Customer Reviews


36 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (12)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 80s film
I missed this film first time round but am a fan of 80s brat pack films, so bought it to watch with my children. Fun film with great performances from Molly Ringwald and Anthony Michael Hall.
Published 10 months ago by Sam

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Not blu ray quality
I love this flm, its one of my all time favourites but this is just old dvd quality put on a blu ray disc. The picture quality is awful. Very disappointing.
Published 13 months ago by caroline


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great 80s film, 21 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I missed this film first time round but am a fan of 80s brat pack films, so bought it to watch with my children. Fun film with great performances from Molly Ringwald and Anthony Michael Hall.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Iconic, 9 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Classically cheesy 80s movie with molly ringwald bringing drama and tears as well as iconic style to the film. Ideal for style hunters.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 13 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Funny, Sad, Happy - Everything a teenagers life is every day, 23 Sep 2000
By A Customer
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Loved it. This film is about Samantha who's sixteenth birthday is forgotten by her family due to all the fuss over her sisters wedding. As the film progresses it shows her day. From her at school in class passing a note to her best friend about who she fancies; only for the note to be seen by that guy. To when she gets home to find her embarrassing grandparents have arrived. And then onto the school dance where she makes friends with the school geek. The only mistakes this film had was making her grandparents too embarrassing,(no-ones gp's are that bad). And by making the Asian boy a goody-two shoes untill he is led astray by the American teens. This film has everything and if you're a fan of 80's romantic comedies and Molly Ringwald then this film is for you. This film has Molly Ringwald at her best and to see other great films with her in it. Watch Pretty In Pink and The Breakfast Club. This is a must see movie
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stands the test of time!, 15 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I loved this film when I watched it as a teenager in the 80's! I noticed it was on TV one night so I got my teenage daughter to watch it and she loved it. I bought it for her on DVD as she wanted to take it on one of her many sleepovers for her and her friends to watch!

The story centres around the fact that every single family member in Samantha's family (including Grandparents!) have forgotten it's her 16th birthday owing to the fact they are too busy getting ready for her sister wedding.

Samantha has a crush on 'cool guy' Jake. But he's a Senior and he has a beautiful girlfriend so she thinks there is no way he would notice her. But Jake's relationship isn't as happy as she has assumed and he starts to notice her and become intrigued by her at a school dance.

This is a really funny film with some hilarious characters. Molly Ringwald excels as she did in all the films she starred in written and directed by the late John Hughes. Anthony Michael Hall (at one time he and Molly were real life boyfriend and girlfriend!) is also great as the 'Geek'. The wedding scene where her sister takes some muscle relaxants before she walks down the aisle was hilarious!

When I rewatched this, it was just as funny as first time around and my daughter also loved it, so it stands the test of time. A sweet rom/com before the 'rom/com' tag existed! I loved the ending - so sweet!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dated but fun, 4 Aug 2013
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Never actually saw this the first time around, but after catching seminal Eighties `Brat pack' movie The Breakfast Club for the umpteenth time recently, I thought I'd give this (from the same director and with two of the same leads) lesser known teen effort a go. It's safe to say that it's not in the same class as its sibling, however there's plenty of fun to be had spotting the likes of a teenage John Cusack and his sister Joan in supporting roles, and wondering what on earth happened to Anthony Michael Hall and Ally Sheedy. The main difference here is probably a lack of plot direction - The Breakfast Club explored (albeit tentatively) class and relationships, but Sixteen Candles only has a forgotten birthday and plenty of hormonal angst to keep it afloat. All in all this is a flimsy but enjoyable way to spend ninety minutes, and a reminder of just how little teenagers have changed over the past thirty years.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Great
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars reliving my youth!, 4 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
my daughter who is 14 has taken a strong liking to 80's movies, which is great as i was her age when they first came out. item arrived next day, perfect condition, thoroughly enjoyed by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Really good, 31 May 2014
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Really funny enjoyable film, Wasnt sure what to expect but its one of them films where you think "I cant believe I havent heard of this before"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Good DVD., 23 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
I enjoyed this film. It was one of the ones that was in Easy A which is why i wanted it :). It was very reasonably priced and arrived on time. Thank you. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great!, 12 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] (DVD)
Great film, iconic movie. Funny film, great acting and script. Casting is perfect. Excellent characters. Definitely worth buying this. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 4 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984]
Sixteen Candles [DVD] [1984] by John Hughes (DVD - 2005)
4.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews