Customer Reviews


53 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (12)
2 star:
 (5)
1 star:
 (15)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carry On Columbus
Ever since I saw Carry on Columbus I have had to own it and besides, it rounds out my Carry on Gang collection.
I found it very funny in places and I thought the acting to be quite good.
I found the opening scenes in the Sultan of Turkey's palace a bit shaky, but once Jim Dale and Bernard Cribbens start acting the film settles down nicely. I think Cheryl Crowe...
Published on 4 Dec. 2004 by John Colborne

versus
38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be very careful when buying Columbus DVDs
Many of the Carry On Columbus DVDs being offered are low quality copies from the video tape, not the Warner Home Movies DVD. AFAIK the Region 2 DVD was only produced for rental purposes and were all returned to Warner.
On the back of the cover it says 'Wham! USA presents...' and 'Copyright 2006 JL. Neither of these companies are licenced to distribute copies of this...
Published on 18 April 2009 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

38 of 40 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Be very careful when buying Columbus DVDs, 18 April 2009
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
Many of the Carry On Columbus DVDs being offered are low quality copies from the video tape, not the Warner Home Movies DVD. AFAIK the Region 2 DVD was only produced for rental purposes and were all returned to Warner.
On the back of the cover it says 'Wham! USA presents...' and 'Copyright 2006 JL. Neither of these companies are licenced to distribute copies of this film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A reasonable Carry on Film..., 17 Nov. 2002
I first saw 'Carry on Columbus' a few years ago on TV, and thought it was quite a good film, and then i remembered that Julian Clary, a favourite comedian of mine, was in it and I had to get it on video.
It's widely regarded that 'Carry on Columbus' is one of the worst Carry on Films made, but to be fair, it's not all that bad and does contain quite a lot of good jokes, and an interesting enough plot to keep you hooked. Most of the actors involved are modern comedians/actors, with a few original Carry on actors as well.
One of the best things about the film is that it stars Julian Clary, and he has one of the best performances, his camp style of humour helps add to the film nicely! 'Carry on Columbus' has a good plot to start with, but later bits (mostly in america) were a bit boring and didn't seem to go anywhere - and this lets it down.
But overall, I did like 'Carry on Columbus', and if you like any of the actors involved, you should check it out!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Carry On Columbus, 4 Dec. 2004
By 
John Colborne (Melbourne, Australia) - See all my reviews
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Ever since I saw Carry on Columbus I have had to own it and besides, it rounds out my Carry on Gang collection.
I found it very funny in places and I thought the acting to be quite good.
I found the opening scenes in the Sultan of Turkey's palace a bit shaky, but once Jim Dale and Bernard Cribbens start acting the film settles down nicely. I think Cheryl Crowe does a wonderful job as Fatima.
Unlike other reviewers, I thought the scenes in America with the natives were well constructed and funny.
In my view the movie is very good, but doesn't have the "feel" of the other Carry on Gang films. This is inevitable as so many faces have changed and times have moved on, but overall it was, in my opinion a very good attempt and I still enjoy the gags watching the movie as I get a good laugh out of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars An embarrassment to British Cinema, 8 May 2013
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
I really like the Carry On franchise, but along with 'England' and 'Emmanuelle', this movie is down there with the worst of them. Sorry I didn't like it, in fact I thought it was woeful. There was such a lot wrong with it, and not much good with it. The story is incoherent, the dialogue ranges to bad to horrendous, the gags are poor, the pacing is all over the place, the direction is non-existent the sets and costumes are somewhat cheap and the acting was poor. Leslie Phillips and June Whitfield are wasted, Bernard Cribbins is unusually bland and Julian Clary only adds to the problem in an excruciatingly embarrassing turn as Don Juan Diego. In fact, the only redeeming quality is Jim Dale, who actually tries to do something with his role.

Overall, dreadful and one of the worst.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars carry on regardless, 8 July 2005
By 
D.A.C "1984" (widnes,cheshire,u.k) - See all my reviews
Obviously not the best of the Carry Ons but this could have been truly awful if it had wanted.Ive never liked Julian Clary much but i thought he saved this from going down the.....Of course some of the surviving original cast at the time(Joan Sims and Barbara Windsor)refused to take part and Jack Douglas has said that he wishes he never took part.If you're a Carry On fan then this is something you probably have to own even if you dont like it.but if you do like this then thats a bonus!Lets hope the planned Carry On London does better......
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars "Carry On Columbus" Equal to Other "Carry On" Films, 8 Jun. 2004
By 
Though many of the older stars are gone to their reward, those remaining stars like Jim Dale and Bernard Cribbens, along with newer stars like Peter Richardson, Maureen Lipman, Alexi Sayle, Rik Mayall, and Sara Crowe turn in fine performances and really funny humour, worth of the late Charles Hawtrey, Kenneth Williams, Sid James, and the other regulars. This is one of the "Carry On" films that I buy and give to acquaintances and friends as gifts for the Yuletide season. I am proud to say I own a copy of this video and all of the others as well and this ranks in equality with the others. Sarge
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Carry Off Columbus, 9 Dec. 2014
By 
Amazon Customer (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Carry on Columbus (DVD)
Well, I finally got myself around to watching 'Carry on Columbus' (it's only taken me just under ten years!), and oh dear - it wasn't very good. The film looks very dated, even for 1992, and it just isn't very funny - boring for the most part. The thing is, the 'Carry On's' were a product of their time, and had largely fallen out of favour by the mid 1970s. 'England' was rubbish, and although 'Emmanuelle' wasn't as bad as some people say it is, the film had more in common with the 'Confessions' movies, purely because the times of British postcard humour had moved on, and the dear old 'Carry On's' were beginning to look old hat. So why it was decided to create a new 'Carry On' in the early 1990s is something of a mystery, most of the big name gang were dead, and the few that were alive, namely Joan Sims and Barbara Windsor, wanted nothing to do with it.

Some of the old faces did however return, notably Jim Dale, as well Leslie Phillips, Bernard Cribbins, and June Whitfield, who had all appeared in a small handful of 'Carry On' films. A new generation of comedy talent made up the numbers, and apart from Rik Mayall, who actually does a great Kenneth Williams in his one and only scene, they are all pretty lousy, and just don't fit in! The usually wonderful Maureen Lipman gives a bad performance, and Julian Clary, well, I never did find him funny.

However, it isn't quite as terrible as some would lead you to believe, I did chuckle at some of the one liners, I wish Rik Mayall had appeared again in the film, and there are a few good parts to be seen. If I'm honest, I think 'Columbus' is slightly better than 'England', which remains, in my view, the worst ever 'Carry On' film. On a whole though, 'Carry on Columbus' is a charmless movie and just isn't worthy of having 'Carry On' in the title. Only bother with this one if you want to see them all, or if there's an actor in it you like.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars At least it has Jim Dale in it., 4 Dec. 2005
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
Reviving the Carry On series after the deaths of many of the actors most associated with it was always going to be difficult. The film almost works, but suffers from the problem common to many British ensemble comedies of having too many comedians and one liners, but not quite enough humour. Still it does feature the immensely likeable Jim Dale and there are enough laughs to pass the time pleasantly enough.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 31 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What a shame....., 13 July 2008
By 
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
The only carry on that really does not work...why?

Well for a start most of the cast had passed away, leaving Jim Dale with a bunch of newbies who were not brought up in old school comedy.

Like most other tv / film updates, the film completely fails to capture the era and essence of the carry on film.

A complete disaster, buy Carry on Dick instead.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Columbus, 11 Jun. 2007
By 
A. KERR (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Carry On Columbus (DVD) (DVD)
I think the film is a very poor follow on to the Carry-On series. But if you watch it as a film in it's own right, it is watchable. Take away the title of Carry-On and call it something else.

I love Carry-On, so I was looking forward to watching this. Didn't work...but they tried.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Carry On Columbus (DVD)
Carry On Columbus (DVD) by Gerald Thomas (DVD - 2006)
£11.95
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews