Customer Reviews


47 Reviews
5 star:
 (33)
4 star:
 (10)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show - excellent DVD boxset!
Stargate : Atlantis is far more than just a spin-off from the successful Stargate SG1 series. It stands on its own two feet as a clever, dramatic, funny, entertaining, well-crafted show. In some ways it even surpasses the original, benefiting as it does from the producers' and crew's 8+ years of experience in writing and producing the SG1 series. Continuing the mythology...
Published on 29 Mar 2006 by Alison Johnson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching
This is quite a good series (watched all 5), but it's definitely not Stargate SG1. The characters don't gel like a team and the plots are a bit lacklustre. That said I love scifi and still think its quite watchable.
Published 9 months ago by Trampette


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars quick dispatch, 3 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
The DVD arrived only a few days after I ordered it and looks good. This will be a gift which I will also watch. Looking forward to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars You Can Hear This (unlike TV), 15 Oct 2013
By 
heretic666 (High Dudgeon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
On Pick tv the sound was so poor that I had to turn the volume way up. Then came the adverts which were absolutely deafening in comparison at that volume.
This solves the problem of sound balance which spoiled the tv viewing for me.
This is a review of the quality of the item not the script or plot.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Absolutely...Amazing, 20 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
this season has captured the feel of the earlier seasons of stargate sg1, and has been a great surpise for me as i had always thought sg1 would be my favorite series in the stargate series. unlike the later seasons of stargate sg1 (seasons 6-8) i have really enjoyed this season, the first two episodes (to introduce the series) were exceptionally good and still had that brilliant mix of sci-fi and underlying comedy that i have grown to love

a must buy for any stargate fan
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Good, 7 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This item was as it was described, was well packaged and it was sent speedily. What more could one ask for?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars An Absolute Must., 5 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Brilliant. As good as SG1. I would recommend to all SG1 fans. Try it you won't be sorry. Get it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stargate, 25 Feb 2013
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
i love all the stargate atlantis series i cant wait to watch all of the future eposides truly brilliant acting
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars stargate atlantis season 1 blu-ray, 20 Feb 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
its a regian a ,1 film it better on blu-ray than dvd it also works on uk region b,2 blu-ray players
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars christmas present, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Mr. Taras A. Kurylak (uk) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
A present for my youngest son and one that he will watch many times with great pleasure. A gift i would recommend to anyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent!!!!, 5 May 2006
By 
T. Siebert (Pretoria, RSA) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Stargate Atlantis is an excellent adventure series, whether or not you are a fan of sci-fi shows. Everything from the plotline to character dialogue, are well thought-out and cleverly written, with brilliant actors to complete the mix. Whitty, adventurous and brilliant!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A great series for lovers of serialisation, 24 Mar 2006
By 
David Wood "dwood2001" (South Yorkshire, England) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
While I wouldn't say it's the best series out there, it's certainly had an excellent start. For those that like serialised (continuing) story lines and thematic elements then it's a great series and since I'm one of those people, I'm loving it!

I have to admit, I never got into the original Stargate series (SG1). I never liked the style of that series much. Atlantis is much more my flavour; every story line feeding into the main one, tension throughout, really feeling as though they're on the edge of things, so far away from home. Nevertheless I will be trying SG1 again since this has made me far more interested.

The characters seem very interesting and are all acted fairly well. I have to say I love Mckay. What a great character! The typical arrogant high level academic, making amusing cracks and at times realising what an ass he can be... yet this one really is a genius. It's hard to put into words, but that character is a big favourite already.

There are criticisms to be made of the series. After the first season it doesn't have the same on-the-cusp feeling and I think some of the story-lines are a bit weaker. The pacing at times can be far too fast as well. Episodes that would have had fast pacing as two parters could be crammed into one. Nevertheless no series is perfect and this is a damn good one, well worth seeing for all sci-fi fans and unmissable for lovers of serialisation.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD]
Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] by Joe Flanigan (DVD - 2006)
£15.65
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews