Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (3)
3 star:
 (2)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Honest Entertainment
This DVD is simply enjoyable honest entertainment, that attempts to tie up a few loose ends, and draw a line under the travels and troubles of fugitive Kwai Chang Cain.

Those who remember and enjoyed the original series with its words of wisdom and easy on the eye fight scenes, should enjoy watching this.

At the end there is a fight scene that,...
Published on 19 July 2009 by Anthony Heath

versus
11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kung - Fu for the Fanatics only
A big dissapointment. The film has all the requirements to be a good mobile for Carradines skills but never really gets off the cutting floor. A weak script and an even weaker producton leaves all but the Carradine fans wishing the TV series was more readilly available.
Published on 8 Oct. 2001


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good Honest Entertainment, 19 July 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD is simply enjoyable honest entertainment, that attempts to tie up a few loose ends, and draw a line under the travels and troubles of fugitive Kwai Chang Cain.

Those who remember and enjoyed the original series with its words of wisdom and easy on the eye fight scenes, should enjoy watching this.

At the end there is a fight scene that, sadly, comes across a little 'cheesy' due to the almost 'superhero' type music that's played every time Cain lifts his arms to show his Shaolin Monk tattoos. Apart from that it's decent viewing, with the added bonus of featuring Brandon Lee.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Kung Fu The Movie, 25 Sept. 2007
By 
C. Wilson "wcaroline244" (London< England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
A spin off from the TV series sees Cain travelling through America. He is found by his son who is under the influence of an assasin.

Worth watching I am going to replace my worn out video with the DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Kung - Fu for the Fanatics only, 8 Oct. 2001
By A Customer
A big dissapointment. The film has all the requirements to be a good mobile for Carradines skills but never really gets off the cutting floor. A weak script and an even weaker producton leaves all but the Carradine fans wishing the TV series was more readilly available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars If you loved the series, then avoid this, 8 April 2013
This review is from: Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
This made-for-TV film was made in 1986, 11 years after the original series ended. Instead of any advancement in that time the effects and scripting and fight choreography addup to a half-hearted effort that fails to impress. This was the year Top Gun and Platoon were in the cinemas, programs like the A-team and Remington Steele were on the TV, but this has the feel of an old episode of Bonanza. SPOILERS AHEAD. The strange plot devices like the off-screen destruction of the Shaolin temple and the ghostly appearance of the Master to Caine just trample on the memory of the original,and the 'love interest' is risible. The weak action sequences lack any imagination or commitment. Avoid.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Buy just to complete the set if nothing else, 23 Nov. 2011
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I have all three box sets of the Kung Fu series of which I am a great fan. I bought this as the 'icing on the cake'. I needn't have bothered really. As a film it doesn't seem to work very well. It is really an extended episode of the show but it's hard to know why it was made as it adds little to the overall series. Elements of the film just don't make sense and it doesn't seem to flow very well. Carradine is not at his best either. Worth watching but not worth paying too much for.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars old classic, 31 Mar. 2009
By 
Mrs. C. L. Redwin (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
my husband watched this film as a kid and wanted our son to experiance them too. i bought the series box set as well and we are all thoughly enjoying them, action with a bit of wisdom thrown in.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Poor., 18 Dec. 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Having enjoyed the three "Kung Fu" television series, many moons ago, I thought that this would be an interesting addition. Wrong!

It appears to me to have been cobbled together during a drunken weekend, by a group intent on making a few bucks from past glories.

A weak plot, very little action, a wooden Brandon Lee (shame) and a pointless appearance by Martin Landau, who pops up a couple of times to say his character name and look glaringly at anyone he doesn't approve of plus a very weak ending, make this "spin off" a real drag and a disappointment. The fight sequences look as though they were choreographed by Arlene Philips and the one interesting flashback is used at least twice. Poor.

I'm glad I didn't pay full price for this travesty. Oh, and Bill Lucking appears again as a baddie. Talk about type casting and lack of imagination.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad, good value at the moment!, 7 Aug. 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
Some things from the 80s haven't dated badly and are still easy to enjoy. Unfortunately for me, this isn't one of them. There *are* some good scenes and cool ideas, but there are others that really are too cheesy, even at the end. Especially given the contexts.

However, this currently at less than three pounds so at that price it's worth an extra star maybe!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars i am a fan, 4 Nov. 2009
This review is from: Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
after all these years i still really enjoyed this series the second time around. i showed it to my son who is also intereseted in martial arts but he thought it a bit tame at first. today's tv graphics and pace do show this up somewhat but once you get into the laid back direction and dialogue its marvellous, worth every penny.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Fan of Carradine? Buy it!, 25 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] (DVD)
I never get tired watching this humble monk Caine.
Plot of the film is rather nice too. I certainly love to watch this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD]
Kung Fu - The Movie [DVD] by Richard Lang (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: £3.44
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews