy to any one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Apple iLife '08 (Mac)
Apple iLife '08 (Mac) by Apple (Mac, Mac OS X)
£24.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews