Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright and dark, a wonderful work of cinema art
This was the third of a hat-trick of great Coen Brothers films and I think it is the best one. It is my favourite. The film is brightly funny but darkly satirical. It is uplifting as well. It absorbs the history of American cinema into a superb modern context, making the best of everything. It has many great set-pieces, wonderful sets and colour photography, great...
Published on 7 Nov. 2007 by DH Dixon

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars A Coen brothers disappointment.
Not the best Coen Brothers but does provide funny moments and has a great cast which are Tim Robbins and Paul Newman.
Published 19 days ago by josh91


Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unreal, 21 Nov. 2001
By 
This film sums up for me exactly what a Coen Brothers movie is. It doesn't have great depth, but just the right amount to compensate for the height it achieves in beauty, silliness and meaninglessness.
I love their films, but the brothers are given too much praise for the originality of their work. It's always said, `they take a genre, and give it a twist'. This is true, but their "twists" are formulaic - if that's not too much of a self-contradiction.
Nevertheless, their movies will always appear amongst my all time faves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The Coen's big budget box office flop, 1 Jan. 2015
By 
Mr. E. A. Dobson "dwardstings" (West Yorkshire,United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This film is not for everyone. I previously lent my VHS copy of it to some friends and was convinced they would love it, wrong! They hated it and especially hated Jennifer Jason Leigh. Although it's not my favourite Coen Brothers film, I still find a whole lot to enjoy here. It makes for perfect new years viewing (the plot is set around new year), a lightweight fantasy which always makes me happy. The performances are all excellent and all aspects of the production are spot on. I watched the dvd on my blu ray player and the picture quality is excellent. This was a huge flop when it opened in America but like all Coen movies, has retained a following on the small screen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A neglected gem, 18 Feb. 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Much, much better than some reviewers suggest. I've had this on DVD for years, but thought BD would would make it more enjoyable. It does. Detail jumps out of the screen and shows what a true work of art this is. Don't worry about this being an American import, it plays fine on my region B Sony player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars In my top ten, 21 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
This film would make my top ten films of all time. It is superb. The acting is first class and the story extremely funny even if a little predictable. My only slight gripe is that the storyline is VERY similar to a Gary Cooper film of the 1930s and I'm not sure this is acknowledged.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Among The Top 5, 6 Jun. 2015
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This has to be in the Top 5 Coen brothers movies, despite rarely getting as much acclaim as their more high profile films - if its a while since you've seen it, try viewing again, it takes on a new quality on second or third viewing...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 15 April 2010
By 
Mrs. L. C. Eastlake (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
I have loved this film ever since I saw it in the cinema when first released! I just love, love, love it so when I saw it on tv first thought was to buy it on DVD to watch over and over again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Cohen brothers film, 22 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
I love all the work of the Cohen brothers and this is no exception. It just makes you smile and reflect over the fact that little things and people can make a big difference!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars A Coen brothers disappointment., 11 Jun. 2015
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Not the best Coen Brothers but does provide funny moments and has a great cast which are Tim Robbins and Paul Newman.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...What the hell is it?", 22 May 2009
By 
@GeekZilla9000 "I am completely operational a... (Doncaster, Yorkshire, UK.) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
The Hudsucker Proxy manages to capture much of the essence of old-style Hollywood. It is visually very impressive with 1950s style and a touch of an alternatate reality about it. This gives it a familiar look whilst also appearing very unique, it feels almost Terry Gilliam-esque with its depictions of gritty business politics mixed with spatterings of comedy and the abstract.

The film starts with great promise, the suicide of big-company boss Hudsucker leads the boardroom to a genius idea of running the company into the ground so that they can buy it up at a bargain price and return it to success - Norville Barnes unknowingly plays a pivotal role when he promoted from the bottom of the pile to become the new Chairman.

Jeers and share-crashing ensure the plan seems to be working, until Norville has his lifelong idea manufactured - the Hula Hoop. It starts a craze and the company hits new heights of success.

When you mix the over-the-top company politics with the shrewd comedic displays of a business strangled by its numerous layers of bureaucracy you expect this to be a great film - but the visual style which hits you to become a novelty which wears off. Jennifer Jason Leigh manages to parody the stereotypical 50's starlet with her quick rehearsed speech and pluck, but Amy Archer's battle with her heartfelt warmth for the man she is trying to dig the dirt on doesn't add the spark the film needs.

In a nutshell: Though the film is a successful pastiche of 50's style cinema with both it's visual style and heroine, it also has a clever streak of cynicism aimed at modern day business and corporate culture. These are the films biggest strengths and make for an enjoyable watch. It's just a shame that though Tim Robbins was brilliant as the almost childlike Norville - the role never seemed to fulfil it's potential, the character was under-used.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Industrial fantasy, 30 Sept. 2002
While many were disappointed with the Coen brothers' follow-up to the dark Hollywood satire 'Barton Fink', 'The Hudsucker Proxy' is perhaps one of the Coen's best films.
True, it bombed at the cinema. True, it often seems the Coens get lost in their desire to better Frank Capra. True, it seems the big money has gone to their heads...but take a look at the script where the characters use recycled dialogue and archaisms, consider the use of set design to illustrate the size and decadence of industry, Consider the casting of Tim Robbins as Norville Barnes, Jennifer Jason Leigh as Amy Archer, Paul Newman as Sidney J. Mussberger, Bruce Campbell as Smitty. The Coens may not be working in the the neo-noir of 'Blood Simple' or the gangland noir of 'Miller's Crossing', but they are using another genre hey have proved tme and time again they are capable of: the screwball comedy. Just look at 'Raising Arizona'.
Hardcore Coen fans can gripe at the feel-good aspects of the film, the rest of us can enjpoy this film for what it is: a 1940s style comedy with a wicked sense of humour. Buy Buy Buy!!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD]
The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] by Ethan Coen (DVD - 2005)
£5.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews