Shop now Shop now Shop now Up to 70% off Fashion Shop All Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Amazon Fire TV Amazon Pantry Food & Drink Beauty Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars391
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CDChange
Price:£7.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 August 2007
At 51, I am surely not the type of listener the Arctic Monkeys were aiming for. But, having heard Johnnie Walker play the track "Mardy Bum" and being wowed by it, I got a young colleague to lend me his copy of the album. It's wonderful. On first hearing, my "elderly" ears were about to dismiss it as a row, then the lyrics got through. I think Alex Turner is as excellent a spokesman for his generation as Ray Davies, Paul Weller and Noel Gallagher before him. Much more appropriate (and clever) than the whingeing of the likes of James Blunt. A superb album.
11 comment81 of 88 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 December 2014
Probably one of the best albums ever released, certainly in the top five of this century. As much as I love the Arctic Monkey's later sounds, there's something raw and very British about their first album which is never quite seen again.
0Comment3 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2011
I'm probably in the biggest target target audience for this (late teen) but despite all the hype surrounding it along with all the criticism, I can't really see where most of the criticism comes from. If you're not into indie-rock then yes, you probably won't like the Arctic Monkey's debut particularly, but you're missing the point. The album is fulled with a bunch of fun and funky tunes with stories layered on top. Alex Turner, whilst his voice isn't as developed as say Humbug, adds to the rawness and feel of the record. The guitars and bass work well together to bring some neat tunes to the album, and the hard-hitting drumming is very well done, particularly on the album opener, "The View From The Afternoon".
My main gripe with this album is that each track isn't particularly different from each other, in terms of tone.

I ordered the Vinyl of this because I knew the CD wasn't very well mastered, and the large gate and sleeve is a nice addition to anyone's collection. The vinyl sounds allot nicer to my ears than the CD, with more smooth and audible bass, although there is still some compression applied.
0Comment4 of 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 January 2006
I have been very skeptical about how many bands have been hyped up in the last few years and failed to deliever. However, yesterday I walked into Fop in Sheffield, heared two songs, and bought the album.
The music of the Arctic Monkeys brilliantly ashrines the energy of bluesy-rock, cascading the professionalism of the 22 20s in favour of a down to earth and strictly personal account of life. The guitar work with a multitude of diverse and unpredictable clean-toned riffs, rhythms and solos is something Razorlight would be proud of, and shows exceptional musical maturity.
Finally, the vocalist's vigour and personality in devling into youthful tales of beer, birds, and clubs, is very refreshing.
Precisely because of the band's modesty and so stated lack of spoecific intention to hit the big time,the album is competely self-confident. In this sense, Alex Turner's vcoal swager earns it right of comparison to Liam Gallagher's rugged 'attitude'.
This album may be tainted by cynics of commericalisation...but at the end of day, the public demand, want, and expect great music.Does buying this record make me a trendy bankwagon-jumping NME swot? Probably, even though I don't read it very often, but I don't care because I just bought a great record.
0Comment2 of 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2007
Now, don't believe all the negative reviews. So yes, the guitarist may not be Slash, and the singer might not be up to that standard of Matt Bellamy, but hey. These tunes are as catchy as ever, and the drumming, I think, is rather great. When the sun goes down is very good with the quiet bits at the start and end, and a fabulous main section. Dancing Shoes, once again is a good ol' fun singalong song!

Definitely recommended, and showing a lot of promise.
0Comment5 of 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 January 2006
Putting raw talent aside, what makes the Arctic Monkeys stand out? They have that rare, precious ability to appeal to all ages. I'm 49 but they make me feel 18 again. Great lyrics about small town teens touch on universal themes. And that amazing voice could do for Sheffield what The Beatles did for Liverpool. This is a great first album
0Comment35 of 48 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2007
Even before listening to their music, this band is interesting in two respects: their age (all members were 19-20 y.o. when the album was released in January 2006) and the way their songs became popular even before the release of their first album through demo tapes and, more importantly, file-sharing on the net. As a result, not only were people able to sing along during their gigs before the songs were officially published, but their album was the fastest sale for a debut album in the UK. Some critics however pointed out that they have also beneficiated from a strong support by the highly influential music magazine NME, earning them the label of "NME band". They've refused to appear on UK television since late 2005 or at prizes ceremonies, like the Brit Awards, adding to the controversy surrounding them

Anyway, once you strip away the hype, what's left? Well, I'd say a pretty decent first album, which musical landscape is a bit of a "the Clash meet Trainspotting", combining a sound bordering on the punk rock of the former with a contagious, albeit sometimes unfocused, youthful energy and lyrics reflecting the realities of working class life but devoid of the strong political positions ever present with Joe Strummer. With more than half the songs running below 3 minutes, and only two above four, it is extremely fast-paced. This is especially true of the first half of the album, which runs more on raw energy than anything else and, as a result, passes you by in a bit of a chaotic blur, despite the highly recognizable and entertaining first single "I Bet you look good on the dancefloor"

Things change, however, with the quieter and somewhat moody "Riot Van", allowing the listener to finally enjoy the rich and surprisingly nuanced voice of lead singer Alex Turner; and they keep improving over the last half-dozen of songs. The more measured energy distiled let us better appreciate other aspects of their music: the more intricate structure of "Perhaps Vampires is a bit strong but...." and "A certain romance", the clever rhythm of "Red Light indicates doors are secured", and when the pace picks up again ("When the Sun goes down"), it isn't as overwhelming as it feels gratifying and pleasurable

They came top in a good number of "top album of the year" lists. I can't agree, as I think others would far more deserve that honor - Midlake's "The Trials of Van Occupanther", Band of Horses' "Everything all the time", M Ward's "Post War", Editors' "The Back Room", not to mention sensation Gnarls Barckley's "St. Elsewhere" or, obviously, Thom Yorke's "The Eraser" all come to mind instead. Arctic Monkeys are a lot of things, but original is not one of them. There's no original sound, no ambition to break new grounds. But their enthusiasm is contagious, and they do propose an overall highly enjoyable first act, and deserve to be watched out for their next album, rumored to be released as early as late Spring this year
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2005
If you like honest gritty unpretentious rock/indie music you will love the Arctic Monkeys. The sound they go for is more akin to 70s punk than modern indie rock. Whoever produced this album did a fantastic job in capturing the essence of what a rock band should be. There's plenty of space in the mix and theres a great energy that comes through all the tracks. They captured the performance of a great band, rather than just an overproduced, overpolished, sanitized studio album.
The songs are all at the least good and alot are exellent. Lots of great catchy guitar riffs and great vocals. They seemlessly intersperse ballsy funky rock guitar riffs with in yer face punk riffs, and ocaisional mellow indie jangly riffs. And over the top of it all you get witty & gritty ramblings about mordern life.
If i had to describe them in terms of other bands i'd say they are like a mix of The Pixes, The Clash and the Hives. But to label them as being like any one other band would be a great dis service to them. They have their own thing going on, and its a joy to hear.
0Comment30 of 42 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2007
This album has moments of magic on it, well just over half of the album is magic but i'm afraid to say its overhyped and didn't live up to my expectations.

The very good songs are-

The View From The Afternoon

I Bet You Look Good On The Dancefloor

Fake Tales Of San Francisco

Dancing Shoes

Riot Van

Mardy Bum

When The Sun Goes Down

From The Ritz To The Rubble

A Certain Romance

Don't get me wrong, the Arctic Monkeys have produced some of there best work on their debut but the thing this album lacks is consistancy. If you want a 5 star very consistant album i would go for their recent album, Favourite worst nightmare.

This is a very good album, If you've got enough money by both of the Arctic Monkeys albums but if you have only got enough for 1, i would go for Favourite Worst Nightmare.

This band is a talent but their best is yet to come, probably after Favourite Worst Nightmare.

A Sold debut from a very good band.
0Comment4 of 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2006
I heard the rave review being given to the arctic monkeys on the radio and bought the album on a whim without ever having heard any of their music. What a fantastic album. The music rips in with a banging aggression that really gets you rocking and is quickly followed by lyrics that you just can't help but really listen to. Some of the tracks like Fake tales of san fransisco and from the rubble are pure poetry. I had to play mardy bum to my wife!! If you are married, listen to it and you'll know why.
0Comment7 of 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£8.99
£7.90

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.