Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (5)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the kid's are alright, but something's different...
I enjoyed the first five series of DC and i think there was something perversely enjoyable in watching the four main characters (Dawson, Joey, Pacey and Jen) stumble through adolescence. Even though Dawson and Joey's agonising should have become tedious and the answer to the inevitable 'will they, won't they' question should have become 'who...
Published on 23 Feb 2006 by marty mcfly

versus
20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Things go a bit ropey for DC!
I thought the first 4 seasons of DC were near enough perfect- they captured the termoil of being age 15- 18 beautifully for me, however in my opinion DC just did not work away from Capeside and this is my least favourite season.
The writers don't really seem to know what they are doing at some points. By this season, Joey has really emerged as the central...
Published on 7 Feb 2006 by Amazon Customer


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

27 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars the kid's are alright, but something's different..., 23 Feb 2006
By 
marty mcfly - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I enjoyed the first five series of DC and i think there was something perversely enjoyable in watching the four main characters (Dawson, Joey, Pacey and Jen) stumble through adolescence. Even though Dawson and Joey's agonising should have become tedious and the answer to the inevitable 'will they, won't they' question should have become 'who cares?' somehow it didn't. Proof enough was given in the series five finale that these two characters remained the key thread of interest and basis for the show's popularity. I didn't even mind the relocation to Boston, i thought it was a decent opportunity to get to know Jack, Jen and Grams a little better.
But series six takes a turn for the different. The key characters aren't really interacting all that much (until the finale), previous cast add-ons have disappeared without mention (where is Oliver? the Capeside families?) and the new cast are plain poor. Emma's accent is cringe-inducingly awful and Eddie comes across condescending and with no obvious spark with Joey. Moreover, when did Audrey's character become strong enough to develop her own story-line? What are Jack Osbourne and No Doubt doing in Dawson's Creek?? And what is up with Pacey's facial hair???
All of the previous faults on other DVD releases of DC are present here too - the lack of the original music being a key detractor.
And yet, there are some real highlights to savour as well. Dawson's interaction with Todd is superb. Episode ten, back in Capeside for Christmas is hugely entertaining, as is episode 15, with Joey and Pacey trapped in a dept store overnight. And then the real reason that any fan of the series has to own this set, the four final episodes, all set back in Capeside and the double-length finale set in the future wrap up very nicely the key characters and bring the focus back where it should be.
We are left in no doubt that the kids end up alright and (despite not entirely enjoying the finale the first time around) you end up realising that is exactly what you wanted to see.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


20 of 22 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Things go a bit ropey for DC!, 7 Feb 2006
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I thought the first 4 seasons of DC were near enough perfect- they captured the termoil of being age 15- 18 beautifully for me, however in my opinion DC just did not work away from Capeside and this is my least favourite season.
The writers don't really seem to know what they are doing at some points. By this season, Joey has really emerged as the central character and she starts off the show by sleeping with Dawson which I actually thought was romantic, but then it all falls apart immediately and Joey flits from one man to another- Eddie (who I wasnt keen on as a character) and then she gets back with Pacey, but then Eddie comes back so she dumps Pacey again. That kinda ruined it for me as I think Pacey and Joey work really well together.
I don't like what they do with Pacey's character here either- Pacey's new job and lifestyle is so, well.. un-pacey like! Pacey is going out with Audrey (another character I don't like) and they are blatently not compatible. Dawson's flitting around with that actress but as usual, James Van Der Beek fails to make this relationship seem genuine. And Jen and Jack are resigned to being sub-characters now. It's very poor when compared to the storylines of seasons 1- 4. It doesnt help that the show has so many different writers in this season- every episode seems to be written by a different person!
HOWEVER the saving grace of this season and the reason I gave it 3 stars,not 2, is the finale which is just perfect! Kevin Williamson, the show's creator really does an outstanding job here. I love the way it is set 5 years in the future. It was a sensible choice really, given that DC just does not have the magic when they are all at college and away from Capeside! This episode sees them all reunited in Capeside for Dawson's mum's wedding. It's great seeing what happened to the characters (always knew Pacey was right about his brother!) and seeing them back together with the same chemistry they had back in the early days of the show. The Pacey- Joey- Dawson triangle which really became the central feature of the show is put to rest and ended in a very neat way which ties up loose ends. There's some lovely scenes between all the characters. It was very sad though as well and I'm not ashamed to admit I cried buckets. I was very pleased with the ending!
I'd say only buy Season 6 if you were an avid fan like me and want to complete your collection. Otherwise, I'd stick to the early seasons, where the Capeside magic is still in tact!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great end to a great show, 4 Jan 2008
By 
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Dawon's Creek was a great show and i think it was the first of its kind. You see The OC and One Tree Hill on tv now and really they both came from Dawson's Creek because this was the first great teenage drama.
The sixth series sees the appearance of a few new characters including Eddie (joey's other half) who i found to be a good character and a good boyfriend for her because he let her escape into a relationship which didn't have the problems of her relationships with pacey and dawson in it. Emma the british roommate was great - although her accent was bad at times, she was fun. Jen's boyfriend CJ and Jack's boyfriend David were great characters to add as well and saw them both in happy relationships.
This series also saw Audrey have a bigger storyline and one that i thought suited her character. Just like Andie had her storylines in series 2 and 3, Audrey had hers in series 5 and 6.
The parents were not in it that much but then again this show is about these 5 kids growing up and thats exactly what this show was about. The 5 main characters (Dawson, Joey, Pacey, Jen and Jack) returning once more and going through the ups and downs we can relate to - falling in and out of love, dealing with our past relationships, family troubles, college and many more situations.
Dawson and Joey finally get together although soon troubles come betweem them and separate them, and we see Pacey and Joey rekindle their love (best episodes 'Clean and Sober' and 'Castaways') only to be broken up again. Towards the end of the series we see that despite the years, Pacey and Dawson never really became friends again because of their love for Joey.
The 2-hour series finale is the best episode though which sees the five main characters, five years on and back in Capeside for a wedding. We see where their lives have led them (what dreams have come true and which jobs they have) and this episodes brings both surprises and heartbreak.The strong friendship between Jack and Jen still remains and we finally see the love triangle between Dawson, Joey and Pacey come to an end as Joey reveals who she is meant to be with and therefore breaks one's heart while settling down with the right guy.
I've loved this show since the very beginning and despite what people sya i think it has been strong throughout its time. Its my favourite show and will remain so for a long time.
This is a great end to a truly fantastic show!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars something just isn't there, 22 May 2006
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I loved Dawson's Creek and have rapidly gotten through the box sets but as said in some other reviews this series just isn't up to par.

Too many new characters not to mention Emma's appalling English accent! Normally I'd be running through the episodes but I really don't feel as into this series.

Of course you have to buy/watch it to complete your collection, but it really isn't as good as it could be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Dawson's Creek - Season 6, 6 Oct 2006
By 
L. Omelasz "brekkie_tiffs" (Dundee, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
After a (very) bumpy 5th season, the show slightly improves in its 6th and final season but it's still pretty inconsistent. There are some good episodes here like Merry Mayhem and of course, the 2 hour finale but most storylines were just dull (e.g. Joey and Eddie). Some of the cast regulars are absent for numerous episodes (namely Jen and Jack) and the season's best character Audrey, isn't used to the show's full advantage - she's also absent for numerous episodes and ignorantly excluded from the 2 hour finale. Overall, it's a watchable season but there's a few too many banal episodes and although not quite on par with season 5, it's a pretty unmemorable season.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The End Of The Creek, 2 Feb 2006
By 
Esteban (South East, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Despite suffering a dip in quality around the fourth season (although some argue earlier), "Dawson's Creek" remained a fairly solid TV show throughout its six season run, the last of which is presented here in its entirety.
Dawson, Joey, Jen, Pacey, Audrey and Jack (and Grams!) return from their summer - Pacey and Audrey are a couple, Jack and Jen are free and single (and enjoying it!), Dawson is off to work as a personal assistant for a director, having spent the summer at home, with Joey, although they haven't spoke much. Throughout the season, the group grow further apart, each dealing with their own traumas - Jen gets a new boyfriend (CJ), as does Jack (David), Pacey works for "the man," and Dawson and Joey grow the furthest apart.
The series (and season) culminates in a 2hour series finale, set 5 years later than the rest of season 6, which ties everything up and gives, in my opinion, a satisfying ending to the love triangle of Dawson, Pacey and Joey, that has run consistently throughout the series. Back on writing duties for the first time in a few seasons, is the creator, Kevin Williamson, and it shows in the finale, returning it to the feel of the earlier seasons.
The DVD features unfortunate music changes on the English language soundtrack that has been standard for box sets of "Dawson's Creek" since season 2 (the English track comes direct from the USA releases, where the tracks were changed to save money on royalties - incidentally, if you switch to the French or German tracks, you can hear the original broadcast music a lot of times), including the original international theme tune change, instead of "I Don't Wanna Wait," which was present on the broadcast version of these episodes (again, if you switch to French or German you can hear "I Don't Wanna Wait" instead of "Run Like Mad"). Also present is the extended version of the series finale, that is also available on a separate DVD, alongside the commentary that was present on the disc, as opposed to the broadcast version.
Despite a few hiccups here and there, "Dawson's Creek" was a very solid TV series throughout it's 6 year span, and the DVDs provide a fitting momento. If you were ever a fan of the show, it's worth picking up the last series to see how the character arcs were completed - a recommended purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars You know what you're getting, 22 Jun 2009
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
I can't imagine anyone but serious DC fans will be buying this product and of course it will meet their expectations. Having watched Dawson's Creek from the start I missed most of season five and all of season six following the birth of my son so finally catching up on DVD. I enjoyed season five and rushed through it - taking this one more slowly, watching an episode probably once or twice a week. Something is missing however, hence the missing star. Some of the fun is gone - this is what happens when you let them have sex.

But over all, DC remains a great series, and work of which the actors should be proud.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars It's all good!, 2 Feb 2006
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Hey people, I am a massive fan of the dawsons creek show and I bought all the dawsons creek dvds up to season six. I must admit I did prefer the show when it was in it's heyday, and it was all about the emotion, melodrama and romance, but saying that I think it's also good that the show has developed from the 15 year old, melodrama into tackling more adult themes. Personally my favourite season is season 4, cuz that mixed both adult themes and emotion, melodrama and romance perfectly. Now, I'm not sure how much you'll like this one, if all you dig the show for is the romance and the melodrama cuz I'll admit there seems to be a lot of this lacking. Saying that, I still think it was a noble effort to finish of the season, and the stories are just as interesting. I give it 4 stars cuz it doesn't quite fit too well with the rest of the seasons, but it remains entertaning and interesting none the less. I still think this is a must for fans like myself. And it's nice to finally complete my collection. I have to say, in my personal opinion, despite a few awesome episodes season 2 was the low point for me.. but thats just me. Anyway thats kinda irrelevent since I'm currently reviewing season 6. Anyway, if your a fan, buy it. If not check it out atleast!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Ideal pressie, 24 Jan 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
Bought this for a friend s Christmas present and she was highly delighted so two happy people for the price of one item!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2.0 out of 5 stars the nadir, 7 Oct 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] (DVD)
It should have ended with season 4. While season 5 was on the decline with dull and uninspired plot lines and naff characters, season 6 hits the nadir with entire episodes without Dawson. It's not entirely unwatchable but comparing it to season 1 through 4 I realize that this is the nadir.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006]
Dawson's Creek: Season 6 [DVD] [2006] by James Van der Beek (DVD - 2006)
£14.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews