Customer Reviews


90 Reviews
5 star:
 (66)
4 star:
 (16)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin...
I've seen a few reviews here complaining that this CD only includes Eminem's 'pop' output and doesn't showcase his (in their opinion) best work. I'd like to draw their attention to the subtitle- "The Hits". This is a CD of Eminem's hits. 'Pop' is short for popular. Popular things become hits. Do you see where I'm going with this? If the subtitle were "The Best Of" I would...
Published on 6 Jun 2007 by Losingthewill2

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay album
Curtain call has most of the good Eninem tracks. This album is worth getting if you don't have any previous Enimem albums.
Published 8 months ago by nicholaskasparis


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

77 of 81 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Does what it says on the tin..., 6 Jun 2007
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
I've seen a few reviews here complaining that this CD only includes Eminem's 'pop' output and doesn't showcase his (in their opinion) best work. I'd like to draw their attention to the subtitle- "The Hits". This is a CD of Eminem's hits. 'Pop' is short for popular. Popular things become hits. Do you see where I'm going with this? If the subtitle were "The Best Of" I would understand. But it isn't.

If you like Eminem's hits then you'll like this. I do, and I do.

If you have trouble understanding what "hits" means, then buy a dictionary. :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Curtain Call good, 28 Feb 2013
By 
D. Harding - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
First Eminem music bought (and I am over 60) but really enjoyed it - probably best listened to in the car rather than at home as fast-moving - some tracks quite moving when really examining the words
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Really good cd., 28 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
This has got most of the classics on . We had a great time going back in time and listening to this cd .
Loads of great tracks we were really impressed. Speedy delivery .
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Almost all killer, but some filler, 29 Jun 2007
By 
Mr. M. A. Reed (Argleton, GB) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
In many respects I wish that Eminem rapped in a language I didn't understand...

Eight years, more controversy than JFK, and here we are. End of the line. Released for the pre Christmas gasp, yet in the post Christmas cigarette break, "Curtain Call" is... pretty darn good. No doubt it pleases the fans and bookend's Eminem's prolific career with a cash cow, but, but... BUT...

Firstly, of the three new songs they're almost all absolute rubbish. "Fack" is the immature ramblings of a grown millionaire going "oooooh Girls!". I wouldn't even think drivel like this, let alone release it. But then again, it's all about The T & The A.

...."I wanna facking fack

No, not f**k

I said fack

F A C K F A C K

fack fack fack facking freak me"....

Voice of a generation, there, kids. All you need is love.

"Shake That" is a Nate Dogg song with Eminem guesting at the odd point. Basically filler. And there's no space for filler on a best of. None. Joe Strummer was right, again. There's no space for hesitation, procrastination, timewastin'. A record is a military assault : use the time well or not at all.

But what about the rest? Well, it's almost all killer. In many respects I wish that Eminem rapped in a language I didn't understand. Then I could marvel at his rhythmic and aural dexterity and sonic eloquence. Instead I listen to him making juvenile rubbish about Facking, and abusing his talents as a wordsmith. The words, when he's not held hostage by his libido are fantastic : devastating the hypocrisy of The First World with an accuracy rarely seen. With a righteous fury not unleashed sine the golden years of Public Enemy when they were a weapon of mass destruction.

And then he writes about killing his wife, chopping her up, and burying her at sea. Give 'em enough rope. But aside from this, Eminem is without doubt probably the best high profile rapper in the world right now. A furious and eloquent political commentator on the dying days of a corrupt empire. The way he uncurls words like a machine gun, with the jibber jabber pitter patter of an AK-47, the words sitting on top of rhythms that sound like illadvised hiphop remixes of Martika, Aerosmith, and Led Zeppelin but expose the other thing I despise about modern hiphoprnbrap - the inability to write anything original.

I know. But hear this out. The memorable bits from these songs, the bits we sing, are taken from well known rock standards like "Dream On", "Toy Soldiers", that one by Dido, or - in the case of a morally and artistically bankrupt vampire - the entire of a Police song.

All I need to be a rapper is the Dub mix of New Order's "Blue Monday", splice up the beats a little, and yell about "chicks on my d**k they loving my wit you know I cant stop git gotta admit at the bar or the car feel like a star my fingers on her I'm above par her number one private porno star this is a hit she's my number one we be having fun.."

I just wrote a number one. Worked for Slim Shady anyway. All I got to do now is be dead for a decade, and the charts'll be my pigtailed gin n juice beatch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars overall pretty good, 1 Jun 2009
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
as a relative newcomer to eminem's stuff i thought i'd buy this album because it had a fair few tracks on that i recognized. having listened through a couple of times i can't say it's the beat album i've ever bought, but that said i did enjoy most of the tracks on there. i thought that the cd had the kind of commercial "just released for the cash" feel overall which is a shame (but probably to be expected from a best of album) luckily on the whole eminem's music shines through this and you get a good bunch of tracks for your money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars AMAZING!!, 8 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
i'm an incredibly massive fan of Marshall, i was so happy to get this album (once again). great condition. if you want to listen to some brilliant music then this is the album for you :)
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits???, 15 July 2006
By 
Jim (Portsmouth, Hampshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
Curtain Call is ment to be a greatest hits for Eminem, however they seem to have left out most of the songs that show Eminem's true ability.

However, the two added tracks "Fack" and "When Im Gone" arent that bad. Fack is more of his childish side, but "When Im Gone" is probably some of the best work he has done, it is a great track. There is also "Stan" performed live with Elton John. With Elton singing the parts of Dido. The track is great, apart from the occasionaly crowd noise.

But overall, such tracks like "Kill You" arent on the single CD version, which is a shame. Neither is "Renegade" (a track performed with Jay Z on the second CD), and also on Jay Z's Blueprint album. The album is more of a collection of commercial tracks that he released as singles. In my opinion its not a bad album, but if your an eminem fan and prefer the more rap tracks than his more poppy commerical tracks, this album is not for you.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars "...for the 'lot' of people.", 1 Dec 2005
By A Customer
There isn't much I need to say about this CD because everybody would have already heard these songs. However I will defend Em against some bad reviews. These are simply his Greatest Hits, hence, they're songs he's RELEASED. Eminem is the first to admit that the majority of songs he releases are for masses of people. He knows that and he does not deny it. If you like Eminem's singles, buy this CD! As a fan, I will definitely be buying myself a copy. The new single, 'When I'm Gone' is beautiful and if it doesn't touch your heart, you're stone cold. Oh and for the haters, here's a quote straight from Eminem about 'Curtain Call'.
"I have some songs that a lot of people like," commented Eminem. "I have some songs that only I like. This album is obviously for the 'lot' of people."
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Brought back memories, 22 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
I bought a couple of albums that I had on CD years ago, I listened to them again hearing a couple of the songs for the first time, I couldn't understand why I hadn't heard "Fack" before but I was laughing my head off and playing for my friends. Its very explicit like most of Eminems stuff but his wordplay is hilarious.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Okay album, 12 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Curtain Call - The Hits (Audio CD)
Curtain call has most of the good Eninem tracks. This album is worth getting if you don't have any previous Enimem albums.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Curtain Call - The Hits
Curtain Call - The Hits by Eminem (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews