Customer Reviews


72 Reviews
5 star:
 (24)
4 star:
 (15)
3 star:
 (14)
2 star:
 (10)
1 star:
 (9)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the critics say
Elektra has had some fairly negative press, however I urge you to take an action figure leap of faith and make up your own minds.
I found it far superior to its "predecessor" Daredevil and for me, Garner gave Elektra real character. She has been critisied for playing it too cool and unfeeling, but I ask how else would an assasin be? Warm and cuddly??!! I found it...
Published on 22 Jun 2005 by UK Book Lover

versus
1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She’s aliiiiive!
Yes, despite *sort of* being bumped off in ‘Daredevil’ Elektra returns for her own self-titled ‘spin-off’ movie. This, in itself, is odd. For a start, Daredevil (featuring a ‘blind’ Ben Affleck clad in red rubber, also an image which caused many a trauma in cinema-goers since witnessing it) didn’t exactly set the box offices...
Published 8 months ago by Albatross


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

25 of 26 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Better than the critics say, 22 Jun 2005
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Elektra has had some fairly negative press, however I urge you to take an action figure leap of faith and make up your own minds.
I found it far superior to its "predecessor" Daredevil and for me, Garner gave Elektra real character. She has been critisied for playing it too cool and unfeeling, but I ask how else would an assasin be? Warm and cuddly??!! I found it easy to see the torment she is feeling over her orders to kill and her compassion bubbling under the surface as she struggles against her instincts to kill.
It was a far better plot than Daredevil with superior action sequences and an element of the Hero / Flying Daggers style of bright colours against the darkness of the scences which I found visually very effective.
Yes, before I am bereated for the glowing review, it does have some flaws, some of the dialogue could have been written better (or even left out) however this is an adaptation of a loved comic book character. With these I want to see mainly action, feel the characters emotions and empathise with them and to be visually attracted to the screen and for me Elektra offers this in droves.
The DVD features had the usual deleted scenes and interviews with Garner, which I found entertaining.
Elektra scores high on my list with the script downfalls being lifted by Garners performance. This girl has serious talent and can do no wrong in my eyes, she is on her way up and I continue to support any project she features in no matter what the critics say. Alias.... need I say more?!
So go on, add this to your to be watched list, Elektra knocks the socks of supposed hit Ocean 12, which with a stunning cast list is saying something.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Vastly underrated movie, 22 May 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [Blu-ray] [2005] (Blu-ray)
Best to watch Daredevil (the director's cut - ignore the cinema release version) first as it will put this film in a little better context. I consider this the better film. Jennifer Garner rocks. I'm still holding out some small (and probably futile) hope for a sequel or maybe the return of (Jennifer as) the character in another Marvel Movie. I'm thinking she wouldn't be out of place in one of the spin-offs from the Avengers (maybe the Black Widow movie).
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars not bad but, 25 Oct 2006
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Good points: nice pictures and colors, excellent special effects! the aesthetic is perfectly mastered. Garner is good in the leading role; the villains are really er... nasty.

Problem! Abby's secret is soooooooooo ridiculous; Please I laughed when I discovered what her secret was! come on it's both so predictable and laughable! ^^ Elektra's ruthlessness was considerably reduced and that's a bad point: it's a good idea on the paper to tone down Elektra's temper but in the end, the character becomes inconsistant... Too bad! without this huge mistake and without this Abby plot, this could have been a better film. Nevertheless the high quality of the pictures and Garner's performance boost the film.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars She’s aliiiiive!, 12 April 2014
By 
Albatross "Never argue with idiots" (Suburbia) - See all my reviews
(TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Yes, despite *sort of* being bumped off in ‘Daredevil’ Elektra returns for her own self-titled ‘spin-off’ movie. This, in itself, is odd. For a start, Daredevil (featuring a ‘blind’ Ben Affleck clad in red rubber, also an image which caused many a trauma in cinema-goers since witnessing it) didn’t exactly set the box offices alight in the way its producers hoped it would. So, one wonders why they decided to green-light a (semi) sequel.

I’ve never read any of the comic books this film is based on, so I can’t really say how faithful it remains. But I do know that Jennifer Garner does look better in her costume that her off-screen hubby Ben did (male perspective only), but a costume alone does not really warrant an entire ninety minute movie. Here we meet Elektra as she’s forced to confront her demons and also protect a single father and his teenage daughter (convenient ‘love interest’ if ever there was one).

So, expect some martial arts fighting as she whacks one ninja on the head after the next, plus a kind of plot twist that doesn’t really affect the overall story in any way. About halfway through the film, the fight scenes start using ‘special moves’ instead of just punches and kicks. Yes, it adds a little something extra to the constant fight scenes, but the CGI effects aren’t that great as someone launches yet another computer-added smoking fireball to their punches and kicks.

Elektra was released just before Marvel basically cornered the market on superheroes movies with their ‘Avengers’ franchise and its predecessors. Therefore, it’s not half as much fun as any of them. Then again... it was also released before Christopher Nolan did his Batman trilogy, so it’s also not as dark and menacing as then. It kind of sits somewhere in the middle in that big empty hole filled with superhero movies which, despite being okay, never really amounted to what they could have been.

You can basically have Elektra on in the background while you potter around your living room. You’ll still be able to follow it and can just tune in for the good bits.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


17 of 20 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars GREAT, 1 Jun 2005
By A Customer
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I went to see this movie the night it was released an i thought that it was excellent.
Elektra, the spin-off of the popular movie Daredevil, is about the classic comic book character,after rising from the dead. The story has a lot more content than that of Daredevil and provides much more entertainment.
Finally Jennifer Garner has been given space to show off her kick-ass talents as the lead in a big budget movie. 13 going on 30 was great, but did not show her abilities in martial arts, unlike this movie. She does almost all of her own stunts (like in Alias), and that adds a sense of reality into the film.
The plot is much better than Daredevil, and the "bad guys" ar much more creative.
The special effects are awesome making the film truly come alive. The fight scenes are fantastic! The use of colour makes what could be a very dark film, very bright, saving it from the typical depressing look that films like these tend to pick up.
A great comic book adaption, great actors, great direction. Great film!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Electric, 9 Mar 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [Blu-ray] [2005] (Blu-ray)
great film, often forgotten.
Their chemistry is fab, watch Daredevil before watching this otherwise you may be a bit confused.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars fantastic!, 13 Feb 2013
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
Great film, good story, I watched DareDevil first and as she appears it that too it was good to find out what Electras story was.Would definately recommend it
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars ELECKTRA, 25 Dec 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [2005] [DVD] (DVD)
I really enjoyed the film. and being girl-power I'm all for it. LOL
Entertaining with plenty of action, balanced with slight dashes of romance.
Would put it on par to Daredevil (without the loss of sight bit).
Recommend it to be viewed.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Elektric, 11 Dec 2012
By 
Vivian Thomas "vivt1940" (Australia) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [Blu-ray] [2005] (Blu-ray)
I previously had Elektra on DVD and am updating to Bluray with all my better movies. It is a good movie.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 2 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars Buen film, 29 Jun 2012
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Elektra [Blu-ray] [2005] (Blu-ray)
Bellas imagenes, accion a granel, que mas se puede pedir para disfrutar en una tarde lluviosa, grande Jenifer, lo haces regio
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 28 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Elektra *PSP Movie* [UMD Mini for PSP] [2005] [US Import]
Elektra *PSP Movie* [UMD Mini for PSP] [2005] [US Import] by Rob Bowman (UMD Mini for PSP - 2006)
Out of stock
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews