Customer Reviews


44 Reviews
5 star:
 (25)
4 star:
 (8)
3 star:
 (4)
2 star:
 (3)
1 star:
 (4)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars silver dream racer
why have they chopped off the end of the film? i was so pleased to see it on dvd, only to find it as been ruined.
now i wait until it is released intact how long will that be?????
Published on 19 July 2004 by neilrh_1

versus
21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What were they Thinking of
This is a great film which has been shamelessly ruined by Carlton for cutting the end of the film. It ends like a murder mystery film without a conclusion. The viewers dont realise this film has a shocking ending. Instead it just freezes the action and rolls the credits. What were Carlton thinking of. Shame on you
Published on 6 Oct 2003 by icecoolpsycho


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

21 of 21 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars What were they Thinking of, 6 Oct 2003
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
This is a great film which has been shamelessly ruined by Carlton for cutting the end of the film. It ends like a murder mystery film without a conclusion. The viewers dont realise this film has a shocking ending. Instead it just freezes the action and rolls the credits. What were Carlton thinking of. Shame on you
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


16 of 16 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars silver dream racer, 19 July 2004
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
why have they chopped off the end of the film? i was so pleased to see it on dvd, only to find it as been ruined.
now i wait until it is released intact how long will that be?????
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Silver Dream Racer, 26 Aug 2003
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
All in all a good film, although as mentioned above, the alternative ending, is just the film, with approx 3 mins cut, for no obvious reason :o(
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 7 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Not the Original, 11 Feb 2005
By 
Miss Michele Thrower (Kettering, Northants United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
This DVD does not state that this is the original film, but its had the explosive ending cut off, to make it an "alternative ending."
I am most disappointed because I was expecting the original film in full, and not having read the DVD cover where it states it has an alternative ending, because thats the whole story to win or lose.
I would reccomend anyone who wants this to buy the video with the original ending. This would be a nice film for anyone who has not seen the original.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5 of 5 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars IF YOU WANNA RIDE MY BIKE, ASK ME!, 5 Jun 2011
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
David Essex has made a few good films, and this one from 1980 is no exception.
He plays Nick Freeman, who leads a dull life working in a car parts department by day, wannabe motorbike champion on the weekend.
When his brother dies in a motorbike accident, he inherits a prototype bike that his brother built. His intentions thereon, is to race and win at Silverstone. Helped along by his friend, Cider, played by Clarke Peters. They find themselves up against tough competition with the cream of the professional bike racing community, with the best bikes, sponsors, and endless amounts of cash. Through this fraternity, he makes a rival, Bruce McBride, played by Beau Bridges. Christina Raines plays Beau Bridges girlfriend, but later leaves him for David Essex. The climatic race sequence will have you on the edge of your seat.
David Essex sings the theme tune 'Silver Dream Machine', as well as another midway through, 'Looking for Someone'.
Unlike an earlier release of this film on dvd, this one, from Network, is in the original 2.35:1 ratio, and has the full original ending. However, it is not anamorphic, so loses some quality, but is still watchable, and the only version out there in the correct ratio. It also has an alternative ending, which is a shortened ending of the original. Theatrical releases in the U.K. were left intact. However, this shortened ending was used in American prints. So the U.S. never saw the full ending as it was intended to be seen!
There is no problems with the soundtrack, which is mono.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Silver dream racer, 2 Sep 2009
By 
Daryl Pike - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
A brilliant film starring a young David Essex, as bike racer Nick freeman. After the death of his brother in a freak bike accident, Nick is given his brothers pet project, a one off engineered bike. Nick trys to get a sponsor, and then races the bike to podium.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ending, 16 Jan 2011
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
I have recently purchased this dvd and thoroughly enjoyed it,brought back memories.I found the ending just the same as it was on video,but you had an alternative ending which was the picture froze and then the end credits.But that was through choice.It ended how it should have ended,by him crashing.Very good.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars david essex silver dream racer, 2 Feb 2009
By 
M. mccann "save me" (Ireland) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
I remember watching this film many years ago and crying because of the sad ending. so when i remembered the film i had to see if i could get it on dvd. Its a good film and david essex as always in his fine fit young days was brilliant. Enjoyed watching it again
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars SIlver Dream Racer has not lost it's magic, 22 Nov 2006
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
I haven't seen this movie since the 80's and honestly I had forgotten the ending so it came as quite a horrible shock! It did 'make' the movie for me though and the 2 hours I spent watching it went quickly. I love a good old British flick and this really is a good one. It also evoked memories of that era .I have always been a David Essex fan when it comes to his live gigs but I had forgotten how good he was in this. He really was perfect for the role of Nick Freeman.I enjoyed the film and would recommend it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alternative Ending, 25 Jun 2003
By 
phil milsom (United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Silver Dream Racer [DVD] (DVD)
I found the packaging of the DVD to a high standard.
The sound and picure are not too bad,better than the mono Video
version.
The only dissapointement is that it states ALTERNATIVE ending,
when in fact all that has been done is that the last 3mins have deleted. WHY?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 25 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Silver Dream Racer [DVD]
Silver Dream Racer [DVD] by David Wickes (DVD - 2006)
6.00
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews