Customer Reviews


 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A top quality sunday afternoon film!
Well, what did we expect? A nerve jangling, tension, filled film such as the first "Alien"? What about a gore filled, adrenalin rush like the second?
Personally, I was hoping for the second, and based loosly on the books of Alien Vs Predator. Neither happened, and I think the "15" rating really should be a clue as to what to expect.
Don't get me wrong, I really...
Published on 14 Feb. 2005 by K. Neale

versus
6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a decent film...DO NOT TAKE IT SERIOUSLY
as a fan of the stunning four alien films(particularly the first two)and the first predator film i decided to give this film a go...i didnt have high expectations when i watched it so therefore i didnt take some of the scenes seriously.
after it finished i was a little dissappointed yet thought it was decent and reasonably fun to watch...it was by no means scary,but...
Published on 16 July 2008 by S. J. Pinder


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

6 of 6 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars a decent film...DO NOT TAKE IT SERIOUSLY, 16 July 2008
By 
S. J. Pinder "scifihorror fan" (Cornwall,UK) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Alien vs Predator [DVD] (DVD)
as a fan of the stunning four alien films(particularly the first two)and the first predator film i decided to give this film a go...i didnt have high expectations when i watched it so therefore i didnt take some of the scenes seriously.
after it finished i was a little dissappointed yet thought it was decent and reasonably fun to watch...it was by no means scary,but some of the effects were particularly good.
it suffered at the box office in 2004,which is very understandable.
my advice is to buy it at this great price and give it a chance...it isn't completely awful but at the same time it doesn't stand out as being a great horror film...nevertheless it is a lot better than some of the tripe we have had in he previous few years...and it is better than its sequel.
in my eyes this is a completely different franchise and should not be compared to the(mesmerising) alien franchise nor the original predator film as they are and always will be far superior,interestingly i got a lot more enjoyment out of this film than i did with the sequel to predator which was...well...plain awful.
the Queen is given a CGI makeover which gives her the ability to be more agile and flexable when chasing after victims,but by doing this it makes her far less scary than in the astoinding ALIENS when she first made her debut...however there are some decent performances(occaisonly steroetyped)and Sanaa Lathen made a decent(not astounding...and never will be Ripley)performance as the lead heroine,but it is of course the fight scenes that of course gives this film the edge it needs...and that is the only thing that keeps it stable...while not gory the scenes are entertaining and far better staged in this film than in the awful sequel...this film i by far more superior.
all in all it is a decent film that while not as stunning as the alien films manages to stand its own ground and remains very independant and better than some horror films of today but fails to become an astounding sequel or the super gory action spectacular that us hardcore Alien fans all hoped for...but it is okay and the(i wish they hadnt bothered)sequel makes this film better.
a 5.5/10 from me.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 4 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not great, but frequently underestimated fun, 29 May 2008
By 
Beedo Sookcool (Torbay, Devonshire, England) - See all my reviews
Now that the sequel is out, I think it's time for a reassessment of the original "Aliens vs. Predator" film. Despite its faults, I never thought the first "AvP" movie was bad. Okay, the Aliens going from egg to full-grown warrior in about an hour was ridiculous in the extreme, but the rest of it ain't that bad.

Plot-wise, it's based semi-loosely on the first "AvP" comic book by Dark Horse. You have the Yautja (Predators, for you non-übergeeks) setting up a rite-of-passage hunt for their adolescents. This involves luring some Humans to a hunting ground where they will become the hosts for some xenomorphs, which the Predator youngsters will then hunt for their first blooding. There's some VERY Danikenite backstory in there, which is VERY cool. And then the rest is adrenaline-fuelled carnage, with the Yautja originally out to kill the Aliens AND any surviving Humans, but, like the original, the last Predator teams up with the last Human to wipe out the hive.

It's SO close to the original Dark Horse story, that I think I would've preferred to see THAT filmed, but "AvP" does provide some nifty links and foreshadowing to hint at how Humanity gets from its current level of technology to the starfaring species seen in "Alien." Apart from the vastly improved special effects, "AvP" is not the best movie in the Fox Studios Vicious Beasties From Outer Space Franchise, but I still think it's worth a watch. (Also, it's got the painfully cool Lance Henriksen in it, and I happen to think Sanaa Lathan is real purty, which swung my opinion.) "Citizen Kane" it's not, but "AvP" scores so high on the Cool Graph for me that I'm willing to overlook most flaws. Except for the rapid-growth Aliens one.

If given the choice between a single-disc Regular Edition or a multi-disc Special Edition, I'll go for the latter every time. There are loads of nifty behind-the-scenes stuff on Disc 2 of this set, but those are mostly for the die-hard fans, like me. Casual viewers may want to save their money and get the single-disc Regular Version.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


61 of 67 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Not for the purists..., 31 Dec. 2004
Aliens. Predators. You would have thought with two of the greatest cinenmatic monsters in one film, it'd be difficult to get it wrong. Still, Paul 'WS' Anderson does a fairly good job. This time a team of Arctic explorers led by Charles Bishop Weyland (the founding 'father' of the 'Company' from the Alien series) are drawn to a temple in the antartic after it's identified by satellite. Thus begins an hour and a half of thrills, spills, schlock horror and a total absence of anything to put it on a par with the franchises that spawned it.

Which is not to say that it's a bad film. Whether or not you enjoy Alien vs. Predator is really dependent on what you're expecting. If you're looking for the intelligent plot exposition you found in the first 3 Alien movies, you're likely to be heavily disappointed. If, however, you're looking for the gratuitous gore (albeit largely Predator / Alien) and sense of suspense that went with the first Predator film, then you're a lot more likely to walk away happy.

AVP is somewhat of a mixed bag. Anderson is definitely a man who believes in old school cinematics (he wisely dispensed with the use of CGI unless it was absolutely necessary), but some of the cinematography and editing leaves a lot to be desired (one of the main AVP fights is shot so close and edited so quickly that it makes it very difficult to really see what's going on). For the most part however, the film retains a palpable sense of tension throughout and is a guaranteed to provide a few jumps and thrills for first time viewers. Special mention should be made for the set design which is superb and quite convincing - it's obvious where Andersons forte lies...

Where the film does fall down though, is on its script and storyline. The script is almost unnecessary - merely providing a vehicle from which to jump from one fight to the next. The actors make the best of what they're given, but ultimately much of the dialogue is cheesy and unsatisfying. As for the storyline - it broke so many rules of the Alien franchise (there's no Ripley, the suggestion that Charles Weyland provided the prototype for the Bishop android, the discovery of the Alien creature prior to the events of Alien, the lack of further exposition of the Alien lifecycle etc.) that many of the diehard fans from the original franchise must have run screaming for their Quadrilogy boxsets. Thankfully though, the film was never meant to be philosophised about in the same way as the originals and can only be taken at face value - it would have been far worse had Anderson attempted something more complex. Having said that though; it is sad that there is too much which is left unexplained or uncovered in this film - it simultaneously expects the audience to have an appreciation and understanding of the original franchises and to also ignore them due to the glaring continuity errors.

Ignoring the originals though, is ultimately the answer to appreciating AVP - if you can see it for what it is (an entertaining action romp with lots of monsters) then you're likely to think it's fantastic. For purists though - this is best avoided and filed away with 'Alien Resurrection'.

On the DVD itself you'll find an extended version with a different beginning (readers of the book will already know of the plot line set in the early 20th Century), some deleted scenes (nothing special, but a couple which would have been nice had they been included), commentary from the director, Sanaa Lathan and Lance Henriksen, a making of featurette and on the DVD - Rom some features on the original Dark Horse comics. Probably worth the extra £3 you'd shell out over the 1 disc edition.

With regards to the deleted scenes and added beginning - for fans who were disappointed with the lack of gore and low rating of the movie in theatres - this will do nothing to change their opinion, nor will it do much to rectify some of the plot holes - these scenes are curiosities; nothing more. The title 'Extreme Edition' is possibly a little misleading and I daresay only placed in order to play upon these hopes.

Overall though, for the average horror film fan with nothing better to do, this film is an entertaining piece of popcorn fiction and worth a look.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 3 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars "Alien Vs. Predator" on BLU RAY - Compatibility Issues With The 'US' Disc..., 6 Mar. 2014
By 
Mark Barry "Mark Barry" (London) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 50 REVIEWER)   
One reviewer has pronounced "Alien Vs. Predator" as a "guilty pleasure" - a very accurate description in my book. I really shouldn't like this - it really shouldn't be any good - and I really should be bowing down in abject unworthiness at the altar of Directors Ridley Scott and James Cameron for the first two movies in the endlessly watchable "Alien" franchises.

But then I think - ah screw it - I'll watch the bleeding thing anyway. And lo and behold and whack me over the head with a spine-removing warrior from outer space - but “Alien vs. Predator” is a lot better than it had any chest-buster right to be...

Anyway - should you be game enough to want to own the individual disc rather than a multiple set - be aware that the 'US' edition on 20th Century Fox is REGION A LOCKED - so it will not play on our machines unless they're chipped to be 'all regions' (which few are). Personally - I'd plumb for a UK Box Set offering instead.

"Alien vs. Predator" may be hammy and gooey and clammy - but these endless remakes are still a great night in with your favourite off-world slimeballs who just can’t wait for a good old entrails-spattered scrap in the ice...
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars You are one ugly..., 14 Jun. 2005
By A Customer
I go along with the Amazon review of AVP, and the opinnions expressed in other reviews already point out my problems with it. Since Predator 2 I was looking forward to the prospect of getting both monster movie icons going toe to toe. After the time its taken to get it together and the status that both Alien and Predator films have, I would have liked AVP to contribute more than a derivative monster movie to the two universes.
Nevertheless thats all that AVP is. The fight scenes are good in a WWE Smackdown kind of way. The signature moves from the alien heavyweights are all there. The sole surviving female battles the female and calls it an uglymother******. I commend the director for going for blokes-in-costume and advanced puppetry instead of CGI. The sets and location are another highlight. I even grinned gleefuly when the chestburster chomps out of the European chick.
I am falling into prequel-sequel fatigue. I would still like to see a better use of Alien and predator in a film. If any one from Fox cares, the way I would rejuvenate the Alien francise would be to make a proper prequel-come-sequel that returns to the planet from Alien, explores the origins of the aliens that were storing the eggs and finds out what remained of the ship after the nuclear explosion at the end of Aliens. And a better respect for human characters and the intelligence and maturity of the earlier films.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


8 of 9 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars A top quality sunday afternoon film!, 14 Feb. 2005
By 
K. Neale (Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
Well, what did we expect? A nerve jangling, tension, filled film such as the first "Alien"? What about a gore filled, adrenalin rush like the second?
Personally, I was hoping for the second, and based loosly on the books of Alien Vs Predator. Neither happened, and I think the "15" rating really should be a clue as to what to expect.
Don't get me wrong, I really enjoyed this, and will part with cash to get the DVD, but it has a transparent plot with "R.I.P." (metaphorically) written on doomed characters from the start. Filming was too concentrated on the people, when the focus should have been on young Predators going through their right of passage by killing the Aliens. This is an easy film where you wont be offended/scared/suprised/insulted/taxing your brain/going WOW!. But it will keep you entertained, again and again. Get a differnt cast (luckly most died), script writer (should have died), and director (possibly died during film directors class at school- or didn't pay attention). Enjoy.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


14 of 16 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars Disappointing as franchise sequel, great fun as sci-fi actioner, 13 July 2006
By 
Mr. Stephen Kennedy "skenn1701a" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (TOP 1000 REVIEWER)   
Verified Purchase(What is this?)
This review is from: Alien vs Predator [DVD] (DVD)
If you forget that this is the continuation of two very successful franchises, and consider this as a graphic novel adaptation, then it is actually a bit more successful than people give it credit for.

In tone and spirit, this is much more of a Predator movie than an Alien movie - it is as an Alien movie this most disappoints. However, as Predator movie I would suggest this is better than Predator 2 was.

The plot is set in modern time, when a heat signature revealing a hidden pyramid under the ice is seen by satellite. The owner of the satellite, played by Lance Henrikson, brings together a team of archaeologists, biologists and `security' (the equivalent of Star Trek redshirts I guess) to investigate. What they find is a pyramid used by Predators to hunt the ultimate prey - the Alien.

The rest of the story is just bunkum, and don't think too hard about many of the continuity points because much of it does not quite work, but the action scenes are handled adequately, mostly by pilfering ideas from the previous movies and reproducing them in watered down form for characters we have not yet come to care about. Best original (-ish) idea was that the pyramid reconfigures every 10 minutes once activated, to add spice to the hunt and help split our characters up to be picked off one at a time.

Saana Lathan is no Sigourney Weaver, but a stronger character than one might expect from Paul W. S. Anderson (who also directed Mortal Kombat). Nice to see Colin Salmon, the English actor of several Brosnan era Bond movies, in another role - shame it wasn't in a better movie.

Overall, this is not a disaster as a movie given its rushed production and low bdget - but don't go in with any expectations of anything approaching even the worst of the Alien movies. Think of it as a so-so Predator sequel and you get the idea.

3 ½ stars - I'll opt for 3, because of the corny script at times.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
3.0 out of 5 stars A film with a split personality!, 19 Oct. 2009
By 
I. R. Barnes "*technobabble*" (UK) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
I can't make up my mind if this is a good movie or not. It has some good points but on the other hand it sucks - big time! I think as a Predator film it's pretty good as it is more in the action-orientated style of the Predator films as well as being set on present day earth, but as an Alien movie it's pretty naff, but at least better than Alien: Resurrection! It is a million miles away from the dark horror of the first three Alien movies, this is friendly 'bubblegum horror'! At times the plot seems too contrived and shoehorned in order to support the setting of present day earth - personally I think the setting of the original graphic novel of a human colony on a distant planet would have suited the film a lot better. Instead we have a plot involving a somewhat bizarre underground Arctic pyramid and a silly backstory of the Predators setting up earth's ancient civilisations and being worshipped as Gods (yawn!). On the other hand some of the action was quite good, I did like the eventual confrontations between the two species and the climax with the Alien queen was pretty cool. Just one question though, if Predators love heat, as alluded to in the first two Predator films, why did they set up a training pyramid in the Arctic!?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


1 of 1 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Alien vs. Predator - Entertaining addition to two great franchises., 10 Jan. 2012
By 
Victor (Hull, England) - See all my reviews
(HALL OF FAME REVIEWER)    (TOP 500 REVIEWER)   
This review is from: Alien vs Predator [DVD] (DVD)
A tantalising glimpse at the end of the second Predator film sets the scene for this match between two of modern cinema's greatest creatures - the ultimate prey for the sporting Predators is the ultimate killing machine the Alien. The action takes place in the Arctic, where a mysterious pyramid has suddenly been discovered. A team of explorers sets off to uncover its secrets, but when they get there they find themselves in the middle of a fight to the death between the Aliens and the Predators. This film got quite a panning at the time, but I feel the criticism was largely unwarranted. OK, it can never live up to the suspense and originality of Alien or Predator, but it does what it sets out to do quite effectively, and delivers an entertaining 100 minutes which doesn't go against the established mythology of either franchise. The basic idea is pretty good, and the all important action scenes where the two alien species get down to the business in hand are well staged and pretty darned good. Not in the same league as previous films, but still a worthy addition to the series. Four stars.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Not as bad as it could have been, 20 Jan. 2008
By 
Sue Lewendon "Film fanatic" (England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)   
This review is from: Alien vs Predator [DVD] (DVD)
I actually quite like this movie but then I'm an Alien nutjob! My hubby is more on the side of the Predators and the kids are in the middle. We watched this in sheer delight the first time and I was perfectly happy. It's not until I'd watched it again that little things began to niggle at me.

For instance, the amount of time it takes for the face huggers to do their job and for the aliens to burst out of the chests was a litte too quick. And I fail to see that a Predator would be so quick to help a human in real life...listen to me talking like this stuff would actually happen!

Anyway, it's a good story and gives a good explanation as to where the Aliens originated from. It's also good to see Lance Henrickson back playing Bishop, (of sorts anyway!). Don't be too put off by the bad reviews, I wasn't and I enjoy this film quite regularly.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 225 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Alien Vs Predator *PSP Movie* [UMD Mini for PSP] [2004] [US Import]
Used & New from: £8.73
Add to wishlist See buying options
Only search this product's reviews