Customer Reviews


87 Reviews
5 star:
 (22)
4 star:
 (24)
3 star:
 (15)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (22)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Don't Understand
I'm not one to create reviews that are a reply to other reviews, but I'm feeling sorry for the poor guy who hasn't seen this film and would like to know whether to bother. The answer is yes, don't bother with these 1 and 2 star reviews, because frankly I don't understand where they're coming from. They must've seen a completely different movie to me.

Now before...
Published on 23 Dec 2008 by PyroSikTh

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digestive Problems Prove A Little Grim
Take straight and slap-stick comedy, a touch of thriller, a dollop of horror, a sprinkling of suspense and mystery, and season well with special effects, hammy acting, traces of familiar childhood stories, and what do you get? A lumpy stew that's difficult to digest and hard to quantify. Imagine something akin to a cross between Labyrinth and Sleepy Hollow written by a...
Published on 3 Nov 2007 by Paul Pinn


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

34 of 35 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars I Don't Understand, 23 Dec 2008
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
I'm not one to create reviews that are a reply to other reviews, but I'm feeling sorry for the poor guy who hasn't seen this film and would like to know whether to bother. The answer is yes, don't bother with these 1 and 2 star reviews, because frankly I don't understand where they're coming from. They must've seen a completely different movie to me.

Now before I go on, let us remember that this is The Brothers Grimm, a tale that encompasses as many fairy tale references as it can. Fairy tale is the key here. If you're sat there watching it and you think "but that doesn't make sense", well neither do moving trees, feeling a pea under a pile of mattresses, or a walking, talking ginger-bread man.

Quick summary; Two brothers, one of logical thinking, one of fantasy thinking, con villages out of money by pretending to vanquish witches and monsters. After one successful con, they are dragged to the authoritative figure of the French invasion who sends them after the people responsible for the disappearance of young girls in a secluded village. It isn't long before the brothers find that this is a real curse.
To be honest, that's pretty much it, so what people are finding so messy and confusing I have no idea.

Acting is pretty decent. I've certainly seen a lot worse. Okay, so their accents may not be 100% perfect, but this is a light-hearted fantasy, why should they be? The special effects are pretty decent too. The characterisation was good, I really felt for the two brothers, especially Jacob. Script was almost faultless. Agreed, it could've been better, but that doesn't mean it has any faults.

A recurring theme - this film is not perfect by any means. The ending is awfully cliché, but it's a fairy tale, why shouldn't it be? The Queen appeared really late in the film so she barely got any screen time, which is a shame. The French characters were also pretty annoying, I just wanted them to die so they could leave the brothers to it.

Give this film a try, watch it with an open mind. This obviously isn't for everyone, but from where I'm sat, 95% of these negative reviews are complete rubbish. Remember, it's a fairy tale.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Dark Comical Fantasy, 16 Aug 2009
By 
Nicholas Casley (Plymouth, Devon, UK) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
This is an imaginative take on the characters of the collectors and tale-tellers; indeed this take would probably be libellous if the brothers were still alive, for Matt Damon and Heath Ledger portray them as frauds, making money off the back of the supernatural fears of the peasantry in Napoleonic Europe. Terry Gilliam, the director, in one of the extras states that his film "has nothing to do with the real Brothers Grimm ... Instead of thanking them, we are using them."

It's a fantastical comedy, or a comical fantasy, but with dark overtones featuring toad-licking, wolves, ravens, and assorted creepy-crawlies. It does have a happy ending, though, which was disconcerting for Gilliam since he doesn't usually do happy endings. Indeed, it was a surprise to learn that he was asked to direct this film rather than he coming up with the idea for it himself, given that the subject-matter is classic Gilliam territory.

Filmed in the Czech Republic, there are numerous references to tales of Jack and the Beanstalk, Little Red Riding Hood, Hansel and Gretel, the Gingerbread Man and Rapunzel. But the core of the story involves ..., well that would be giving the game away. It sometimes feels like a poor cousin of `Lord of the Rings'. The script, written by Ehren Kruger, is perhaps unnecessarily complicated and overly contrived. The film itself suffers from some poor ADR (especially Peter Stormare and even Jonathan Pryce), and I'm not sure that the cockney accent of our two heroes works either; as Gilliam says, we have here an American and an Australian playing Germans with English accents. He doesn't mention also the Swede playing an Italian and a Welshman playing a Frenchman.

There is a good commentary supplied by Terry Gilliam. Here we learn that originally Matt Damon and Heath Ledger were to play their opposite roles; that there was "certain pressure from certain sources" (the Weinsteins?) to prevent the heroes from shrieking like girls; and that the amazingly vast forest was constructed in a studio - but that the most expensive scene was cut because the forest's supernatural qualities were deemed too explicit.

The extras also include deleted scenes. It seems to me that these should have been kept in to provide further background and characterisation, two aspects poorly served in the film as it presently stands, where the action predominates to push the story forward. Another extra is a sixteen-minute film called `Bringing the Fairytale to Life' where we see, for example, the clever use made of mirrors in the tower scenes

I am a big fan of Gilliam and have all but one of his films on DVD in my collection (guess which one I refuse to buy), so I have to ask myself if I would have purchased this DVD if it had not been a Gilliam film. Difficult to say: I give it four stars (for Amazon = `I like it'), but not five (`I love it'), so I have no qualms about it taking up space on the shelf. But, yes, it is so rich in imaginative invention that, despite some hiccups in the film, I will enjoy watching it again and again, for Gilliam has created a fairy tale anew.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 25 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Different Spin on Grimm..., 4 Oct 2006
By 
Anne-Marie Marquess (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
Enter into a Grim and Macabre Adventure that is truly a Tale of the Unexpected. Well, we all know about the brothers Grimm, tellers of fairytales. We will never forget "Little Red Riding Hood" or "Sleeping Beauty". This film, is set in a sinister, enchanted forest and is a dark tale, full of twists and turns, gnarled trees and strange occurrences.

It's different and I liked it and it was hard to predict where it was going! Which was good. It features the abduction of Hansel and Gretel and Little Red Riding Hood among others, a Woodsman turned Werewolf, a Sleeping Once was Beauty and a distracted, disturbed damsel with "issues". There is a gruesome take on the Gingerbread man that is completely unexpected and creepy!! The film has elements of the Princess Bride, Shrek, Snow White and Chitty Chitty Bang Bang, but is a modern film, set in mediaeval times with humour interjected throughout.

The forest, which is definitely alive, centres around a high tower where, what used to be, a beautiful raven haired princess is determined to regain her youth and life force through manipulative means. A mixture of Rapunzel, Sleeping Beauty and Snow White, with the Mirror revealing both reality and illusion. It weaves elements of Grimm's fairytales into one and is a dark, enchanted tapestry.

The Wolf was very well done, suitably supernatural and not the type of creature you'd want to run into in a forest, but this film is definitely not on a league with A Company of Wolves. It was horror in a shrek rather than a hammer way! Definitely room for improvements, but enjoyable. If you like the myth and legend of fairy tales, the supernatural, horror, fantasy and comedy, you should enjoy this. Very different and Definitely entertaining.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Digestive Problems Prove A Little Grim, 3 Nov 2007
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
Take straight and slap-stick comedy, a touch of thriller, a dollop of horror, a sprinkling of suspense and mystery, and season well with special effects, hammy acting, traces of familiar childhood stories, and what do you get? A lumpy stew that's difficult to digest and hard to quantify. Imagine something akin to a cross between Labyrinth and Sleepy Hollow written by a second rate Ben Elton and Tommy Cooper, then expanded (meta)physically by a tired Spielberg and given some snappiness by the likes of Aronofsky, with an acting style that shows the flair of The Young Ones, and you have a film that doesn't know what it wants to be. I would have preferred to have seen this film made as a straight and very dark supernatural horror movie set in a realistic scuzzy Europe of 500 years ago. What I got was a second-rate entertainment that passed the time but did little more. Pity. It was a missed opportunity.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A wonderful fairytale and fun too!!!, 27 Jun 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed this wonderful telling of the Brothers Grimm, as they inform you in a behind the scenes peak on the extras this is not attempting to tell the tale of the Brothers Grimm so much as put the Terry Gilliam stamp on proceedings which I think it succeeds on doing very well.

Both Matt Damon and the late Heath Ledger are clearly having a ball as the Brothers Grimm, plus there are some fine turns by Peter Stormare, as well as British actors Jonathan Pryce, MacKenzie Crook and Richard Ridings who all add depth and quality to the cast.

The imagination that has gone into this film is wonderful, everything looks great too, the death scene near the end of the film has to be one of the very best and imaginative scenes I've ever witnessed in film.

Let your mind flow and your body will follow, well worth taking a look at, especially if you like other Terry Gilliam projects.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not rocket science, people!, 6 April 2008
By 
MayGoodComeToUs (Rome, Lazio, ITALY) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
I suppose I can say that I enjoyed this film because I took it for what I expected it to be: entertainment pure and simple. This is not rocket science, folks, nor was it billed as such! Yes, OK, I admit that it did get a little long there towards the end when it felt as though they just had to cram one more fairy tale into it, but so what? It is not such a VERY great crime after all. Also, they were no extraordinarially acurate with the history...and, true, WHAT was the music at the end? Not German...not French...not even Italian, really...but, again, so what? It was great music! I think this was probably a bit of a "rest" film for Matt Damon...the hammy acting was SUPPOSED to be there and he did it quite well! If you take this for what I imagine it is supposed to be, you will have an enjoyable evening of it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as Grimm as some make out..., 3 April 2006
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
I found it an interesting interpretation of the roots of the Grimm Bro's, filmed in the way that Terry Gilliam typically works - which I love.
My family liked it too - they didn't wonder off - but they are quite well read and (I like to think) realised that this film is very much the (fantasised) story behind the stories and you have to know be familiar with them to appreciate what's going on.
It had the typically dark and eccentric qualities of Gilliam's other works played against a gothic European setting. Sure there's a few ropey bits, but if you want to switch off and have a story sliced up and served in bitesize, easily digested chunks then rent the Tellytubbies - I'd much rather watch something interesting and (occassionally) non-Hollywood.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Glorious, Rollicking, Intelligent, Madcap Mayhem..., 9 Aug 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
This is a full blooded Terry Gilliam film. It defies easy categorisation as all his films do. It's a morality tale, a swashbuckling adventure, a wicked comedy, a fantasy romp and a horror film all rolled into one.

It features excellent performances from all the leads, including an outstanding turn from Matt Damon as a preening, vain, overconfident con-man. The Bourne films clearly only use 1% of his acting ability - and here we get a full tour de force.

If you liked Munchhausen, if you liked Brazil - then you will love this.

If you want Van Helsing, a swords and corsets historical romance or you like your films explained to you every 5 minutes - then run away now...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Forget the nightmarish stories - it's an enjoyable fantasy romp, 1 Nov 2006
By 
Trevor Willsmer (London, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 100 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
It's tempting to imagine that the overwhelmingly negative reaction to Terry Gilliam's The Brothers Grimm was down to Harvey Scissorhands' reputation. After all, hadn't the film sat on the shelf for a year because Gilliam and the Weinsteins were arguing over the ending? Hadn't Harvey fired the cinematographer and (quite rightly in my opinion) insisted that Samantha Morton not be cast over Gilliam's wishes? And wasn't the film suddenly rushed out on the market as part of the mass dumping of other troubled Miramax/Dimension titles when the real-life Grim Brothers were making their lucrative slash-and-burn exit from Disney? How could it possibly be any good?

The big surprise is that it actually is. While the bad reviews all seemed to focus on how this almost certainly wasn't Gilliam's vision of the film because of all the problems (as if he's known for untroubled shoots) and went to town on it, I found it surprisingly entertaining and even more surprisingly well-constructed. The screenplay is often genuinely witty and imaginative, the much-derided look of the film and its special effects are both perfectly right for the film in their sense of studio/storybook reality, Dario Marianelli's score is beautifully effective and the film itself is a lot of fun despite Heath Ledger's typical mumbling losing some of the funnier lines. Pitched somewhere between George Pal and Time Bandits, it sees a well paired Matt Damon and Ledger (mumbling aside) scamming their way from village to village vanquishing theatrically faked demons and witches until they find themselves up against the real thing in the form of Monica Belluci's immortal child-snatching queen ("She's 500 years old and the years have not been kind, I'm telling you!"). There's never much doubt about the outcome, and Jonathan Pryce and Peter Stormare's comic relief in the Terry Thomas-Peter Sellers roles is clumsily overplayed, but if you're willing to go along with it and take it for what it is rather than what it should be, it's a lot of fun. All in all Gilliam's most satisfying film since 12 Monkeys. I loved it.

Gilliam's commentary avoids being too specific about the production problems while the two featurettes are typical promotional love-ins, but there's a good selection of deleted scenes, including an excellent battle with a living tree that's more exciting than anything in the picture proper.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars grimm but watchable.., 31 Mar 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Brothers Grimm [DVD] (DVD)
well what can i say, it's different, it's mulan rouge type different,
very well filmed, set, atmosphere etc but you do tend to lose track of all the stories involved ...seems to jumpy to enjoy really.
if you want to sit down with friends eating pizza and drinking booze probably a good film to get as you can carry on talking and just step back to the film anytime as you cant really follow it any how....very nice horses, if thats your thing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 29 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Brothers Grimm *PSP Movie* [UMD Mini for PSP] [2005] [US Import]
Used & New from: £7.99
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews