Customer Reviews


102 Reviews
5 star:
 (58)
4 star:
 (17)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (4)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Business
On seeing this film i was expecting another Lock stock.... knock off but how wrong i was.Sure there are planty of Brit gangster cliche's like flashy suits,big guns and plenty of swearing but that aside this tale of cockney wide boys "livin' it large" in picturesque and sunny climates is pretty good.
Danny Dyer plays the lead character with enough boyish...
Published on 21 Jan 2006 by J. D. Naylor

versus
8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent gangster fairytale
I wouldn't normally go out of my way to watch a film like The Business. However, I bought a copy and have to say - I really did enjoy it. This movie isn't for everyone, and if you don't like your filmic subject matter to contain elements from the 'grimier side of life' - you're going to probably hate it. But, beneath all of this is an entertaining story. Not a serious...
Published on 3 Dec 2007 by Jazzman


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

37 of 42 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The Business, 21 Jan 2006
By 
J. D. Naylor "jazzfan" (England) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
On seeing this film i was expecting another Lock stock.... knock off but how wrong i was.Sure there are planty of Brit gangster cliche's like flashy suits,big guns and plenty of swearing but that aside this tale of cockney wide boys "livin' it large" in picturesque and sunny climates is pretty good.
Danny Dyer plays the lead character with enough boyish charm to carry it all off with aplomb amongst all the effing and blinding and tough cockney characters (and i'm only talking about the women ! serioulsly !).
There is a pulsating eighties soundtrack which i guess is a bit too much at times but brings back memories of Duran Duran,Lacoste T-shirts and brightly coloured shell suits.
The plot is wrapped up in a satisfying ending and at the end of an hour and a half of drugs,money,guns,girls,flash cars,flash boats,double and triple crosses,duran duran records and plenty of effing and blinding i was left well satisfied.
Not the greatest Brit gangster flick but certainly well above some of the post Lock Stock/Snatch efforts.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Decent gangster fairytale, 3 Dec 2007
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
I wouldn't normally go out of my way to watch a film like The Business. However, I bought a copy and have to say - I really did enjoy it. This movie isn't for everyone, and if you don't like your filmic subject matter to contain elements from the 'grimier side of life' - you're going to probably hate it. But, beneath all of this is an entertaining story. Not a serious dramatisation of life as a gangster, but more a sort of urban fable, and for that reason shouldn't be taken too seriously, yet still offers up morality for the viewer.

The characters are believable, and engaging. Plus, the movie doesn't out-stay its welcome and moves along at a brisk pace, and doesn't get boring or preachy one bit.

It's not a classic, but it's worthy of a watch.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 28 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good for a laugh, 18 Aug 2006
By 
James Aitken (London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
This is a pacy, tongue-in-cheek ganster movie set on the Costa del Crime in the 1980s. It tells the story of Frankie (Danny Dyer) who hooks up with two experienced South London crims (Charlie and Sammy) and becomes Charlie's right hand man (but Sammy's enemy). The story line tracks the rise of their criminal empire and subsequent dramatic fall. In that sense although there is an element of "glamour" in the look of the film, it cannot fairly be said to glamourise a life of crime.

One of the best things about this film is the cinematography. A lot of thought has gone into the sets and the "feel" of the film, and the detail with some of the 1980s sports fashion on display is pretty impressive (if amusing). One of the worst things about the film is the dialogue. The hackneyed "sarf Lundun" one liners start off by being amusing but end up getting on your nerves and spoiling the film. I'm not 100% convinced the script writers intended the dialogue to be as hilarious as it sounds.

The characters are well acted and believable. Particularly noteworthy, for me, was Geoff Bell as Sammy. He is utterly convincing as a total nutcase. Its also worth checking out the "alternative ending" provided on the DVD, which I thought was better than the "real" ending.

Coupled with a feel-good and authentic 1980s soundtrack this is pleasant, amusing, viewing - although its certainly no masterpiece.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A great film, 6 May 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
A great film, in typical Danny style. So if you're a fan you'll love it!! Fab soundtrack too for all those retro fans.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars better than expected, 16 April 2014
By 
schumann_bg - See all my reviews
(TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The Business is one of those capers where a couple of the characters are middling-to-awful and the rest are just plain awful. Into the former category come only two players, really: Frankie, played by Danny Dyer, and Charlie, played by Tamer Hassan. The tone is quite tongue-in-cheek, set up by a voice-over by Frankie. I can never follow these kind of dramas properly so it is an advantage to see it on DVD where you can replay key sections. The plot is quite well handled, but the best things are Charlie's woeful decline and delusion, which do seem real, and almost poignant, had he not been callous about the deaths of some Moroccan youths earlier in the film. Not that it draws attention to this, but he was one of the key figures responsible for their deaths as they transported drugs by boat to Spain.

The other asset is Frankie, a rude boy played as cocky but a bit vulnerable too, whose expressions get both these aspects. He seems more personable than he should, as if the whole escapade was more a gross error in judgement than anything, which is probably a factor in real life, often. The music is very good - plenty of Blondie and other hits of the time - and the Costa del Sol location helps, as do the 80s clothes. Frankie exudes a kind of sexiness as he struts around in 80s shorts trying to be what he isn't really, but there seems to be no going back.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Old but quality, 2 Mar 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
One of my all time favourite films. I've seen it several times but my daughter hadn't so I bought it so she could watch it and I could watch it again. Brilliant music throughout
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars This film is terrible. You must buy it now., 21 Jan 2011
This review is from: The Business [Blu-ray] (Blu-ray)
This film requires a very particular frame of mind when watching it. On the one hand, Nick Love has created a fairly serious film, with serious characters and a serious plot. On the other hand, the characters and plot are pushed - intentionally or not - across the line from serious to comedy. As an action film, this is a mediocre affair, and not worth watching without a reason. As a comedy, this film is one of the best I've ever seen.

Danny Dyer has picked up the unfortunate and undeserving title of being a "Mockney"; somebody who talks with a cockney accent and walks with a bit of a swagger, but who is secretly putting it on. I do not in any way believe Dyer, or in fact the rest of the cast, are putting on any of their mannerisms; I believe they are "artistically" enhancing their natural born talents and playing up to the stereotype. The film is littered with quotes which when framed as comedy, are hilarious. This is one of the few films I have ever watched entirely with the commentary; Dyer and Love team up for an hour and a half of pure comedy, including Love's love for Dyer's nan's "Bristols" (Hint: Bristol Citys).

Certain scenes in the film further enhance the comedy. Of particular note is Tamar Hassan's introduction as the owner of the club, "Champagne Charlies", as well as Dyer and Hassan's cruise along the waterfront (serving as an introduction to the setting and the East End born'n'bred supporting characters). The film manages to exude a surprising level of quality given its significantly small budget, and only in a few scenes are the monetary constraints evident. Most of the time though, this serves to further enhance the film!

I won't go into more detail than this; the easiest way to determine whether you would like this film is to prime yourself with clips off the web of Dyer and Love giving some "banta". If you find yourself chuckling with a mild sense of superiority, then chances are this film is worth it for the laughs.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 30 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Business is the business!, 8 Mar 2007
By 
D. Smith (East London, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
As somebody who actually worked out in Spain in the late 80's, I can say without a doubt that this film gets it spot on. Almost.

I suppose this film resonates with me because it was the first time I'd ever been either abroad or even on a plane. I landed at the airport and waited around for two hours to be collected by a German nutter called Ralf, who skinned up a joint immediately we got in the car and offered me a beer from the crate he had under the seat!

The characters that I came across were shallow, crude and basic; almost caricatures. The "chaps" that were on the run were invariably working class hard men who for various reasons, had to, "have it on their toes" away from Britain. They weren't exactly MENSA members. Remember also that this was a time when no extradition treaty existed between the UK and Spain, there was no EU and immigration control was virtually non-existent. There was also a huge amount of corruption, as local officials realised that they had these sort of people over a barrel and could use them to get away with all sorts of things. (The Marbella Town Hall scandal springs to mind. This goes right back to the 80's and has only come to light within the last year or two. I also have a friend who still lives out there, in a block built in 1988 and named after the bloke that financed it - with great big bundles of cash!)

To say that Sammy is not scary is just stupid; one of the scariest people I met out there was just like Sammy, even down to the curly perm but half his size! A complete psycho who enjoyed winding people up until they bit and then using this as an excuse to batter them with whatever implement came to hand. I saw more than a couple of big rugby playing, tough guy holidaymakers who didn't take him seriously, get beaten to a pulp. Right in front of everybody. There were never any witnesses though, strangely...
Picking up the points made about Georgina Chapman's character. Yes she was totally without charm or humour but getting hooked up with a psycho like Sammy could certainly make you that way! It's plainly obvious that she only cares about his money anyway, something else that I observed with many such mismatched couples out there. Remember back then also, the concept of the size zero supermodel wasn't around either!

The music in all the bars, clubs etc was a complete mish mash of stuff from all years of the 80's. It's certainly not supposed to be in year sequence in the film. This is the attitude that eventually gave rise to the Balearic scene, of just playing whatever you want to suit the mood and not caring about whether it was "cool" or not.

However, the above notwithstanding, there are a few things, that just don't ring true. For example, the main one for me, is they would never have dealt with the Dutch firm outside their own club. This would have attracted far too much attention and would have been taken care of far away from any prying eyes.
The Mayor would, in all probability, have had Sonny "taken care of" for doing what he did. The scene where they are trying out the bullet-proof vests in the quarry doesn't quite ring true either. A shotgun fired at the range shown would almost certainly have had a few pellets hitting Sammy, not just on his vest! Still hilarious though!

To compare this film to Goodfellas or The Godfather is patently ridiculous. Both films are classics of the American Mafia genre; however this is not something that this film aspires to in any way. (Especially with the miniscule budget Nick Love had.) This is a "nice little" film. As Danny Dyer's Frankie says in his voice over, "As my life got bigger, my world got smaller." This perfectly represents the coke induced paranoia that was starting to gain a foothold out there before I returned to the UK and very accurately represents the claustrophobia that happens when engaging in a life of, "crime, women and drugs," in a foreign country where you and most of your cohorts can barely even order a beer in the native tongue. You all stick together like glue and are suspicious of any outsiders.

Please just take this film for what it is: A funny, black comedy / homage to the 80's, based on a unique period in British crime history that requires, as with so many films, the willing suspension of disbelief.
And it's so obvious that the captions at the end are a wind up! I mean come on, "Frankie went to Hollywood!" "Sammy went to hell" "Carly went back to her parents in Penge" etc (Check out the Football Factory to get the Penge reference)

It's a cracking little film if you don't take it and yourselves so seriously!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 16 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Nick Love is no flash in the pan, 26 April 2006
By 
Mr. J. J. Noble "JimJNoble" (London, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
The third feature from Nick Love is, rather predictably, a lean and colourful blast of Cockney clichés and aggression. It is his most accessible film yet. Though the dialect is still stubbornly south London, the story is a familiar one for the crime genre, with the type of English characters not really seen on the other side of the Atlantic. This sense of novelty COULD endow Love with the beginnings of a cult following in America, and that can only be a very good thing.

It is set in the Thatcher years of the 1980s and tells the story of an idealistic young Peckham lad by the name of Frankie who, after killing his abusive stepfather, scarpers to sunny Spain to deliver a bag of 'biscuits' to Charlie, a former armed robber who fled to the 'Costa Del Crime' after a robbery went wrong thanks to the trigger-happy antics of his partner Sammy. Together, the pair have started up a lucrative drug running business, fronted by Charlie's exclusive club in Malaga. After successfully dropping off the money, Frankie is taken under Charlie's wing, much to the annoyance of Sammy, and begins to sink deeper and deeper into a life of crime. Initially, the high life is every bit as glamorous as he's always believed, but then the stakes get higher, and the hours get longer, and both Frankie and Charlie begin to take too much of a liking to sampling the 'product'...

The narrative forms a typical Rise and Fall structure familiar to the genre, but Love hooks this into the greedy conservatism of the period and, as a result, the film feels more weighty and culturally aware than some of its contemporaries. There are obvious parallels with GOODFELLAS, but if anything Love goes out of his way to reverse everything one expects from a Happy-go-lucky British gangster film. There are scenes of gut-wrenching desperation in the film's relentlessly powerful final act, after the tables have been turned on the playboys, which recalls the flat-out misery Love injected his short film LOVE STORY with (a trait that had been missing from his first two features). After a clunky opening with, frankly, poor dialogue, Love's script settles into an enjoyable, pacy story with colourful characters and a don't-fuck-about attitude. However, though his visual style is terrific, his ability to get great performances unparalleled, and his choice of music bang-on, Nick Love is in need of a writing partner - someone who will tighten his story to make sure that, from beginning to end, the script is taut and consistent. For, just as the beginning feels tacked on to explain Frankie's flight, so the climax of the film hinges on a character inconsistency, which does jar somewhat, and you get the feeling that Love just wanted to wrap things up and get to his triumphant ending.

Of course, this is a minor quibble, and said triumphant ending is certainly a crowd-pleasing one. It's a testament to the fact that Love actually CREATES characters in his films.

The performances are very good. Danny Dyer excels here as Frankie, with the right amount of lariness and vulnerability that he brought to his standout role as Tommy Johnson in THE FOOTBALL FACTORY. He looks more and more like an emerging star in the making, in the Ray Winstone mould, and it's about time more directors used him properly. Charismatic, charming and unsettling, Hassan is a memorable figure, and looks to have the talent to carve quite a niche for himself.

All in all, THE BUSINESS is a top-notch film with the broadest appeal of any that Love has so far produced. Powerful, exhilarating and at times genuinely funny, with a kind of crowd-pleasing triumph about it that you just can't teach or package.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Cor blimey, you mug, where's my Persil?, 25 Oct 2011
By 
Spike Owen "John Rouse Merriott Chard" (Birmingham, England.) - See all my reviews
(TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: The Business [DVD] [2005] (DVD)
After finally having seen enough of his father beating his mother, young Frankie takes a bat to his old man and goes on the run. Hooking up with gangster in waiting, Charlie, he finds himself in sunny Spain up to his neck in organised crime. Booze, women and drugs are merely parts of his everyday life, and it's glorious! But will it last forever?

The Business, not only a great and undervalued British punk band, but also a docile and just about average British gangster film. Directed by Nick Love {The Football Factory (2004) and the upcoming The Sweeney (2010)}, The Business could well have been viewed in a better light had it snagged a charismatic leading man and not followed in the wake of Guy Ritchie's Lock/Snatch films and Layer Cake. British gangster films are a tough genre to get right, and here, Love has failed to capitalise on what is his own very competent and potentially entertaining script. Choosing to go down the well trodden lovable rogue route instead of given some testicles to these supposedly dangerous characters, is a big mistake. This characters just come across as toothless dogs kicked out of kennels run by British gangsters from the past.

The casting problems are not, as many would have you believe, with wide-boy Danny Dyer. Dyer does a fine line as a cocky kid up to his neck in it, but grows in confidence and is the picture's one saving grace. As Charlie, and thus asked to carry the film, is Tamer Hassan, and sadly he's not up to the task. Occasionally shouting and waving a gun around is something any actor could have done, there's no real sense of believability with it. It's a shame because Hassan is a very capable actor, but he would be better served sticking to supporting roles, such as his effective turn in Layer Cake. Naturally a film of this type needs a loose cannon, a fierce and fearsome nut case, we don't get one. Eddie Webber's Ronnie is meant to be one, but it just never materialises, it instead comes out like a cardboard cut out job.

This film has some fans, and I would wager that those fans probably give big thumbs up to the likes of Essex Boys as well. But me, and I'm quite forgiving and biased with British films, I can't give this much credence. A truly excellent soundtrack full of 80s swagger and verve, and a likable crafty turn from Danny Dyer apart, it's not one to recommend with confidence. 5/10
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 211 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

The Business [DVD] [2005]
The Business [DVD] [2005] by Nick Love (DVD - 2006)
3.36
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews