Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop All Amazon Fashion Up to 70% off Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Shop Amazon Fire TV Shop now Shop Fire HD 6 Shop Kindle Voyage Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

60
4.8 out of 5 stars
Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2)
Price:£27.97+£2.03shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
on 21 May 2006
I do not normally enjoy this type of game, but owing to the glittering reviews Resident Evil 4 received, I felt I would give it a go. Resident Evil 4 turns everything about the series on its head and vastly improves every aspect of it - from the graphics and sound to fundamental gameplay mechanics.

Resident Evil 4 is a BIG game. Not particularly in its length, which, at roughly 20 hours clocked time (but much longer when you take into account how often you die and have to re-start an area!) isn't too shabby, but in this scope and ambition. This is near cinematic-quality, and is certainly the most involving and thrilling game I have ever played. The games graphics are perhaps its strongest selling point, and to the untrained eye, mine included, could possibly appear to be even so -called `next-gen' in quality. The amount of detail is astounding, and everything is made up of pixels, with not a pre-rendered background in sight. Atmosphere is everything, from the dark and dingy surroundings, with fog and damp you can almost touch, to the eerie soundtrack and sound effects, including gentle breezes, harsh downpours, and even the firing of the weapon you are using. The animation is fantastic, and everything feels like it could just be real, which makes it all the more unsettling. The three main environments in Resident Evil 4 range from a village, a huge castle, and island fortress, although it is surprisingly well-varied, incorporating laboratories, mines, sewers, lakes and even lava pits.

The story is not particularly complex, but is very neatly executed, and leaves the door to a sequel wide open. Basically, you play as Leon S. Kennedy, an ex-cop and now government agent, and must rescue the President's kidnapped daughter from a church in a creepy Spanish mountain village, where the inhabitants have a murderous, possessed glint in their eye... What unfolds is a conspiracy where an evil cult lord and his insane aristocratic lackey attempt to take over the world.

The everyday enemies in RE4 are amazing, particularly the insane chain-saw wielding villagers (who favour decapitation), but the bosses are out of this world. The first boss you come across is an enormous monster living inside a lake. You must dispose of it by throwing harpoons at it before it devours you. As I said earlier, the animation is second to none. When you shoot a villager in the shins, they fall to the ground and start dragging them selves toward you. If they are carrying a weapon, and you shoot them in the hand, they will drop it. The action is fast and furious, although there are quieter areas where you can save your progress and purchase or upgrade weapons, which range from a handgun to a rocket launcher. Ammo is generally plentiful, and now you can save wherever you see a typewriter, which is a vast improvement over earlier games in the series

RE4 is essentially an action game, combining elements of FPS, stealth and puzzles, with a satisfying difficulty level. The camera is focused behind the playable character, allowing for a good range of vision, and you become rooted to the spot when you aim at an enemy, with a handy laser. This works very well, and allows for effective and accurate aiming.

Resident Evil 4 is an amazing and engrossing game with tons of replayability (I completed it three times in the space of a month!), and four difficulty levels. It is a must buy. That said, it is extremely violent, and some of it is disturbing. Definitely NOT for younger gamers.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 24 April 2006
This is one of the best games I have ever played on the PS2. I've played all the Resident Evil games which are all very good, but this is by far the best. This game was a christmas present and I have to be honest and say that I am still playing it and it's now the end of April!!

The game has a main story mode where you play the character Leon and you have to rescue the president's daughter, Ashley who joins you along the way. You also have to protect her at times which can make things interesting. You get to kill some very varied and challenging enemies along the way and the bosses all require different strategies to kill them.

What is good about this game is that there are many strategies you can use to complete the game, making each playthrough different. There are also 3 game modes available - easy, normal and professional.

You also get 3 side games - Assignent Ada (Mini Mission), Seperate Ways (Relates to the main story) and Mercenaries (Get high scores within a time limit) which are also all brillinat.

The game has excellent replay value as completeing the game/side games unlocks extra weapons and costumes. You can also carry weapons etc over to a new game.

This game is a MUST HAVE for any collection.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
on 10 November 2005
This is an exceptional game. Even if you are not a fan of the series i advise you to get this game now because it is a total departure.
Ive only played the first chapter and already there are shocks surprises and story twists applenty (a few moments of sheer panic). Make it to the first Boss battle and this game will hook you and not let go.
Happy gaming alround
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
This is truly a masterpiece of a game, a real gem.

With the inclusion of old friends from RE2 and similar items to get RE4 stays true to the series we all know and love.

With added 'Action' buttons and kicks and neck-breaking there is a breath of new life to an age old classic.

With visually stunning environs and superlative gameplay this RE4 is itself an untold classic. Many RE fans had doubts, myself included, about the modernisation of a cult classic. We thought 'would it work' and by heaven and hell it really did. There is the same old playbility with various unlockables that we are by now familiar with. There are also ones we are unfamiliar with and they are a welcome surprise too.

The merchant system again had question marks over it and yet again it fails to disappoint. With the exclusion of zombies we question its atmospheric, eerie quality, synonymous with former titles. Dont, its all achieved here as well.

There is undoubtedly more freedom and the new targetting system enhances RE 4 yet further.

The Mercenaries is a great side edition and a worthy challenge for any gamer.

Though i have given RE4 a glittering review there are other things that perhaps may have been improved, but they are only little things as the game is just exquisitely produced.

Though the environs are massive i feel that maybe elements of the GTA series may enhance this further as there are some places that are sealed off in the game.

Unlockables are good but an even better unlockable would perhaps be that some of the characters unlocked in the mercenaries game should have there own exhaustive adventure.

Overall an excellent game full of atmosphere, gameplay and pure class. Bring on Leons next adventure!!!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 3 April 2006
The last time I owned a Resident Evil game was Resident Evil 2 on the PS1 - I thought that was a great game...but this? This game is one of the best games I have played on the PS2 - it is awesome.
I won't bother with a plot summary as Amazon will have done it better than me, but you essentially play Leon and have to defeat the arch baddie and save the world - yadda yadda, usual stuff.
What makes this different is that the fixed point perspective is gone and now it is over-the-shoulder third person and it works so well. You stop when you shoot and rather than this being annoying it adds to the realism of the game. Also, new for Resident Evil, is that you can now buy and upgrade weapons with a merchant so collecting money and treasure has a real purpose.
There are lots of weapons at your disposal and you need not even bother with the new ones (I have completed the game with the original set) and you can modify those weapons fully so that you end up being pretty tooled up. The weapons all 'feel' great and the shotgun feels particularly punchy.
There is a huge range of baddies to try out these weapons on and they get slowly tougher as you get quicker - they are not harder to kill (they don't require any more shots) they just have different...tactics, which really spices it up. There are also many boss fights (which I am not a fan of) but they are good fun. Also, in keeping with the series, there are puzzles which (again) are far too easy - they really do need to try harder with these.
The game is truly beautiful to look at and sometimes the atmosphere is genuinely creepy with the right mix of action and suspense. Some of the voice acting is pants but the music is very good, I think.
This is a very good game indeed and I have no hesitation in recommending it to own - but, a free piece of advice: be frugal with your ammo!
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 26 January 2006
This is a fantastic game and will be difficult to beat for future games in the series. The game is complete in almost every way. Graphically the game is as good as almost any other console game available. This is achieved with a soft grainy wash combined with mainly dull earthy colours and tones. The combination results in fantastically effective and involving graphics. The game play is relatively simple and sticks to the past Resident Evil style. It takes very little time to become accustomed to the movement system, and although comments have been passed about the camera angles I did not find it a problem.
The game offers approx. 20 hours of game play when played on the ‘normal’ setting. I found at no point during these hours did I suffer any boredom as the game flows at a pace that allows for no stagnation. The difficulty has been gauged to the exact point to offer a healthy challenge without to many sticking points. This for me is always a bonus, as I hate to be stuck for hours at any one point.
I am sure that you are already familiar with the story line as well as the actual game play so I will not repeat.
The only true weak point throughout the whole game was the terrible dialogue. It is ‘corny’ to say the least. It must have all made sense in Japanese, but in English it just sound ridiculous. This doesn’t detract too much from the game, but could have been better.
Although the game is fantastic and I give it a full five stars I feel it could have been still a better experience. The game is obviously of the horror genre and promises much nervous tension and a fright or two along the way. The problem comes in the fact that although it offers these sensations it is quickly evident after playing for a couple of hours that they are not delivered. I initially crept around every darkened corner expecting a zombie to jump out and have me leaping into the air. I am sure if it had happened I would have jumped, but it just never happened. I eventually figured it was not going to occur and proceeded with less caution. Even just one or two shocks would have been enough. There were a couple of little surprises but it could have been so much better. I really felt that I was playing a censored version: plenty of blood but not enough shock. With a few jumps it would have been even more memorable than it was. Maybe they could bring out a Directors cut.
This is however a fantastic game and should not be missed.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
I guess the Resident Evil series has always had the cinematic horror area of the market cornered. And RE4 far from giving the usual evolution over revolution supplied by previous titles such as the, admittedly brilliant, Code Veronica X and Resident Evil Zero, totally sets fire to the rule book and kicks it out the window. I think that for the first time in the series the emphasis has shifted away from beautiful looking, largely un-interactive environments to bleak, grimy-looking full 3D environments where fast-paced combat, stylish gun-play and interactive set-pieces are the name of the game. The slow burning mystery element of the Resident Evil puzzles of old is gone replaced with much more simple and direct switch, key and lock based set of problems. Where the meat of the older games lay in solving, often complex problems RE4 requires the player to use movement and interaction with the environment to outgun your numerous opponents and move rapidly through the landscape. Ammunition and healing items are plentiful and the inclusion of a weird cockney (!) merchant who appears with almost supernatural regularity to buy and sell weapons is a very nice touch. Where the game really wins through is not with the emphasis on action but on the brilliant script and story. Sure, the dialogue is still cheesy as hell. After all this is Resident Evil. But miniscule loading times and brief, seamlessly blended cut scenes make the whole thing feel more like an interactive horror film than any previous game of its kind. The cut-scenes are also expertly blended with numerous insanely thrilling set-pieces and boss encounters. In order not to spoil any surprises I won’t go into these but will go as far as to say the siege in the cottage is utterly brilliant and the section where Leon holds off would-be attackers while Ashley indulges in a little problem solving is even better.
If there is anything to criticise in this game it is that the environments are a tiny bit samey. And it would have been good to see a bit more Resident Evil-style control rooms and labs in the latter levels. It would have also been nice to see a little more costume variety in your attackers, particularly the villagers in the earlier levels. But believe me, when you see the game you will realise just how minor these gripes are.
To conclude, this may prove to be one of the last truly great games on the PS2 and certainly bring its reign to a glorious finale. With RE5 already scheduled for release on the Xbox360 and PS3 I couldn’t be more excited about where the series will go from here. Lets have more of these and (a lot) less of pants like RE Outbreak.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
on 10 November 2005
The difference between this version and the normal version is that with this version you get a small section from the official guide book. Oh, and it has a nice metallic case. Other than that, I don't think the game content is different.
First things first. The basic story is that you control Leon Kennedy (from RE2) and you have to rescue the President's daughter.Obviously the plot is a lot more detailed than that, but I don't want to spoil it for you.
Graphics - Actually very good. It reminds me somewhat of Metal Gear Solid 2.Crisp, and no dodgy polygon in sight.
Sounds - Range of gun sounds is great. The background music is chilling and is up there with the best horror movies. It makes the game very atmospheric.
This is very different to the other RE games. The backgrounds can be fully interacted with and not static like the past games
(think about MGS2), if a 'zombie' throws an axe at you, you can shoot it mid-air. The enemy is actually not zombies - they run at you and use weapons to attack you (dynamite,pitchfork etc).
I would say that the game verges on the short side, but this doesn't deprive the game from an enjoyable experience. In the relatively short space of time a HUGE amount of action is packed in it.Even if you complete the game, there are many extra bonuses to unlock to increase longetivity.
To come to a conclusion, this is a stunning game. Definately one of the best games on the PS2. Fans of the RE series will love it, and if you're a newcomer you should try it out. An epic on all fronts.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 9 November 2005
The world of resident evil has changed, umbrella no longer exist and thus the world is a safer place... or is it! For resident evil 4 has reinvented itself just as the genre that it has founded was starting to stagnate a little. Gone are the zombies, fixed camara angle and limited ammo. This game is all about the fast paced action, without losing any of the scares or game time, and the game absolutely ozzes quality. The only complaint is the slightly trick weapon aiming system that capcom have implemented and the lack of being able to move sideways, but ultimately this leads building up the fear and suspence. Easily one of the best game out this year (2005), you simply can't afford to miss it, order it now.
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse
3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
on 2 November 2006
i have been playing this game since March and cant get enough of it...nothing seems to compare anymore it is that good. If you play this game over and over again you are bound to come up with some new shockers..like yeah if you shoot the merchant for fun he dies and does not come back to sell you any goodies so ur asss is pretty much kicked and yes while some of you may be using a knife to tear open some boxes you can end up killing the girl if she is standing right near you yes i learnt these things the hard way...so for any of u people who have still not played the game shud be ashamed of yourself take that money and go and buy ;}
0CommentWas this review helpful to you?YesNoSending feedback...
Thank you for your feedback.
Sorry, we failed to record your vote. Please try again
Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See all 2 answered questions

     
 
Customers who viewed this item also viewed
Resident Evil 4 (PS2)
Resident Evil 4 (PS2) by Sony (PlayStation2)
£14.23

Resident Evil 4 (PS2) Platinum
Resident Evil 4 (PS2) Platinum by Capcom (PlayStation2)
£12.50

 
     

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.