Customer Reviews


20 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snapshot
The life of Jimi Hendrix cannot be covered in one dvd. His songs can't be, neither can his idiosyncrasies. Therein lies the "fault" of this dvd. It's more like a dictionary entry than a full length feature, because there is so much to say and presumably so much to show. In other words, once your'e through watching the dvd, your'e just warming up to the subject. Scratching...
Published on 17 Mar 2004 by Aj Viljoen

versus
26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warner Bros does it again... :-(
I like the original film, although it's not as good as it could be, but it's the only real documentary of THE guitarist. This remastered version would have been nice upgrade for the original, but fake wide screen (thank you again WB) spoils it totally. I have the original 4:3 and it is 1/3 "bigger" than this fake wide screen versio, which cuts the picture. It makes me...
Published on 31 Dec 2006 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

26 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Warner Bros does it again... :-(, 31 Dec 2006
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix [Special Edition] [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I like the original film, although it's not as good as it could be, but it's the only real documentary of THE guitarist. This remastered version would have been nice upgrade for the original, but fake wide screen (thank you again WB) spoils it totally. I have the original 4:3 and it is 1/3 "bigger" than this fake wide screen versio, which cuts the picture. It makes me really mad why they have to do things like this, because the picture quality otherwise is much better than in the original! Only reason I'm keeping this version is the bonus disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Snapshot, 17 Mar 2004
By 
Aj Viljoen (Kuwait) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix [DVD] (DVD)
The life of Jimi Hendrix cannot be covered in one dvd. His songs can't be, neither can his idiosyncrasies. Therein lies the "fault" of this dvd. It's more like a dictionary entry than a full length feature, because there is so much to say and presumably so much to show. In other words, once your'e through watching the dvd, your'e just warming up to the subject. Scratching the surface.
So don't look at this dvd as authorative. But if you look at it as a snapshot, a brief moment in the life of, this dvd succeeds.
The image quality isn't great. It seems as if everything was filmed on home movie cameras. But that's okay, because this all did happen in the sixties, remember? But what does bother, is the sound quality. One underestimates the importance of sound quality when half a dvd consists of interviews, but what's the point of an interview if you can hardly hear what the "cats" are saying anyway. (Am I supposed to READ all those subtitles?)
And yet: this is a good dvd. It has entertainment value, but is not half as informative as I hoped it to be. This is probably not a good starting point for a Hendrix noob, but could be required viewing for fans. If you're a noob, check out "Jimi Hendrix plays Monterey" (and weep). Now 'Scuse me
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars All There Was, 8 Sep 2009
By 
Alan Burridge (Poole,, Dorset. United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix [Special Edition] [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
In September 1966, when myself and everyone else alive at the time aged 15 to 18 tuned in and just happened to see Jimi Hendrix very first UK TV appearance on Top of the Pops (in black & white, too), we were completely blown away.
This 'A Film About Jimi Hendrix' was a cinema release, and I remember taking my then girlfriend, later and still my Mrs; to see it at one of the major Bournemouth cinemas. It was the 'must see' film of the time and at that point, not long after his death, the queues were a mile long with fans wetting themselves with anticipation. We had never seen or heard, and could only imagine what Jimi Hendrix would sound like playing a 12-string acoustic guitar; and although everything else on this film was and is great for the die-hard fan; it was well worth seeing for that, acoustic version of 'Hear My Train A Comin' aspect alone.
Of course, owning a copy was just a dream, then, words such as 'VHS video tape' and 'DVD' would have been met with a frown and an expression of mystery; a system to watch films on at home? No, never!
But now we have it all, and this film may not have been too well received by my fellow reviewers, but bearing in mind my history lesson setting the scene, it was absolutely excellent to watch in the absence of anything else. And it is still worth watching with the above points borne in mind. No, there is no voice-over with a scripted storyline to keep it together, it's stripped down and very basic, but we were darned grateful for anything, stand-alone as this was at the time, when we flocked to see it in our droves.
Now, there's an extra disc featuring the bits they edited out, and any bonus or 'previously unseen' extras, especially at such a bargain price, can't be bad. Buy and watch, but keep the history aspect in mind whilst doing so; the film was all we had of our then recently deceased rock god, and we were very glad of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


29 of 31 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sex, Drugs & Rock n' Roll - Hendrix at his Best!, 1 Mar 2002
By A Customer
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix [DVD] (DVD)
Shot in 1973, this film captures the effect that Jimi Hendrix really had on the world. From the interviews with a young Pete Townsend, Eric Clapton, Lou Reed, Mick Jagger it is easy to see how Jimi changed their perception of the guitar and of music as he is still so fresh in their minds. They can be nothing but humbled by the fact that they were around to experience such originality in the flesh. There are no bloated egos on display here. The film also contains rare inteviews with Al Hendrix (Jimi's dad) as well as bandmates, friends and ex-girlfriends which give a great insight into what jimi was like off stage.
The film is completed by some mind-blowing footage of Jimi onstage, which is after all what it's all about. Highlights include the Monterey footage where we see the legendary 'Wild Thing' flaming guitar massacre. However as Jimi himself explains, it's not about the gimicks and my favorite perfomance is the acoustic version of Hear my train a comin' where there's just Jimi and his 12-string sat in a white room, shy and funny, but at the same time sure of his ability, Jimi shows us all how it's really done. This man is a pure genius.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 27 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great Rockumentary, Average Film, 11 April 2006
By 
Geoffrey Millar (Brunswick Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix [Special Edition] [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
This is a re-mastered, expanded version of the original DVD release, which has been unavailable for some time.
The difference between the two is the additional bonus material, such as the expanded interviews with the musical friends, colleagues, relatives and irrelevant types who appeared in the original release. The sound seems improved on the earlier release but the film quality is variable as before.
As a 'rockumentary', it's fine, with clips from concerts great (Monterey, Berkeley) and so-so (Isle of Wight), interspersed with interviews interesting (such as Pete Townshend) and irrelevant (Germaine Greer?!). The acoustic Hear My Train a Comin' is a gem. But with no narration to hold it together, this doesn't really hang together as a film.
Anyway, if you're a Hendrix fan, you have to have this, even if you own the original release.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Entertaining and a good light introduction to Hendrix, but not more...., 11 Dec 2006
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix [Special Edition] [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
I believe that this documentary is likely to appeal to two kinds of people. First, those that don't know a thing about Jimi Hendrix, and that will be able to watch an engaging introduction to his life and music that doesn't go to far but entertains. Secondly, those fans that want to have absolutely everything that has to do with Hendrix, and that will treasure this dvd.

On the other hand, I don't think that those spectators that simply want to watch an excellent documentary about a musical icon will be happy with this one, because even though it is good, it is far from outstanding or even very good. It doesn't have enough information about Jimi Hendrix, and it lacks depth. It is entertaining and a good light introduction to Hendrix, but not more.

All in all, I can say that this documentary is good, and deserves at least 3 starts out of 5, but not more. If you expect a documentary about a musician that will make you watch it again and again, give "No direction home" (by Scorcese, about Dylan) a try.

Belen Alcat
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Evocative uncritical resume with some great interviewees, 11 Dec 2001
By 
Mr. Robert J. Fawcett (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix [VHS] (VHS Tape)
Features classic concert footage from several venues, including Monterey, Isle of Wight and Berkeley - for a time it was the only source for these, though the individual concert movies are now available again. Great interviews with Eric Clapton and Pete Townsend. Put together by record producer Joe Boyd and with a proper research team behind it, this film captures in particular the spirit of the original Experience...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ...An Essential Piece Of Modern History, 20 Aug 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix [DVD] (DVD)
Jimi Hendrix Story [DVD] [1973]......What Can I Say???.....A Mind Blowing History Lesson For Myself, ( I Was Born A Year After The Great Man's Death)......Incredibly Put Together By Joe Boyd, John Head & Gary Weis....Informative Interviews From The Very Youthful Eric Clapton, Pete Townshend, Billy Cox, Lou Reed, Little Richard, Arthur Allen, Albert Allen, Mitch Mitchell & Mick Jagger Give You A Big Picture Of What Was Happening With The Music Scene And Jimi Hendrix, Right Up Until His Untimely Death.......Interviews With A Slew Of Ex - Girlfriends ( Linda King, Stella Benabon & A Short Piece By Monica Denneman, To Name But A Few) Give A Pretty Candid Insight Into The Legend's Private Life........There Are Also Contributions From His Father Al, A Youthful Germaine Greer, Road Crew, Managers, Hendrix's Ex Army Contacts & Several Friends From Before He Hit The Bigtime.......There Are Also Various TV Interviews Which Paint A Slightly Clearer Picture Of This Complex Genius........

The Music is Blistering.....With Classic Woodstock, Monterey Pop, Isle Of Wight & Marquee Club Performances ( Spot A Young D.L.T. Compering)...." Hey Joe" Is Out Of This World As Is " Wild Thing"...." Purple Haze" Is On Fire, " Machine Gun" Is White Hot, " Hear My Train 'A Comin'" Is Deep But Excellent.....And That Is Just The Beginning!......This Is loaded with Quality Hendrix Throughout The 98 Minutes..........The Disc Is 2 Sided 4:3 & 16;9 Widescreen Respectivley....And The Sound Quality Is Good........

This Is Not Just A Very Well Made Retrospective Of Hendrix's Life....It Is Also An Essential Insight Into The Social Chaos/Reformation That Was The late 60's Early 70's......Essential Viewing!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars buy it, 30 Sep 2010
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jimi Hendrix [Special Edition] [DVD] [1973] (DVD)
If you're into Hendrix or still finding your way then this is essential. Why? It was made fairly shortly after Hendrix's death and not only does it have some of the best Hendrix performance on video in one place its also a social commentary on the times. Just about everyone interviewed in this film is either high or under the influence of various substances (I'm sure it can be fun for the initiated to guess who's on what) I also think the extra disc is just as illuminating, full length interviews with the celebs in question which reveal more about the people themselves as they do about Jimi. I particularly like the interview footage of Eric Barrett and his sometimes delightfully wistful recollections of life as a roadie in the 70s.

As a movie this isnt musch better than Rainbow Bridge or any of the other strung out 70s efforts at film making (ciao manhatten comes to mind) but its still vital viewing for Hendrix fans and at this price you can't lose.

If none of this is enough I'd say its worth the price purely for the acoustic version of Hear my Train a Coming, pretty mind blowing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars MIND BLOWING! HOW DID HE HAVE ALL THAT ENERGY?!, 6 Feb 2004
By 
M. Snell (Stevenage UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
i think that hendrix live at monterey will be my most favourite performance ive seen yet!, he had the crowds eyes startled and confused wondering how he made that guitar come out with so much (BLAST) there wont be no other like his performance, my favourite was wild thing! expecially wen he rolled backwards still making that machine of his curl the sound around him, giving so much feedback like his guitar was giving a message "help me help me!" ha ha ha ha ha, i think every fan out there will never forget "Jimi Hendrix plays Monterey Pop Festival" the man had everything going for him, Jimi still rocks on inside other artists today and still the legend lives on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jimi Hendrix [Special Edition] [DVD] [1973]
Jimi Hendrix [Special Edition] [DVD] [1973] by Jimi Hendrix (DVD - 2006)
£14.98
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews