Customer Reviews


10 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:
 (2)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV Film!
Like all Frederick Forsyth's novels "Icon" has made the move to film well.

This is a great action TV movie and as such is a little long at 166 minutes. But there is much to keep you watching.

As usual Patrick Swayze puts in a good performance as the hero as an Ex CIA agent. Supported well by Michael York (who always plays the perfect English man)...
Published on 14 April 2007 by Birmingham Book Reader

versus
2.0 out of 5 stars Icon - Big Con
James Bond meets Mission Impossible. This had more of Bruce Forsyth than Frederick. What the author of 'Day of the Jackal' had in mind with this piece of unsophisticated claptrap is anyone's guess. Explosions, car-chases, shoot-outs, ethnic cleansing, biochemicals - nothing can compensate for plausibility which was totally lacking here. What the producers had in mind in...
Published 3 months ago by lycidas


Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great TV Film!, 14 April 2007
By 
Birmingham Book Reader (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Icon [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Like all Frederick Forsyth's novels "Icon" has made the move to film well.

This is a great action TV movie and as such is a little long at 166 minutes. But there is much to keep you watching.

As usual Patrick Swayze puts in a good performance as the hero as an Ex CIA agent. Supported well by Michael York (who always plays the perfect English man). I was impressed by Annika Peterson.

This film has a touch of real life - things in it could happen.

A good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars An exciting and well dramatised thriller, 2 April 2010
By 
Uenna (London) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Icon [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I found this DVD by chance, having never heard of it. I was very moved and impressed by this movie. I like Patrick Swayze and it was good to see him in an action packed thriller as an ex -CIA agent called back to solve suspicious terrorist activity in a post cold war Russia. Based on the book of the same title by Frederick Forsythe, the writing is crisp and very believable. It is filled with suspense and keeps you on the edge, at the same time allows you a glimpse into the workings of government agencies during and after the cold war's. Quite a chilling thought to know that something like this can happen for real. This movie is good on a lot of levels. If you like action thrillers , or you are a fan of Patrick Swayze, Michael York, Patrick Bergin or Ben Cross, you will love this movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars BRILLIANT THRILLER, 9 Oct 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This film held your attention all the way to the end, unmissable just excellent and Swayze at his best in this thriller.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 20 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icon [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Brought as a Present and the person loved it and would buy again if neeeded to so thanks for the item.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Icon, an intriguing story of the 'Cold War' in Europe, 3 Feb 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icon [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I gave this film 5 stars because the story was interesting, and probably an accurate depiction of the extremists in Russia during the 'Cold War'
Kevin Mcmahon
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars Icon - Big Con, 4 Jan 2014
This review is from: Icon [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
James Bond meets Mission Impossible. This had more of Bruce Forsyth than Frederick. What the author of 'Day of the Jackal' had in mind with this piece of unsophisticated claptrap is anyone's guess. Explosions, car-chases, shoot-outs, ethnic cleansing, biochemicals - nothing can compensate for plausibility which was totally lacking here. What the producers had in mind in subjecting the likes of Patrick Swayze, Joss Acland, Michael York and Ben Cross to such an inane plot defies all imagination. The DVD comprises two parts. I wish that I had turned it off at the end of the first part. There were some massive howlers, such as a technical computer manual, written in Bulgarian instead of Russian and a road sign which read 'Dagestan - Region of the Causcasus' (sic). Don't waste your money on this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars A very disappointing movie, 19 Nov 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icon [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Unfortunately the movie title itself incorporates one of Forythe'S masterpiece. Yet the movie is utterly different, it'S really a terrible mixture of book plot with tv adaptations. The characters are weak, only Swayze's performance is good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 10 Sep 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icon [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I had seen the first half of the movie as part of a Daily Mail give a way ,, I never managed to aquire part two .. I am delighted to have been able to get hold of the complete movie , it was great ,, Many thanks ..
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars I really enjoyed this movie, 21 July 2013
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icon [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I do like frederick forsythe style of writing and I had this disc from the newspaper. I enjoyed it so much that i bought this one so I had it in a proper container. Patrick Swayze is brilliant i had no idea he was so talented. its a very good story
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not at all like the book, 21 Oct 2012
By 
Peter T. Shaw - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Icon [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
Unlike the other reviews, I didn't like this film at all. Simply because I'd read the book first and couldn't believe what a hatchet job the director had made of the original, well crafted plot. Apart from the names of the three main characters and a very late reference to "the manifesto" the film bore little or no similarity to the original book. Why Frederick Forsythe allowed this to be made I don't know. It started pretty badly in the first place because the West got involved with a minor bomb blast in the Soviet Union which, of course, would never have happened. In the book the reason was different and much much more plausible. In the original there was no love interest, no car chases and no gun battles as portrayed. The book was just a really good spy plot - but the director obviously thught that this was just too boring for a cinema/television audience.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First
ARRAY(0xb514396c)

This product

Icon [DVD] [2005]
Icon [DVD] [2005] by Charles Martin Smith (DVD - 2006)
Used & New from: 2.98
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews