Customer Reviews


21 Reviews
5 star:
 (15)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


12 of 13 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Best of Bizkit
Firstly, there are 3 covers on this album, not 4, my generation has nothing to do with the original.
This is a great album of all the hits Limp Bizkit has brought us over the years and signifies the end of their time as a mainstream band. It's packed with all the familiar hits such as Rollin, My Generation, Take A Look Around, Break Stuff, Nookie and My Way...
Published on 7 Dec 2005

versus
3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars An underrated band.
Alongside KoRn, Limp Bizkit deserve either the credit or the blame for starting the nu-metal craze that dominated music in the late nineties and early noughties. Blending rap and metal in a much more clumsy way than KoRn did, they've gone multi-platinum many times and are mostly remembered for two things: Fred Durst and that album about the Hot Dogs.

But going...
Published on 2 Nov 2007 by dynamitekid156


Most Helpful First | Newest First

5.0 out of 5 stars Go For It, 12 May 2009
By 
This review is from: Greatest Hitz (Audio CD)
This is a really good greatest hits and has all the good, songs that you would expect.
This is a handy CD if like me you got inot limp bizkit and then didnt want to buy all the albums.
Definately a good buy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great, 12 Dec 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hitz (Audio CD)
Not the biggest fan so just wanted the best of LB and this is just the job. Not a bad song on there.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 2 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
Awesome album for the gym
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 25 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars LimpBizkit - Greatest Hitz.....from a fairly neutral point of view, 29 May 2006
This review is from: Greatest Hitz (Audio CD)
Firstly, understand this: I am in no way a fan of Fred Durst and I am not a great fan of his band, although I believe that Jon Otto, Wes Borland and Sam Rivers are fairly talented musicians, certainly above average.

Also I'd like to point out that it was Geffen who made the band produce this collection, as part of their contract, so it wasn't really an attempt to glorify themselves or make more money, as some people have tried to argue.

Limp Bizkit are now one of the rock world's most hated and ridiculed bands for many reasons, namely because of one man, vocalist, Fred Durst. Durst's trademark rap lyrics combined with the hard rocking hip-hop influenced music provided by his band has long since gone out of fashion, not making life any easier for them. Wes Borland has quit the band and returned recently and there was, course Durst's embarrassing infatuation with Britney Spears (Oh, why?)
My opinions of the songs are as follows -

1. Counterfeit ("Three Dollar Bill Y'all")- A good opener from their debut album, includes a funky bassline and some heavy guitaring for the chorus. Durst makes a valid point about fakes and fad-followers, though ironically this kind of music spawned exactly this kind of behaviour.

2. Faith ("Three Dollar Bill Y'all", George Michael cover)- As this song is so well-known from the George Michael original, it is a shock to hear a cover of it, especially from Limp Bizkit. Musically, I think the way Wes and co. heavied it up was good combined with some interesting turntable scratching after the second chorus. Fred's vocals however are pretty dire and the shouting really doesn't work.

3. Nookie ("Significant Other")- This song has a hip-hop beat combined with the usual heavy chrous formula. Durst's lyrics are pretty awful, but well combined for the verses, but the chorus is imature and simplistic.

4. Break Stuff ("Significant Other")- I personally think this is one of the better songs from this collection. There are very few silly background effects and the song is a good angry metaller with hip-hop lyrics, what the genre should be all about. There are some genuinely mosh-worthy parts to the song and the lyrics are quite well done, even if they are once again imature and arrogant.

5.Re-Arranged ("Significant Other")- At last, a more mature Fred Durst talks about "letting go" in this quieter song with much less heavy parts from Wes, who keeps the melody going steadily. However, this song doesn't really make you feel that interested in or sorry for Durst, as he goes into self-pity mode.

6. N 2 Gether Now ("Significant Other", featuring Method Man)- This is a hip-hop song. On a rock band's greatest hits. This is in my opinion, the worst song on the album by far. The music is non existant, just an irritating repetitve hip-hop tune and artificial drumming. Method Man outshines Durst at rapping but the chorus, samples of someone saying "Shut the f*ck up, just shut the f*ck up" is laughably stupid.

7. Take A Look Around ("Chocolate Starfish...")- This shows again that the band is capable of producing a musically talented song with few effects or gimmicks, creating metal version of the famous Mission Impossible soundtrack. This works really well on the quiet parts and the heavier. Durst's lyrics still leave something to be desired as he tries to be philosophical but comes out annoying and makes little sense with lines such as "life is a lesson, you learn it when you're through".

8. My Generation ("Chocolate Starfish...")- This song opens with a cringingly embarrassing line from Durst, but proceeds into some good drumming from Jon Otto and some good guitar and bass work. I find the lyrics ruin the song somewhat, with childish profanities fired regularly, but if you can look past this the song isn't bad.

9.Rollin(Air Raid Vehicle) ("Chocolate Starfish...")- This song is bouncy and fun but it really cannot be taken seriously. The drumming and bass are pretty impressive, it's just a shame the chorus is so infamously repetitive.

10. My Way ("Chocolate Starfish...")- This is another of the better songs from this album. Durst shows a slightly more mature attitude in this song (I say slightly). I think the bass is impressive and the only real bad thing I can say is that it drags on too long with the annoying sample repeated over and over again at the end.

11. Boiler ("Chocolate Starfish...")- I'm no expert on the "Chocolate Starfish..." album but I'm sure Bizkit fans could select a better song from it than this. For me, the heavy riff isn't constant enough and Durst raps like is is a kid trying to deal with adult problems, which does him no favours at all.

12. Eat You Alive ("Results May Vary")- I think this is one of the best songs here.. There is a good main riff that lasts for two choruses before mellowing out slighlty before building up once more. It would have been better if new guitarist Mike Smith had provided tgis riff for more of the song but it still works well. Even Fred Durst has improved. Gone are the pointless background effects and irritating rap and now there is singing combined with a shout/screamed chorus. Lyrics are patchy but at least Durst has proven he has vocal credentials.

13. Behind Blue Eyes ("Results May Vary", The Who cover)- Another cover song? On a greatest hits? This is pushing it slightly. The song however is a good effort from Durst as he sings a lot better than in his other cover song "Faith". The song is the kind of self-pitying stuff we expect from Durst but it is done like he means it now, with real effort. The song is however, is mutilated by a pair of strange techno voice samples where a nice bit of guitar strumming would have been good. This aside, I don't know why fans make such a big deal out of this song. It seems good to me.

14. Build A Bridge("Results May Vary", featuring Brian "Head" Welch)- A good song with a mellow set of verses combined with a heavier but at the same time soft chorus with great backing vocals. One of my favourites out of this collection.

15. Why - A previously unreleased track from "Results May Vary", which was cut for the want of heavier material. It seems a shame to have cut it, though I have not heard all of RMV, this is a good song, albeit, very similar to "Build A Bridge" in strucure and vocals.

16. Lean On Me - Another song scrapped from RMV, Durst here shows a softer side yet and another mature performance. The acoustic guitar works well and makes this ong a quiet but thoughtful song about love. Has Fred grown up? What happened to nookie and breaking stuff? This is very impressive work from a man who was once making music about this sort of thing.

17. Home Sweet Home/Bittersweet Symphony (Motley Crue/The Verve cover) - Having so many cover songs on a greatest hits album doesn't do LimpBizkit's reputation any good but these 2 rolled into 1 are satisfying but nothing spectacular. The band does not add anything great to these classics from two rock giants, but it satisfies.

18. The Truth ("The Unquestionable Truth Pt. 1", UK Bonus Track)- This is the only song from LimpBizkit's latest release "The Unquestionable Truth Pt. 1" to be included and only as a bonus track for us lucky Britains (sarc.). This song marks the return of Wes Borland on guitar for the last album and his presence has clearlu givenb LB a boost creatively. However this song is not strong because it is suspiciously similar to a Rage Against The Machine song, as does a lot of "The Unquestionable Truth Pt. 1". Durst even tries to imitate Zach de la Rocha's voice and become philosophical, which really doesn't work and makes his voice very irritating. Wes's guitar riff is good but it is similar to the work of Tom Morello and I sense taht the style has been copied (Though badly).

Overall, I feel this CD was at it's strongest during the "Results May Vary" era of 2003, despite the lack of Wes Borland. Although Durst has matured, he is now more irritating than ever and I fear for teh band if Pt. 2 of the latest album is anything like the first. Fred Durst Just needs to grow up, ditch the cap, wear some clothes that suit him and get a reallity check. He CAN sing and shout pretty well, he just needs to keep from making an idiot of himself anymore to protect what is left of his shattered credibility.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars you need to get this album, 30 Oct 2014
By 
Mr. P. Lorrio "messaih216" (messiah216) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hitz (Audio CD)
awesome
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 21 Aug 2014
This review is from: Greatest Hitz (Audio CD)
top cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 28 Oct 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hitz (Audio CD)
good
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Hey I miss the originals..., 19 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hitz (Audio CD)
Well the biggest downfall about this collection is that some of the tracks on this collection aren't original versions. That majorly sucks. Which means that I have yo buy all their originals and still suffer the downfall of buying this semi-collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


0 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 3 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Greatest Hitz (Audio CD)
great cd
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 11 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Greatest Hits..., 14 Feb 2006
By 
Christopher Hann (London) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Greatest Hitz (Audio CD)
I'm not going to buy this album jus' due to the fact that I own all their CD's anway so why bother?
There are some good songs on this, though I'm annoyed to see Behind Blue Eyes... God I hated that song!
The Limp were a revolution, Wes Borland knows how to work a guitar and Durst has a unqiue voice.
Buy this if you've only got one Bizkit album, but if you have Significant other and Hot Dog Flavoured Water & Chocolate Starfish then give it a miss.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Greatest Hitz
Greatest Hitz by Limp Bizkit (Audio CD - 2005)
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews