Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars70
4.5 out of 5 stars
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 26 October 2010
It's an excellent series. A bit annoyed there weren't any extras. Also they left the intro and outro of the ads on discs 2 -10, i.e. 'The Vice' flashed up on the screen at the point where the ads would have been. A small quibble really.
11 comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 January 2016
The first story in the series of 'The Vice' was gripping. It took me a while to get into a couple of the stories (where are these going?). However I found the series riveting up until Ken Stott left, presumably spending the rest of the series in prison. Onwards without Ken, good plots seem to dry up. My biggest grumble of these last few stories without him was the quality of the actual filming...natural light, glaring highlights that put the faces of the actors out of focus, and on many occasion whited them out. Glaring lights and lamps of different colours with massive halos: once Ken left did the photographic team walk out in sympathy? Because I thought from then on the photographic reproduction was abysmal.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2014
this is fantastic i remember it when it first aired in January 1999 it was slick, Sleazy ... everything you could want in a cutting edge cop show i would recommend this to anyone who likes that sort of drama.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2006
The Vice was made in widescreen and you can see it that way on the regular ITV3 repeats. On this set only the final series is in the correct ratio - the others have sadly been cut down to 4:3. Some of the shots look far too cramped (remember that even on regular analogue TV the episodes were intended to be shown in a slightly letterboxed format) and the picture has been softened - not helpful when a lot of the series didn't look too sharp to begin with due to the moody style of lighting. On the plus side, the stories retain their episodic formats, which didn't happen on the old release of series 1. Only buy if you can't get ITV3.
0Comment|34 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 January 2012
Bought the Vice because of Ken Stott's performances as DI Rebus. The Vice lacks the humor, it is indeed so black and depressing that while on the 2nd dvd box I stopped watching: Stott's character is such a frustrated, lonely character in the darkest layer of society that I couldn't take it anymore. Entertaining up to a point, great acting.
11 comment|4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2014
A series of stories centring on a Vice Squad unit of the London Metropolitan Police. The writing is superb. Some stories will break your heart. The cast is high-powered. What is particularly impressive is that no punch is pulled which is not that usual. The sexual scenes are explicit but never gratuitous. The only quibble I have is that I wonder if the manner of how undercover police can be sexually compromised is realistic - it smacks of melodrama.I also wonder if the brazen corruption of one policeman is believable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 February 2014
A tough , gritty & compelling series with realistic scripts featuring excellent performances throughout the episodes but particularly Ken Stott and caroline Catz. The pace suffers slightly from Stott's characters departure midway through the second series but the writing and remaining ensemble carry it through. If you're a fan of crime drama then it really doesn't get much better than this .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 December 2015
Made at the height of the Blair administration - come back, Tony, all is forgiven - The Vice was a drama following the lives of The Vice squad. Ken Stott excelled as the boss, while Caroline Catz oozed sex appeal. Modern without becoming silly; The Vice took TV Drama to new heights, or lows (whatever, your preference); in the 00's.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 March 2014
Missed the original showing as abroad at time. An old repeat on tv prompted purchase and this series does not disappoint. Excellent acting and script and great stories with unusual twists. Highly recommend. Packaging and delivery excellent.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2014
A1 Recommend
0Comment|2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)