Customer Reviews


16 Reviews
5 star:
 (6)
4 star:
 (7)
3 star:
 (3)
2 star:    (0)
1 star:    (0)
 
 
 
 
 
Average Customer Review
Share your thoughts with other customers
Create your own review
 
 

The most helpful favourable review
The most helpful critical review


7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They Remembered It in Music.
My recommendation is to get the CD+EP version. It is beautifully packaged with an extra EP; it will possibly cost you little, if any, more.
If you liked Broken Social Scene 'You Forgot It In People' then in all probability you will wish to hear this too, but I guess you already know that. If you like any/all of Stars, Metric and Feist you need this...
Published on 3 Nov. 2005 by R. P. Greenhalgh

versus
3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven quality but some infectious tunes
Some dazzling stand-out tracks like 'Superconnected' and 'It's All Gonna Break' in other less-inspiring material. Having said, the quieter tracks start to grow on you. I don't think you'll listen this non-stop but you'll keep coming back to it.
Published on 3 Sept. 2010 by pallygary


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

7 of 8 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars They Remembered It in Music., 3 Nov. 2005
By 
R. P. Greenhalgh "Richard P. Greenhalgh" (Frome, Somerset, England) - See all my reviews
(VINE VOICE)    (REAL NAME)   
My recommendation is to get the CD+EP version. It is beautifully packaged with an extra EP; it will possibly cost you little, if any, more.
If you liked Broken Social Scene 'You Forgot It In People' then in all probability you will wish to hear this too, but I guess you already know that. If you like any/all of Stars, Metric and Feist you need this – as Amy Millan, Emily Haines and Leslie Feist provide almost all the female vocals here, backed up by Torquil Campbell (Stars) on male vocals and a whole host of talented musicians who all come and go with the tracks, for Broken Social Scene is a ‘collective’ and not a ‘band’.
Something in me tells me that, as such, it shouldn’t really work as a cohesive unit but the undeniable fact is that on this album it does – so much so that, despite my original intention, I’ve now decided not to name tracks – it is an album best listened to in its entirety. As you might expect it is an album that generally wears its heart on its sleeve. It does often have a fairly clear political edge – that is predominantly anti-war, anti-Bush – which is hardly surprising given the conspirators previous convictions.
The bonus EP ‘To Be You and Me’ alluded to above, which is mostly much more biased towards electronica than the album it accompanies, starts with ‘Her Disappearing Theme’ on which the only vocals are distorted whispers. The abstract theme seems set to continue with the happy/harmless start of the next track, but during the first minute the mood changes entirely. Perhaps deemed too risky for the album itself this six-minute-long anti-war epic, ‘Canada vs. America’ evolves in a way that is surprising. This is very much a song on the offensive, and thus Metric’s ‘Succexy’ comes to mind, but so does Stars’ ‘Celebration Guns’, which is in comparison very contemplative. Either way this is an excellent track. The next two tracks subside into dreamy electronica only to wake somewhat bleary-eyed with ‘All My Friends’, a fairly standard emo-track.
Major Label Debut (Fast) is a version of track 5 on the LP Broken Social Scene. The EP closes with ‘Feel Good Lost Reprise’, an instrumental full of woozy electronic keyboards rather similar to those with which it opened.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Superconnected, 22 July 2007
This review is from: Broken Social Scene (Audio CD)
Broken Social Scene are a very unusual band. A huge cast of musicians participate on this record in a democratic process that leaves the producers with a lot of work to do, trying to make sense of what can often sound like two or three songs playing at the same time. The result, on some of their more conventional indie tracks, is a cross between the laconic daze of Dinosaur Jnr and the warped intensity of My Bloody Valentine. However, they also excel at jazzy post-rock and - on this record - Prince-style R&B!

Whereas the overcrowded, shape-shifting production was a principle factor of their last (great) record 'You Forgot it in People', on this record it entirely defines it. Songs and melodies slip in and out of focus, revealing little galaxies of blurred notes and voices beyond the principal 'song' structures, time-signatures trip and flip; at moments it sounds like you are stuck between stations on an analogue radio dial.

The album opens with a the jazzy, shimmering alt-rock of 'Our faces split the coast in half', with a moody Bernard Hermann-style brass section and half-submerged vocals that sound like something sampled for a DJ Shadow record. Picking up where 'Pacific Theme' left off on the last record, this is one of the best tracks for me. 'Ibi dreams of pavement (a better day)' is one of their more raucous moments while '7/4 (shoreline)' is this album's 'Almost Crimes', an anthemic, sonic crowd-pleaser with Leslie Feist at the helm.

'Finish your collapse and stay for breakfast' is electronic noodling while 'Major label debut' show their more twee indie sensibilities. 'Fire Eye'd Boy' is another one to satisfy the indie kids, a fine piece of pop-hookery, but then it gets more interesting. 'Windsurfing Nation' is an unusual rock / r'n'b hybrid centring around the repeated mantra 'All we want is freedom' and even includes a short rap at the end, to great effect. 'Hotel' is off-kilter downbeat r'n'b, a kind of tripped-out 'Lover's Rock' and the album's most singular moment. There are other moments of merit to mention, but some editing would not have hurt - in particular the inconsequentially long closer 'Its All Gonna Break'.
The bonus EP from the Limited Edition isn't much cop either, sounding more like outtakes than a record in its own right, and isn't worth spending any extra cash on.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars gygiu, 8 Jan. 2008
This review is from: Broken Social Scene (Audio CD)
I assume that people were too busy listening to this collective's must more hyped not-actually-a-debut debut album to give this self-titled gem a fair listen. Or perhaps they were listening to some album called Funeral released the previous year? I don't know the reasoning, but this near-masterpiece has somehow been forgotten about, despite it being one of indie rock's greatest achievements over the past few years. Because 10 or so members wasn't nearly enough, Kevin Drew hired even more dopey Canadians with ridiculous hair to do his dirty work, and the result is one of the most explosive, gorgeous and downright sexy records my ears have ever heard. k-os's verse on 'Windsurfing Nation' is so ridiculously out-of-place, but it works! It all works! Culminating in 'It's All Gonna Break' - a kind of twee version of 'Sister Ray', but with even more sexually confused lyrics - Broken Social Scene is a truly fantastic record, and one that makes me shed a tear when I realise that England is producing nothing this exciting.

Yes, it's better than You Forgot It in People, and it's probably better than you too.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4.0 out of 5 stars Awesome!, 4 Mar. 2006
By 
James (Seattle, WA) - See all my reviews
Broken Social Scene are one of those band that you either love or your hate them, I admit they are not for everyone but with a record like this you can appeciate how talented they are at their individual instruments. Highlights are '7/4 [Shoreline]' & 'Ibi Dreams Of Pavement [A Better Day]' both songs showcase their sound without going too ecletic, If you are new to the band check out these two tracks and if you like them you will like the rest of the record. Only 4 stars based on this might not be for everyone.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


5.0 out of 5 stars Brilliant, 30 May 2009
By 
Mr. J. Burt "James Burt" (Kingston Upon Thames) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Social Scene (Audio CD)
Raw production, organic songwriting, addictive rythmns, great melodies. Every single song is musically dextrous and exciting.
Favourite tracks are Shoreline, Hotel, Swimmers, Windsurfing Nation. Its All Gonna Break is a great ender, a great rock out.

This is what music is about. More bands like BSS please!

Also good is the album 'You Forgot it In People'- this being the slightly better- but I highly recommend both as invaluable additions to any music collection.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3.0 out of 5 stars Uneven quality but some infectious tunes, 3 Sept. 2010
This review is from: Broken Social Scene (MP3 Download)
Some dazzling stand-out tracks like 'Superconnected' and 'It's All Gonna Break' in other less-inspiring material. Having said, the quieter tracks start to grow on you. I don't think you'll listen this non-stop but you'll keep coming back to it.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


10 of 14 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars The Gateway to all of Canada., 24 Mar. 2006
This review is from: Broken Social Scene (Audio CD)
Canada is better than us. If the world is a school playground then Canada has just stolen the UK's girlfriend by being better and cooler, and who cares? The UK wasn't treating her right!
As if to flex the national musical muscle, nearly all of the best artists in the country gang together to form Broken Social Scene and create an album of utter brilliance. They're kind of like the Justice League of Canada except without Spandex. I could pick out individual songs but it'd just read like the tracklisting with me gushing between each one, so I won't bother.
And just to make us look worse, if you follow the threads of the collaborators you'll only find more and more astonishing albums; 'Let it Die' by Feist, 'Folkloric Feel' Apostle of Hustle, Both Stars albums, By Divine Right - Also have a look at 'Reverie Sound Revue' since Lisa Lobsinger is now a full time member of BSS.
If I was going to pick out one problem with the album it's the fact that I will never be able to join the band firstly because I'm not from Canada and secondly because I have no talent. But I can dream can't I?
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


2 of 3 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars My Fave Album of 2005, 15 Dec. 2005
By A Customer
I can't let a day go by without listening to this album. I loved the last album "You Forgot It In People" and this is the same....after a few listens the Penny drops and your hooked. There so much going on and so much diversity here I love it! This band/collective is almost genreless I want to move to Canada and join Broken Social Scene!
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


4 of 6 people found the following review helpful
4.0 out of 5 stars Good but noisy!, 22 Mar. 2007
By 
Mr. M. Read "mdaread" (Bristol, England) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Social Scene (Audio CD)
Great songs but my only criticism is that it's sometimes difficult to pick out the great tunes through the noise. There's a lot going on on this album almost constantly. Sometimes that's great but sometimes it just gets too much and everything gets lost in the cacophony. Still gets 4 stars though.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


3 of 6 people found the following review helpful
5.0 out of 5 stars A pretty mess., 4 May 2006
By 
G. Neish "mewzo geek" (Aberdeen) - See all my reviews
(REAL NAME)   
This review is from: Broken Social Scene (Audio CD)
I picked this album up in my local 1up store just out of curiosity, i'd never heard any of their songs, heard no hype in the "big Spin" e.t.c. plus i was attracted to the cover.

Expect something along the lines of arcade fire and sigur ros. there are no real gaps in the sound, most songs build up and build up into this big messy, atmospheric dreamscape you could almost get lost in when listened to in headphones.lol.

the singing isnt the most melodic i've heard but has a distinctive numbness to it nontheless. brilliant album, one of those hidden gems.
Help other customers find the most helpful reviews 
Was this review helpful to you? Yes No


‹ Previous | 1 2 | Next ›
Most Helpful First | Newest First

This product

Broken Social Scene
Broken Social Scene by Broken Social Scene (Audio CD - 2006)
Click for more info
Usually dispatched within 10 to 13 days
Add to basket Add to wishlist
Only search this product's reviews