Customer Reviews


59 Reviews
5 star:
 (51)
4 star:
 (6)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:
 (1)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy
I do not normally enjoy this type of game, but owing to the glittering reviews Resident Evil 4 received, I felt I would give it a go. Resident Evil 4 turns everything about the series on its head and vastly improves every aspect of it - from the graphics and sound to fundamental gameplay mechanics.

Resident Evil 4 is a BIG game. Not particularly in its length,...
Published on 21 May 2006 by ssl2003

versus
1.0 out of 5 stars This game is terrible
I don't see why everyone is saying RE4 is good, its clearly a pile of rubbish, its what started the RE action rubbish off in the first place, its not scary, its boring and it doesn't feel like RE. If you want my advice stick to RE1-CVx, which are the best in the series and always will be.
Published 6 months ago by Matt


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

18 of 19 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A must buy, 21 May 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
I do not normally enjoy this type of game, but owing to the glittering reviews Resident Evil 4 received, I felt I would give it a go. Resident Evil 4 turns everything about the series on its head and vastly improves every aspect of it - from the graphics and sound to fundamental gameplay mechanics.

Resident Evil 4 is a BIG game. Not particularly in its length, which, at roughly 20 hours clocked time (but much longer when you take into account how often you die and have to re-start an area!) isn't too shabby, but in this scope and ambition. This is near cinematic-quality, and is certainly the most involving and thrilling game I have ever played. The games graphics are perhaps its strongest selling point, and to the untrained eye, mine included, could possibly appear to be even so -called `next-gen' in quality. The amount of detail is astounding, and everything is made up of pixels, with not a pre-rendered background in sight. Atmosphere is everything, from the dark and dingy surroundings, with fog and damp you can almost touch, to the eerie soundtrack and sound effects, including gentle breezes, harsh downpours, and even the firing of the weapon you are using. The animation is fantastic, and everything feels like it could just be real, which makes it all the more unsettling. The three main environments in Resident Evil 4 range from a village, a huge castle, and island fortress, although it is surprisingly well-varied, incorporating laboratories, mines, sewers, lakes and even lava pits.

The story is not particularly complex, but is very neatly executed, and leaves the door to a sequel wide open. Basically, you play as Leon S. Kennedy, an ex-cop and now government agent, and must rescue the President's kidnapped daughter from a church in a creepy Spanish mountain village, where the inhabitants have a murderous, possessed glint in their eye... What unfolds is a conspiracy where an evil cult lord and his insane aristocratic lackey attempt to take over the world.

The everyday enemies in RE4 are amazing, particularly the insane chain-saw wielding villagers (who favour decapitation), but the bosses are out of this world. The first boss you come across is an enormous monster living inside a lake. You must dispose of it by throwing harpoons at it before it devours you. As I said earlier, the animation is second to none. When you shoot a villager in the shins, they fall to the ground and start dragging them selves toward you. If they are carrying a weapon, and you shoot them in the hand, they will drop it. The action is fast and furious, although there are quieter areas where you can save your progress and purchase or upgrade weapons, which range from a handgun to a rocket launcher. Ammo is generally plentiful, and now you can save wherever you see a typewriter, which is a vast improvement over earlier games in the series

RE4 is essentially an action game, combining elements of FPS, stealth and puzzles, with a satisfying difficulty level. The camera is focused behind the playable character, allowing for a good range of vision, and you become rooted to the spot when you aim at an enemy, with a handy laser. This works very well, and allows for effective and accurate aiming.

Resident Evil 4 is an amazing and engrossing game with tons of replayability (I completed it three times in the space of a month!), and four difficulty levels. It is a must buy. That said, it is extremely violent, and some of it is disturbing. Definitely NOT for younger gamers.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars WOW!!, 10 Nov 2005
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
This is an exceptional game. Even if you are not a fan of the series i advise you to get this game now because it is a total departure.
Ive only played the first chapter and already there are shocks surprises and story twists applenty (a few moments of sheer panic). Make it to the first Boss battle and this game will hook you and not let go.
Happy gaming alround
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars hooked, 2 Nov 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
i have been playing this game since March and cant get enough of it...nothing seems to compare anymore it is that good. If you play this game over and over again you are bound to come up with some new shockers..like yeah if you shoot the merchant for fun he dies and does not come back to sell you any goodies so ur asss is pretty much kicked and yes while some of you may be using a knife to tear open some boxes you can end up killing the girl if she is standing right near you yes i learnt these things the hard way...so for any of u people who have still not played the game shud be ashamed of yourself take that money and go and buy ;}
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The best Resident Evil Game ever!, 24 April 2006
By 
C. R. North (Kent, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
This is one of the best games I have ever played on the PS2. I've played all the Resident Evil games which are all very good, but this is by far the best. This game was a christmas present and I have to be honest and say that I am still playing it and it's now the end of April!!

The game has a main story mode where you play the character Leon and you have to rescue the president's daughter, Ashley who joins you along the way. You also have to protect her at times which can make things interesting. You get to kill some very varied and challenging enemies along the way and the bosses all require different strategies to kill them.

What is good about this game is that there are many strategies you can use to complete the game, making each playthrough different. There are also 3 game modes available - easy, normal and professional.

You also get 3 side games - Assignent Ada (Mini Mission), Seperate Ways (Relates to the main story) and Mercenaries (Get high scores within a time limit) which are also all brillinat.

The game has excellent replay value as completeing the game/side games unlocks extra weapons and costumes. You can also carry weapons etc over to a new game.

This game is a MUST HAVE for any collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars One of the best game of the year (period), 9 Nov 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
The world of resident evil has changed, umbrella no longer exist and thus the world is a safer place... or is it! For resident evil 4 has reinvented itself just as the genre that it has founded was starting to stagnate a little. Gone are the zombies, fixed camara angle and limited ammo. This game is all about the fast paced action, without losing any of the scares or game time, and the game absolutely ozzes quality. The only complaint is the slightly trick weapon aiming system that capcom have implemented and the lack of being able to move sideways, but ultimately this leads building up the fear and suspence. Easily one of the best game out this year (2005), you simply can't afford to miss it, order it now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars You wont regret buying this, but your Girlfriend might., 11 July 2006
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
...just buy it.

Ive never liked any of the other Resident Evil games before, but when my mate lent me this game i have been HOOKED.

Totally new game play makes it interesting, and although the right-up-your-arse camera angle is annoying at first, within five minutes your glad it was there.

Freaky as hell, gorey, great but not over complicated puzzles, stuff to collect, and actually intlelligent (for undead farmers) AI makes this an absolute must.

Great graphics, great original storyline and setting, and great charictures make it incresingly entertaining and enthrawling. This Limited Edition comes in a swanky tin case too. What more could you ask more?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Masterful, 20 Mar 2007
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
This is truly a masterpiece of a game, a real gem.

With the inclusion of old friends from RE2 and similar items to get RE4 stays true to the series we all know and love.

With added 'Action' buttons and kicks and neck-breaking there is a breath of new life to an age old classic.

With visually stunning environs and superlative gameplay this RE4 is itself an untold classic. Many RE fans had doubts, myself included, about the modernisation of a cult classic. We thought 'would it work' and by heaven and hell it really did. There is the same old playbility with various unlockables that we are by now familiar with. There are also ones we are unfamiliar with and they are a welcome surprise too.

The merchant system again had question marks over it and yet again it fails to disappoint. With the exclusion of zombies we question its atmospheric, eerie quality, synonymous with former titles. Dont, its all achieved here as well.

There is undoubtedly more freedom and the new targetting system enhances RE 4 yet further.

The Mercenaries is a great side edition and a worthy challenge for any gamer.

Though i have given RE4 a glittering review there are other things that perhaps may have been improved, but they are only little things as the game is just exquisitely produced.

Though the environs are massive i feel that maybe elements of the GTA series may enhance this further as there are some places that are sealed off in the game.

Unlockables are good but an even better unlockable would perhaps be that some of the characters unlocked in the mercenaries game should have there own exhaustive adventure.

Overall an excellent game full of atmosphere, gameplay and pure class. Bring on Leons next adventure!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Evil as it should be, 25 April 2006
By 
Finlay Meldrum "Sikth86" (Kirriemuir) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
= Fun:5.0 out of 5 stars 
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
The thing that has to be said is,it really is that damn good! The series has been given a breath of fresh air with this entry and i know im not the only one who was wanting something a little different,and this definatly delivers the goods. I did find the free aim system a little odd to begin with but you do get used to it, one of the biggest improvements is enemy AI no longer do huts or houses guarantee refuge as the villagers will happily kick the door/windows in and in some cases put ladders up to climb in second storie windows. All in all this game has to be a part of any survival horror fans collection if there is a minor gripe is that once you come across Ashley,you really have to keep her close as she cant defend herself at all and doesnt carry weapons but this adds to the tension thats built up,even though it can be frustrating at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Survival Horror at it's very, very best, 3 April 2006
By 
MrShev "mrshev" (Gloucestershire, UK) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
The last time I owned a Resident Evil game was Resident Evil 2 on the PS1 - I thought that was a great game...but this? This game is one of the best games I have played on the PS2 - it is awesome.
I won't bother with a plot summary as Amazon will have done it better than me, but you essentially play Leon and have to defeat the arch baddie and save the world - yadda yadda, usual stuff.
What makes this different is that the fixed point perspective is gone and now it is over-the-shoulder third person and it works so well. You stop when you shoot and rather than this being annoying it adds to the realism of the game. Also, new for Resident Evil, is that you can now buy and upgrade weapons with a merchant so collecting money and treasure has a real purpose.
There are lots of weapons at your disposal and you need not even bother with the new ones (I have completed the game with the original set) and you can modify those weapons fully so that you end up being pretty tooled up. The weapons all 'feel' great and the shotgun feels particularly punchy.
There is a huge range of baddies to try out these weapons on and they get slowly tougher as you get quicker - they are not harder to kill (they don't require any more shots) they just have different...tactics, which really spices it up. There are also many boss fights (which I am not a fan of) but they are good fun. Also, in keeping with the series, there are puzzles which (again) are far too easy - they really do need to try harder with these.
The game is truly beautiful to look at and sometimes the atmosphere is genuinely creepy with the right mix of action and suspense. Some of the voice acting is pants but the music is very good, I think.
This is a very good game indeed and I have no hesitation in recommending it to own - but, a free piece of advice: be frugal with your ammo!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Justified Praise, 10 Feb 2006
This review is from: Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2) (Video Game)
I have not played any of the previous Resident Evil games so this was my first outing into the franchise.
Leaving aside the plot which sort of combines Southern Comfort with Alien, this is a superb game and highly addictive.
This is a long game and well put together. It's very playable and has enough twists, turns, challenges and changes of scenary to keep even the most critical of players happy.
I particularly like the weapon trade-ups which do need careful thought and consideration on how to spend one's money best.
I also like the fast loads - excellent for a game of this type.
My only criticism is aimed at the repetition of some of the baddies - too many who look the same. I think Capcom could have been more inventive here but nonetheless, one of the best games I've played in a very,very long time and worth the title of "Best Game 2005".
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 26 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Resident Evil 4: Limited Edition (PS2)
18.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews