Customer Reviews


9 Reviews
5 star:
 (7)
4 star:
 (1)
3 star:
 (1)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming,simply charming.
In the days when ITV made comedy programmes this was a rare gem-one that was actually funny.
Sadly overlooked "A fine romance" centres on middle aged love and we the viewer realise that the over 40's are no different from the youngsters where matters of the heart are concerned.
Judi Dench and Michael Williams are excellent as the hapless Laura and Mike who...
Published on 17 Feb. 2006

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars OK
THIS IS NOSTALGIC TOOK ME BACK YEARS TO MY YOUTH I THINK THE VALUE OF THIS DVD IS EXCELLENT SO THERE
Published on 26 April 2013 by edith eastwood


Most Helpful First | Newest First

17 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Charming,simply charming., 17 Feb. 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
In the days when ITV made comedy programmes this was a rare gem-one that was actually funny.
Sadly overlooked "A fine romance" centres on middle aged love and we the viewer realise that the over 40's are no different from the youngsters where matters of the heart are concerned.
Judi Dench and Michael Williams are excellent as the hapless Laura and Mike who are singletons thrown together by well meaning relatives and friends.
By turns funny,cringe worthy and painful, this is a beautifully crafted series,highly recommended.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars funny series, 7 April 2006
By A Customer
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is a funny series with wonderful actors, this DVD may be a good edition, I just wonder: if it is "The complete first series" where is the 7th episode "Playing Games"? There are only 6 episodes... I hope it will be in the next DVD... and it has no extra.
But if you like this kind of sit-com, you must buy it!!!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Sitcom, 6 Nov. 2008
By 
C. JONES "CJ" (Swansea, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
This is one of the most enjoyable series from the 80's - A British sitcom with a small but formidable cast. Judi Dench and Michael Williams create funny and sensitive portraits of people who find dating and mating a bit of a challenge, while Susan Penhaligon and Richard Warwick provide excellent support as the "perfect" couple who bring them together. It has characters you really care about, a fine script and some wonderful acting.

There are four series available and the quality is never strained. It is very much of its time and obviously won't appeal to everyone, but like all the best dramas its themes are timeless, and the very least you can say is that it does what it says on the tin. It is a fine romance, and a fine series.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars We might as well, 19 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Adorable, just lovely.
My mum had this on always, back on the itv early to mid 80s. And there wasd always something that drew me, even though I wad young and didn't understand

But now I do understand, and I loved it, mikes adorably shy, and under all that bluster, lauras kind and lovely.
Heartwarming and romantic, Still relevent
Loved it, bought the rest of the dvds.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars A Fine Romance DVD, 14 April 2009
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
DVD was received quickly in time for mothers day. My mother has not found again problems with the disk. Great value for money purchase.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Michael Williams, a bright star who burned out far too soon., 18 April 2015
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Judi Dench is as brilliant as ever, and Michael Williams [her husband] is wonderful as her erstwhile beau.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars OK, 26 April 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
THIS IS NOSTALGIC TOOK ME BACK YEARS TO MY YOUTH I THINK THE VALUE OF THIS DVD IS EXCELLENT SO THERE
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Five Stars, 12 July 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
Very pleased with DVD and service.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars good, 24 Oct. 2014
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD] (DVD)
quick delivery, good price
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

A Fine Romance - The Complete First Series [DVD]
£8.96
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews