Shop now Shop now Shop now  Up to 50% Off Fashion  Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars11
4.7 out of 5 stars
5 star
9
4 star
1
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 17 February 2006
In the days when ITV made comedy programmes this was a rare gem-one that was actually funny.
Sadly overlooked "A fine romance" centres on middle aged love and we the viewer realise that the over 40's are no different from the youngsters where matters of the heart are concerned.
Judi Dench and Michael Williams are excellent as the hapless Laura and Mike who are singletons thrown together by well meaning relatives and friends.
By turns funny,cringe worthy and painful, this is a beautifully crafted series,highly recommended.
0Comment|17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2006
This is a funny series with wonderful actors, this DVD may be a good edition, I just wonder: if it is "The complete first series" where is the 7th episode "Playing Games"? There are only 6 episodes... I hope it will be in the next DVD... and it has no extra.
But if you like this kind of sit-com, you must buy it!!!
11 comment|9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2008
This is one of the most enjoyable series from the 80's - A British sitcom with a small but formidable cast. Judi Dench and Michael Williams create funny and sensitive portraits of people who find dating and mating a bit of a challenge, while Susan Penhaligon and Richard Warwick provide excellent support as the "perfect" couple who bring them together. It has characters you really care about, a fine script and some wonderful acting.

There are four series available and the quality is never strained. It is very much of its time and obviously won't appeal to everyone, but like all the best dramas its themes are timeless, and the very least you can say is that it does what it says on the tin. It is a fine romance, and a fine series.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
Adorable, just lovely.
My mum had this on always, back on the itv early to mid 80s. And there wasd always something that drew me, even though I wad young and didn't understand

But now I do understand, and I loved it, mikes adorably shy, and under all that bluster, lauras kind and lovely.
Heartwarming and romantic, Still relevent
Loved it, bought the rest of the dvds.
0Comment|One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 April 2009
DVD was received quickly in time for mothers day. My mother has not found again problems with the disk. Great value for money purchase.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2015
Judi Dench is as brilliant as ever, and Michael Williams [her husband] is wonderful as her erstwhile beau.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2013
THIS IS NOSTALGIC TOOK ME BACK YEARS TO MY YOUTH I THINK THE VALUE OF THIS DVD IS EXCELLENT SO THERE
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2015
Its nice to see this comedy again still enjoyable to watch
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 August 2015
Fantastic series Judy at her best.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 July 2014
Very pleased with DVD and service.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)