Customer Reviews


159 Reviews
5 star:
 (138)
4 star:
 (13)
3 star:
 (5)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


87 of 89 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A masterpiece
My brother and his girlfriend bought this for us for Christmas, which we initially thought a surprising gift as we'd never seen (or expressed a wish in seeing) a foreign language film before. Having just watched it, I have to say it was an completely inspired choice. Initially, it's the quality of the cinematography that draws you in, as the landscape of Provence and...
Published on 17 Mar 2008 by Jeremy Walton

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Quality superb but unable to enjoy as no English subtitles
Quality superb but unable to enjoy as no English subtitles.Entirely my fault for not checking beforehand.Anyone ( French speaking ) want to purchase a new second hand set of DVD's
Published 14 days ago by Bill Mitchell


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jean de Florette / Manon des Sources, 27 July 2010
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
You must own both films and watch them back to back as they are in fact one film split into two (my view). Fantastic underrated films of great power.These films dispel the myth of the quaint country folk this is how it is dog eat dog not the darling buds of may toffee sweet, silk screen, sunny country folk but real grit. Two of my very top films and should be for everyone who likes quality films
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Sublime!, 13 Oct 2009
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Please forgive the sparse review ...I really just wanted to add another 5 ***** rating for this duo-disk masterpiece of film making! LLS
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Truly superb, 7 Sep 2008
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Prequel and sequel, this duo impressed me big time when I first saw them. Many years later they have lost none of their lustre.

The story is based around "le Bossu" - the hunchback - a naive but dignified would-be farmer who is cheated out of his precious water supply by two crafty locals. They aim to drive down the value of his land and force a distress sale. A prolonged drought sees him ruined but when his daughter discovers the truth she sets about taking revenge...

There are striking performances from all four of the main actors and the filming is beautiful. The heat and scents of Provence are brought right into your living room.

A real pleasure.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Just Beautiful, 7 May 2008
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
I bought this as I am a lover of French movies and insisted my mother watch it (though she doesn't usually watch subtitled films). We didn't plan on seeing both (each film is great entertainment in its own right and creates different emotions), my mother couldn't wait for another sitting to see the second one, it's best seen back to back. So what is so great about it? Filmed in the beautiful backdrop of Provence in France, great writing, acting and casted very well, with, Depardieu, Yves Montand, Daniel Auteuil, well all the cast giving brilliant performances. With a brilliant story and music score, the plot is written in a way that you can identify with all characters. Even my 5 year old son who would definitely not read the subtitle was captivated by the scenery and music(he happened to be around when I was watching it and I would normally be harrassed to put on a childrens dvd). A great one to pull out from time to time especially on a rainy sunday afternoon, and be captivated. Great value for money.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Berri's seminal two-film story offers an unforgettable cinematic experience, 15 Sep 2010
By 
The Guardian (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Claude Berri's two seminal films of Marcel Pagnol's literary classic need to be seen as one single piece of work. In sheer breadth of thematic scope and in their exploration of the unintended long-term consequences of human actions through generations, these fine works are right up there in the top ten best films of all time, in any language. Unfolding like a Shakespearean tragedy, the story reveals how a lost letter combined with deceitful, selfish actions from ultimately non-malign motives eventually bring catastrophe on an extended family and a whole community. When the audience learns a vital piece of information missing from the history at the same time as one of the principal characters (played by the excellent Yves Montand in his final cinematic role) some part-redemption is earned when the scale of the personal tragedy is fully realised in the final reel, but it's still epic tragedy and poignant beyond almost anything else in world cinema. "As ye sow, so shall ye reap" is the message, but it's far from simplistic moralising: these characters are deep, complex with many shades of grey, and in no way "good guy/bad guy" caricatures. They are real people, like you and me, and their tragic story is that of the human condition.

"Jean" and "Manon" form one continuous story with a 10-year time gap. You absolutely must see them both, and in the correct order. On no account should you see "Manon" before seeing "Jean" first. Ideally, the films should be paced over two nights, but at the end of "Jean" you might be unable to contain your burning curiosity about what happens in the sequel, "Manon", so may choose to see both films back-to-back in a single four-hour sitting. The films are best watched in the original French so as to keep the subtleties and nuances of the original dialogue; the script is not over-wordy and the English subtitling is (with a few minor niggles) mostly accurate to the original.

The cinematography and the Provencal locations: breathtaking. The storyline: absorbing, deep, slow-paced, gripping. Acting: absolutely first-class from Gerard Depardieu, Yves Montand, Daniel Auteuil (an oscar-worthy performance playing brilliantly out of character), Emanuelle Beart (though playing a solitary and barely literate shepherdess she has few lines, the sheer power of her presence dominates "Manon") and the rest of the cast. Script: word-perfect, nothing superfluous. Soundtrack: languid, appropriate, mood-setting perfection. Direction: career-defining; an object lesson to young directors in how to reveal a story through novelistic character development in the cinematic medium.

These films teach us something about ourselves: to what consequences our actions may lead, how we may not know what we think we know, and what a difference it might make if we did; people are complex, a mix of good and not-so-good; nothing is black-and-white, and sometimes only in the long-term can the truth be seen.

Caution: there are no explosions, car chases, cartoon violence or sex scenes (though there is one scene in "Manon" of the stunningly beautiful Emanuelle Beart cavorting outside in the buff, which is absolutely essential to the story); no profane language. But watching these films will be one of the greatest cinematic experiences of your life, so savour the occasion and view it as special, because it will be.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


12 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars As good as a film can get, 15 May 2007
By 
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Have been meaning to see this for some time.

The film is shot beautifully and acting almost perfect. There are a few flaws if being picky, although disagree with an earlier reviewer's comments about the drought, as I seem to remember part of the storyline revolves around the piece of land in question being in a valley where rain doesn't fall even when surrounding areas do get rain. So, ok, perhaps this isn't likely in real life, but it is a story and adds to the irony of there being a spring on the land, and is central to the deception.

Without giving anything away, the first film leads you to want to see the second, both are wonderful and led me to further Claude Berri films. Very rewarding.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 7 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A real must see, 3 Nov 2007
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
You must watch these two together. The first time i watched jean de florette (sp) was in a soho cinema........i cried my eyes out, its the first film i ever saw with sub titles that i totally forgot i was reading at the bottom of the screen and got submerged in the beauty and brilliantly written story. I was very young at the time, and it opened my eyes to "world cinema" it never left me and i went on to watch such classics as Betty Blue, Cyrano de Bergerac etc. You must try them and see... enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 17 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Superb!!, 23 Dec 2006
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
These two films are well worth buying, my husband doesn't usually bother with subtitled films but when he started to watch Jean de Florette he had to watch both films. The story is at a gentle pace then becomes gripping and the acting is of top quality, these films are simply GREAT!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Twosome, 20 Jun 2013
By 
A. Roberton "Alan Roberton" (Camborne, Cornwall) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)    (REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
This duet of films is quite simply, beautiful. The acting is superb, the direction simple and yet perfect, the storyline draws you in as do the characters and the music (Verdi) will have you humming the tune for a long time afterwards.

The first film is all about Jean (de Florette) and his wife and daughter who have been left a farm in Provence, and this is their story about trying to make the farm sustainable, but there is a water (or should I say lack of water) problem.

The second is several years later and centres on Jean's now grown up daughter. Another lovely storyline which has a perfect ending.

I will not say more as I do not wish to spoil these beautiful films. If you don't mind reading the subtitles then you are in for a real old fashioned treat, two films with a lovely gentle storyline, well acted and a delight on the eye, then buy these now.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Jean de Florette, 25 Feb 2013
By 
Mr. D. Brown (Suffolk UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986] (DVD)
Two of my favourite films, great for a nostalgic wallow on a winters evening. Incidentally, the two discs cost less than a ticket to the cinema
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 316 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Jean De Florette / Manon Des Sources Double Pack [DVD] [1986]
6.30
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews