Customer Reviews


30 Reviews
5 star:
 (14)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (6)
2 star:
 (1)
1 star:
 (2)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


331 of 337 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slight Improvement Compared To Edition 2
When I first played this I immediately noticed that its speed has not improved compared to the previous 2nd edition. It still pauses between screens a bit and sometimes Chris` voice is slightly out of sync to his mouth movement.
The picture questions begin at the 1st milestone (1000) but do not appear on every question until you get past the 2nd milestone...
Published on 17 Nov 2005 by milesfb

versus
25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still flawed after all these years
You'd have thought after all these years, and at the third attempt, they'd have ironed out the niggles with interactive DVDs such as this one. But, no.
Unless you play this in a PC, which almost certainly defeats the object of the game as one for family participation, it is very slow and clunky. Worse, on some players, not necessarily the oldest or...
Published on 3 Jan 2006 by Mr. R. B. Ager


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

331 of 337 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A Slight Improvement Compared To Edition 2, 17 Nov 2005
By 
milesfb (Staffordshire) - See all my reviews
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
When I first played this I immediately noticed that its speed has not improved compared to the previous 2nd edition. It still pauses between screens a bit and sometimes Chris` voice is slightly out of sync to his mouth movement.
The picture questions begin at the 1st milestone (1000) but do not appear on every question until you get past the 2nd milestone (64000).
On the good side, there are a few more humorous comments from Chris, especially when you lose early on in the game, which is quite funny.
Chris` enthusiasm is still brilliant which does help add to the excitement and anticipation especially if you're playing it with friends.
Overall if you are a WWTBAM fan or just want an easy entertaining DVD game to have fun with I do recommend you by this game. Despite the slight screen pauses, it is still an improvement on the previous version and it has brand new up to date questions.
You should be hooked for at least a couple of hours. Come Christmas time you'll probably be playing it all night!
Thanks for reading this - Cheers
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


23 of 23 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great family fun, 11 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
This was the first time I'd tried an interactive DVD game and I have to say that I was very impressed! Good, challenging questions for children and adults and it really seemed like you were in the hot seat on the TV with Chris giving a great performance as always. I thought the lifelines were good as they often gave a helping hand but didn't always automatically guarantee you the right answer. I had great fun with the family over Christmas playing this.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


18 of 18 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Great Fun for the Family, 7 Jan 2006
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Can't fault this game - I note the other reviews, but I experienced no bugs at all. It kept the family playing in teams each evening through the Christmas break. We are all hooked.
If you plan to use it on the TV in the lounge then ideally (essential if you don't want to sit next to the DVD player) you need a DVD player that has a remote control as it is very interactive.
If you like this game on the TV, then you will have a lot of fun - it is just like you are taking turn in the hot seat talking to Chris T.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Still flawed after all these years, 3 Jan 2006
By 
Mr. R. B. Ager "Ronald Ager" (Nottingham, UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
You'd have thought after all these years, and at the third attempt, they'd have ironed out the niggles with interactive DVDs such as this one. But, no.
Unless you play this in a PC, which almost certainly defeats the object of the game as one for family participation, it is very slow and clunky. Worse, on some players, not necessarily the oldest or cheapest, it is prone to sticking, and there's no remedy other than to eject or power off. The sight of Chris Tarrant's crumpled face frozen permanently is not a pretty one.
On to the game itself, which up to four people or teams can play. The choice of adult or junior questions is a good idea, but beware, the junior ones are not all that easy - in our "test drive" tricky questions on children's TV programmes and, in one case, Latin words, came up. On the adult side some questions up to £1,000 seemed trickier than on the real show, and up to £32,000 definitely so, and had a high proportion of questions on movies (OK if you're a film buff, but not otherwise). Beyond £32K all the questions are picture ones, and I actually found these easier, so once beyond the second "guaranteed" level the chances are that I make the virtual million. Although there are 1500 questions available we found that they started to be repeated after two completed games (about 50 questions).
The "lifelines" are distinctly less helpful than on the real thing. The audience tend to be evenly split most of the time, the 50-50 leaves the two most likely answers, and the "phone a friend" gives a choice of three people, two of which are usually children.
It did admitedly keep the family amused for a couple of hours one afternoon during the festive season, but I sense that we will quickly become frustrated with the slowness of the game, and will equally quickly run out of a decent sequence of previously unseen questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


11 of 12 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Repeated questions., 2 Jan 2006
By A Customer
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Our family own the first edition and this was not as good. After our third game questions started to be repeated. So far only one question has been repeated per game but when it came at a critical point the competition was spoilt. On a more positive note we liked both the picture and choice of junior questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars great dvd, 24 April 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
great dvd been playing on it for hours its like your in the hot seat shame your cant win any money but great entertainment
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
1.0 out of 5 stars Won't play on PCs, dodgy on DVD players - DRMed to death!, 23 Aug 2010
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
Hi,

I have to give this game 0 out of 5 because, quite frankly, it's rubbish. It would be great if worked at all but I've never managed to get it all the way through one game. In a variety of DVD players it hangs or repeats the same questions through every game, in Windows Media Player it doesn't play at all, in VLC the questions and answers don't link up so you can't play it. Believe me, I've really tried to make this work.

The problem is that there's DRM (digital rights management) software included on the DVD, I guess to prevent piracy, which is most probably what is causing all the problems people are having with it. DRM sometimes includes software which is classified as malware by Microsoft themselves. If you don't believe me, look up "Sony BMG CD copy protection scandal".

If you really want to play this game, then find a hacked copy or find a whizz kid who can hack it for you. Thanks again to the aggressive paranoiac media corporations spoiling everyone's fun!

:(((
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars The agonies of not knowing, 12 Jan 2010
By 
Philippa J. Godwin "Jovial Jude" (Hertfordshire UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
I plus family and friends really enjoyed this DVD, but we all shared the criticism of the length between Chris Tarrant asking the questions and the time it took to be answered was too long.
We were introduced to a DVD of the same title , but an earlier edition with Chris, and the length of time between the questions being answered , was much better.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Great family fun, 3 Jan 2010
By 
I. Chadwick (Belper, Derbyshire United Kingdom) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
We played a game using the junior questions as we were a mix of adults and children.

Questions were a good mix and there were some tough ones even for the adults. Phone a friend was hilarious.

Great fun had by all.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


9 of 12 people found the following review helpful
2.0 out of 5 stars Started as a great Christmas afternoon's entertainment!!!!!!, 28 Dec 2005
This review is from: Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] (DVD)
What a great game for all the family, and so easy to use, you don't have to be a games expert with this one.
UNFORTUNATELY, after the first three games, the game became stuck, asking the same questions for all three players. We removed the disc, played others, and still the same question about the German Sheperd Dog kept appearing for every player every time!
Very dissapointing as their is apparently over 1500 questions.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 3 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD]
Who Wants to Be a Millionaire? - 3rd Edition [Interactive DVD] by Who Wants to Be a Millionaire (DVD - 2005)
9.52
In stock
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews