Customer Reviews


305 Reviews
5 star:
 (119)
4 star:
 (73)
3 star:
 (39)
2 star:
 (26)
1 star:
 (48)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but not as good as the original.
Ok Ok, so it would have been hard to top the first film, and for this attempt they have a pretty good try.
Firstly, in the first film, the technical stuff made sense after a while and was actually a very clever theory. It just seems for this film that the Wachowski brothers have stuck a lot of long words together to further explain the Matrix, but it doesn't really...
Published on 26 Nov 2003 by Reader

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Matrix Reloaded - He is still only human!
Well watching Keanu's acting of Neo you would have never believed he could possibly be human. He is meant of course to be Thomas Anderson but that is completely non existant in this movie. Smith still refers to him by his name but it lost me as to who he was on about when i first watched this.
Reloaded ain't a patch on the first film, but is a lot better than...
Published on 9 Sep 2004


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Too much talking and action and no imagination, 1 Jan 2009
By 
Neo (Reeves) consults the Oracle about his nightmares as the machines dig deeper towards Zion.

The Matrix blew minds at the turn of the century with its intellectual decoding of reality and with many unanswered questions a sequel was always needed. Sadly with this sequel plenty went unanswered and more problems were generated through a ridiculous debate of choice, encoding of action conventions and a pathetic prophecy that demeans the potential of the one.

This narrative desperately tries to pick up a healthy real life debate as its predecessor did so easily. The ongoing outdrawn discourse about how choice is created through power and how difficult decisions can hold anyone back. There is simply too much discussion of this concept through the too long film which inevitably leads to the central protagonist having to face this concept. Its as predictable as tomorrow which coming from a massive Sci-Fi fan is one of the biggest disappointments in the genre's history. The weight of this ideology is ruined further by the encoding of the most annoying character in cinematic history the Architect. The man talks in technical waffle, looks like your least favourite uncle and will stare you to death.

The ending of the first film showed Neo now believing he is the one so he knows his powers now. This leads you to believe, after his first fight with the agents, that he can do absolutely anything, which takes away the imagination and the fear for his character. He is now an obvious winner which again is sad to see. The prophecy puts an obvious and far fetched spin on the boring narrative in an attempt to redeem the character but fails easily.

The first film created the most frightful villains imaginable. Undefeatable objects of our minds known as agents that no one in history had defeated. Now the fear has disappeared with the Agents simply an extra instalment to fit the action purpose.

Basically this is a film for the action junkie, using obvious action, technology and used as simple entertainment with no point, and that isn't improved in the final part either.

Good effects again, especially a brilliant choice of slow down moments between Neo and Smith's fight, which is also beautifully choreographed.

But this was a sad moment for Sci-Fi with sad depressing action, no point and almost ruined the originality and imagination of the first.

3/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Matrix Reloaded - He is still only human!, 9 Sep 2004
By A Customer
Well watching Keanu's acting of Neo you would have never believed he could possibly be human. He is meant of course to be Thomas Anderson but that is completely non existant in this movie. Smith still refers to him by his name but it lost me as to who he was on about when i first watched this.
Reloaded ain't a patch on the first film, but is a lot better than Revolutions. I felt the old lookking Carrie Ann Moss and the actors who played Merovingian and Locke were all excellent, but the main to, Reeves and Fishbourne, were throughout very poor. Could Keanu speak up and act for once, got he gets annoying to watch, and Fishbourne over exagerated evetything and its annoying. The story at times makes little sense although overall wasn't bad. The main problem was the script, full of over the top dull philosophies and quietly muffled quirks , supposed to be comedy moments
And Neo. Well he seems indestructable, making all fight scenes pitless and they drag on to long. The film with Smith in the hallway is dreadful. He kicks one Smith, they all fall and he flies throught he door faster beforew a single smith could stop him.
Good points were there though. The car chase was awesome, although i am puzzled as to waht happened to Trinity after she cycled the wrong way. We see Neo rescue Morpheous but Trinitys escape(as she went wrong way from exit pint) wasn't there. The scene with archetect was great,if baffling and the battle with Smiths first time is great, if a little poorly edited and goes downhill once Neo attacks with the pipe.
Overall a 50/50 film
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Excellent, but not as good as the original., 26 Nov 2003
By 
Ok Ok, so it would have been hard to top the first film, and for this attempt they have a pretty good try.
Firstly, in the first film, the technical stuff made sense after a while and was actually a very clever theory. It just seems for this film that the Wachowski brothers have stuck a lot of long words together to further explain the Matrix, but it doesn't really cut it. It's not as convincing. The scene in Zion where Morpheus rouses the crowd was a bit corny and seemed a bit random. The scenes in Zion I find quite boring, to be honest. It would also just have to be a bit soppy between neo and trinity. Don't know about you, but I'd prefer 1 minute of action as opposed to 5 minutes of soppiness.
What really makes this film is the characters and in particular, the one and only Agent Smith/Hugo Weaving. His character has developed a sense of humour which he didn't have in the first film. I found myself rooting for Smith more than Neo because he is so much cooler than the good guys. Without Smith in this film, I believe it would never have worked. Fortunately, he return with a vengence (and 100 clones) to kick Neo's ass (which, let's face it, we all kinda want to see! Come on Smith!)
The Twins are also superb. They are also very creepy but speak very softly and politely. The contadiction of their character and voices is strange but it works.
The fightng scenes are the kind that only the Matrix could have. Utterly superb. Not to mention the amazing car chase which lasts about 20 minutes.
Fortunately, the good outweighs the bad and Reloaded does what it set out to do. Too much cheese (love, Zion) and not enough Smith would be my major complaint though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars High Expectations..., 26 Jun 2003
By A Customer
This review is from: The Matrix 2: The Matrix Reloaded (Theatrical Release)
Well, I'll start this review with the bad facts about this film. To begin with, the script can't be compared to the first movie, which was absolutely fantastic, and at the most part, you get the feeling that there is nothing more to this movie than punching and kicking. Additionally, I had the feeling that so much fighting was brought to the film in order to balance the shallow storyline, since the film had to be of an adequate length...
OK I have to admit that the first movie had to bring to the spectator this magnificent world/concept that the Matrix world represents, and therefore it was easier for the writers/director to bring the story to the audience. On the other hand, I believe that whoever saw the first movie expected much more from the second one than what was actually presented by the studio.
On the other hand, I have to give my compliments to all those people who designed and implemented the special effects. If you thought that the first movie was great in that respect, think again! The graphics seem, and are, out of this world! Absolutely magnificent!
In conclusion, it seems that I will remain a fan of the matrix movies for just one reason. I am expecting much more out of the third film and I will definitely be disappointed if the script won't be of absolutely sky-high standards, as it was on the original film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, but not quite up to the hype, 27 May 2003
This review is from: The Matrix 2: The Matrix Reloaded (Theatrical Release)
I saw Reloaded on its opening weekend, and thought it was okay, but disappointing. If the first one was Star Wars, this would have been the Phantom Menace.
The plot was convoluted and unclear, and all exposition with the Oracle/Keymaster/Architect/Source stuff was very heavy-handed - that degree of complexity might have been okay in a comic or TV series (anyone else watch Babylon 5?), but the was too much to get through in a movie.
Editing was poor as well - very little happened for ages, so the film was badly paced, and the love scene was dreadfully overlong - it could have been cut out completely without harming the film.
The special effects were very good, but the excessive use of bullet time got a bit weary, and overall the effects were used in more of a 'see what we can do' way, rather than being used to drive the story.
Obviously, it was really only half a movie and may seem better when considered with Revolutions, but overall I felt that the Warchowskis had been given too big a budget and too much praise after the first one, and let it all go to their heads. The 'Be Here Now' of movies if you will.
Reloaded does have some amazing set pieces, and I am looking forward to Revolutions, but X2 was much better example of how to make a good sequel.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not bad for a sequel, 3 Nov 2003
It can't be denied that this film is flawed. Despite probably the best special effects in history and some incredible stunts, there are simply so many on this movie, and they go on for so long (eg.neo fights Smith for ten minutes, 12 minute freeway chase) that they just lose their effect.The action should have been used more sparingly for it to appear as striking as it did in the original Matrix.
Other parts of tyhe film suggest that the directors have just lost the plot. There are too many comedy moments, which make the film seem like a bit of a farce at times. The actor who plays 'Lock' is embarrassing, and the Zion scenes look too much like Star Wars. Morpheus talks in his monotonous philosophical voice incessantly, so that unlike the first film, where he was the most complete and impressive character, he ends up looking more than a little silly. Neo suffers in the same way when Larry and Andy have him flying around like Superman, one arm outstretched. The Merovingian was surely included for a bit of light relief.
This film could have been brilliant, but as it is it's just good.
The common fate of sequels is evident again here, as for the most part it's just more of the same, and although it's extremely well made, we've seen it all before. The truly new ideas are rare, but have the same startling effect of the original. Examples are Neo meeting 'The Architect'( fantastic scene), his developing relationship with Trinity, and the discovery that he has power even in the real world.
The MTV Movie Awards parody on disc two, featuring Seann William Scott and Justin Timberlake, is almost as funny as the film itself.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Special features to the rescue......., 20 Oct 2003
By 
M. D. Hart "Boz Phiz @ DVD" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
Yes, I agree with all of you......immensely enjoyable and action packed movie, great to see the cast back and the new additions to the cast are first-class.
Important to note, however, that as part of a high-budgeted, well hyped trilogy, 'The Matrix Reloaded' is a confusing piece of the pie.....there seem to be more questions raised in this installment than are answered from 'The Matrix'.
Personally I think that this movie's action is contradictory of itself.....consider the differences here; the road chase scenes which see Morpheus jumping on top of articulated trucks and causing destruction in every direction - FANTASTIC. Now consider the fight scenes between Neo and the black-suited man just after Neo has met The Oracle.....too long, predictable, considerably dull after the first 2 minutes, and an end which sees Neo just fly away. Better that he had flown away earlier ......
.....not at all bad, but this movie is saved by it's special features, and it leaves us all expecting an immensely wonderful movie to come from The Matrix revolutions
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Could this film be any more pretentious?, 19 Oct 2003
By 
N. Oliver ""pinky"" (barnstaple, devon) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Having never been one to follow the herd, I tried to put my pre-conceived notions of what this film would be like to one side, and watched it with an open mind. I shouldn't have bothered. A good opening gave way to such pretentious drivel that I could hardly watch it without wishing I had a bottle of tequila by my side! The rules of sequels are simple - keep the story going, explain stuff as you go along and leave them wanting more. On all three counts this film failed. Dozer, a character that when we left Maxtrix 1, was still alive had somehow died along the way with no explanation. Who was the kid that greeted Neo when he turned up for his, what we assumed, was his first visit to Zion? As for the fight scenes, well yes they were great, but too much computer generated imagery had been used for my tastes and it showed. Too much pretention and not enough story. If this is what we can expect in Revolutions, I don't think I'll bother.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars A wasted opportunity, 3 Feb 2004
By 
Steven Fouch "fouch26" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I have seen this film three times now, and to be honest, it’s not quite as bad or as good as I first thought. The visuals are great, some wonderfully balletic martial arts choreography, and even some hint of a plot. And yet….
The main flaws for me are, firstly that the premise of the first film has been thrown out, and the struggle to liberate humanity becomes subsumed in plots surrounding various programmes free floating in the Matrix (which give Reeves and co plenty of opportunity for sometime over-elaborate fight scenes). Secondly, being the middle film is always a problem (although I still think ‘The Empire Strikes’ back was the best of the Star Wars films, and the ‘Two Towers’ stood very well as film in its own right). But actually, when you see the final film, ‘Revolutions’, ‘Reloaded’ almost seems elegant and coherent by comparison.
Finally, cod philosophy (no its not deep, even if you’ve only ever done ‘o’ level philosophy), and being in love with the idea of being clever without actually being clever, means that this film gives up plot and character for a veneer of depth that is only too shallow. ‘The Matrix’ was a good film – a rarity in that it was a Hollywood sci-fi blockbuster that actually understood science fiction as a literature of ideas. The Wachowski Brothers were not afraid to use ideas as the basis of the film’s story telling, and ‘The Matrix’ had a bit of depth as a consequence.
Sadly, ‘The Matrix’ seems to have been a one-of. ‘Reloaded’ pretends to have depth, and turns out to be just another sci-fi blockbuster. Not a bad film in and of itself, but a wasted opportunity nevertheless.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing but worth a look, 6 Sep 2007
Let's get something clear before I begin - I love The Matrix, love it, one of the greatest films of all time without a doubt. The reason I mention this is that some of the reviews being critical of this (and the abysmal second sequel) are being critical of the Matrix trilogy.
So, Reloaded. This film follows the surviving members of the original crew from the first film; as a massive machine army works its way toward the last human city of Zion, Morpheus feels certain that Neo's fate will soon be realized, Trinity and Neo struggle to deal with his new-found messianic fame whilst maintaining any sort of relationship, and the mysterious return of Smith prompts the search for 'the keymaker' a program who may be able to lead Neo to his destiny (or at least show him the door).
So, the plot sounds just as strange and action-scene-ready as the first doesn't it? Wrong. The story ranges from horribly convoluted to barely sensible, with the philosophical edges so beyond our comprehension I still have no idea what it's about thematically. As for the storyline, well I can sort of follow it but it's not really that interesting, complicated yes, but not interesting, there is no Cypher-like twist here, only slow progression down a bizarre road with no interruption or change of stakes.
This far it sounds like a one-star review, that's because the film has a one-star plot. It's the action that saves this film, and even that's not as good as the last film.
The action comes a lot more in Reloaded, a good thing since the plot's rubbish and there's no character development of any kind. The first movie's claustrophobic old hallways and desperate chases have been replaced with wide arenas and full blown battles as Neo's powers now allow him to take agents head on and the other characters are forced into the open. The action scenes are for the most part great, the directors have become very ambitious and it's a good thing, with two stand-out scenes as Neo fights a private army of 'rejected programs' around and with a collection of medieval weaponry or when Trinity and Morpheus battle agents and ghosts (don't ask) whilst protecting the Keymaker and doing ninety down the freeway. But there's something missing, something essential they've forgotten; these fights are just way too clean. In the Matrix people bled, got covered in dust and debris and blows really felt like they hurt, here no-one really bleeds (except that one time), blows knock people back but don't seem to hurt at all, and there's not much of a sense of danger. So while the action scenes are brilliantly choreographed and constructed, they're essentially soulless.
What more can I say? It's got an OK but not very interesting plot that just becomes incomprehensible whenever it tries to be smart. It's got well done but soulless action scenes. It's a reasonable action movie that I watch from time to time and would be fine if only it didn't carry with it inevitable comparison to it's predecessor. This is reasonable as an action film, but as a sequel it's deeply disapointing.
If you've not seen it it's worth a look but don't expect the originals quality.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 231 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Matrix: Reloaded [UMD Mini for PSP] [2003]
Matrix: Reloaded [UMD Mini for PSP] [2003] by Larry Wachowski (UMD Mini for PSP - 2005)
£12.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews