Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright and dark, a wonderful work of cinema art
This was the third of a hat-trick of great Coen Brothers films and I think it is the best one. It is my favourite. The film is brightly funny but darkly satirical. It is uplifting as well. It absorbs the history of American cinema into a superb modern context, making the best of everything. It has many great set-pieces, wonderful sets and colour photography, great...
Published on 7 Nov 2007 by DH Dixon

versus
3 of 5 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "...What the hell is it?"
The Hudsucker Proxy manages to capture much of the essence of old-style Hollywood. It is visually very impressive with 1950s style and a touch of an alternatate reality about it. This gives it a familiar look whilst also appearing very unique, it feels almost Terry Gilliam-esque with its depictions of gritty business politics mixed with spatterings of comedy and the...
Published on 22 May 2009 by @GeekZilla9000


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

13 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bright and dark, a wonderful work of cinema art, 7 Nov 2007
By 
DH Dixon "whitespeck" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This was the third of a hat-trick of great Coen Brothers films and I think it is the best one. It is my favourite. The film is brightly funny but darkly satirical. It is uplifting as well. It absorbs the history of American cinema into a superb modern context, making the best of everything. It has many great set-pieces, wonderful sets and colour photography, great casting and acting. It is surely Paul Newman's best outing. Ravishing and wonderful, it looks great on DVD. This is one of the best films I've ever seen.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars What's wrong with this picture?, 2 Jan 2005
By 
Sally-Anne "mynameissally" (Leicestershire, United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
I watched this film on television several years ago and thought it one of the funniest and cleverest things I'd ever seen. I've been trying to buy it on DVD for ages. Apparently it didn't succeed at the box office. Why on earth not, I wonder. It's one of those films that I would watch again and again, if only I could get hold of a copy. Recently it was reported on one of those film review programmes that some films are not just making more money from DVD sales than cinema ticket sales, but film-makers are coming more and more to depend on DVD sales - viewing ticket sales as the secondary rather than the primary source of income. If that is the case then I think it is time the Hudsucker Proxy was resurrected. It seems astonishing to me that such an excellent film should have disappeared. Goodness knows, some truly dreadful stuff is readily available so why not a gem like this?
Tim Robbins plays Norville Barnes, a likeable dim-wit (a very funny one) from Muncie, Paul Newman plays Sidney Mussberger, the Chief Executive of Hudsucker Industries, a ruthless capitalist (a very funny one), Jennifer Leigh plays a tough, fast-talking newspaper woman (very funny). They're all very funny. The film is a feast of funniness. The greedy and devious Mussberger tries to use the sweet but gullible Barnes to bring down the share price of Hudsucker industries. The sharp, Pulitzer prize-winning newspaper lady quickly spots that something underhand is afoot and digs for a story as news-hounds do. A supernatural entity intervenes to assist the progress of the right outcome. The unexpected success of Barnes's invention (the extruded plastic dingus) upsets the board of directors plans. The filming is very fine, the sets are spectacular with an almost nightmare quality (like the previous reviewer, I was reminded slightly of Fritz Lang's Metropolis - also Brazil and the sets from the television series of Agatha Christie's Poirot - a combination of stark, grim and beautiful), the actors are first-class and constantly hilarious. It's very American so I may have missed some subtle cultural touches but if so I didn't notice and wasn't left scratching my head in puzzlement, because the whole thing was so well done and enjoyable.
If you get the chance to watch this film, grab it. I hope those in the business of selling DVDs will have the wit to stir up a demand for this film because I think it could become very popular .... and, of course, I want to be able to buy a copy that will play on my region 2 DVD player.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A strange, dark and witty film by the Coen Brothers, 16 April 2008
By 
N. Thompson "Beaker" (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Dont believe some of the bad reviews this film got .... especially the ones from the internet. From the opening credits I knew this film would be interesting at the very least, but its more than that.

This is a dark comedy set early in the 20th century. Tim Robbins is a country boy arriving in the big city to earn his fortune. Both Robbins and Paul Newman turn in great comedic performances. As all Coen brothers films, this flick is weird and very atmospheric. The dialogue is entertaining and the story is fast and at times had me laughing out loud.

Along with 'Millers Crossing' this is one of the best films from the Coen Brothers and just like Millers Crossing it is rarely talked about and very under-rated.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Film Why Cant I Get A Copy, 18 Mar 2005
By A Customer
What can i say but WHY IS THIS FILM NOT REGION 2 YET???? this is a fantastic film and i want a copy now but as it is i dont want a NTSC copy, due to living in the UK.
Theres not much to say other than this is real entertainment for everyone, its quite simply great.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars An underrated Triumph, 14 Mar 2000
By 
Ms. Rebecca K. Laird (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Unreasonably ignored by the public, this Capraesque comedy pulls out all the stops to provide just the right amounts of romance, pathos and humour. A top-notch cast (Tim Robbins, Jennifer Jason Leigh and Paul Newman) have a ball and their enthusiasm is infectious. One of the best Coen brothers movies and a delight from start to finish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 15 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A ROSE BY ANY OTHER NAME WOULD SMELL AS SWEET..., 3 Dec 2002
By 
Lawyeraau (Balmoral Castle) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
Ok, ok, the title of the movie stinks and probably contributed to the movie hitting the basement, as soon as it was released. Still, it is a pretty clever and unusual movie. The premise is simple. The CEO and founder of a very successful, major corporation commits suicide. Consequently, his shares of the corporation must be sold publicly. To the dismay of the board of directors, this means that more than half the company will be owned by outsiders.
Corporate executive, Sidney Mussberger, wonderfully played by the ever handsome Paul Newman, devises a fiendish scheme to devalue the shares of the corporation. He will simply hire a numbskull and esconce him as the new CEO in order to drive the company temporarily into the ground, causing the value of the shares to plummet. The board of directors can then afford to buy the outstanding shares floating out there at rock bottom prices, retaining control of the corporation.
Sidney subsequently selects Norville Barnes, a dopey, but nice guy, played with cow eyed innocence by Tim Robbins, who works in the company mailroom, a place reminiscent of the movie Metropolis. Barnes happens to have an idea that he has been working on for years. When he shows a picture of a circle as representative of his idea, the viewer wonders just what the heck is so special about it. So does Sidney, who allows Barnes to execute his idea, believing him to be a total moron whose idea is just the thing to make the company stock tank. This is where the Coen brothers' cleverness begins to kick in. When the viewer realizes what that circle actually is, the movie will be kicking into full gear. It is, at times, hilarious. See the film to find out just what Barnes has been working on for years. Sidney learns that the best laid plans often go awry.
Barnes becomes enamored of Amy Archer, a female reporter, who smells that something is not quite right at corporate headquarters. The role is played by Jennifer Jason Leigh in an over the top, highly stylized, uneven parody of Katherine Hepburn. Still, she makes this affectation work in the context of this film. In fact, the rat-a-tat-tat tempo of her delivery contributes to giving the film its feel of a bygone time. The action in the film purportedly takes place in the nineteen fifties, but the sets are nineteen thirties art nouveau in feel and style, as is the rapid fire delivery of some of the dialogue. This creates an odd, somewhat disconcerting, dissonanace, contributing to the film's overall quirkiness.
This is an underrated film that deserves a look by movie lovers everywhere. It has the makings of a cult classic. Quite simply, the Coen brothers, two of the most talented filmmakers around, do it again!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The most underestimated jewel in Coen's history!, 10 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
Recently I realized I had never bought this movie on DVD, since I always had an old VHS of it, and I immediately decided to fix this unforgivable omission by buying this DVD. For those that never saw this movie, I strongly suggest you to do the same, even if this movie actually would deserve a Blu-ray treatment, to render fully its incredible visual qualities (even if the video quality on this DVD is absolutely great and upscales perfectly even to large LCD displays (with some inevitable grain, naturally).
As a matter of fact, I consider this movie (along with Raising Arizona) the greatest and most underestimated masterpiece of Joel and Ethan Coen. The visual style is absolutely astounding, in terms of cinematography, art design, set decoration, costumes, etc., with huge amounts of details that recreate in a hypersatirical way and with surgical precision the movies of a specific Hollywood era. But the screenplay, the editing, the dialogue and the actor's performances are to be mentioned too. The sheer amounts of uninterrupted, lightning-fast, 100-words-per-minute lines that are uttered by actors like Jennifer Jason-Leigh and many other actors in this movie, to recreate in a paradoxically satirical way the typical acting style of movies of that era, are simply AMAZING, and must be heard to be believed. To be honest, in some scenes this may be also the weak spot of the movie for average audiences, (along with a slower and overlong central part), since sometimes the exposition is so relentless and almost impossible to follow, that if you try to really pay attention to the dialogue _meaning_, instead of just enjoy the way is simply _sounds_ (as you would do in a musical, for instance), you might get annoyed by its artificiality or turn away from the picture altogether, which would be a BIG mistake.
As a matter of fact, IMHO this movie should be watched as a Broadway musical, not just as a comedy (there is even a fun "dream dancing" shot with Tim Robbins, who really shines in this movie), in order to fully appreciate the frantic rhythm and performances: this way, you will be even more struck by the hilarious finale of the movie, which is a triumph of editing, imagination and pure, looney tunes-style fun for your brain, as well as a feast for your eyes. Suffice it to say that this movie was co-written by none else than SAM RAIMI, longtime friend of the Coens, who undoubtedly added a lot of visual flair "a-la Evil Dead", typical of his early movies (fans of Raimi's typical "Evil-Dead cam shots", like me, will appreciate this aspect a lot, not to mention a great cameo by Bruce Campbell...). Last, but not least, this movie also offered one of the last great acting performances by the late Paul Newman, a brilliant role that would have deserved an Oscar.
If you really appreciate movies the way they should be shot, and you enjoy every little touch in a screenplay, do not miss this one.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars If Terry Gilliam remade Citizen Kane, Brewster's Millions and Trading Places all in one go..., 20 Nov 2009
By 
Petrolhead (Hong Kong) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] (DVD)
This is a witty, zany, break-the-rules feelgood film which is far better than you might think. Yes, it was a commercial bomb and a critical flop, but it has been unjustly cast aside, probably because it was the Coens' first stab at really hitting the big time, and it was just too whacky for an audience used to "Die Hard" or "When Harry Met Sally". But if you like a bit of nutty fantasy (have you seen "Big Fish"? or "Brazil"?) with some tremendous characters and a jumbled up cast (Paul Newman, Frasier's dad, a glimpse of Ian McKellen and ...is that really Prez from "The Wire"??), this is a lot of fun. It's also totally silly, which is probably why the critics looked down their noses at it - a flippant fable that doesn't carry enough weight to justify the cinematography.

The plot is reminiscent of plenty of other comedies but the Coens inject it with such madness and originality that the end result still feels original, rather as if Terry Gilliam had remade "Citizen Kane", "Brewster's Millions" and "Trading Places" all in one film. If that sounds like your kind of brew, check it out! (But if you're a die-hard fan of films like "Die Hard", maybe you should go for some of the Coens' darker stuff instead.)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Coen Brothers' greatest film, 10 Aug 2001
By A Customer
The Coen Brothers' greatest film. Never have so many brilliant parts added up to such a wonderful whole. Also contains one of the greatest endings in film, complete with some wonderful music by Khachaturian.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Unreal, 21 Nov 2001
By 
This film sums up for me exactly what a Coen Brothers movie is. It doesn't have great depth, but just the right amount to compensate for the height it achieves in beauty, silliness and meaninglessness.
I love their films, but the brothers are given too much praise for the originality of their work. It's always said, `they take a genre, and give it a twist'. This is true, but their "twists" are formulaic - if that's not too much of a self-contradiction.
Nevertheless, their movies will always appear amongst my all time faves.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD]
The Hudsucker Proxy [1994] [DVD] by Ethan Coen (DVD - 2005)
£5.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews