Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (12)
4 star:
 (2)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, British comedy.
Got this DVD for Christmas with a load of other live stand-up DVDs also and I have to say this comes out on top.
I had heard a bit of Al Murray’s pub land lord character in 2004 and obviously seen him with comedy partner Harry Hill when he played his big brother Alan. Then last year I spotted the ITV1 programme ‘An audience with Al Murray” and it...
Published on 4 Jan 2006 by B.A.Nohel

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars I had heard a lot of good things about Al Murray so thought I would give ...
I had heard a lot of good things about Al Murray so thought I would give him a try but just don't find him funny. His humour is not like Micky Flanagan or Lee Evans and tends to revolve around sexist beer swilling banter that for me is not related to in my idea of good humour. I'm sure if you are a fan it will appeal to you but I'm not converted so won't buy any further...
Published 16 days ago by JUBS


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Beautiful, British comedy., 4 Jan 2006
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Got this DVD for Christmas with a load of other live stand-up DVDs also and I have to say this comes out on top.
I had heard a bit of Al Murray’s pub land lord character in 2004 and obviously seen him with comedy partner Harry Hill when he played his big brother Alan. Then last year I spotted the ITV1 programme ‘An audience with Al Murray” and it was one of the funniest live shows I have ever seen.
Then watched this DVD and was in hysterics, can’t removed this show enough, I will be ordering his other 2 live shows from Amazon soon and really hope they release ‘An audience with’ this year (the one where he gets dean Gaffney to sing, and gives a pint to that ginger kid out of the Harry Potter movies)
5 out of 5 viewing, Al’s shows does depend a lot I have to say on the type of audience he gets for that gig as he plays jokes of them all night and for this you have to be very talented at ad-lobbing and thinking of jokes on the spot, Al does this to a tee, just watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 14 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars More laughs from the patriotic landlord., 27 Dec 2005
By 
P. Bennett "peab999" (UK, Rochester.) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
"Al Murray - Live 2005" is the third DVD featuring the ever popular character comic, the Pub Landlord. In this edition you can expect yet more patriotic ramblings from the man with the one dimensional viewpoint. Once again his show relies heavily on audience contribution and it's fantastic to witness Murray quickly and with great wit, put audience members in their place. Anyone within the first three rows of the audience is guaranteed a word with "the guv'nor" and even those sitting further back are far from safe.
In this show the Landlord once again targets both the French and German nations, all in good heart of course. He explains why the British national anthem is the envy of the world, calling on an audience member to recite it several times, talks about the inequality between men and women and gives us a tour of the planet with a large inflatable globe which then serves as a volleyball for audience members - not to be missed! And he does it all with the "common sense reasoning" you come to expect from the Pub Landlord.
Essentially Murray's creation remains hugely entertaining and this latest DVD is well worth a place in any stand-up comedy fan's collection. Anyone who has seen his other efforts may find some of the content slightly repetetive but it is worth witnessing the new material and the Landlord unleashed once again on a live audience. Furthermore the extras are well worth watching with yet another full length commentary available along with a question and answer session and a few other small snippets.
Definitely well worth your attention...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 10 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars To the Gov'nor, 27 Dec 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
A class dvd... loved every minute of it. Always taking the mick out of our fellow europeans and the other international countries. Was just like it when i went to see him in November but i went to see the latest tour... and hope that one comes to DVD - Al Murray Pub Land Lord... And Another Thing. The one with the euro instead of the inflatable globe.
"If we didnt have rules where would we be???? France"
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Al Murray DVD, 28 Oct 2005
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I was at the recording of this dvd and it is hilarious! Al Murray is by far the best comedian England has. His 'Englishness' is brilliant and takes time out to slag off the French and the Germans which is just pure comedy!
There should be no doubt about it, you should buy this DVD!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Normal, Sensible, Down to Earth people will buy this DVD!, 16 July 2007
By 
S. Adams "Soz" (Suffolk, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Depsite the fact that Al Murray only has one charachter, he knows how to use it to make rib-achingly good jokes.
By far the best section of this DVD, And as a matter of fact any of Murray's DVD's, is his travel around the world (Via an inflatable globe)highlighting the differences between the countries, and even though they are national steroytypes, he never seems to cross the line into racisim.
Good job Al !
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars I had heard a lot of good things about Al Murray so thought I would give ..., 9 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I had heard a lot of good things about Al Murray so thought I would give him a try but just don't find him funny. His humour is not like Micky Flanagan or Lee Evans and tends to revolve around sexist beer swilling banter that for me is not related to in my idea of good humour. I'm sure if you are a fan it will appeal to you but I'm not converted so won't buy any further DVD's.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant!!, 24 April 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
If you enjoy the comedy of AL Murray, you will not be disappointed at all, many different topics and funny observations abound!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars uo to date and just briliant, 24 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
as always great value. if you want to have s good laugh put it on( I put it on my projector and big screen) it feels like you are at the show
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Love it, 10 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Love watching Al Murray. Found this DVD very entertaining and humorous will continue to buy all his DVDs as they become available.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Great standup, 2nd best DVD of Pub Landlord, 22 Mar 2011
By 
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Al Murray - The Pub Landlord LIVE - Giving It Both Barrels [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
The Pub Landlord is an utter genius, there are so many mannerisms of his, however small, that make you laugh. Everyone's different so some people won't find them as funny, but in terms of observational comedy, he's at the top of the pile, no doubt about that. It's shorter than his first standup DVD, with 68 minutes on offer, but this doesn't matter when the source material is so unbelievably good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews