Customer Reviews


15 Reviews
5 star:
 (11)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look, up in the sky!
It's not a bird, or a plane, and it seems like a long time coming, as if the locomotive broke down, but finally it is here! The first installment of the seasons of Superman, starring George Reeves.
Yes, purists will say that Reeves was not the first Superman on screen or on television, but the truth is that for a generation of people, Reeves was the image and...
Published on 20 Dec 2005 by Kurt Messick

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Adventure of Superman. Complete Season 1
All Seasons found to be Region free, and NOT what is printed on the box nor what sellers stated (Region 1 NTSC).

Have now collected all Seasons 1 thru 6 adding Seasons 1 & 2 are in Black & White whereas Seasons 3 thru 6 are in beautiful colour.

Highly recommend getting all the Seasons 1 thru 6 and spend hours of enjoyment.
No swearing, gore and...
Published on 17 Nov 2012 by giandougl


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

15 of 15 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Look, up in the sky!, 20 Dec 2005
By 
Kurt Messick "FrKurt Messick" (London, SW1) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
It's not a bird, or a plane, and it seems like a long time coming, as if the locomotive broke down, but finally it is here! The first installment of the seasons of Superman, starring George Reeves.
Yes, purists will say that Reeves was not the first Superman on screen or on television, but the truth is that for a generation of people, Reeves was the image and embodiment of Superman. Whenever others take the screen (the late, great Christopher Reeve - no relation despite the similarity in name) or television (Dean Cain and Tom Welling have done a good job with their modified forms of the Superman legend), it is invariably with George Reeves that the new Supermen are being compared.
Superman comics set the stage, and people filled in the colour as they will from these black-and-white broadcasts. There is something classic about the way they look, including the old placing scenes around the Daily Planet building and Los Angeles rather than New York City being the 'Metropolis' of old.
There are twenty-six episodes, the entirety of the first season, with uncut episodes and extras that include the opening and closing credits in full and other fun things to have. Phyllis Coates play Lois Lane in this series - she is much more tough and no nonsense than will be her replacement for the subsequent shows in the series, Noel Neill. However, the other regulars are already here: Jack Larson as Jimmy Olsen and John Hamilton as 'Great Caesar's Ghost!' and 'Don't call me chief!' Perry White.
I was born a dozen years after this series started, and half a dozen years after the death of George Reeves, but I still remember watching this series religiously as a child growing up in the sixties and seventies. It became an international export, and did a good service for the image of what America hoped to be, with Superman fighting for the underdog and unambiguously always for the right thing - this was an era of truth, justice, and an American way that had a simple integrity about it.
This set also includes the feature film, 'Superman and the Mole Men', an underground adventure starring George Reeves released the season before the television series started. This is an interesting film, intended (as many Superman stories are) to be a film with a message. The DVD set includes extras such as commercials, vignettes and other commentary.
This is a great series, and I am very pleased to have my own copy on DVD. Onward to season two!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 24 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great to see this on DVD, 27 Jan 2006
This review is from: Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this boxset on the day it came out and i'm glad i did. i have been waiting so long for this come out on DVD. i watched the episodes that BBC1 showed. i don't think they showed the first season. the last time i saw this series was 16 years ago when as i say when BBC 1 repeated some episodes. i have watched 12 episodes of the first season so far and they are brilliant. considering this series was made in the 50's they packed so much story into the episodes that they are literally mini movies. yes the effects are dated but for the time they were cutting edge and you can tell whenever you see george reeves flying you can tell he's on a table and that the background of the city he's flying over is put in afterwards. i'm so glad this series is being released on DVD. looking forward to buying the second season when it comes out in March. also the extras are great as well on this boxset and the commentaries are good on the four key episodes of the series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Super stuff!, 15 Oct 2009
By 
David Addison (Newcastle upon Tyne England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
One of the best entertainment shows I've ever seen.The late George Reeves plays the Man of Steel superbly,even more so,as Clark Kent! This really is a very good show.The stories are well written,and great credit must go to the actors,and actresses who performed in it.For it's time,the special effects are well done,and of course,I always loved George's smile,and charm,as he beat the bad guys! Definitely one to remember,with a warm heart!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Very good, 26 Jan 2010
This review is from: Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this and I thought it would sit on the shelf forever. But i was wrong. It really got me hooked from the first episode. Superman is really more about the adventures of Clark Ken and Lois Lane, two reporters. Most of the stories are actually pretty straightforward gangster stories in the film noir style and you can clearly see in some episodes that they had to try hard to find a convincing way to add Superman to the story. The actors are very good, especially Phyllis Coates as the ultimate Lois Lane (sorry, Terri Hatcher). Reeves is a perfect Clark Kent although the padding of his outfits sometimes make you smile. But all in all, technically this series is very well made with a lot of talent from b movies on board. I also liked the liberal message behind "Truth, justice (=for all) and the American Way (=tolerance)" I watched this with my 3 year old daughter who asked me a lot of questions and we soon came to a point where I could explain some important values to her with Superman as an example.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A family favourite from the 1950's, 3 Dec 2011
By 
Colin Smith (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
This entertaining 1950's TV series features the adventures of the legendary comic-strip Kryptonite dodger, with the charismatic and likeable George Reeves starring in the dual role of the man of steel and his meek alter-ego - the bespectacled Daily Planet reporter Clark Kent. Also well cast is John Hamilton as Kent's gruff boss Perry White, while the lovely Phyllis Coates proves to be an impressively feisty Lois Lane. Jack Larson is also good as the young, wide-eyed fellow reporter Jimmy Olsen.

Our all-action superhero is mostly concerned with crimefighting in this complete first season of twenty-six, 25 minute black and white episodes. Like his fellow American icon 'The Lone Ranger', Superman is an upholder of law, order and fairplay, in this wholesome 50's series, which has a lovely warmth and humour. The special effects may be of their time, but this is still enjoyable family-friendly entertainment.
The final two episodes make up the extended story 'The Unknown People' in which Superman attempts to save the peaceful, subterranian 'Mole People' from a mob out for revenge.
Picture and sound quality on this region 2 release is mostly good.

*SPECIAL FEATURES:
*Retrospective Documentary - Adventures Of Superman: From Inkwell To Backlot.
*Commentaries on 4 episodes.
*PONY EXPRESS DAYS: George Reeves plays Bill Cody in a 1940 Warner Bros Technicolor historical short.

*Languages: English, Castillian, Spanish.
*Subtitles: English, Castillian, Spanish, Dutch, Hungarian, Swedish.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great fun!, 20 Dec 2006
This review is from: Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I bought this for my boyfriend on his birthday and was forced to sit down and watch them with him. I have to say that i am glad i did as they are great fun. I always thought Christopher Reeve was the first, so i was surprised at this earlier incarnation.

Sure, they obviously had no money and special effects shots are repeated but it does have a nostalgic charm about it.

George Reeves, if a little older than expected, is excelent in his duel role of Superman/Clark Kent. He is extremely likeable with a dreamy masculine voice.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars adventures of superman the complete first seazson dvd, 19 Aug 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
yes the adventures of superman the complete first season dvd took me back to my childhood very dated now but quality good and still enjoyed it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars The old ones are the best, 30 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Only viewed a couple of the episodes but looking forward to the rest. I love the black and white films and it takes me back to when I first started watching TV.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Adventure of Superman. Complete Season 1, 17 Nov 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
All Seasons found to be Region free, and NOT what is printed on the box nor what sellers stated (Region 1 NTSC).

Have now collected all Seasons 1 thru 6 adding Seasons 1 & 2 are in Black & White whereas Seasons 3 thru 6 are in beautiful colour.

Highly recommend getting all the Seasons 1 thru 6 and spend hours of enjoyment.
No swearing, gore and extreme violence and could be watched by a 6 year old.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars magic of yesteryear, 3 Jan 2012
By 
This review is from: Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I was a bit anxious that this would be hicksville but I shouldnt have worried. I love a good yarn and each episode has its feet firmly in sound storytelling - love it
Good soundtrack, good quality film and good sets more like a movie than a TV programme
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Adventures Of Superman: The Complete First Season [DVD] [2006]
£22.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews