Customer Reviews


45 Reviews
5 star:
 (32)
4 star:
 (9)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show - excellent DVD boxset!
Stargate : Atlantis is far more than just a spin-off from the successful Stargate SG1 series. It stands on its own two feet as a clever, dramatic, funny, entertaining, well-crafted show. In some ways it even surpasses the original, benefiting as it does from the producers' and crew's 8+ years of experience in writing and producing the SG1 series. Continuing the mythology...
Published on 29 Mar 2006 by Alison Johnson

versus
0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Worth watching
This is quite a good series (watched all 5), but it's definitely not Stargate SG1. The characters don't gel like a team and the plots are a bit lacklustre. That said I love scifi and still think its quite watchable.
Published 8 months ago by Trampette


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

35 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent show - excellent DVD boxset!, 29 Mar 2006
By 
Alison Johnson "Alipeeps" (North of England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Stargate : Atlantis is far more than just a spin-off from the successful Stargate SG1 series. It stands on its own two feet as a clever, dramatic, funny, entertaining, well-crafted show. In some ways it even surpasses the original, benefiting as it does from the producers' and crew's 8+ years of experience in writing and producing the SG1 series. Continuing the mythology of the original show, but with the added twist of a whole new galaxy to explore, this show has something for everyone. The mix of characters is great and the core cast - and also the regular recurring cast - boasts some excellent actors. Production values are consistently high and, while some episodes are always stronger than others, the writing in season 1 has also been excellent. The first season got things off to a great start, introducing the new team, new allies.. and a new enemy. There is a great mix of humour and drama in this series and stand-out episodes for me include 38 Minutes, Brotherhood, The Defiant One and the excellent mid-season 2 parter, The Storm and The Eye. The DVD boxset of this first season is great - packed to the brim with extras including lots of audio commentaries on various episodes, behind the scenes features, production and design stills, set tours and - perhaps best of all - "Mission Directives" featuring footage of the various episodes actually being set up and filmed (often with segments shown side by side with the finished scene). A treasure trove for any Stargate fan - and great fun to watch as the cast and crew seem to be a really, fun down-to-earth gang (not to mention all being completely insane!) and appear to have a LOT of fun making this show! My only quibble with the DVD boxset itself is that a little more care could have been taken with the presentation etc - there are two instances in the insert booklet where the wrong picture or wrong chapter headings have been attached to an episode listing and on the DVD menus David Hewlett's name is mis-spelt (oops!) on two of the audio commentaries and, on other commentaries, one wrongly lists Joe Flanigan as being involved in the commentary whilst his name is missing from the commentary in which he actually participated!. All in all though, a great first season and an excellent boxset - roll on the release of the Season 2 boxset please!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 28 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Fantastic show, 26 Dec 2006
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
As the reviewer before me said I equally was not prepared for another great Stargate series. The Atlantis one is just as great. New stories, new characters and the same sense of humour. I especially like Joe Flanigan, a great actor who plays pilot Major John Shepperd, and who is easy on the eyes. His banter with McKay is just very very funny, as are all the hints at shows like Star Trek (when Sheppard likes an alien woman: he is "kirking it").
This is a show well worth watching and owning, 'cause like me you will want to watch it over and over and over and over....
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Excellent spin off, 15 Sep 2007
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I shared some of the previous reviewers' reservations about a spin off - SG-1 was a bit of a legend after all. No need to worry because Atlantis started strongly and has gone from strength to strength. The characterisations are strong, the plots have the wide arcs we've come to expect from this franchise and the individual episodes also stand in their own right. Yes, some of the episodes are stronger than others - show me a TV series that doesn't have variations. Also, while there may seem to be initial 'similarities' with characters from SG-1, give it a couple of episodes and these disappear, to be replaced with individuals who gel together as a team extremely well and offer something distinctly different to the O'Neill/Carter/Jackson/Teal'c quartet - a difference that is very refreshing.
The quality of the visual effects are outstanding for a TV series (much, much better than SG-1) and the pilot in particular is superb. Other highlights are the mid-season two-parter The Storm/The Eye and the several other episodes that deal with the Genii. The Wraith are a much scarier nemesis than the Goauld could ever be and the whole series has a much more apocalyptic feel about it, a sense of jeopardy - which makes for much more involving TV.
Stand-out characters are Joe Flanigan (Major Sheppard) and David Hewlett(Dr Rodney McKay) although it's a bit unfair to single these two out as the cast is an ensemble and all give fine performances. On a personal level I 'like' the Atlantis characters far more than I 'liked' the SG-1 ones - which is a testament to both the quality of the acting and the writing as well.
Overall, an excellent series that can be watched by anyone who loves Sci-Fi as well as people who just enjoy an exciting story with cool baddies and some very, very funny one-liners. Slight warning here that some very young children may find the Wraith a bit much.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars unsure if the stargate atlantis universe is for you?, 21 Feb 2008
By 
Daniel Li "Dan the china man" (Leeds, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
This is the question I kept asking myself after I had finished all the great sci-fi tv could get my hands on. I never did get a grasp of stargate Sg1 as i always thought it lacked the brains compared to the star trek universe or the drama/acting found in the phenomenal Battlestar Galatica remake. But though these faults are found in the sister show to stargate sg1, it makes up for it with its unquestionable charm. The character development is done brilliantly that you'll fall in love before the season is far from over. The humour is particularly funny if you find yourself a sci-fi nerd but for those that aren't, Rodney-( the funniest and best character)jokes become alot easier to understand in season 2.
What also makes this a fantastic tv show is the main baddy, which the series takes no time to introduce, and they say you will be terrified and believe me, you will be. The wraths are merciless but have a brain to match and the acting played by their part is enough to make them as interesting as the main actors.
So if you're stuck their wondering if stargate atlantis is really worth the investment, trust me if you're a fan of witty, action packed tv, with of course the odd moments of genius, you'll want to pick this one up right away.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good, 25 Mar 2010
By 
C. Wise "Yaspaa" (England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
SGA might be a bit silly but it can also be very entertaining. The wraith were actually a bit scary early on. The storylines give us what we want, action, laughs and plenty of near misses and happy endings. What more could you ask for? Maybe knowing more about them would help, they're like comic book heroes, perfect in every sense, not particulary realistic, just fun escapism stuff.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Stargate Heaven 1, 22 April 2009
By 
M. Stewart "new couch potato" (Gosport Hants UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
2 years ago I didn't watch tv only very rarely but about 5 episodes of stargate atlantis was shown on terrestrial tv. Just enough to get you hooked then it stopped. Being able to watch the whole series whenever I want is heaven. Far superior to SG1 don't you just love the wraith? The action is great. The humour is just right. Even though I now have sky and watch it on tv I still watch the dvd whenever I need a fix. I am now disabled and unable to get around very much so watching tv and films is all I have. Atlantis has something for everyone, once you start watching you can't stop.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Atlantis - A Review, 27 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Stargate Atlantis is a spin-off series from the excellent Stargate SG-1, although the two series do cross paths Atlantis stands on its own. The comedy and interaction of the charcters is fantastic as is the story telling. The only criticism would be that Dr Elizabeth Weir (Torri Higginson) while a good actor is such an appallingly ineffective leader been led by emotion as she does not have enough experience based knowledge on which to lead, aside from that little gripe though I highly recommend this to you. And having seen all of series two I can tell you it only gets better!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Alright first season, not perfect but alright., 21 Jan 2010
By 
Jason Prudhoe (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
Daniel Jackson finally unlocks where Atlantis maybe, the "Lost city" from ancient mythology ever since Jack O'niell pushed on the understanding of the ancients in the years before to this event happened. With the address discovered a mission is created led by former SGC Commander, Elizabeth Weir and a whole expedition of military and civilian personnel to this address assuming the place they are going to is safe.

After a few problems the military scout group discover a band of nomadic hunters, Athosians and their leader shortly after a new enemy appears and makes it's presense known which triggers more missions to explore and find a way of defending against this enemy however the ultimate goal was put on hold several times throughout the season.

Major Sheppard becomes the de-facto military commander after the first episode, he is also the one who can operate ancient technology without any real training, aside from o'niell that is.

Elizabeth Weir is in effect president because of her overall command. during the first season she risks morality against the greater good on a few times and occassionally butts heads with Kavanaugh, another expedition member.

LT. Ford saves the team on numerous occassions but runs out of luck at the end of season 1.

Rodney Mckay as brilliant as he is, he overthinks alot causing a lot of chaos in the process during the season like he did during the time at SGC, he occassionally shows signs of bravery despite his often ramblings.

Dr Beckett a proud scotsman who is passionate about life in it's various forms, had to deal with loss.

Teyla Emmagan the leader of a hunting community that needed to evac from Atlantis however she remains with the main military scout team led by Sheppard, she serves as a guide and off-contact with humans on other planets.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


15 of 18 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Very enjoyable sci fi, 6 Jun 2006
By 
Charlotte Hood-Fredriksen "Anest" (Southport, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I like SG1 and was wary of spin-offs having been stung before (i.e. same plot, same characters, different place). However, I found Atlantis very engaging and the storyline interesting. In some ways it felt better planned than SG1.

While there are similarities in format, the stories aren't just re-written SG1 episodes using the same tired formula. The bad guys are suitably creepy and the characters are a good mix (it was nice to see some "international" characters rather than all Americans).

I would recommend this as an easier series to start watching than SG1 for novices and a must have for serious aficionados.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Is Joe Flanigan cute or what?, 29 Feb 2008
By 
Shaya (Wales) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] (DVD)
I love this adventure, pure escapism. I'm a fan of Stargate and when this spin off came out I was a bit worried but I got hooked from the first episode and still am!!! in fact I would even go as far as to say I like it better. And what about John Sheppard (Joe Flanigan) cor! could watch him all day!! But on a more serious note, I hope this lasts as long as SG1 and carries on being as good. The stories are great and every episode transports you to another place. Keep it up!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD]
Stargate Atlantis - Season 1 [DVD] by Joe Flanigan (DVD - 2006)
£22.50
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews