Customer Reviews


14 Reviews
5 star:
 (13)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:    (0)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 
‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

11 of 11 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Enterprising Boccherini, 7 Aug 2011
By 
Mr. John Burnett (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
This excellent disc explores the familiar and less familiar sides of Boccherini. There is the familiar 'Fandango' Guitar Quintet and two Symphonies as well as the 'La Musica Notturna Delle Strade di Madrid' which was usd in the film 'Master and Commander'. The Concert des Nations play with style and skill and Jordi Savall is the conductor. The disc is recorded in a church whose ambience is beautifully caught by the engineers who achieve the right degree of warnth and clarity. I have listened in two channel SACD which is a complete revelation and demonstrates the superiority of the format over CD perfectly. (The cd sound on the disc is also very good). I simply don't know why the SACD format is now only available from a few enterprising independent labels.
Anyone wishing to explore this somewhat neglected composer should try this disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boccherini, 7 Mar 2011
By 
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
We first heard one of these tracks (La Musica Notturna di Madrid) on the film Master and Commander - it's the piece played by the two main characters at the end of the film. We had the subtitles on and quickly noted down the title. It's a delightful piece and the rest of the CD is a joy to listen to.
Granny Seaside
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Boccherini CD, 19 Nov 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
I have not been a fan of Boccherini until a mate let me listen to a CD of his,and now I am hooked.This is a fantastic CD with lots of great music on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Must have disc, 1 Dec 2009
By 
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
This is one of my favourite cd's. A friend of mine has recently borrowed it and I am missing it already. Track one is still my fav. Literally has me dancing in the lounge. The Girls Aloud of the 18th/19th Century.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 12 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The unfamiliar Boccherini, 15 Mar 2009
By 
Bruce Adams (UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
I am used to Boccherini's chamber music and so it came as something as a pleasant surprise to find that Boccherini's music had been used on the film 'Master and Commander' and was available. This is a mixed bag of styles but overall it rewards the listener right to the end.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Another cracker from Jordi Savall & Co., 12 April 2012
By 
L. A. Smith "LASmith" (Fareham. Hants. UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
Boccherini is unfortunately remembered mostly for a small, but sweet, minuet, a piece often played whilst children were assembling in the morning at my junior school many decades ago, but not in this compilation.

This CD is a superb collection, brilliantly played, of varied works. The 'Sinfonie' is excellent and should be played more often by Classic FM where Boccherini seems to be rather overlooked for it rivals anything by Mozart.

The only down side to these Savall recordings is the format of the packaging with a rather thick paper and card booklet taking up the space for a second disc.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars spain revisited, 8 Jan 2012
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
We've heard a number of recordings of Boccherini's "spanish" music, especially these guitar quintets. Each has a special interpretation, some better than others, some more evocative than others. The question is what would Boccherini have thought? In the "hands" of Jordi Saval, the quintets come alive in a more traditional manner. Not disappointed
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Loved It Played it and Played it Again..., 10 Dec 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
Loved It... A Long Lost Production??? From the Master and Commander Film... Joke this Came First!!! Great Music Loved it!!! Ted
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars irresistible, 29 Aug 2013
By 
Stanley Crowe (Greenville, SC) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
This is a beautifully recorded program of music by Luigi Boccherini consisting of two string quintets (one with the addition of guitar and castanets) and two symphonies, all written in the 1780's or so and thus contemporary with Haydn and the young Mozart. But Boccherini, Italian-born, had become a musician at the Spanish court from the mid-1770's on, and these pieces have a Spanish flavor that is quite irresistible. The oddest piece, designated a Quintet but really a suite, is based on the "music of the night in Madrid," and is really a piece of program music in which a string quintet imitates bells, drums, and winds in creating impressions, in brief movements, of the night noises of Madrid. It's clever but it's elegant too, and just beautifully done here, and the whole 7-movement piece comes in at under 14 minutes. The other quintet, subtitled the "Fandango," has a lovely pastorale opening (borrowed from another piece by Boccherini) but it's most notable for its final movement, the fandango itself, which is longer than the other two movements combined, but it captures the spirit of the dance with an engaging swing (castanets and guitar featured well) that as soon as it's over you want to hear again. The two short symphonies are played by the full Concert des Nations period instrument group, and their movements seem to be dance-based too, though not specifically Spanish. They don't outstay their welcome, and they're played with rich tone and commitment by this excellent group under the legendary Jordi Savall, whom most listeners might know from his association with the groups Hesperion XX and XXI. Boccherini was a cellist, and his cello concertos are well-known. Here's another side of him, and I find it totally charming.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Exciting Different, 30 July 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Boccherini: Fandango, Sinfonie & La Musica Notturna di Madrid (Audio CD)
this disk is different
the sound is inredible and even after several playings I feel transported to a happy vibrant world.
I can't wait to share it with my musical friends,i know they will enjoy the difference too
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Only search this product's reviews