Customer Reviews


28 Reviews
5 star:
 (19)
4 star:
 (5)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did it have to end?
Their missions aren't impossible...they just make them look that way.
Sometimes you wonder just what a show has to do to last more than one season. I don't know who the people behind TLG ticked off to get the show cancelled but whatever happened it cost us fans dearly.
The success of the lone gunmen characters in the X-Files suggested that a spin off...
Published on 21 Feb 2006 by Eve

versus
13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange series, lacking the X-files finesse
I recently purchased this series after months of keep picking it up in the local shop. I'm a big X-files fan so expected the same quality. Strangely after episode 2 i began thinking 'Why did i buy this again?". But in fairness i became more and more interested as it went on. Guest appearances from Mulder, Scully and Skinner aided the storylines enough to keep the X-file...
Published on 5 Oct 2007 by tennunb


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

30 of 32 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Why did it have to end?, 21 Feb 2006
By 
Eve (stoke on trent, staffs United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Their missions aren't impossible...they just make them look that way.
Sometimes you wonder just what a show has to do to last more than one season. I don't know who the people behind TLG ticked off to get the show cancelled but whatever happened it cost us fans dearly.
The success of the lone gunmen characters in the X-Files suggested that a spin off would be a sure thing and ratings wise it was right up their with the early seasons of the X-Files..so ratings can't have been the reason to cut it short.
For those that don't know The Lone Gunmen were recurring characters from the X-Files, socially inept paranoid geeky computer hackers on a mission to uncover the truth and publish it in their paper. Along the way they pick up a lumpy intern and a femme fatale who may or may not be on their side...you can keep your Dark Angel rip off.
Yeah I know it sounds bad but the show was funny, weird and at times thought provoking, as already mentioned the pilot episode about terrorists crashing a plane in the WTC 6 months before it happened is downright creepy.
My main complaint is how things end..not because it ends but there are far too many plot holes to be convincing, you'll see what I mean.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


13 of 14 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Strange series, lacking the X-files finesse, 5 Oct 2007
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I recently purchased this series after months of keep picking it up in the local shop. I'm a big X-files fan so expected the same quality. Strangely after episode 2 i began thinking 'Why did i buy this again?". But in fairness i became more and more interested as it went on. Guest appearances from Mulder, Scully and Skinner aided the storylines enough to keep the X-file fans happy. Although it doesnt have the X-files finesse it delivers the lighter side of what X-files was trying to achieve. It was fun, very watchable and by the time i finished the boxset i was craving more.

If you buy it don't expect the X-files quality as it is very different but still good viewing.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars X Files fans should already have this in their collection!, 16 July 2010
By 
C. A. Wilson (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Length:: 0:39 Mins


I loved it, all the way through. Shame they only made one season of it. They were a highlight of the X-Files for me, as for many other fans, and they don't disappoint here. Buy it!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars I really wanted to like this more than I did!, 17 Jan 2013
By 
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
As a huge fan of The X-Files, I decided to watch the whole series straight through after picking up all nine seasons in the big box set and run Millennium and The Lone Gunmen alongside at the correct times. I'd not seen either sister/tie-in show properly and found Millennium season one terrific before crashing and burning with season two. There had been a couple of great X-Files episodes featuring the Gunmen as leads during show's run, one without Mulder and one without Scully, which amply demonstrated the potential for a Gunmen show.

So what went wrong? I think somewhere along the way the creative team for the Gunmen series (not the actual characters' creators Glen Morgan and James Wong) misunderstood what makes the characters work. From my point of view, these guys have an oddball, clown-like image, but they are ***very*** competent at what they do. That's why Mulder, Scully and their successors use them. I can understand the need to introduce the character of Eve to avoid the show being a complete sausage-fest, but, all too often, Yves is used to make the boys look stupid. In the series, especially after Jimmy Bond is introduced, the Gunmen are turned into slapstick clowns, barely competent to unlock a door, let alone hack a database.

For all the thrills of the pilot episode, the rest of the series is a letdown, before just hinting at improving at the end. Frankly, while watching the show alongside seaon eight of The X-Files, it became a bit of a 'Ho hum! I'd rather stick with the X-Files!' situation.

It's like meeting a really amazing girl once in a while and really liking her company, but after starting to date her, realising that she's not nearly as interesting as she seemed to be. The show's a missed opportunity, but if you're a big X-Files fan like me, it's absolutely worth having for a few more hours in the quirky, paranoid universe of Chris Carter.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Bravo, guys, 13 Feb 2009
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
This is truly a show full of heart. You can tell that the guys who created this LOVE doing what they're doing - and they out-right tell you that in the commentaries in this box set.

Personally, I'm not a big X-Files fan (mostly because I don't have the stomach for it. I love the story lines, but I scare REALLY easily) so I don't have that `lets get hyped up for another alien thriller' mindset when I sit down to watch this. This is a completely different animal. It's more of a geek/dark comedy type show. If you've ever had geek friends that you NEVER understood when they spoke geek around you, then you'll find this movie vaguely reminiscent of that.

Also, considering this is the first season (and we should all be well aware of the miniscule budget shows have to work on while in the first season) they did a VERY good job at getting diverse on-sight locations and getting some of the X-Files actors to appear. But like I said, it's a show full of heart. And it doesn't cut corners (or at least it doesn't cut obvious ones). It gives a few good belly laughs and DOES leave you thinking `huh, now that was interesting' after every episode.

At the end of the day: it is NOT the X-Files. It is NOT a sitcom (hint The Big Bang Theory). It is a show on its own and should be viewed as such.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


31 of 37 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Great Series Cut Short, 28 Jan 2006
By 
James Cameron "Artist / Filmmaker / Nerd" (a world of my own) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
When "The Lone Gunmen" was shown in the US it was a smash-hit. At the time "The X-files" was winding down and suffering from poor stories and this series was the best thing going but was cancelled after 1 season for being anti-government (something fox doesnt like given its close ties to the higher powers in the US).
The pilot episode still gives me deja-vu, aired almost a year before 9/11, it's a hollywood "hero-saves-the-day" verison of the events that were repeated with disaterous results a year later - and the important "why-its-happeneing" speach makes you wonder if Bush saw this and then recreated it for the same reason - but thats another story.
The series contines with some seriously powerful and hard-hitting stories that sends chills down my back.
If you loved the lone gunmen while in the x-files, you'll love this series. A must have boxset.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


21 of 25 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Finally available!, 25 Jan 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I'm so happy this long-forgotten part of the "X Files" saga is available on DVD now. Chris Carter's second spin-off (after "Millennium") is directly based on charters from the long-running mystery show. However, it is more of a parody of the agent thriller genre (007 et al) than a serious contribution. This doesn't make the "Lone Gunmen" a bad show. On the contrary: it is very very funny and it is great to see three beloved TV characters again. The Lone Gunmen had numerous guest appearances on "The X Files". Their own short series is different as far as themes are concerned.
An interesting fact needs to be added here: the series was shot pre 9/11 but in the pilot episode, the Gunmen have to stop terrorists to crash a plan into the WTC. Thus, the episode wasn't broadcast at first after 9/11. It is really incredible to see such a coincidence as part of a TV show...
All X Philes and Chris Carter fans should really see this series!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Good, But Could've Been Better., 7 April 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
I loved the Lone Gunmen's appearances in the X-Files and was really looking forward to this box. The pilot episode was really good but I'm afraid from there it's downhill. The attempts at comedy in my opinion fall largely flat and some of the scenes (Frohike as martial arts expert or in lederhosen as the long lost son) are frankly cringe worthy. That's not to say it's all bad because it isn't and there's a lot here to enjoy which I did - I just wished they'd left out the additional "comedy".
Well worth a viewing if you're a fan, but if you haven't seen this before I'd advise you to rent this before you buy!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars no probs, 23 Jun 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
Brilliant spin off series to the x-files my only complaint about the series not the order was that it was left totally up in the air, other than that no complaints about the product or delivery
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Quirky but great fun, 9 Jan 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001] (DVD)
A great box-set of the 13 episodes of the Lone Gunmen, an amusing X-Files spin-off featuring the quirky and dysfunctional characters of Langly, Frohike and Byers, plus sidekicks (Jimmy, an irritating (in my opinion) idiot and Yves who often saves the day). I really enjoyed every episode, apart from the last one where it became clear there could never be a Series 2! They'd sort of run out of ideas by then anyway, truth be told. I got mine for less than 20 which I'd say is good (but not great) value.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Lone Gunmen: The Complete Series [DVD] [2001]
26.99
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews